If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

mf240 wrote: »
    Myself and the father get on very well, I am terrified of the day coming when he's not around.

Same here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

whelan1 wrote: »
    Same here

Cleaning out an old shed at home and found a plastic bag with all dockets and receipts .
    Milk receipts and calf sale dockets from 1979 .
    32pound for calves in maynooth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Richk2012 wrote: »
    Cleaning out an old shed at home and found a plastic bag with all dockets and receipts .
    Milk receipts and calf sale dockets from 1979 .
    32pound for calves in maynooth

maynooth was a serious mart back those days, the family used to show allot of cattle there. I wouldnt like to be facing that journey back then with bad unreliable lorries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Same here

Appreciate them when ye have them lads. Has such an impact when they're gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Was dosing all the calves there this morning. Broke up after 3 AA heifers i kept. Pure demons they are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Hmm AAs usually ok I thought. Have to send the dad off to the mart with afew calves next week, not keeping anymore beef animals here from now on at all! He use to send me with the calves, but was never bloody happy with the price (he said I was too soft with the auctioneer ha), so I said to go himself! Suits me fine as I hate wasting the day at the mart ha, if I was here on myown I'd be letting a dealer take them from the yard.

Still moaning about old lads still ha, Had another heifer calf to a FR, traditionally heifers always get easy calving AAs here, I need more replacements so I managed to talk my dad into letting me AI afew with FR last year. Anyways was another bull calf, big enough chap and need abit of assistance. We have had 2 heifers calf to FR now, and both large bull calves, so my dad is moaning that I shouldn't have listened to him and gave them all AAs. Ya can't win ha, I just let him have his rant, hopefully he will have forgotten about it when it comes to the breeding season again ha!

Timmaay wrote: »
    Hmm AAs usually ok I thought. Have to send the dad off to the mart with afew calves next week, not keeping anymore beef animals here from now on at all! He use to send me with the calves, but was never bloody happy with the price (he said I was too soft with the auctioneer ha), so I said to go himself! Suits me fine as I hate wasting the day at the mart ha, if I was here on myown I'd be letting a dealer take them from the yard.

Still moaning about old lads still ha, Had another heifer calf to a FR, traditionally heifers always get easy calving AAs here, I need more replacements so I managed to talk my dad into letting me AI afew with FR last year. Anyways was another bull calf, big enough chap and need abit of assistance. We have had 2 heifers calf to FR now, and both large bull calves, so my dad is moaning that I shouldn't have listened to him and gave them all AAs. Ya can't win ha, I just let him have his rant, hopefully he will have forgotten about it when it comes to the breeding season again ha!

im hoping to put limos in these three and sell em. Keeping no bull calves here from now on.

Id say the bulls and the heifers will balance out it usualy does. Ive calved 14 winter cows now and i have had 7 heifers. So it should balance out for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Got soaked moving a ram today, ho-hum, come back July all is forgiven. I hate rain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Anyone use Closivet pour on here? Was doing the last few today and they're heavy incalf, first is due xmas eve. Didn't give them the full recommended dose as we had one a couple of years ago that aborted a few days after we used a pour on with her. It was 1ml per 10kg so I gave them about 40-50ml each, they're all between 500-680 kg animals. Will do them again after they've all calved anyway, should I run down and top them up or should it be ok to start them off with?
    Bearing in mind they haven't been fluke dosed since they were last housed....:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Bearing in mind they haven't been fluke dosed since they were last housed....:rolleyes:

Glad im not the only one ! I did a few fr bullocks today . They were about 550 kg , still didnt get my dosing hook so there was a bit of wrestling involved . Good craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Anyone use Closivet pour on here? Was doing the last few today and they're heavy incalf, first is due xmas eve. Didn't give them the full recommended dose as we had one a couple of years ago that aborted a few days after we used a pour on with her. It was 1ml per 10kg so I gave them about 40-50ml each, they're all between 500-680 kg animals. Will do them again after they've all calved anyway, should I run down and top them up or should it be ok to start them off with?

Ya not be better waiting till they are 5 weeks min housed then just do them the once, often done them couple weeks before calving with no problems

Anyone used Hereford cross cows, seen a few nice Hereford x sim heifers
    What Hereford like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

hugo29 wrote: »
    Anyone used Hereford cross cows, seen a few nice Hereford x sim heifers
    What Hereford like

Herefords are good hardy cows for marginal ground .

Ya not be better waiting till they are 5 weeks min housed then just do them the once, often done them couple weeks before calving with no problems

Was just handy to finish all of them as this group were being split into a separate pen so we can have all the first calves together. We always do a follow on dose with them as the pour on doesn't kill all stages of fluke, a repeat treatment will get the majority of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

crazy busy to day and just catching on the news ,

sad news from donegal

Was just handy to finish all of them as this group were being split into a separate pen so we can have all the first calves together. We always do a follow on dose with them as the pour on doesn't kill all stages of fluke, a repeat treatment will get the majority of them.

Closamectin done 5 weeks post housing will get all stages and will get lice too,

Did them with closamectin the last 3 years so we felt like a change this year to give the little feckers a shock:D

did anyone go to the sale in wicklow of 55 autumn calvers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

jersey101 wrote: »
    Was dosing all the calves there this morning. Broke up after 3 AA heifers i kept. Pure demons they are

Dosing here today too..
    Just over three weeks in, would usually wait longer but today suited..

Do lads feed minerals along with beef nut?
    We fed straights last winter and so gave minerals along with them..

Feeding nut at the moment which of course is supposed to have mineral included.. I fed mineral on the silage there for two days and holy crap lads it loosened them shocking :eek:

I'm thinking of just leaving them do with what's in the nut ??

bbam wrote: »
    We fed straights last winter and so gave minerals along with them..

Feeding nut at the moment which of course is supposed to have mineral included.. I fed mineral on the silage there for two days and holy crap lads it loosened them shocking :eek:

I'm thinking of just leaving them do with what's in the nut ??

Usually put the mineral block on the dividing gates,

bbam wrote: »

We don't do fattening bullocks or hf but we do give the cows the bag of minerals on the silage every evening from now on. About 2 pints of powder scattered over it.
    It was interesting to see the few cows and heifers on our out land who had no mineral lick or nuts all summer were mad for it, literally eating the powder out of our hands. They had plenty of grass all summer but we prob should have had a hi mag or GP lick up with them at least. Whoops.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

We don't do fattening bullocks or hf but we do give the cows the bag of minerals on the silage every evening from now on. About 2 pints of powder scattered over it.
    It was interesting to see the few cows and heifers on our out land who had no mineral lick or nuts all summer were mad for it, literally eating the powder out of our hands. They had plenty of grass all summer but we prob should have had a hi mag or GP lick up with them at least. Whoops.:o

I had copper in the water for a lot of the summer. Didn't give them anything else.

reilig wrote: »
    I had copper in the water for a lot of the summer. Didn't give them anything else.

The land they were on is always great for summer grazing heifers, dunno if it makes sense but we always used it to rear the heifers to keep on as it turned them inside out. Must be something about the soil!
    I presume you mean the bolus you leave in the water tank, how do you find those? Looked into them a while back but as we move the cattle around so much it was more practical to move the bucket with them in the end:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

The land they were on is always great for summer grazing heifers, dunno if it makes sense but we always used it to rear the heifers to keep on as it turned them inside out. Must be something about the soil!
    I presume you mean the bolus you leave in the water tank, how do you find those? Looked into them a while back but as we move the cattle around so much it was more practical to move the bucket with them in the end:pac:

I'm sure that if you have good soil with good minerals, it transfers through to the grass and ultimately into the animals that eat it.

They work fine. I just drop new tabs into the drinker when I move the cattle. Find the buckets expensive - a group of 10 cows could have a bucket gone in a week.

I'm sure that if you have good soil with good minerals, it transfers through to the grass and ultimately into the animals that eat it.

They work fine. I just drop new tabs into the drinker when I move the cattle. Find the buckets expensive - a group of 10 cows could have a bucket gone in a week.
    As far as I can see the buckets are bad value.
    They seem to be 90% or more molasis and stock just can't resist it.
    And it's damn expensive molasis too, it's costing about €1000 a ton if you take the time to work it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,036 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

Richk2012 wrote: »
    Herefords are good hardy cows for marginal ground .

Got some Hereford Xs on my place in North Mayo and they certainly are the standout performers among our sucklers

we use the buckets for the suckler cows, have 15 cows , during the summer we would get at least 2 weeks from a bucket, at this time of year 10 days max. This is the time of year we always loose one with tetany so we are very vigilant at the moment. Last year we bought cheaper buckets and 3 days was all we where getting out of them, lesson learnt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

we use the buckets for the suckler cows, have 15 cows , during the summer we would get at least 2 weeks from a bucket, at this time of year 10 days max. This is the time of year we always loose one with tetany so we are very vigilant at the moment. Last year we bought cheaper buckets and 3 days was all we where getting out of them, lesson learnt

Have you ever tried Calmag dust. Guaranteed intake. We find it really good