Farming Chit Chat III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    21 days, off Westside Bob. Only blue we have on this year.
    Very confused when I went down to get the calf to suck, she had a second water bag:confused: Handled her again and no sign of anything, just the afterbirth coming.
    So got calf to suck, and now about to head down and check her again.

Don't mind your 21 days. How many in total?:)

If you're not too long in the arms dept, it's easy to miss a twin down well in a cow. I remember handling one and found nothing, said I'd give it one last look (cos I couldn't believe the little rat of a calf she was just after havin!) and just touched a nose as far in as I could I reach, and I'v a good reach!

You've a big bull calf now, so that's likely all there is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Don't mind your 21 days. How many in total?:)

If you're not too long in the arms dept, it's easy to miss a twin down well in a cow. I remember handling one and found nothing, said I'd give it one last look (cos I couldn't believe the little rat of a calf she was just after havin!) and just touched a nose as far in as I could I reach, and I'v a good reach!

You've a big bull calf now, so that's likely all there is.

295 days today. All happy now anyway so I won't worry about them til feeding time in a couple of hours.
    Now, I have a bucket, rope, a river and two thirsty cows to attend to :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Spend most the day dosing and injecting drycows, physical job trying to get the feckers up the crush and handling them, and still not over this chest infection. Utterly shattered now. Bloody wish I could pull a sicky, but not possible on a farm ha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Livid with temper here, young lad is being picked on and had his spare shoes robbed at school today. Principal as helpful as tits on a bull, zero discipline in that school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

Had a bit of a stand off with my br/fr bull. He's just after being loaded and is gone to duleek. Had him more or less sold but I wouldn't sell a wicked bull to anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Livid with temper here, young lad is being picked on and had his spare shoes robbed at school today. Principal as helpful as tits on a bull, zero discipline in that school.

You need to get on the board.Are there elections amongst parent body every year?If not, get a list of the members and start to let then know of your compressordispleasure.. After you meet the principle again and get their policy on bullying in writing.

Been there. Is it the same kids the whole time at him. Put it in writing to the board of management that you want something done. They have to reply

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    You need to get on the board.Are there elections amongst parent body every year?If not, get a list of the members and start to let then know of your compressordispleasure.. After you meet the principle again and get their policy on bullying in writing.
    biddy2013 wrote: »
    Been there. Is it the same kids the whole time at him. Put it in writing to the board of management that you want something done. They have to reply

Thanks very much both of ye, very helpful. Herself mentioned the school board alright. We have moved so this is our first (and the young lads only year) in the school. Herself will meet the principle Thursday again.

Yes it's the same kids. The line we were fed from the school was they're the two biggest attention seekers in the school and to punish them would be giving them attention. Herself got that over the phone, glad I wasn't standing in front of him at the time. What does that do only promote bullying, do as ye like policy rubbish.

(Sorry, I know this isn't farming related)

Hey Reggie, should have told you to bet on a horse today called 'Reggie Bond'.

You just won me the money for the weekend!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Thanks very much both of ye, very helpful. Herself mentioned the school board alright. We have moved so this is our first (and the young lads only year) in the school. Herself will meet the principle Thursday again.

Yes it's the same kids. The line we were fed from the school was they're the two biggest attention seekers in the school and to punish them would be giving them attention. Herself got that over the phone, glad I wasn't standing in front of him at the time. What does that do only promote bullying, do as ye like policy rubbish.

nothing on this thread is farming related Con, as freedom once said its like the pub chat:D

good advice from the above too, good luck with it, hope it gets sorted soon

True, I forgot that lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Timmaay wrote: »
    Spend most the day dosing and injecting drycows, physical job trying to get the feckers up the crush and handling them, and still not over this chest infection. Utterly shattered now. Bloody wish I could pull a sicky, but not possible on a farm ha.
    Do them when they are hungry. They fit up the chute handier and their energy levels are lower. I did my suckler cows for fluke and worms yesterday and no bother. I had them starved from the night before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,701 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Hey Reggie, should have told you to bet on a horse today called 'Reggie Bond'.

You just won me the money for the weekend!:D

Well no point telling me now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Winterwatch starts tonight on BBC 2 at 8.30 - for those interested in a bit of wildlife ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Base price wrote: »
    Winterwatch starts tonight on BBC 2 at 8.30 - for those interested in a bit of wildlife ;)

The wildlife would be a bit tame for some of them on here.

Reggie. wrote: »
    Well no point telling me now :pac:

I'll tell you next time he runs!

Think a first calver of ours may have aborted earlier. :(

is your son upset over it. do you know the bullies parents? The other line is say you have written down any other incidents and you want the lads stopped now. If he is in 6th class at least there is an end in sight as they will be moving on

Gotta stop it now, cause it would break your heart to find that they get away with it now, and then end up in the same class in secondry . If the principle Will not act then either have it out with their parents, if you know who they are, or threaten to go to whatever bishop etc is the patron, followed by the local TD , the Dept of Education, the local radio and the local paper Tell him/her you are going to rush for their suspension, see if that gets their attention.

is your son upset over it. do you know the bullies parents? The other line is say you have written down any other incidents and you want the lads stopped now. If he is in 6th class at least there is an end in sight as they will be moving on

Yes, he's very upset about it at times. He can't go to school in any peace, he is in exile from the village as they'll be at him there. No kids call to play, despite our best efforts to invite.

Oh I tried the parent route :mad: The apple didn't fall far from the tree.

Done my research on the board tonight, word from the inside is it's a sown up shop, what the principle says goes. Plus one of the offenders fathers is on it.

I am doing my best to teach him how to deal with it and I think that's making an impression on him. But it's wrong, wrong, wrong what is going on.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Gotta stop it now, cause it would break your heart to find that they get away with it now, and then end up in the same class in secondry . If the principle Will not act then either have it out with their parents, if you know who they are, or threaten to go to whatever bishop etc is the patron, followed by the local TD , the Dept of Education, the local radio and the local paper Tell him/her you are going to rush for their suspension, see if that gets their attention.

Was actually thinking about our local TD earlier, he's very helpful. Will see what happens on Thursday but principle won't take calls from herself this evening. Bishop is an idea but them are a quare lot themselves and how they deal with things. Priest is on the board and I am told it's a sown up shop.

Dept Education site fairly washes their hands of the issue saying it's down to the school.

Yes, he's very upset about it at times. He can't go to school in any peace, he is in exile from the village as they'll be at him there. No kids call to play, despite our best efforts to invite.

Done my research on the board tonight, word from the inside is it's a sown up shop, what the principle says goes. Plus one of the offenders fathers is on it.

I am doing my best to teach him how to deal with it and I think that's making an impression on him. But it's wrong, wrong, wrong what is going on.
    our school would be the same i was on parents council for a good few years and the principal was the boss of the school, the parents council and the bom. So what she says goes. My lad refused to get out of the car one morning and she came out and brought him in, she said "no child should be upset in my school" i replied what are you doing about it:rolleyes: she did speak to bullies parents-well his mother- but its the same as your case. Is he into any sports ? counselling worked for my lad but it was 50 euro a session:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Its an awful pity to have that ****e going on . It was happening to a friend of mine and the board of management was up the principles arse aswell . They basically called herself and her son liars when they had the meeting about it . And one of the bullys fathers was on the committee aswel the same as your own situation
    She ended up moving schools for his last year just to get out of there , but I'm not sure if thats an option for ye or not

moy83 wrote: »
    Its an awful pity to have that ****e going on . It was happening to a friend of mine and the board of management was up the principles arse aswell . They basically called herself and her son liars when they had the meeting about it . And one of the bullys fathers was on the committee aswel the same as your own situation
    She ended up moving schools for his last year just to get out of there , but I'm not sure if thats an option for ye or not
    i was nominated for the board of management in our school before christmas, i refused as its totally headwrecking the politics involved there, have enough going on without that adding to my headaches

had problems with a lad in playschool and our youngest lassie. He nearly ran the place ( age 5) and the staff found him disruptive and let him amuse himself rather than insist he join in group activity. Had a word with staff and got this spiel about how his mother was doing her best, and was on a course, and was studying childcare in college, etc etc etc. Obviously she was a friend of the playschools leader. Girl was getting that she had lots of excuses not to go,, and this was only play school. So one morning dropping her off the lad was there trowing things aboutva in the corner and I squatted down and when at his level told him give and calmly , that he had better not hit her again. So he never did, but told his father, and the father told the son to pass on the message that the father would have me shot. So whenthis came out,action was taken there and then. He was later suspended for two weeks over bullying some other child, and that brought him to the end of the term. its.a mine field

our school would be the same i was on parents council for a good few years and the principal was the boss of the school, the parents council and the bom. So what she says goes. My lad refused to get out of the car one morning and she came out and brought him in, she said "no child should be upset in my school" i replied what are you doing about it:rolleyes: she did speak to bullies parents-well his mother- but its the same as your case. Is he into any sports ? counselling worked for my lad but it was 50 euro a session:eek:

Yeah we have him in Rugby and Swimming and he likes both a lot. I remember a lot about your story, it's not something I'd wish on anyone.
    moy83 wrote: »

Yes, I think the Department of Education purposely structured it this way so they don't have to deal with it, a like it or lump it situation, they're paying lipservice to bullying. Last school this wouldn't have been tolerated at all, so some good, some not.. You know the geography out here, it's not easy to move schools. If it has to be done it'll be done though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

@ CM
    May not be very useful but here is a link to the Dept anti bullying policy. Apparently all schools have to have a written anti bullying policy etc etc -

http://www.education.ie/en/Publications/Policy-Reports/Anti-Bullying-Procedures-for-Primary-and-Post-Primary-Schools.pdf

Base price wrote: »
    @ CM
    May not be very useful but here is a link to the Dept anti bullying policy. Apparently all schools have to have a written anti bullying policy etc etc -

http://www.education.ie/en/Publications/Policy-Reports/Anti-Bullying-Procedures-for-Primary-and-Post-Primary-Schools.pdf

Thanks, read it a few times last year. Will refresh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Terrible situation to be in con I can imagine. But you would think if it was brought up at board level and one of the bullies parents was on the board they would be fair ashamed, especially if it was known that said parent knew about it.

C0N0R wrote: »
    Terrible situation to be in con I can imagine. But you would think if it was brought up at board level and one of the bullies parents was on the board they would be fair ashamed, especially if it was known that said parent knew about it.

Might be worth it for that alone. Butter wouldn't melt with some people though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

C0N0R wrote: »

Oh there is no shame in some people , they would sooner pretend their own kids are perfect and brush things under the rug