If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭Figerty

http://www.independent.ie/business/f...-29493508.html

That's all the cops will look for... flashing orange beacon, tax and insurance..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Somewhere afew gardai were probably having a bet as to the most obscure vehicle they could get impounded :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

the silage lads where telling me yesterday of a local faarmer who lost 23 cows after feeding them half a tonne of green potatoes:eek: never heard of this before , what causes them to die?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Just back from looking at young stock. I hadn't seen them since dosing 2 wks ago. It always catches me off guard how well they do at this time of year.
    They are really growing and putting on weight. If we get a dry spell young stock and in calf heifers should be very well grown.
    I think rain could only do harm at this stage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

a good weekend on the ranch here 5 calves and wait for it...........................................................................all alive:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

I must sound like a wound up clock at this stage, but I'm asking again if people are making any money from bucket fed calves?

We sold 4 weinling heifers and 3 bulls on saturday - all off heifers and all off limousin ai. All were 11 to 14 months old. Prices ranged from a 420kg bull @ €1100, 290kg bull €795, 360kg heifer €820, 300kg heifer €760. They had been weined since spring and were on grass. They got 3 months of meal costing approximately €50 each which definitely paid.

Mart was a bit of an eye opener. There were a lot of bulls and heifers there that were obviously bucket fed. Cattle born from february to may in 2012, weighing 300 to 400 kg, well fed. I'm not talking about Freisian's but HEX, CHX, LMX and BBX. None of them were able to make €1.50 per kg and most were around €1.30 per kg. Considering that people paid up to €400 for these animals as calves last year, there has to be major losses on a top 400kg animal that cost €400 and is only making €600 after feeding him for 15 or 16 months. There appeared to be lots of buyers for them, but prices were very bad when you consider how much they were bought for initially!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I think u need to be rearing those on your self

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Muckit wrote: »

Yep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭dzer2

reilig wrote: »
    I must sound like a wound up clock at this stage, but I'm asking again if people are making any money from bucket fed calves?

We sold 4 weinling heifers and 3 bulls on saturday - all off heifers and all off limousin ai. All were 11 to 14 months old. Prices ranged from a 420kg bull @ €1100, 290kg bull €795, 360kg heifer €820, 300kg heifer €760. They had been weined since spring and were on grass. They got 3 months of meal costing approximately €50 each which definitely paid.

Mart was a bit of an eye opener. There were a lot of bulls and heifers there that were obviously bucket fed. Cattle born from february to may in 2012, weighing 300 to 400 kg, well fed. I'm not talking about Freisian's but HEX, CHX, LMX and BBX. None of them were able to make €1.50 per kg and most were around €1.30 per kg. Considering that people paid up to €400 for these animals as calves last year, there has to be major losses on a top 400kg animal that cost €400 and is only making €600 after feeding him for 15 or 16 months. There appeared to be lots of buyers for them, but prices were very bad when you consider how much they were bought for initially!!

Bought by agents for feed lots they will improve massively when fed concentrates and maize. The lads that do this should finish them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

what mart were you at on saturday reilig, few stories doing the rounds about a few of the marts in leitrim at the moment,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

... Considering that people paid up to €400 for these animals as calves last year....
    Last year wasn't the norm though. These type of calves were a lot cheaper this year.
    Muckit wrote: »
    So does buying these type of weanlings leave the best profit. Maybe??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭arais

pakalasa wrote: »
    Last year wasn't the norm though. These type of calves were a lot cheaper this year.

still a lot of suckler weanlings selling under €700 , carrying a cow for 12 months ??? no wonder a lot of cows being killed this year

dear cattle and scarcity of cash moved a lot of people towards calves last year

buying a year and a half at 350 kgs IMO you need to buy cheap, you are buying a stunted beast that will be slow to thrive and never come to much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

pakalasa wrote: »

I agree. But even if you bought the same animal at €200. Fed him for 15 or 16 months and sold him for €600. How much would you have out of him?

i agree with muckit that the value is probably in finishing them. Have to say that the prices for finished cattle (or a month off finishing) were very poor too though. 600kg bullocks, 28 to 30 months old were only just making €2 per kg. But I think that might be a blip and prices will go up in the coming weeks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

hugo29 wrote: »
    what mart were you at on saturday reilig, few stories doing the rounds about a few of the marts in leitrim at the moment,

Stories like what? Seen a farmer from drumshambo selling weanlings in a local mart a couple of weeks ago, I looked it up and it was 133 miles each way

simx wrote: »
    Stories like what? Seen a farmer from drumshambo selling weanlings in a local mart a couple of weeks ago, I looked it up and it was 133 miles each way

rumours of financial problems

rumours of another mart allegedly asking sellers to sign form which absolves the mart of any responsibility if the purchasers cheque bounces, so you sell your stock, wait for your cheque which dont come if the purchaser funds dont clear, you end up with no stock, no money and no comeback,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

simx wrote: »

The last day I was at the Mart in Ballymote there was a farmer whose address was Meath. I just assumed he must also have land locally otherwise the cost of bringing them all that way wouldn't make any sense

rumours of another mart allegedly asking sellers to sign form which absolves the mart of any responsibility if the purchasers cheque bounces, so you sell your stock, wait for your cheque which dont come if the purchaser funds dont clear, you end up with no stock, no money and no comeback,

Not much point in going to those marts so. Anyone that signs a form like that is looking for trouble imo. Wasn't the idea of a mart that your money was guaranteed?

towzer2010 wrote: »
    The last day I was at the Mart in Ballymote there was a farmer whose address was Meath. I just assumed he must also have land locally otherwise the cost of bringing them all that way wouldn't make any sense

Not much point in going to those marts so. Anyone that signs a form like that is looking for trouble imo. Wasn't the idea of a mart that your money was guaranteed?

probably all rubbish towzer, man who was telling a few of us weekend usually gets things a bit mixed up, if its true me and you will be looking for a new mart as its not a million miles from us

drove from south sligo to town this am for work and its misty wet drizzle at home and bone dry here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

What's aftergrass making for grazing this year? is 30 an acre about the go for good grass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

I find that hard to believe. There are marts that were attracting very good high bidding buyers that lets just say only hung around for a few weeks:D:D. The whole idea of a mart was guaranteed payment, but if they go to the wall there isnt much of a guarantee. The highest bid isnt always the best bid.

The whole idea of a mart was guaranteed payment,

thats what i said, but who knows, i for one would take my cattle home if a form like that was put in front of me,

i agree with muckit that the value is probably in finishing them. Have to say that the prices for finished cattle (or a month off finishing) were very poor too though. 600kg bullocks, 28 to 30 months old were only just making €2 per kg. But I think that might be a blip and prices will go up in the coming weeks?

I doubt there is much value in finishing them as they are just so backward, you would be looking at them for a year and that would cost close on 500 alone before feeding grains. long time to make a 100 quid

Forward cattle are a very good trade in most marts as many have the bidders have returned after 8 months on the exile, fools and there money are easily parted all over again

Just got dipped by customs in a garage yard. the rotund woman rocks over and ask me to pull the bonnet in a ignorant manner, no problem work away but make sure its starting when I come back out as im in a terrible rush, and dont open the doors as there are 3 dogs inside that dont like strangers. she said grand. I rocked in and met a heap of lads inside afraid to go back out:D. bought my few bits went back out and she says thats okay. Stick in the old key for the jeep that isnt coded anymore and jeep just keeps turning and doesnt fire. you should have seen the heads on them, when I got back out in a excited state. I told them stay away as didnt want them to do anymore damage. I know I know im a bad egg for wasting an uncivil servants time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Just got dipped by customs in a garage yard. the rotund woman rocks over and ask me to pull the bonnet in a ignorant manner, no problem work away but make sure its starting when I come back out as im in a terrible rush, and dont open the doors as there are 3 dogs inside that dont like strangers. she said grand. I rocked in and met a heap of lads inside afraid to go back out:D. bought my few bits went back out and she says thats okay. Stick in the old key for the jeep that isnt coded anymore and jeep just keeps turning and doesnt fire. you should have seen the heads on them, when I got back out in a excited state. I stay away as didnt want them to do anymore damage. I know I know im a bad egg for wasting an uncivil servants time

Hats off to you bob, excellent !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Just got dipped by customs in a garage yard. the rotund woman rocks over and ask me to pull the bonnet in a ignorant manner, no problem work away but make sure its starting when I come back out as im in a terrible rush, and dont open the doors as there are 3 dogs inside that dont like strangers. she said grand. I rocked in and met a heap of lads inside afraid to go back out:D. bought my few bits went back out and she says thats okay. Stick in the old key for the jeep that isnt coded anymore and jeep just keeps turning and doesnt fire. you should have seen the heads on them, when I got back out in a excited state. I told them stay away as didnt want them to do anymore damage. I know I know im a bad egg for wasting an uncivil servants time

Note to self, do not walk on Bobs corns!!!

Well done by the way.

It's amazing what a little good manners does!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Who's the man?:D:D:D:D

You'd have attained true cult hero status if you'd managed to upset them so much that they left and the boys who were inside panicking got away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

what a weekend for mayo football both minors and seniors in the allireland.if any of ye on her can get your hands on allireland tickets please do as i will take as many as i can get.
    only down side it took over 4 hours to get home,so no pints when we got in as it was mad late and an i was f1cked tired any way.
    this is or yr to bring sam acrosss the shannon
    (even though we played sh1te in the 1st half)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Don't know about cattle but they do bring rams from Wickla all the way to Maam Cross.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

Don't know about cattle but they do bring rams from Wickla all the way to Maam Cross.

Bloody hell. I know a few lads from round here go to Maam cross but I think they go for the day out more than anything. I was driving through there about 5 years ago on the horse sale day (by mistake) and the amount of squad cars was unreal ..... and a good few hiace's and transits with lovely clean windows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Bloody hell. I know a few lads from round here go to Maam cross but I think they go for the day out more than anything. I was driving through there about 5 years ago on the horse sale day (by mistake) and the amount of squad cars was unreal ..... and a good few hiace's and transits with lovely clean windows

Lol yeah, them lads are there too. If you're around call in to McHughs canteen van, tis where all the craic is :D

A fella from Cork bought ewes from me there once, told him to leave his wife at home next time, argued for an hour over a euro :D I know of one guy who brings sheep from Achill by tractor! A Kerry man outbid a local and bought the 1st prize ram a few years ago, think it was €750.

Lol yeah, them lads are there too. If you're around call in to McHughs canteen van, tis where all the craic is :D

A fella from Cork bought ewes from me there once, told him to leave his wife at home next time, argued for an hour over a euro :D I know of one guy who brings sheep from Achill by tractor! A Kerry man outbid a local and bought the 1st prize ram a few years ago, think it was €750.

tis a long time since i was in maam cross, i can just imagine the craic

used to know a few old hard jaws from Conemara back in the day in London, they were boys you would not fcuk with as a few natives found out,;)