If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

I mowed it on Friday and it got a couple of heavy showers on Saturday but Sunday and today were good but no real drying.

Last years bales were full of water not a bother on them kept well feed value not great though.Not bad for a crap year I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

td5man wrote: »
    Anyone know how much fodder beet is making this year?

??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

??????[/QUOT

Sugar beet 40yoyo delivered locally. Whole and unwashed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

??????

around 40 I would think, sugar beet is around 45 ex yard prices. Give me Sbeet anyday of the week

whelan1 wrote: »
    do you let hunting people on your land? if ya do ask them to keep a look out, dogs mind find something

There are always a few animal missing here each year when the herd test is done, wether they stray, get drowned or are lifted I couldnt tell you. Much of the rented ground has lakes etc and maybe they end up in there. Very hard to keep track of ever bunch of animals especially if your adding and taking animals away regularly and when there is a couple of people herding them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

If jersey had had a full dept inspection and dept discovered this animal was missing what would the story be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭dzer2

If jersey had had a full dept inspection and dept discovered this animal was missing what would the story be?

They give 3 weeks to sort it out, we had one lifted last yr a butchers heifer I noticed within the week had to fill out a garda report and issue it with card and form to dept.

dzer2 wrote: »
    They give 3 weeks to sort it out, we had one lifted last yr a butchers heifer I noticed within the week had to fill out a garda report and issue it with card and form to dept.

But that's with you telling them. What if they notice animal isn't present even though you have the card

3-5% penalty i'd imagine.

around 40 I would think, sugar beet is around 45 ex yard prices. Give me Sbeet anyday of the week

At 40 a ton, sugar beet 185 a ton dm. Fodder beet at 40, depending on variety,220 ton dm. Sugar beet would have more energy owing to higher sugar content.

Not much s/beet grown round here.
    How much is a ton dm beet pulp nuts?

Nothing, as the animal is still presumed alive but missing, I may only notice a missing animal at herd test which could be 12 months after the animal has jumped ship. Animal disappeared last year between movement from a mart to home some how, animals have disappeared out of marts aswell in the past. very easy happen if hauliers were picking up and who bought the cattle wasnt around when they were sorted and grouped. I presume the amount of unaccounted animal in very big herds would be a good few

Not much s/beet grown round here.
    How much is a ton dm beet pulp nuts?

Sugar Beet Pulp (SBP)

Energy 12.5 MJ/kg DM

Protein 10 % CP

Fibre 32 % NDF

Starch 1 %

Sugars 20 %

C. 90% dm. A phone call to supplier will give you the price. Multiply by 90% to give cost per ton dm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Yet another day stuck at the mart in Ennis and I gave to go again Thursday, getting a small bit burnt out from marts the last few weeks!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Yet another day stuck at the mart in Ennis and I gave to go again Thursday, getting a small bit burnt out from marts the last few weeks!!

its bad enough down there of a quiet day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Yet another day stuck at the mart in Ennis and I gave to go again Thursday, getting a small bit burnt out from marts the last few weeks!![/QUOTE

whats the trade like redzer

its bad enough down there of a quiet day
    Have to wait for another 10 pens :( , had a load coming for a neighbour and said I'd bring one late calf to the runners cause I want to move on the cow, didn't think there would be as many pens of heifers in before the bulls though. Was on the road at half 7 with them this morning.

hugo29 wrote: »
    Yet another day stuck at the mart in Ennis and I gave to go again Thursday, getting a small bit burnt out from marts the last few weeks!![/QUOTE

whats the trade like redzer
    Middling enough Hugo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

hugo29 wrote: »
    Middling enough Hugo.

seller will always think mart is middling, buyer will always think its dear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Was hoping to sell weinlings for family member a few weeks ago. Rang mart to book them in. Was told that there were 250 bulls and 180 heifers ahead of us. Enquired about the following weekend. Was told that there were 250 bulls and 180 heifers booked for every sale until the first week in December.

Went to the mart last weekend. Bull numbers went up to 250 allright, but there was less than 180 bulls in it and a lot of missing numbers. Similar discrepancy for the heifers. Yet the mart were going to make me be very last when selling. Spoke to other farmers who were very disgruntled about it. They said that the numbers were being held for those who were "in" with the management and staff and that it was impossible for a farmer who sells 10 or 12 weinlings once a year to get a low down number. The numbers were being held for people but 30% of them weren't showing up.

Are many people finding similar situations? In the marts at home, there is a phone booking system and you can only book ahead for the next sale. It's first come, first served. if you try hard enough when phoning in then you can get a good low down number - if its too low, you can hang up and dial again.

This crap really annoys me. I enquired about another mart locally to this and they have a similar practice. At this stage, it's me who is selling the calves, so I'll not be giving custom to either of these marts - and neither will a lot of the people that i spoke to.

Anyone had similar experience?

Just back from mart. Left my yard at ten am. No queue. 40 animals in front of me. Went home did a few jobs. Sale started at 12. Cattle sold cheque lodged. Eating dinner in pub now. No booking in system

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

reilig wrote: »
    Was hoping to sell weinlings for family member a few weeks ago. Rang mart to book them in. Was told that there were 250 bulls and 180 heifers ahead of us. Enquired about the following weekend. Was told that there were 250 bulls and 180 heifers booked for every sale until the first week in December.

Went to the mart last weekend. Bull numbers went up to 250 allright, but there was less than 180 bulls in it and a lot of missing numbers. Similar discrepancy for the heifers. Yet the mart were going to make me be very last when selling. Spoke to other farmers who were very disgruntled about it. They said that the numbers were being held for those who were "in" with the management and staff and that it was impossible for a farmer who sells 10 or 12 weinlings once a year to get a low down number. The numbers were being held for people but 30% of them weren't showing up.

Are many people finding similar situations? In the marts at home, there is a phone booking system and you can only book ahead for the next sale. It's first come, first served. if you try hard enough when phoning in then you can get a good low down number - if its too low, you can hang up and dial again.

This crap really annoys me. I enquired about another mart locally to this and they have a similar practice. At this stage, it's me who is selling the calves, so I'll not be giving custom to either of these marts - and neither will a lot of the people that i spoke to.

with Ennis mart you ring in to book in your cattle , you can ring in all week for the following weeks marts, you are placed into a draw and you get texted your pens a couple of days before mart, if they dont suit you you can cancel, if you dont cancel and dont show up i think you are changed something

Ya, that's why there's 400 kg weanlings going through the runner ring in Ennis and a que of 20 people every Tuesday morning at half 8, first come first served them. Seems to be only half the cattle entered that there was 2 years ago!

I know that 1 or 2 people here work in or have connections in Connacht Gold, but I have to say that their booking system is excellent. You know where you stand. You have equal opportunity to access numbers etc. I'm sure that a lot of marts around the country run similar systems, but there are still a few who don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

After a huge bust up a few years ago in our small local mart they stopped allowing lads book numbers.
    Cattle are numbered in the order they arrive into the yard.
    It's very fair.

What do people expect when they only sell maybe once or twice a year it's a pain but that's the system a lot of marts operate they need dealers to keep the numbers selling.They have to keep the dealers happy at the expense of somebody

bbam wrote: »
    After a huge bust up a few years ago in our small local mart they stopped allowing lads book numbers.
    Cattle are numbered in the order they arrive into the yard.
    It's very fair.

Local mart stopped that practice. It used to mean that for the bigger sales farmers were queueing from 3am and cattle may not sell till 6pm. it was hardship on man and beast!

Marooned75 wrote: »
    What do people expect when they only sell maybe once or twice a year it's a pain but that's the system a lot of marts operate they need dealers to keep the numbers selling.They have to keep the dealers happy at the expense of somebody

What's wrong with a fair system that everyone can access?
    If you don't look after all of the farmers that only sell once or twice a year then they'll stop going there and the dealers will have it all to themselves! (ie. nothing)

Local mart stopped that practice. It used to mean that for the bigger sales farmers were queueing from 3am and cattle may not sell till 6pm. it was hardship on man and beast!

What do you want then,you have said about both systems here yet don't seem to be happy with either,As I said its a pain and somebody has to suffer so what proposals would you make that can keep all sides happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

What's wrong with a fair system that everyone can access?
    If you don't look after all of the farmers that only sell once or twice a year then they'll stop going there and the dealers will have it all to themselves! (ie. nothing)

would an on line booking system work where the seller booked himself

have to agree with you reilig, connacht gold phone booking is usually good, i could not imagine going back to the old system,