If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Jaysus bob, you sound like you love hardship ;-) . I should do a weeks works placement with you just to experience the depression ha ha.
    The boreholes were done by stratex, a specialist company with a serious looking tracked rig. I just analyse the report. Cost approx 8k sterling but it has to be done to nail down costs. But the entire job is 2.5 million sterling so its a small part of it

its my middle name, Robert Xavier Hardship Charles

Just as I taught, 8k would go a long way to doing most of my rock breaking.

The muck shift was over 100k sterling alone. Its a big hole!!!!

How did it cost that much, sure your only talking about 5k cubs of subsoil. its a big hole but not masshosive, anyone remember the hole in Dundrum shopping centre during construction, now I know allot of you will still say its a massive hole :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Sorry to hear that.

quote="redzerologhlen;86866279"]Sad day here. My uncle in America got hit by a car this evening and was killed instantly, 2 young lads and one of them is 13 tomorrow and the other is 11. Hard to believe this time last week all we were worried about was getting tickets for the match. You can't prepare for something like this happening :([/quote]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Dupont

The muck shift was over 100k sterling alone. Its a big hole!!!!

Ya should of done it like the hole for car park in monaghan. Dug the hole thing out, massive hole wait a couple years and then fill it all back in again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

How did it cost that much, sure your only talking about 5k cubs of subsoil. its a big hole but not masshosive, anyone remember the hole in Dundrum shopping centre during construction, now I know allot of you will still say its a massive hole :pac:

Was there once two hours of my life I'll never get back. Still having flashbacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,900 ✭✭✭mf240

Sorry to hear that redzer. Something like that puts thing in perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

we are in the wrong game.i like my horse racing but this is metal price

awfull news redzer.sorry to hear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Dupont wrote: »
    Ya should of done it like the hole for car park in monaghan. Dug the hole thing out, massive hole wait a couple years and then fill it all back in again

We have 2 lads working with us from monaghan. Must ask them about that, they were probably involved, the eejits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

moy83 wrote: »
    Pity we cant blast these things :D

brings to mind the old fellas telling me that they were still blasting stuff in the forties with stuff they were supposed to haved dumped in the twenties

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Sorry, I should explain. Its 3 tanks and it just over 11,000 cubic metres shifted. Stone on the base of the tank and drainage works included in the price. Quantity surveyors are the devil's spawn, they can never give a straight answer.

brings to mind the old fellas telling me that they were still blasting stuff in the forties with stuff they were supposed to haved dumped in the twenties

You could walk into a hardware as late as the mid sixties and buy dynamite off the shelf. My oul boy tells a story about blasting rock in a corner of a shed footing. One of his brothers was with him. The brother had no interest in farming, didn't want to be there at all.He was so p***ed off with the whole thing he wasn't even going to run when the fuse was lit:rolleyes:, needless to say he was first behind cover screaming at my father and grandfather to get a move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Dupont

We have 2 lads working with us from monaghan. Must ask them about that, they were probably involved, the eejits.

It was clarkes job and I think pt mc William done the work. It was meant to be a underground car park with shops on top but it went tits up. They were down some depth, don't know if they couldn't get good ground or ran out if money but the hole thing ( pun intended) was filt back up and putting Back to way it was before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

You could walk into a hardware as late as the mid sixties and buy dynamite off the shelf. My oul boy tells a story about blasting rock in a corner of a shed footing. One of his brothers was with him. The brother had no interest in farming, didn't want to be there at all.He was so p***ed off with the whole thing he wasn't even going to run when the fuse was lit:rolleyes:, needless to say he was first behind cover screaming at my father and grandfather to get a move on.

amazing what they got away with, also people were fierce deaf and blind in them days

saw this elsewhere :Dattachment.php?attachmentid=7553&d=1380871299

If I could only thank a post more than once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Sad day here. My uncle in America got hit by a car this evening and was killed instantly, 2 young lads and one of them is 13 tomorrow and the other is 11. Hard to believe this time last week all we were worried about was getting tickets for the match. You can't prepare for something like this happening :(
    Jeez redzer, sorry to hear it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Sad day here. My uncle in America got hit by a car this evening and was killed instantly, 2 young lads and one of them is 13 tomorrow and the other is 11. Hard to believe this time last week all we were worried about was getting tickets for the match. You can't prepare for something like this happening :(

Sorry to hear that Red. My condolences.

naughto wrote: »
    we are in the wrong game.i like my horse racing but this is metal price

bloody dealers driving up the prices so the ordinary man doesnt get a look in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

I am starting a campaign to have it back filled:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Awful sad redzer , I'm sorry for your loss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,975 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

delaval wrote: »
    Same here Mrs De at home all kids in school, we eat together every day, that's when you hear what's going on. This time of the year is nice as more time to take your time. All off to rugby today to kick the shyte out of some near neighbours;);)

Great rhing about a farm is that in most cases we live on or near by so kids can call to you and join in what your at but safety is a big worry

Be crying in yer porridge in morning delaval,pretty confident well beat ye in this one.our only worry is Duncan Williams at scrum half,don't know how he secured another deal.o gara is gone and now penny can implement his game plan with a good passing ,running fly half.feeling confident!!.relief Milker booked for morning,pints after game!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

td5man wrote: »
    Where did kovu get too.

I had no internet for a week! The 6.30am clock-ins didn't help!
    whelan1 wrote: »
    another question what is belly grass?

I've seen enough of that sh*te this last fortnight. I can tell you how it is processed down if you like :D

Has one absolutely priceless moment this week. I was moving a pen of full bulls, round 600kg lads up to the chute and they were a bit rowdy. Few men were chatting at the side waiting to unload and one of them shouts over "Moving cattle isn't a job for a woman!"
    Kovu calmly turns around, looks him in the eye and says...."I used to be a man"

Best. Reaction. Ever.
    Don't mess with the Kovu when she's at work:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭dzer2

Sorry to here that lad RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

At kid match now playing our mortal enemy not going well

As for tonight I am not going but expecting a win. Big changes but no quarter asked or given. Are you attached to Nenagh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

Anyone know if u can reclaim vat on a new slurry tank?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

My condolences redz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Sorry for your loss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Redzer I'm so sorry to hear that. It must have came as an awful shock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,975 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

delaval wrote: »
    At kid match now playing our mortal enemy not going well

As for tonight I am not going but expecting a win. Big changes but no quarter asked or given. Are you attached to Nenagh?

Played a bit underage,hometown club alright.hard to get to get to games since we turned senior as they're on Saturdays.the auld sessions after the junior Sunday matches!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Anyone with the kettle on in Clare?
    Day one of 4x4challenge sitting in killaloe enjoying the weather/scenery, heading to tulla (dont mention calving cameras) by the long route.