If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,964 ✭✭✭C0N0R

delaval wrote: »
    Conor.
    How's calving going? Have ye any growth yet and did any more heifs have mastitis?

How is this Botulism scare being viewed in NZ?

My opinion a cynical exercise on the part of the Chineese, too many scares to be a coincidence???

Calving is going good, new shed is running well so far, haven't tested the cup removers yet, will do that this week. Weather is amazing, it's a bit worrying to be honest. Since I started milking them myself have only had one heifer with mastitis, and she calved the day before she was first milked which wouldn't have been ideal but that's the way it happened. Haven't done farm walk but I'd be hoping its growing well. Drove past my old farm and they seem to have oceans of grass, funny enough it was never like that when I was there!!

As its a new conversion all the cows just happen to be out of a herringbone so they are slowly being trained to come onto the rotary, prick of a job but has to be done.

Question, do you use much oxytocin? I was always taught to use it very sparingly and only on heifers that let nothing down and were very tight only for the first milking to. Was talking to someone who used to use it on all heifers for their first milking, I'd be worried it would create a big reliance on it and lead to problems further down the line....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

C0N0R wrote: »
    Calving is going good, new shed is running well so far, haven't tested the cup removers yet, will do that this week. Weather is amazing, it's a bit worrying to be honest. Since I started milking them myself have only had one heifer with mastitis, and she calved the day before she was first milked which wouldn't have been ideal but that's the way it happened. Haven't done farm walk but I'd be hoping its growing well. Drove past my old farm and they seem to have oceans of grass, funny enough it was never like that when I was there!!

As its a new conversion all the cows just happen to be out of a herringbone so they are slowly being trained to come onto the rotary, prick of a job but has to be done.

Question, do you use much oxytocin? I was always taught to use it very sparingly and only on heifers that let nothing down and were very tight only for the first milking to. Was talking to someone who used to use it on all heifers for their first milking, I'd be worried it would create a big reliance on it and lead to problems further down the line....
    Never used it.
    We have a spray from NZ company FIL (I think) that reduces 'flagging' in heifers which must be uncomfortable for them. I can't remember the name will check at milking time this evening that's if we have any left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭dar31

Never used it.
    We have a spray from NZ company FIL (I think) that reduces 'flagging' in heifers which must be uncomfortable for them. I can't remember the name will check at milking time this evening that's if we have any left.

is that the blue stuff, udder comfort it think its called.
    very good, but shockingly expensive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Whats flagging?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Timmaay wrote: »
    Whats flagging?
    always thought it was springing:confused:

Timmaay wrote: »
    Whats flagging?
    I don't know sceintific name but it's hen a heifer calves and her udder looks swollen. If you push your fingur into it the indent stays whereas if it was Mast it would be hard.

Crap explanation, 'flagging' could be a word local to here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Going forward...

Udder edema. Can be genetic or caused by unbalanced dry cow diet, too much potassium, salt for example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I don't know sceintific name but it's hen a heifer calves and her udder looks swollen. If you push your fingur into it the indent stays whereas if it was Mast it would be hard.

Crap explanation, 'flagging' could be a word local to here

We use it here too, I think my grandfather summed it up well when he was trying to explain it to me first.

"Her tits are big and sore so she won't let the babby suck":D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭micky mouse

Ye are both right.'Flagging' occurs when hf are springing down to calve.Udder is soft and swollen as again if she springs down with mast,it will be hard and sore.It really is amazing that with the click of a button farmers in Ireland can connect with farmers in new zealand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭Bactidiaryl

Do the kiwis have any farming forums?

Ye are both right.'Flagging' occurs when hf are springing down to calve.Udder is soft and swollen as again if she springs down with mast,it will be hard and sore.It really is amazing that with the click of a button farmers in Ireland can connect with farmers in new zealand

Well they are that bit behind on the old dairy side of things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Going forward...

I agree but they're not too shabby at rugby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Especially the art of the spear tackle!

isnt it strange with the gaelic qualifiers that the semi finals ended up with a team from each province

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

whelan1 wrote: »
    isnt it strange with the gaelic qualifiers that the semi finals ended up with a team from each province

Ya tis , can see a Dublin Mayo final on the cards

I wouldn't say that.

Do the kiwis have any farming forums?
    none as good as this one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Right heading out for a few. The wife thinks I'm bringing her out for her birthday (which I missed yesterday what with drawing bales), but I'm really just celebrating having all the silage done!!! ssshhh ....say nothing ;)

whelan1 wrote: »
    none as good as this one :D

I suppose if they did we'd all be on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭micky mouse

Sure when they are"that bit behind" you could always organise for conor and a few new Zealand lads to come across,show them how to grow grass delaval.Reilig could show them how to drain land;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

one of the lads that do all my concreting and steel work was killed in a car crash last night only 22- puts everything into perspective

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭dzer2

stanflt wrote: »
    one of the lads that do all my concreting and steel work was killed in a car crash last night only 22- puts everything into perspective

Tough that RIP

Sure when they are"that bit behind" you could always organise for conor and a few new Zealand lads to come across,show them how to grow grass delaval.Reilig could show them how to drain land;)
    A few often forgotten facts
    The grass based 'NZ' system was brought from ireland to NZ by some visiting farmers in the 50's
    Kale, turnips and other forage crops did not appear there till a group of farmers saw them here in the 60's
    They are now using our machines, McCale, Keenan, HiSpec, Dairymaster to name a few. The area under of fodder beet is growing steadily and they would never have had a beet industry.

So it's not all one way traffic, we just got hamstrung by Quotas and a reliance on Sfp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Milton09

So it's not all one way traffic, we just got hamstrung by Quotas and a reliance on Sfp.

......and bad weather !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭Figerty

The grass based 'NZ' system was brought from ireland to NZ by some visiting farmers in the 50's
    Kale, turnips and other forage crops did not appear there till a group of farmers saw them here in the 60's
    They are now using our machines, McCale, Keenan, HiSpec, Dairymaster to name a few. The area under of fodder beet is growing steadily and they would never have had a beet industry.

Don't know about the new Zealand bringing the idea. My Grandfathers 9n the 20s and 30s used to grow cabbage and turnips for cows; kale was never big around west clare but it was grown. Turnips were put them through the hand pulper for the pigs etc.

I agree about the equipment being used. I saw a figure last year showing that agricultural machinery exports were massive.

Figerty wrote: »
    Don't know about the new Zealand bringing the idea. My Grandfathers 9n the 20s and 30s used to grow cabbage and turnips for cows; kale was never big around west clare but it was grown. Turnips were put them through the hand pulper for the pigs etc.

I agree about the equipment being used. I saw a figure last year showing that agricultural machinery exports were massive.
    If you re read post you'll see that I said that they saw that here and took idea back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭TEAT SQUEEZER

they`re still due some of our best bits yet...environmental protection requirements are not of an irish(euro) spec , housing on a grand scale is around the corner imo with limited lands for wintering stock off farm etc.. animal welfare issues raise their head frequently too ....

I think New Zealand has an awful lot to learn from Ireland/Europe still when it comes to farming and dairy farming. As said environmental and animal welfare is still rather weak, and this will come in and will increase the cost of production but I wouldn't say it's a bad thing. The other thing I see happening here and it's happening more and more is people turning away from Grass based systems, I'm seeing more and more high input farms, people are chasing production at the detriment of low cost. A phrase I've heard multiple times and is a particular favourite of mine, Profit for Sanity, Production for Vanity! And it's true.

Ill get a crew of lads together for a few far, visits, ye can all pick a specialist subject relevant to your farm!

Never used it.

Yea sounds like something FIL would have alright, did you get the name of it? Would you recommend it? Must keep an eye out for it now. Do you just spray it on the udder or what?

Especially the art of the spear tackle!

According to Joe Brolly, Sean Kavanagh has been taking a few lessons from the kiwis then to!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

I was going to say the same, most NZ thinking started here. then to reinvent the wheel and to keep researchers, print media etc in a job they start talking about doing it the NZ way. They even sold us over a few exspurts who joined our research teams