If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

just do it wrote: »
    I know what you've been reading ;-)

learnt it in college today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

quadboy wrote: »
    learnt it in college today

I read it as part of the Allbreach soil test/ marketing ploy ;)

How's the course going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

just do it wrote: »
    I read it as part of the Allbreach soil test/ marketing ploy ;)

How's the course going?

Its grand when were outside doing stuff but 3 hours inside today talking about soil takes it out of ya, 2 weeks off starting monday doing work experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

td5man wrote: »
    Hope this well be farming chit chat and not sh*t chat its gone down hill lately ;-)

We'll if my name is to it, it's a cert to be seedy

quadboy wrote: »
    And shooter's name on it, the hure

How that happened when I was no where near a computer I don't know but when your good your good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

if you buy in an animal and she was tb tested in previous herd in march do i have to tb test her and blood or just blood to sell in mart? bought in july... or is she ok to go to factory as is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

We'll if my name is to it, it's a cert to be seedy
    ladies lounge sharpshooter ;):D:D

another question what is belly grass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 FT7

whelan1 wrote: »
    another question what is belly grass?

42. What is 'bellygrass' and what restrictions apply to its use?

'Belly grass' is the lay term used for stomach contents removed from cattle and sheep after slaughter. It is classified as Category 2 material, the same as manure. It can be landspread provided DAFF does not deem the product to pose a risk to animal or human health. It can be spread on any type of land provided that a 21-day grazing restriction is upheld for all animals (60 days in the case of pigs). The slaughter plant should maintain a register of the details of where this product is sent, quantities etc. The farmer who owns the land on which it is spread should also keep records of where, when and quantities spread.

FT7 wrote: »
    42. What is 'bellygrass' and what restrictions apply to its use?

'Belly grass' is the lay term used for stomach contents removed from cattle and sheep after slaughter. It is classified as Category 2 material, the same as manure. It can be landspread provided DAFF does not deem the product to pose a risk to animal or human health. It can be spread on any type of land provided that a 21-day grazing restriction is upheld for all animals (60 days in the case of pigs). The slaughter plant should maintain a register of the details of where this product is sent, quantities etc. The farmer who owns the land on which it is spread should also keep records of where, when and quantities spread.
    thanks, a lad was asking me today what it was i thought it was bloat:D then he said he was being paid to wash out a shed that had stored it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

thanks, a lad was asking me today what it was i thought it was bloat:D then he said he was being paid to wash out a shed that had stored it

I was talking to a farmer today in N.I. that gets between 12 and 20 ton of belly a day! We just completed a job for him and the smell on site on a hot day could be stomach churning

Still waiting on the Ryanair plane here. Got bored so stole the iPhone off the kitchen commander

I was talking to a farmer today in N.I. that gets between 12 and 20 ton of belly a day! We just completed a job for him and the smell on site on a hot day could be stomach churning
    this lad had it in a shed beside his house, could ya imagine the smell:eek:

Esp with the hot weather we had this year

yup and his wife is a real queen:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

I think they are known as wagons down these parts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

jersey101 wrote: »
    The joys of farming. Father went off hedge trimming today and came back half hour later with a broken side link in hand /

I was wondering what bone is that??!! Then copped you were talking about a tractor part

could ya imagine the flies :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Could ya imagine the disease risk. They were stored outdoors near me 20 years ago and there were several TB outbreaks in the locality at the time.

Still waiting on the Ryanair plane here. Got bored so stole the iPhone off the kitchen commander

Where you off to? I'm sure there's enough fuel on board so don't be frettin :-)

The Irish base in kosovo was next to a working chicken farm and they piled the manure next on of the fences. Now in the summer you wanna see the flies on the few white block buildings we had in the base

Muckit wrote: »
    Where you off to? I'm sure there's enough fuel on board so don't be frettin :-)

Just. A short hop to England. Dorset to be precise. I'll hand the pilot a twenty to top her up just to make sure.

The Irish base in kosovo was next to a working chicken farm and they piled the manure next on of the fences. Now in the summer you wanna see the flies on the few white block buildings we had in the base

Ah haaa now I understand the username :-) u wouldn't happen to be born in 82???!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Muckit wrote: »
    Ah haaa now I understand the username :-) u wouldn't happen to be born in 82???!!!

I heard its because he has shot 82 people :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I heard its because he has shot 82 people :eek:

And that was before he joined the army :-)

Any of the lads farming in SAC's see how handy the mussel farmers got a derogation to destroy SAC's off the coast for mussel seed. Hard to think of any agri activity that would even come close to the level of destruction they are being allowed to do. Makes the analogy about the deep sea trawling and harvesting wheat using high level bombers seem quaint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Any of the lads farming in SAC's see how handy the mussel farmers got a derogation to destroy SAC's off the coast for mussel seed. Hard to think of any agri activity that would even come close to the level of destruction they are being allowed to do. Makes the analogy about the deep sea trawling and harvesting wheat using high level bombers seem quaint.

Think all the Connacht coastline is now either an SAC or proposed SAC.

Oh I better shut up now, can feel another rant coming on, tis too feckin late for it :D

Think all the Connacht coastline is now either an SAC or proposed SAC.

Oh I better shut up now, can feel another rant coming on, tis too feckin late for it :D

This was east coast. They're using dredgers which are destroying the sea bed for all other sealife and will take years to recover all with the ministers blessing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

This was east coast. They're using dredgers which are destroying the sea bed for all other sealife and will take years to recover all with the ministers blessing.

I wonder if I applied to improve my SAC commonage, give it a dose of lime, drain it, seed it, would I get a positive answer :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I wonder if I applied to improve my SAC commonage, give it a dose of lime, drain it, seed it, would I get a positive answer :D

Its worth talking to a park ranger ( I think thats who deals these inquiries ) you never know !