If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

whelan1 wrote: »
    husband transports keenan feeders to a guy in edgeworthstown to reline them, the one on the lorry at the minute has a bale handler thingy on top of it , i assume yours doesnt have this

Tell him to stay going to the scrap man!!!!!!

I said what now?

It must be bad silage tbh:D:D:D:D:D, I'm having no bother with our oul yoke getting bales in is nearly harder.

Yea but they have no bother with wet silage I hear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Ground here too dry and hard for the subsoiler. It just keeps riding up out of the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Silage in. Pit covered. Went for a dip in baltimore. Some hotties around. Going to get pizza for herself, myself and my little one. What a day. Pints with the lads orgsnised for later.... boom!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

silage half in, gave silage lads a barbecue after milking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Got a huge amount done today despit heat. All sheep dosed for cobalt. Lambs picked out for factory for next week. Sheep moved to fresh grass. Only bad part for 2 lambs with maggots. Fair rough job on a day like today.

Also got the fertiliser into the yard for whenever the rain does arrive.

Not its time for well deserved pints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

sea12 wrote: »
    Got a huge amount done today despit heat. All sheep dosed for cobalt. Lambs picked out for factory for next week. Sheep moved to fresh grass. Only bad part for 2 lambs with maggots. Fair rough job on a day like today.

Also got the fertiliser into the yard for whenever the rain does arrive.

Not its time for well deserved pints.

Jayus don't temp me, pints would be heaven, might slip it into conversation, when herself gets home from work,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

Anyone spreading fertiliser for grazing, thinking of doing sum when it cools down, or am I mad???

Am going too next week on a few paddocks, going on hols in August and want to make sure enough grass on the paddocks they will be on while am away,

Put it on second cut silage ground today after seeing forecast for thundery rain this evening, not much sign that at moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

hugo29 wrote: »
    Am going too next week on a few paddocks, going on hols in August and want to make sure enough grass on the paddocks they will be on while am away,

Put it on second cut silage ground today after seeing forecast for thundery rain this evening, not much sign that at moment

Think ill chance a few paddocks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

another one
    600582_615588791808904_791972586_n.jpg

mayo vrs london connaught final tomorrow
    then on beer for the day after cant wait

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

naughto wrote: »
    mayo vrs london connaught final tomorrow
    then on beer for the day after cant wait

Did you change your location or am I going mad:confused:

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Did you change your location or am I going mad:confused:
    yes it was cycos place for ages,changed it to mayo as its where i live,cos i keep getting asked where iam from

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

yes it was cycos place for ages,changed it to mayo as its where i live,cos i keep getting asked where iam from

Nothing to do with them in the final eh?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Am going too next week on a few paddocks, going on hols in August and want to make sure enough grass on the paddocks they will be on while am away
    You're to get the best/worst of it so I heard ;)

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Nothing to do with them in the final eh?;)
    nope you can check the mayo gaa thread and you will see that i am a big gaa supporter

just do it wrote: »

You're to get the best/worst of it so I heard ;)

Lightening in the distance there already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

someone mentioned about it being too dry for sub soiling and the subsoiler keeps coming out of the ground. What you need is some weight on the subsoiler like in this picture

Conor

Have ye started calving yet?

How's the weather in NZ?

What's the word in payout ?

Just herd ye had a quake. How bad is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭C0N0R

delaval wrote: »
    Conor

Have ye started calving yet?

How's the weather in NZ?

What's the word in payout ?

Just herd ye had a quake. How bad is it?

Well, how's the form, enjoying the sunshine?!

We have about a dozen heifers calves so far, parlour ain't finished yet so a neighbour is milking them for us. Hope to have the parlour done in a week.

Weather ain't bad, typical winter mostly dry and cold since I've been back, bit of rain but nothing detrimental. It's bound to change soon though, always does!

Payout is looking really good, fonterra are forecasting a $7 payout and opening at $5 I think. Hopefully nothing goes wrong and we get that.

Just back from Wellington myself, about ten of us went up for a pre calving blow out, don't think ill be right for another week. Felt a quake last night but no damage, just heard about another one there now so not sure what the story is, I've a few mates still up there so fingers crossed.

How's things back home? You must be begging for rain now! Having to feed much supplement?

Did our feed budget there for the spring rotation planner and reckon we will need about 80 tonne of supplement, going to have a massive hole after a few weeks. Doesn't help that our six week in calf rate is mid nineties! Hopefully we can transfer that to a good mating this season.

Before I came home I tried to convince the owners to teat seal the heifers but they choose not to, was speaking to the lads milking them for us and eight of them have mastitis, not a good start at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

bbam wrote: »
    Ground here too dry and hard for the subsoiler. It just keeps riding up out of the ground.
    tighten up the top link

someone mentioned about it being too dry for sub soiling and the subsoiler keeps coming out of the ground. What you need is some weight on the subsoiler like in this picture

That you in the middle bob, jayus you got some sun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

That you in the middle bob, jayus you got some sun

Serious dose of sun down here and spend most of the day smoking the funny stuff while the girls are out the front.

Fair play, them there is two fine women ya have, I wonder would the Wexford doll be any good on that machine,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Fair play, them there is two fine women ya have, I wonder would the Wexford doll be any good on that machine,

Not that one but I knew a few in my day who would have pulled it out of a bog unfortunately.

Thats a Pity eh, it would be a pleasure working behind her:D

nope you can check the mayo gaa thread and you will see that i am a big gaa supporter

Best luck today naughto, although you could give London connacht, I'm sure Sam is what you guys want;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Did anyone get a drop of rain yet, even 1 drop ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

My favourite t-shirt, sums it all up really :rolleyes:

hbm-an-irish-summer-f-db.jpg