If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

hugo29 wrote: »
    JAYUS i am dying a slow death here

this all day drinking and working the next day is a killer

Its the working the next day where it is all going wrong. Nothing to do with the pints!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Yeah a right fcuker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Its the working the next day where it is all going wrong. Nothing to do with the pints!
    yup, just showing your age, would have been no bother 20 years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

whelan1 wrote: »
    yup, just showing your age, would have been no bother 20 years ago

if it was 20 year ago, i would still be in dublin drinking:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

I hold the rank of cpl

Jesus a cpl working a 50 hour week. Every week.Come on now I doubt that buddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

VG game. Some great goals and excitement. Good advert for LOI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Jesus a cpl working a 50 hour week. Every week.Come on now I doubt that buddy.

Now now behave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Now now behave

Sure I'm in the same job myself man. I know the craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Gone hoarse, no more shoutin at the poor dog a couple of days I spose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

Disaster here today .
    Blue Heifer calving to HCA Limo .
    Tried the jack on her but wasnt budging .

Rang vet and was here within half hour .
    I was thinking of a section but he said he reckon we get her .
    Bent my calving jack half way through so had to use his .
    Calf got stuck at the hips and just wouldnt release
    . Had to cut the calf out in pieces .
    Sick is an understatement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Richk2012 wrote: »
    Disaster here today .

sorry to hear that, its a rotten job.
    I had the same last year. the calf was bawling and we had to put him down. its something i hope never has to happen round here again. anything that bit overtight gets the knife now. Although we took one out the side door this year that i still reckon could have came right. Thats the worst with blue heifers.Throw the heifer a handful of meal and she should be hanging next year. will you register the calf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

jesus i think id love a gator instead of the quad, nicer yokes to drive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

be nice to kovo she might get you one for christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

1chippy wrote: »
    sorry to hear that, its a rotten job.
    I had the same last year. the calf was bawling and we had to put him down. its something i hope never has to happen round here again. anything that bit overtight gets the knife now. Although we took one out the side door this year that i still reckon could have came right. Thats the worst with blue heifers.Throw the heifer a handful of meal and she should be hanging next year. will you register the calf?

Yea i found it very hard to watch to be honest .

Put the heifer on meal now and let her off when she is fit .
    At least she is back walking around and she has just cleaned now .

Hindsight is a wonderful thing , thinking why did i go against my gut feeling of a c-section .
    Wont save them all i suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Not registering it .

Hindsight is a wonderful thing , thinking why did i go against my gut feeling of a c-section .

Happens us all. Had a ewe lamb down & paddling with head back on Thursday. First thought was click, bang. But no, brought her to the vet, got shots and she was progressively getting worse until Saturday morning when I put her out of her misery. Went against my gut feeling in the beginning, hate like hell losing one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Not registering it .

bummer, vet should maybe have done a bit better for you but sure its all ifs and buts now, same thing happened the father in law the other week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Disaster here today .

I've had a few close calls but never that. Sickening as right.
    It's hard to get the right blue heifer. As least ya still have her though.
    Dust yourself down and plough on, we all lose them up and down.

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Sure I'm in the same job myself man. I know the craic.
    thought as much but thats the hours i do lad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭case 956

went out this morn to the cubicle hed for milking and a good first calving heifer that calved april was dead in the feed passage, sickening, upside was not incalf I suppose but hate losing any

case 956 wrote: »
    went out this morn to the cubicle hed for milking and a good first calving heifer that calved april was dead in the feed passage, sickening, upside was not incalf I suppose but hate losing any
    not nice

case 956 wrote: »

Crappy day here too. Off to bed tomorrow is a new day

quitting early? im only in the door

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

**** day here too. Turns out im missing a maiden heifer. Not good

quitting early? im only in the door
    have been doing multiplication and division of fractions for the last half an hour, the end to a perfect day:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

have been doing multiplication and division of fractions for the last half an hour, the end to a perfect day:mad:

Are ye using a number line up there ? My older lad does all his sums this way and cant do the times tables . The teacher reckons they dont use them any more

ah head melted....i feel your pain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

average day with things breaking down, just one of those days you make no headway, hopefully its a good night and things go right

head up bobby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

How long were ye out? Always maintain 12hr is a good drink :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

head up bobby

erra im so used of things going pear shaped I take no notice, currently have a solenoid playing up on the gearbox and when the oil heats up, it sticks and causes all sort of error codes. Seat back and a half hours rest and off we go again. :D:D