If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Know Your Maynoothians 13/14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭SeanyboyQPR

R_V_P 24 wrote: »
    Ya I seem that one, looks small enough but I've heard good things about it!! I'm on the same boat, I know no one there who's going!!...

I'm in Rye, also going alone! :) where are ye coming from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭R_V_P 24

I'm in Rye, also going alone! :) where are ye coming from?

I'm from Mayo seanie, what about yourself!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭iliketodraw

I'm from the arsehole of nowhere as ye see :L

What courses yee doing?

Coming from cork! Been trying to figure out the best route all day :pac: doing law myself, you?

Arts, not sure on subjects yet.
    Could you not get the train from Cork to Dublin and commute out to Maynooth?

Coming from cork! Been trying to figure out the best route all day :pac: doing law myself, you?

Finance, studied Law before for three years in uni, your going to have fun trust me!!...;-)

Arts, not sure on subjects yet.
    Could you not get the train from Cork to Dublin and commute out to Maynooth?

You get the luas to Connolly from heuston and get the train out, usually every hour or more frequent, or get the 67 bus which takes an hour and is half as cheap

What sort of things is there to do in Maynooth? Is there a cinema? etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭Planemo

There's a river for pondering.

Oh, and a McDonalds!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Diarmuid1995

What sort of things is there to do in Maynooth? Is there a cinema? etc etc.

Get involved in a few clubs and socs, you'll have plenty to do.
    There's not much in the town itself (no cinema), surprising for a student town really.

The closest cinema is Liffey Valley (~30 mins away by bus)

Yeah I think bus to dublin and then train out to nooth!

What goes on socially so, nights out and stuff? :) I hope you're right RVP, its the only thing that appealed to me :)

There's one closer to me where I live but I don't drive :pac: yet.. :L

At least I'm only about an 1h 30mins away on the train from the college.

Thanks for the info.
    Might join one or two because I'm not really sporty or that. Maybe the cards society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭andrew369

Planemo wrote: »
    The closest cinema is Liffey Valley (~30 mins away by bus)

I live near Liffey Valley, haven't been to it in a very long time but I remember it being overpriced and just OK as a cinema. Would be better off going to town and making a day of it.

andrew369 wrote: »
    I live near Liffey Valley, haven't been to it in a very long time but I remember it being overpriced and just OK as a cinema. Would be better off going to town and making a day of it.

Only half an hour away right?

I live close to Clondalkin village and was about 35 minutes to Maynooth by car, so about half an hour in decent to traffic to Liffey Valley alright. :) Has a few good shops but like I said the cinema is just alright. Far better ones in city center.

The Savoy cinema is an hour away on the bus, it's 4 quid for a student ticket on Tuesdays.

Would there be a way back to the college if it was evening time?
    (I probably wouldn't attempt this until I'm settled which will take awhile :pac:

Yeah would be a bus for Maynooth into town and back running up til near midnight, that is the usual time for Dublin Bus anyway. Think it is number 66 but not sure exactly. Would probably run every half hour or so, so would have no problem going to town and back. :)

Last bus would be around 11:30, if you want to stay out later than that you'll have to befriend a jackeen so you can crash at their's. (A daunting prospect, I know :P)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,442 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

andrew369 wrote: »
    Yeah would be a bus for Maynooth into town and back running up til near midnight, that is the usual time for Dublin Bus anyway. Think it is number 66 but not sure exactly. Would probably run every half hour or so, so would have no problem going to town and back. :)

66 or 67. Also the train.
    I think the last train is 11ish and last bus is 11.30ish.

Anyone know if there's still a nitelink at the weekend?

Haha I have lots of starting college in Dublin this year. Have lots of family there to haha. That's good to know then thanks

Anyone know if there's still a nitelink at the weekend?
    66n still runs AFAIK

Grand.

Now if only they could run it on a Wednesday for me...

Or run normal buses/trains/luas' after 11 like a proper city. Guess that's too much to ask though.

Don't be so ridiculous! Sure all the good Irish folk are fast asleep in their beds at that stage. It's not like any of them would still be working or off having a life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,167 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

Ah! Good morning everyone. I am so glad I got to bed at 7:30!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭aaabbbb

66n still runs AFAIK

67n you mean ;)

66n Goes to leixlip.... you'd have a long walk home :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 middle_earth

Name: Oz
    Course: Dependable Software System
    Interests: doctor who...

I get a room in Hargadon hall. Does the kitchen have microwave or rice cooker? Because I consider to bring it if they don't have it.