Farming Chit Chat III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

sheebadog wrote: »
    18kgs/day.

Would that be considered normal? Would have thought it would be that high. How long of a dry period would that leave you with?

I know your based in France, would such a level be normal in Ireland too? Sorry for the questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Pfft, did you never have a cow that wouldn't take to a calf? ;)

I thought u where going to say did you never see a cow stand for the bull

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

wine time, just calved a heifer, lhz heifer calf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭exercise is the antidote

Damo810 wrote: »
    Would that be considered normal? Would have thought it would be that high. How long of a dry period would that leave you with?

I know your based in France, would such a level be normal in Ireland too? Sorry for the questions.

It varys from farm to farm but it generally happens when the daily milk yield declines from 2-3l/day.
    Dried off 2 months before calving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,701 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

biddy2013 wrote: »
    wine time, just calved a heifer, lhz heifer calf
    go on the biddy :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

naughto wrote: »
    I thought u where going to say did you never see a cow stand for the bull

:eek: Play nice! Fair play on the heifer biddy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

:eek: Play nice! Fair play on the heifer biddy :)

I am only messing kovu I c u changed your name again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

I just work out a return on investment. Sorry. If I can sell soya on the world mArket for say €440/ton I look at the investment into the cows. Likewise with maize (grain).

naughto wrote: »
    I am only messing kovu I c u changed your name again

It's not changed. Just a little shorter :D

At least I didn't disappear! I'm off to Nenagh next week, I won't know myself with all the good land.
    What's Kilmallock mart like does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭simx

It's not changed. Just a little shorter :D

At least I didn't disappear! I'm off to Nenagh next week, I won't know myself with all the good land.
    What's Kilmallock mart like does anyone know?

Big mart with plenty of buyers, think there's 4 rings flat out, then outside its a mini car boot sale, that place wouldn't float my boat anyway, your hardly going buying are you down there?

simx wrote: »
    Big mart with plenty of buyers, think there's 4 rings flat out, then outside its a mini car boot sale, that place wouldn't float my boat anyway, your hardly going buying are you down there?

Yessir, I'm going on tour next week, then on to Nenagh on Tuesday. See how some of yer fancy southern marts are:P

What are you looking for exactly?

pick me up something nice :D

What are you looking for exactly?

Possibly the way out of the mart:p Am going with someone who's looking for weanlings.

Ya must be looking for dairy bred heifer weanlings for replacements if your going to them marts I presume

Tis not me looking for them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I'd like a full report if you please! I'm in the market for 10 or 12 R/U light weanling heifers.

I'm sure you'll remember to ask me:p

My neighbours cat is getting his ears amputated on Monday too, that will be one hell of a strange looking yoke then.

Will do. Continental 300kgs ish, not over fleshy. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Sounds like one heck of a first date hah. "Me, you, Killmallock weanling ring" :D

Anything but a mousey colour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

My neighbours cat is getting his ears amputated on Monday too, that will be one hell of a strange looking yoke then.

Why does the cat need its ears amputated... Can you post photos when it done

Sounds like one heck of a first date hah. "Me, you, Killmallock weanling ring" :D

Jesus I thought you said wedding ring there!!:eek::eek::eek:

Daisy the cat has skin cancer on the tips of its ears as it's a white cat. So snippy snippy.

relax :D

Going by Kk Thursday I'd say nice ones be anywhere between 820-900€, one real nice red lim heifer there yesterday 335kg €1000

Anything but a mousey colour?

The odd nice warm mousey one is grand! Some of our Ch heifers off the BAx cows come mousey and you wouldn't fall out with them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Just hope cat never needs glasses- nothing to hold them on if no ears. And don't use snippy snippy in sentences. Might bring tears to some mens eyes

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 837 ✭✭✭ABlur

Daisy the cat has skin cancer on the tips of its ears as it's a white cat. So snippy snippy.[/quote]

Do vets not just put such animals down anymore? Cats getting cancer treatment, diabetic dogs the mind boggles!

ABlur wrote: »
    Do vets not just put such animals down anymore? Cats getting cancer treatment, diabetic dogs the mind boggles!

Tip over there to the Animal & Pets forum if ya want to further boggle your mind;)