Over His Dead Body

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

keep going wrote: »
    I rent abit of land near me thats also technically for sale the last 20 years and a couple of years ago I stood on a hill in it and looked around me and said isn't a grand bit of land wouldnt it begrand to own it.then I said to myself how many men have stood there and said the same thing and all thats to be decided is how long im going to be there and the next man (or woman) is going to say the same thing

Agree with this - we are only passing through...
    Unfortunately land greed can destroy a person. The film "The Field" was a good telling of this. Know of an instance where guy used to work on the elderly and would 'buy' the land from them for next to nothing. Happened quite a few times and he leased any land he could get his hands on and then pushed and pushed to buy. The was one eldely person who had given up farming and he put a large herd of bull beef in the field right up to the house. The old person was not in a position to tell him to get lost. An aggressive land grabber who made more enemies than friends. Don't believe it made him happy.

Sorry about your loss OP - there will always some bad eggs out there. I prefer to know who they are and keep them at arms lenght.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭kerryjack

The way land was devided in this country no wonder there is hassel over it down here in kerry we have little parsells of land all over the place and a neighbour had a piece of land becide the yard we wanted to swap for another piece of land right beside him but because he was a bit like yourself over my dead body he never did well he died and his son came over a few days after funerel and said he would do a swap and we have been great neighbours ever sense Have seen 2 lads around here that fought for years over land and the 2 of them are lying side beside to each other above in the grave yard and not a word about them. sorry to here about your loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

kerryjack wrote: »
    The way land was devided in this country no wonder there is hassel over it down here in kerry we have little parsells of land all over the place and a neighbour had a piece of land becide the yard we wanted to swap for another piece of land right beside him but because he was a bit like yourself over my dead body he never did well he died and his son came over a few days after funerel and said he would do a swap and we have been great neighbours ever sense Have seen 2 lads around here that fought for years over land and the 2 of them are lying side beside to each other above in the grave yard and not a word about them. sorry to here about your loss.

I understand what you are saying but To be honest I don't think the OP is detailing quite the same situation that you describe. The approach by the person looking to buy his fathers land appears to be more an example of opportunism without sympathy or regard for the OPs recent berevement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

gozunda wrote: »
    To be honest I don't think the OP is detailing the same situation that you describe. The approach by the person looking to buy his fathers land appears to be more an example of opportunism without sympathy or regard for the OPs recent berevement
    This is such a delicate issue. Who knows what the right amount of time to wait is? Two months, six months, two or three yrs, who knows? I have a feeling if this guy had waited 20 yrs he would have got the same answer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

This is such a delicate issue. Who knows what the right amount of time to wait is? Two months, six months, two or three yrs, who knows? I have a feeling if this guy had waited 20 yrs he would have got the same answer

The right amount of time is when the auctioneers sign goes up, few lads round here who have a niggle with each other have been known to put signs outside each others places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

I know of a lad who got a solicitor to bid on some land at an auction so that the 'neighbours' wouldn't bid up the price on him. He had great fun for a while with the 'Who was yer man' talk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Know a lad who looks after elderly people with land, on the understanding that they sign over the place when they pass away. Aleady built up a mini farming empire from a fella that started out with no land but with a contracting business.
    I know that the elderly have it hard in rural areas, what with robberies and costs of nursing homes, esp if they have no next of kin, but this leaves me a little sick...knowing there's a 'payoff' at the end.

There's another go-getter who was known to ask about land at someone's funeral FFS, and buys up anything that comes up and visits people to remind them not to put in a bid against him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I was talking to an old family friend the other day, my uncle sold his farm about 15yrs ago when quota was a big limitation and his off farm job was much more profitable. The friend was saying how he should never have sold up, and that my grandad is probably turning in his grave now. I bit my tongue didn't tell him where to go, instead I said I'm sick of farming anyways, and there will be a forsale sign up on myown farm in afew years time. That shut him up quick :P Land is well overrated, we all think its great to have as much as we can of it, but what the hell is the point in either buying or paying crazy rents just to get one over a neighbour. I can't think of any other business where people are so willing to part with huge money for opportunities that just make zero business sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭rs8

agree for the cost of land, the return is very low

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭jfh

Great answer timmaay, u can be sure, you'll be the topic of conversion with that fella before long,
    Its something i have learned as ive got older,u need to choose friends wisely, with the same mind set as u,b selective, we undervalue our time far too much.
    Farming seems to be rife with naysayers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

Firstly OP sorry for you loss i know exactly how you feel because my own father passed away some years back.
    Now i dont know what kinda chap you are but if i were you i would play that tit along just to rile him the way he has you, tell him "make me an offer i can't refuse" so he thinks your interested, then be little his offer by laughing at it then if he asks ya how much, tell him you would hate to see him not being able to afford to pay for it, ect ect when the penny drops he will feel the right pri#k and rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭case885

Some very greedy farmers around and just shows you what they are like, 'land grabbers' are probably the worst of the worst no consideration for other farmers trying to make a living. Sorry to hear of your loss i probably would of decked him and sent him marching but he would have his own story on events then so best to keep cool. If you do consider selling or leasing give it to someone else that would be the worst kick in teeth for him :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,409 ✭✭✭amacca

visits people to remind them not to put in a bid against him.

hmmm…you make a threat like that to most people I know you'd better have something to back it up with

what else has he got going for him that people don't beat the living sh1t out of him for that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

amacca wrote: »
    hmmm…you make a threat like that to most people I know you'd better have something to back it up with

what else has he got going for him that people don't beat the living sh1t out of him for that?

'Well respected' and related to half the country. But cares about nothing but land, land and more land.

We've had far worse insufferable cnuts of neighbours than him tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

In all fairness, i dont go in for all this tripe about land grabbers, people babysitting old folks for farms or the bloody begrudgery that goes along with. If someone wats something and can afford to buy it and you cant i say fair play to them. I may be disappointed, but they either want it more or can afford more than i can. i can get bitter or i can try to come up with a solution so the next bit that comes up maybe i can be the one that gets it.
    If an old couple have no one other than a contractor to turn to for help and support and in turn give him the farm is it not more a sign that they could be bloody awkward or that they dont have many neighbours that might be able to give them a bit of help. I have seen the old ones who played younger enerations like fiddles too.

If any of us were in a situation with a neighbour that may leave us a farm would we be upset? or just become known as another local land grabber.
    If we can afford a bit of ground and want it someone else cant we will become known as a land grabber.
    Theres always going to be someone peeved off, usually the underbidder.
    Your man put the option out there, if you dont want to sell it fair enough, if you were inclined to sell, he would be the first man you think of. Its business after all when all the emotions are put away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,409 ✭✭✭amacca

'Well respected' and related to half the country. But cares about nothing but land, land and more land.

I think I'd still be tempted if I was told not to bid on something by someone with no right (either in law or morally) to tell me that, to either (a) deck them or (b) go out of my way to make life difficult for them

If its a son or daughter or family member bidding on family land etc - let them at it - if its a "well respected" person throwing their weight around then it makes my blood boil - you can have it if you are willing to pay more than others for it as far as I'm concerned and its a scumbag tactic to warn people off bidding……I hope there is karma for people like that.

Still though I do know what you mean about there being worse out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

I had a deal done with a neighbour in the summer over 40ac but the other neighbour came along and took it with out consulting me first. Was pure thick. Had plans of getting heifer calves off dad and he paying me to rear them. But then more land came up a bit further away on a longer lease. Worked out better in the end. And with the money I had saved up to rent the land I bought my self a nice car. Put a dump valve on it and I let it off when I pass the neighbours. Every time he sees me now I get some looks. But fcuk him.
    I've had my fun and that's all that matters :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭case885

Miname wrote: »
    If any of us were in a situation with a neighbour that may leave us a farm would we be upset? or just become known as another local land grabber.

Of course your not a land grabber if its given to you and you built a relationship with that person because you cared for them not just in it to get the land, but other people may not see it as being an act of kindness so no one knows whether its genuine or not. Personally i think most people will know the difference between a farmer growing his business and a farmer who stops at nothing to get land no matter whos in his way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Put a dump valve on it

I've lost all respect for ya! Let me guess a tincan Starbo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

She let's a serious coooo of her when I change the gears. The mother and father hate it so can only imagine what the neighbours are like ;D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

the early bird gets the worm

most people are insensitive to peoples deaths,what do you want to do with the land,do you want to farm,lease the land or sell

talk to your mother as well,

I would not bother getting angry,just chalk it down to how people are,and move on

it would be great if you keep farming it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭huey1975

I had a deal done with a neighbour in the summer over 40ac but the other neighbour came along and took it with out consulting me first. Was pure thick. Had plans of getting heifer calves off dad and he paying me to rear them. But then more land came up a bit further away on a longer lease. Worked out better in the end. And with the money I had saved up to rent the land I bought my self a nice car. Put a dump valve on it and I let it off when I pass the neighbours. Every time he sees me now I get some looks. But fcuk him.
    I've had my fun and that's all that matters :D:D

Why would he have to consult you if he wanted to rent land of a neighbour?
    You are only a blow-in!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭PANADOL

NOW UR TALKING!