Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

But the fire brigade would probably be called if one of them burst, I was told the local call out charges for our fire crew and if you had to stump up a days work for those lads it would be serious wedge. having over ground tanks covered might not be as ludicrous as one thinks
    she had said it wasnt needed, will ask her again. There is a seperate cover for the fire brigade afaik

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

I wonder if at the last inspection if anyone commented on the tank or did anyone sign off on it, can of worms coming up me thinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Anyone at the dairy seminar in kildalton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,054 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

hugo29 wrote: »
    I wonder if at the last inspection if anyone commented on the tank or did anyone sign off on it, can of worms coming up me thinks

Indeed - I would place a significant portion of the blame here on the said CC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Supposedly a picture from the incident..

12349_564649026964264_714359599_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

There will be nettles growing in that spot for years to come.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Do you notice many new entrants popping up at these events freedom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I can just imagine her thoughts...WHEEEEE oh wait noooooo sh*t!!:D

Dehorning calves for a neighbour earlier and no matter how much I tell him, he has to roar and shout at the cattle, frightening the life out of them. So of course he managed to get bashed by a gate a cow barged through.

Off for an x-ray tomorrow on his shoulder:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Kovu Murr wrote: »

Dehorning calves for a neighbour earlier and no matter how much I tell him, he has to roar and shout at the cattle, frightening the life out of them. So of course he managed to get bashed by a gate a cow barged through.

Father does the same drives me wild.
    Every evening he would be forking up silage and I'd be bringing cows out for milking. Start banging the fork off the barrier and shouting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Dont yeah mean dairy x-bred seminar they love their jersey crosses in that place.

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Dont yeah mean dairy x-bred seminar they love their jersey crosses in that place.

Learned a lot in my time in Kildalton. Then again I like crossbreds :D

Its a pretty limited in course in my opinion, absolutely ideal if your going for a grass based system revolving around 4000-5000 litre cows with as little meal feeding as possible (cardinial rule) , how to manage higher yielding cows isn't even glanced over in the course then again it is run by teagasc

Friend went to pallaskenry. Pure HO herd there. Learned all about show cattle and all that stuff. I would hate that.
    Every Wednesday we went and visited dome of the best farmers in the country. Really enjoyed that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,009 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Friend went to pallaskenry. Pure HO herd there. Learned all about show cattle and all that stuff. I would hate that.
    Every Wednesday we went and visited dome of the best farmers in the country. Really enjoyed that

Define some of the best farmers in the country??.dont want to open old wounds but guys managing herds of Holsteins very well are people u could learn a hell of a lot of.they Are totally clued into feeding and supplementing cows through lactation as well as managing grass and exerting as much as possible from every acre of land they pocess..saying that x breed farmers would be the same but only some pocess the knowledge to realise that type of ainmAl needs more than grass to survive .dont be totally blinded by anything outside of a x breed green grass as there is a hell of a lot to be learned from the polar opposite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Kovu Murr wrote: »

Every evening he would be forking up silage and I'd be bringing cows out for milking. Start banging the fork off the barrier and shouting
    Experience something simular 8 or 9 years ago. My Uncle had died a couple of weeks previous but as he had been ill for several months was overdue a herd test. I organised the test with the vet and between my family and a few neighbours all went well. On the day of reading it was'nt so good, fecking cows started jumping hedges and gates, calves running amok etc. Eventually got everyone settled down and all went well until the last cow and calf. She was a butt of a CHxAA with a runt calf at foot that was probably only a week old and they were in a separate shed. I got her and the calf out of the shed to run them into the crush and as they were walking to the crush a local "dope" split her down on the spin with a plant.
    To this day I don't know how I wasn't done for assault on your man. I reckon my TKD training saved me.
    Cannot understand why people shout and roar around cattle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

My ole lad a cock like that too.. he starts kicking cows in the shins going up the chute and then wonders why they lash out when we tubing them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Base price wrote: »
    I got her and the calf out of the shed to run them into the crush and as they were walking to the crush a local "dope" split her down on the spin with a plant.
    To this day I don't know how I wasn't done for assault on your man. I reckon my TKD training saved me.
    Cannot understand why people shout and roar around cattle.

Exactly. My father brought me up to respect an animal that is 13 or 14 times your size. There's no reason to rule them in fear. You're only asking for trouble.
    Worked with enough to see all manner of cattle, from ones driven daft with fear to aggressive with fear. No sense to it whatsoever, KO badly in factories and will get less in the ring of a sale.

I dunno, maybe some lads like hardship. Or maybe I'm showing my caring (:pac:) nature.

Define some of the best farmers in the country??.dont want to open old wounds but guys managing herds of Holsteins very well are people u could learn a hell of a lot of.they Are totally clued into feeding and supplementing cows through lactation as well as managing grass and exerting as much as possible from every acre of land they pocess..saying that x breed farmers would be the same but only some pocess the knowledge to realise that type of ainmAl needs more than grass to survive .dont be totally blinded by anything outside of a x breed green grass as there is a hell of a lot to be learned from the polar opposite.

mahoney_j wrote: »

Done the course in 2009-2010 and visited these farmers was primarily all cross-bred herds following the same blueprint was pretty ridiculous must of visited 15 plus lads with nearly identical systems revolving around grass based low input cows.
    The biggest problem was the course facilitator, he would openly deride anyone that was feeding a ton plus of meal and running a herd of 7,000 plus litre cows so it wasn't on his agenda to show us this system along with the fact he would of been ran out of a lot of these lads yards after around 5 mins.

Well seeing as I already was a cross bred enthusiast. They were some of the farmers I thought were brilliant. Other people in the course who didn't like the cross bred route like yourself didn't think they were the best farmers.
    For me I considered them top class farmers. Very focused on grass and costs, but just because they had crossbreds and key focus on MS and grass didn't mean they the cows weren't looked after.
    And they had expanded at phenomenal rates and still there to tell the tail. Which I was interested in as I was in a similar situation

Done the course in 2009-2010 and visited these farmers was primarily all cross-bred herds following the same blueprint was pretty ridiculous must of visited 15 plus lads with nearly identical systems revolving around grass based low input cows.
    The biggest problem was the course facilitator, he would openly deride anyone that was feeding a ton plus of meal and running a herd of 7,000 plus litre cows so it wasn't on his agenda to show us this system along with the fact he would of been ran out of a lot of these lads yards after around 5 mins.

Wouldn't agree on that. He came here to my place and we fed a lot of meal and father found him grand. Visited another farm of pure HO outside clonmel. Big emphasis on feed. And got on okay there

Remember on two occasions where farmers where openly called crazy for buying quota at the time by this guy, did you ever visit one his former students down in mullinhone in Tipperary he followed the same line as this 160 cows with 50,000 gallons of quota got done with a crazy fine 2010-2011 his line at the time when I questioned him on quota issues is why buy quota id rather spend it on cows he was simply following teagasc advice at the time re quota it wasn't in issue in their eyes.
    Was an add on the journal two weeks ago where a lad was selling out 170 cows plus all followers in Tippeary wonder who that was :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

Remember on two occasions where farmers where openly called crazy for buying quota at the time by this guy, did you ever visit one his former students down in mullinhone in Tipperary he followed the same line as this 160 cows with 50,000 gallons of quota got done with a crazy fine 2010-2011 his line at the time when I questioned him on quota issues is why buy quota id rather spend it on cows he was simply following teagasc advice at the time re quota it wasn't in issue in their eyes.
    Was an add on the journal two weeks ago where a lad was selling out 170 cows plus all followers in Tippeary wonder who that was :rolleyes:
    WTF???

Well seeing as I already was a cross bred enthusiast. They were some of the farmers I thought were brilliant. Other people in the course who didn't like the cross bred route like yourself didn't think they were the best farmers.
    For me I considered them top class farmers. Very focused on grass and costs, but just because they had crossbreds and key focus on MS and grass didn't mean they the cows weren't looked after.
    And they had expanded at phenomenal rates and still there to tell the tail. Which I was interested in as I was in a similar situation
    Not saying i dont like the x breed route cause i can actually see the logic behind it in certain circumstances.I will say though that too many guys are totally blinded by it and fail to see the merits of going the holstein route.they see it as the answer to all their problems which it isnt.It is possible to run a herd of 7 to 8 k a year holsteins on a tonne of meal and mostly grass as well as having extremely high solids and excellent fertility.attention to detail is where most lads fall down.a prime example here is stan with pure holsteins and very high milk yields and solids as well as excellent fertility.just be open to something different than whats preached

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I questioned him on quota issues is why buy quota id rather spend it on cows he was simply following teagasc advice at the time re quota it wasn't in issue in their eyes.

Hmm no offence but sounds like a lame excuse, at the end of the day its your business, no advisers opinion is golden, that should go for any advisers be they teagasc or private.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

OH feeds and finishes dairy cull cows from time to time. However three years ago he bought a batch of JExHF culls from a neighbour, as a favour to get him out of them as he had tried to sell them in the local mart with no avail....
    None of them had tails, as in swishes!
    All of them were riddled alive with lice. I clipped there backs in order to apply a pour on and it was like a game of snakes and ladders!
    I would have more hair on my head then any of them had between them.
    Don't get me started on how these animals are looked after!
    Unfortunately, we seem to be following the NZ dairy system :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

You serious?

The best part was 500,000 had been spent on a parlour and housing before a cow was bought it was absolutely crazy the money this guy had invested but he negated the most important part quota.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

The best part was 500,000 had been spent on a parlour and housing before a cow was bought it was absolutely crazy the money this guy had invested but he negated the most important part quota.

What The Fcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

So the chap has never had more than 50kgls quota, and risked it every year? For most farmers one big SL fine is well enough of a slap on the wrists to cop themselves on!