If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

td5man wrote: »
    awake all night with a f****r of a toothache :eek:

Horrible dose that

hugo29 wrote: »
    You could be a double agent :D

Apparently I look military even on holidays because as we were visiting the tank museum in bovington there were a large amount of recruits there for the day.
    The instructors shouted at me to hurry up and get on the bus at the end of the day as they must have thought I was one of theirs :rolleyes:
    the faces on them when they realised their mistake :D. Herself would have sent me off with them given half the chance I'm told :eek:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,960 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Lovely weather here for spreading the last of the slurry. Funny the way when you are at it yourself you can't smell it at all. I think the hydrogen sulphide de-sensitises our sense of smell after pro-longed exposure.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

blue5000 wrote: »
    Lovely weather here for spreading the last of the slurry. Funny the way when you are at it yourself you can't smell it at all. I think the hydrogen sulphide de-sensitises our sense of smell after pro-longed exposure.

Bearing went in agitator today have contractor booked for first thing in am si hope to have it all out before pints tomorrow night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Got asked today to help train the womens football team. Not bad :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

jersey101 wrote: »

they must consider you sound, as the last thing a ladies sporting team need is a prick.

or a perv :) ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Parlour training? :-)

Bizzum wrote: »
    Parlour training? :-)

lifting buckets of milk to the calves. Now tgats what i call training :D

That's somewhat covered by the excersise " The farmers walk"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Was in the dungstead today piling it high as we won't have ground grazed to spread before deadline

Anyway neighbour who has a serious case of heavy metal disease arrived in and was horrified at the stare of the loader.
    His comment 'I know it's yellow but it not an effen submarine'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,900 ✭✭✭mf240

delaval wrote: »
    Was in the dungstead today piling it high as we won't have ground grazed to spread before deadline

Anyway neighbour who has a serious case of heavy metal disease arrived in and was horrified at the stare of the loader.
    His comment 'I know it's yellow but it not an effen submarine'

Local dairy farmer arrived into the co op a few years ago with his one ton vicon and the wager still wagging. Forgot to turn off the pto just headed back to town for more when it was empty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Milton09 wrote: »
    Filling the size of my fist fell out of my tooth yesterday morning, no pain mind you but fair play to my dentist he squeezed me in without appointment and shovelled another filling in - said tooth was on the way out - 1900 euro for an implant :mad:

You must have a big mouth -;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Knocked 10 acres of grass today. It was just too strong to leave cattle into . probably only get 40 bales. There is a nice wind to wilt it. Will give it a run of the swarthwilter about noon tomorrow and bale up around 3 O'clock

best of luck with it, lads around here still cutting away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

best of luck with it, lads around here still cutting away

Its bone dry and as good a quality that you'll get this time of year so it shold make good stuff. We definitely don't need any more silage but if it's there it won't be wasted.

Waste not want not my man, FIL didn't want anymore silage either but convinced him it would be better to be looking at 40 bales than looking for. Last year is still too fresh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭Bactidiaryl

80% so far. :):):)

AAAAAAAHHHHH. I've only gone and shaggin jinxed it. Two bloody bulls today. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

The first rule about getting plenty of heifers is........

The first rule about getting plenty of heifer is........

Don't jinx the damn thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭Bactidiaryl

Don't jinx the damn thing

Head hanging in shame:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Dairy farming neighbour knocking grass beside the yard ......... The mind boggles!!!

Loading up the lads now to head north for a rugby blitz. It's great to do something completely different even it it means getting up at stupid o clock to get jobs done. Managed to get reseeds rolled this am.
    Tomorrow will be spent getting cattle handy for Mon am herd test starting at 6.30. Luckily TB only

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Dairy farming neighbour knocking grass beside the yard ......... The mind boggles!!!

Loading up the lads now to head north for a rugby blitz. It's great to do something completely different even it it means getting up at stupid o clock to get jobs done. Managed to get reseeds rolled this am.
    Tomorrow will be spent getting cattle handy for Mon am herd test starting at 6.30. Luckily TB only

Good few people here knocked silage this week also. One field looked like lawn clippings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

another fr heifer here this morning, i know my luck will run out soon:D

whelan1 wrote: »
    another fr heifer here this morning, i know my luck will run out soon:D

Don't jinx it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

off to soccer training now, then a kids birthday party.... might get an hours powerwashing done before milking:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭dzer2

off to soccer training now, then a kids birthday party.... might get an hours powerwashing done before milking:cool:

Sitting back having a cup of tea Lads finishing the power washing before going to rugby match feels like I am doing it wrong.:D:D

I think ya need help for your powerwashing addiction :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Motor went on milking machine this am. Oul boy just back with replacement. Cows on OAD today. Club in Waterford IHC final, up against the Prendergasts so nothing soft. Two gentlemen but fierce warriors at the same time.

Whelan how is there any water left in your area:D