Iona vs Panti

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 40,106 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Zillah wrote: »
    If anything we're making her more famous.

So she's now Almost Famous ?

I think Breda would agree with the first part of the 'no more sex' line ;)

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,473 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

lazygal wrote: »
    Ronan Mullen will always be the man who told couples who'd shared their heartbreak at having to travel abroad for terminations for fatal foetal abnormalities that they had a wider agenda.
    Hello last week, but seriously, ye gods, did that weed actually say that? When and where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

robindch wrote: »
    When and where?

He said it when he slimed over to wipe mucus on them after they were at a meeting in Leinster House:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/senator-ronan-mullen-rejects-claims-over-women-in-abortion-discussions-at-leinster-house-26846123.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,779 ✭✭✭MrPudding

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,656 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

MrPudding wrote: »

I bet Iona wish they never sent any letters now,

Its now been almost 30 days and its still in the Irish & international Media...for all the wrong reasons :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭oceanclub

Funny interview with Panti in The Outmost:

http://t.co/hBCGLcFo3h
    Maria Steen? Please. Who the **** are you? My dog is more famous than you. And Dr John Murray. Seriously? Nobody knows who you are, and nobody cares. And what’s with calling him Dr John Murray? They do love that in Iona, don’t they? People think he’s a medical doctor, but he’s a doctor of theology, which is like being a doctor of Harry Potter studies.

P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

aloyisious wrote: »
    Irish band Outrage

Nothing to do with the Japanese band then? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,858 ✭✭✭Mark Hamill

He said it when he slimed over to wipe mucus on them after they were at a meeting in Leinster House:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/senator-ronan-mullen-rejects-claims-over-women-in-abortion-discussions-at-leinster-house-26846123.html

From the article:
    [Ronan Mullen] has rejected claims that he suggested four women had a wider agenda as they told of their experiences of travelling for abortion due to fatal foetal abnormalities.

"It was at that point that I [Ronan Mullen] asked whether there was a separate agenda here as this was not what normally happened when politicians came along to follow up with people who came in to lobby them," [Ronan Mullen] said.

Is English not his first language or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,805 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Links234 wrote: »
    Nothing to do with the Japanese band then? :pac:

Have to get the Metro to check on the band, don't think it said Japanese anywhere. I assumed it was an Irish band, hope I'm not morto (practices blushing) :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

From the article:

Is English not his first language or something?

No he's just a judgemental little weasel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

aloyisious wrote: »
    Have to get the Metro to check on the band, don't think it said Japanese anywhere. I assumed it was an Irish band, hope I'm not morto (practices blushing) :eek:

Oh it's not the same at all, I was just joking about the same name :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Brian Shanahan

but he’s a doctor of theology, which is like being a doctor of Harry Potter studies.

I am outraged, sir, outraged at this slander.

Doctorates in Harry Potter studies are far harder to get and far, far more valuable than doctorates in theology. Now where do I queue for my 85 grand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭Obliq

http://barbarascully.blogspot.ie/2014/02/my-good-name-was-demolished-too.html?spref=tw&m=1

Nice blog showing Breda's "argument" for the class of discrimination it is. I took offence to it in exactly the same way. As entirely irrelevant to marriage equality, and as the usual slur on single parents/childless couples/gay parents.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

In fairness to the Times, they have had Fintan O Toole write a couple of excellent articles about the whole debate. And maybe I'm biased cos I'm a fan but he can outmanoeuvre any of the naysayers that are featured in the Times. Waters and O Brien especially.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,506 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Apparently, Breda's going to be on with Marian on RTE Radio 1. Bloody hell, talk about getting plenty of exposure. Ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

She's on now and is NOT covering herself with glory. Overall I think it's good because Marian is calling her out on most of what she's saying.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,506 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Will her next column be 'I went on to chat to Marian, but she was mean, I'm still being silenced'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭GCU Flexible Demeanour

Obliq wrote: »
    http://barbarascully.blogspot.ie/2014/02/my-good-name-was-demolished-too.html?spref=tw&m=1

Nice blog showing Breda's "argument" for the class of discrimination it is. I took offence to it in exactly the same way. As entirely irrelevant to marriage equality, and as the usual slur on single parents/childless couples/gay parents.
    A human right to biological information? I love it when people throw out a word because it looks so good in a sentence.

It's a human right, apparently. Etched into the very stuff we're made of, by God or something. Not a boring old civil right, or just a healthy practice when it's possible to do it. And if I seem really, really serious about saying it's a human right, folk will just have to nod along.

Feck, this circus is turning away from Stan's right to have babies, and turning into pure Johnny Cash.

I don't blame him 'cause he run and hid,
    But the meanest thing that he ever did
    Was before he left he went and named me Sue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,284 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

She began to say the children of these [same sex] marriages will be exactly the same [as children of traditional marriages] but then checked herself.

Earth calling Breda [or God calling Breda]: These children will be exactly the same as the children of traditional marriages, regardless of how homophobes like yourself would like to differentiate between them.

She compared herself to gay people by saying she'd been shy as a teenager. A stunning lack of empathy bordering on delusion. There's no religions which think being shy is punishable by death. Or parents who throw their teenagers out of home for being shy. Or jobs where there are specific legal clauses allowing the sacking of shy people.

P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

She came across as lacking empathy, self awareness and sympathy for anyone who isn't Just Like Her. You're a middle class white woman with a national newspaper column and a permanent teaching job, Breda, not Rosa Parks II.

lazygal wrote: »
    She came across as lacking empathy, self awareness and sympathy for anyone who isn't Just Like Her. You're a middle class white woman with a national newspaper column and a permanent teaching job, Breda, not Rosa Parks II.

I know some people who have those from the Irish right-wing Catholic circles added on Facebook, so I've gotten to hear about some of the conversations you have. Here's a bunch of people who talk about the "groupthink" of liberal Ireland, but themselves live in a complete bubble. One noticeable thing is how intermarried lots of the well-known ultra-Catholic media people/spokepeople are - three families make up a sizeable number of them. And they are rarely friends with anyone outside the circle - so these conversations tend to be just wallows in self-pity at how oppressed they are.

P.

oceanclub wrote: »
    A stunning lack of empathy bordering on delusion. There's
    Alternatively, she's validly observing that an amount of the rhetoric descends into MOPEry, when all they're really doing is explaining that they've shared reasonably common human experiences.

I presume if you rewrite that, it will make sense, but I honestly have no idea what your point is.

P.

oceanclub wrote: »
    I presume if you rewrite that, it will make sense, but I honestly have no idea what your point is.

P.
    What's the point in a rewrite? Understanding the point just requires empathy. That's something you feel, rather than something you know.

It also requires you to write in something resembling English. ("MOPEry"?)

P.

It's interesting to know that Breda's not a member of Iona, just a patron, that it's not solely Catholic, it has Protestants and non-believers in it's membership. I'm wondering if she's implying that the non-believing members of Iona are in agreement with her Catholic view of marriage.

If I meet Breda I have several questions for her, re her belief that marriage is absolutely linked to the procreation of children.

1. Does she think that married couples using prophylaxics are not truly married in
    her eyes, as they are preventing the issue of children?

2. Does she think that couples preparing to be married should be tested to see if
    either partner is barren/sterile; and if so, should not be allowed marry the
    O/P?

3. Does she believe married female rape victims must be refused prophylactic aids,
    as they are is an anti-pregnancy measure, thereby preventing the issue of
    child/ren?

In using the term married in my questions, I'm referring to heterosexual couples/people, as Breda has already ruled out allowing civil marriage to homosexual couples (male or female) on the grounds of her belief that the marriage cannot be consummated in the traditional manner. The best way to fight Breda is to push her into a corner of her own making in a debate and use her quotes against her. Let her tear down her curtain and reveal to our fellow straight citizens, in her own words, that she will not allow them get married if they have planned marriages outside her view of marriage-norms.

There is no point in an angry rant against Breda as I believe that that is exactly what would suit her side of any debate, to point the finger and say; "see what I mean, they will not debate the topic in a lucid manner, they are full of hate and wish to shout me down".