If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

with feeding spuds, veg waste you have to offset the savings with losses due to either choking and stomach problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Have a mate who got waste spuds from a spud farmer over here, said cows protein shot up and milked shocking well of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

husband just started vintage lorry out in front of house, frightened the bejaysus out of the 2 mental kittens in the garden into the house:mad:so now the fun begins in finding them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭pg141

reilig wrote: »
    Anyone fattening cattle on spuds?

Met a guy over the weekend who is growing 5 acres of sarpo mira which are an organic potato. We have about 1/10 of an acre of them every year for the last 7 or 8 years and gave this guy some of our seed after year 1. He now has enough of the seed to grow 5 acres. He recons that an acre of spuds combined with a small amount of silage will finish 3 bullocks over the winter. He plans to finish 15 this winter.

He has a pretty low cost system. MF 165, drill plough, planter and single row digger. He grows them in nice loose soil. Blackens it with slurry before he ploughs it. There's no spraying and no maintenance. He is retired and has time on his hands.

Just thought I'd put it out there - don't know how well it would work, but he claims thAt it works well for him!
    with feeding spuds, veg waste you have to offset the savings with losses due to either choking and stomach problems.

Just in relation to this,

We kept about 15 breeding sows when I was younger and they were fed on a diet of spuds and carrotts, we only fed meal to them in the last month and when they had piglets at foot, but we kept spuds and carrotts infront of them during this time as well, sows came out of the create in great condition, (not to fat) and when back into the boar a lot quicker

in our area we had the carrot producers was a 10 min drive in the tractor and the spud man was a 20 min drive, we paid €12.5 per ton (cirra 2004) and would pull up and the guys would just tip two boxes of spuds into the trailer, trailer was left in the yard when we came back and there was very little waste in this, no onsite storage was required as we just used them off the trailer it would just tie up a trailer but if needed we use to tip out against a wall in a shed. Carrots were lifted in a transport box and took us 20 mins per load these were tipped out and shovled into pigs as needed. At the time i remember my dad and i worked it out against another man would kept 100 breeding sows, on a meal system and we must have produced a littler about 200 euros cheaper than him, by collecting on a weekly/fortnightly bases we didnt have to invest in storage and had less health problems than the sows in the comerrical system, the animals were a bit wetter on the system but it didnt matter with pigs as they are a much cleaner animal than sheep or cattle

It was a sweet little system that suited everyone both growers got rid of waste they could do nothing with and we developed a nice cheap feeding system which suited us

12.5 per ton of spuds < €xxx euro of barley per ton (we were buying barley in 40kg bags from the co-op at about 4/5 euro a bag)

Edit: if feeding spuds and carrots to cattle or sheep i would sugest running it through a chopping bucket, this should reduce any choking and stomach problems

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Supermoon out there again tonight, lovely night for a stroll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

It's making some amount of rain here now. It's wet, wet!

Roads are bone dry by the yime I've got to Cork city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭Bactidiaryl

It's pissing in kerry. :):):):):):):):):):):):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Roads are bone dry by the yime I've got to Cork city.

I think we got a light shower, ground was wet but no sign of any heavy rain. :(

Holy god Darragh, you don't commute to the city every day do you? Be a long spin...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

so he had 20t of 3 acres or 7t per acre. A top crop of sugar beet would 4 to 5 times heavier. commercial growers would be getting 20t ac of roosters

Ah Bob, Bob, Bob,

You forget the variables. We all don't live where you do. In fact, the man that I'm referring to lives over 100 miles from the Golden Vale or the Sunny South East. Given the weather that we had last summer, it was a grand crop. Sure in several places, the 20 ton of Roosters that you refer to were just ploughed back into the ground. And in fairness, 10 to 12 ton of Roosters per acre on good land would be an average crop in an average year.

People have to cut their cloth according to their measure, and that's what this guy is doing. He doesn't have machinery to grow or handle beet, he doesn't want to take the financial risk of investing in an expensive crop either. As I have said, he's using free seed, free fertilizer, cheap old machines, and a tractor that's a miser on diesel. He's growing spuds on peaty land. If he can harvest and store his 5 acres securely and use them to finish 15 bullocks, then the return on his investment will be quite good. He couldn't or wouldn't dream of growing beet!!

I think we got a light shower, ground was wet but no sign of any heavy rain. :(

Holy god Darragh, you don't commute to the city every day do you? Be a long spin...

No John. I was only passing through the city this morning. On my way to northern Ireland, I try to get to Newry for 9 o'clock. Work from home 3 days a week and in the North 2 days.
    My dad still does the day to day stuff on the farm, and I do the grunt work in the evenings and weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Muckit wrote: »
    Where is he getting all the veg 'waste'? Is there a vegetation processing plant nearby or has he a farm shop?

From 2 large veg growers i think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

what would be appropriate dance attire for a rain dance:pac::pac:,or will i just leave my wellies out in the middle of the yard to fill up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

leg wax wrote: »
    what would be appropriate dance attire for a rain dance:pac::pac:,or will i just leave my wellies out in the middle of the yard to fill up

I spent twenty minutes footing turf last night and that was my rain dance . Rain came instantly .

posted on this last year, this morning i found 3 golf balls in one paddock, i am not sure if crows carry them or if the neighbours are target practising, does anyone else find them in their fields?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

whelan1 wrote: »
    posted on this last year, this morning i found 3 golf balls in one paddock, i am not sure if crows carry them or if the neighbours are target practising, does anyone else find them in their fields?

are you close to a golf course or driving range

hugo29 wrote: »
    are you close to a golf course or driving range
    no

no

then some smart arse neighbour is practising his driving into your fields, collect them, fill the slurry spreader and blow them all back at him at once

my da plays pitch and putt- not in our fields though- will give them to him, but its a strange one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

my da plays pitch and putt- not in our fields though- will give them to him, but its a strange one

With the number of stray shots, Rory McIllroy, is shooting these days, I'd say, those balls are from over the border:eek:

if i was rory, id know where my balls would be,

Are you coming out hugo ?

moy83 wrote: »
    Are you coming out hugo ?

eh, well if playing with caroline wozniacki is coming out Moy then yea im waaaaaaaaayyyyy out there:D

I read your post a few times and realised you said "if I was rory " , but I read it the first time as "if it was rory " . My bad . Good luck with caroline !

lol no panic, im afraid me and caroline will be a non runner moy

did ye get that big dump of rain in galway, fairly hammered down here, clearing a bit now

Her loss I'm sure !

We got a good shower in the morning but you wouldnt know it made anything now again . Its as dead as Elvis at the minute so hopefully there is another drop on the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

You be surprised those danes are easy and sure look at the head on Rory.Think he is concentrating too much on playing the back 9

yea i think he is definitely playing with the wrong iron, mind you her back hand isnt great the moment either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Ah lads I'm breaking my sides laughin' here!! :pac: Fair play whelan1 for starting it all off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic