If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Have bord bia dairy inspection on Tuesday. Head man and all coming plus half a dozen more. Joyful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Mulumpy wrote: »
    Have bord bia dairy inspection on Tuesday. Head man and all coming plus half a dozen more. Joyful

Cant believe you dairy guys are allowing these sham into auditing dairy farms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Mulumpy wrote: »

You must feel so privileged that all those inspectors are coming.... bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

You must feel so privileged that all those inspectors are coming.... bastards

Ya picked me out cos im not in beef scheme. Ya cant win

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

for some reason the eldests lads gaelic training has been at the beach the last 2 weeks this is 10 miles away, so my parent brought him and the other 2 over, expecting 3 wrecked kids home soon, enjoying peace as husband gone in lorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

whelan1 wrote: »
    enjoying peace as husband gone in lorry

Mrs kowtow read those words over my shoulder and I saw the dreadful sparkle of an idea cross her eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

for some reason the eldests lads gaelic training has been at the beach the last 2 weeks this is 10 miles away, so my parent brought him and the other 2 over, expecting 3 wrecked kids home soon, enjoying peace as husband gone in lorry

Great idea for the training. Can ya imagine the joy if my young lads were promised the same from Offaly :-)

he said the training was brilliant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

Much harder to run in the sand . Couple of weeks of that and when he gets back onto the pitch he will be like roadrunner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

yep back in the day when we still played ball, pre season training was running up and down the sand dunes, i never seen more stomachs been emptied but it did stand to you later

This is what happens when you let milky Holsteins rear calves...

Below is a first calver with three bull calves born from Feb 10th to April 30th.. the smallest is her own.. the largest is almost up to his aunt's shoulders..

9310921701_d3eb31fd01_z.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

kowtow wrote: »

Below is a first calver with three bull calves born from Feb 10th to April 30th.. the smallest is her own.. the largest is almost up to his aunt's shoulders..

someone likes there numb numb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

kowtow wrote: »

It works well when it works..
    But for every one that stands to be sucked... there are three or four that will kick at any calf bar her own.. Many moons ago we tried double and trebble sucking on cows and mostly it was torture on man and beast.
    I've a friend that persisted at it for the last few years and he's giving it up this year...just too much work and abuse
    The ammount of time spent getting it done would milk cows in a parlour !

someone likes there numb numb

The big one - poor fellow has worn his knees out getting underneath them though... if he gets any taller we'll have to line the girls up in the parlour and bring him down into the pit.

You wouldn't believe it but he's the only orphan!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Let one of my pedigree bulls out last weekend to replace my CH bull that wasn't working. He has bulled 6 of the 19 cows in 5 days. Let my other pedigree limousin bull out with the cows that i usually put in calf to AI BB. There was only 3 of them to go and he has 2 of them picked out so far! Here's hoping for live calves on the ground next spring from them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

bbam wrote: »
    It works well when it works..
    But for every one that stands to be sucked... there are three or four that will kick at any calf bar her own.. Many moons ago we tried double and trebble sucking on cows and mostly it was torture on man and beast. !
    Years ago, when the father was getting out of dairying, TB struck. He was so set on not milking that we tried multi-suckling. Complete chaos from what I rememeber. Calves drinking 2 or 3 cows. We didn't do it a second year.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

After putting in a new washing machine for my aunt, haven't wired a plug in years. If I disappear for a few days I've either flooded the house or fried someone :o

Jaysus it's hot outside, was supposed to top rushes but I think I'll wait until evening now.

pakalasa wrote: »
    Years ago, when the father was getting out of dairying, TB struck. He was so set on not milking that we tried multi-suckling. Complete chaos from what I rememeber. Calves drinking 2 or 3 cows. We didn't do it a second year.:rolleyes:

We had a similar issue. We had half of the cows gone, and the quota sold and 1 went down with TB. We calved the rest down and milked the cows with the machine and bucket fed the calves. It was a much easier task than trying to multiple suck cows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

reilig wrote: »
    We had a similar issue. We had half of the cows gone, and the quota sold and 1 went down with TB. We calved the rest down and milked the cows with the machine and bucket fed the calves. It was a much easier task than trying to multiple suck cows.

This is my effort this fine year:cool:

Indeed, we have a similar scene - but it wasn't planned. In fact there's 3 of them sucking the cow that had our best calf last year and her own calf is like a runt from a lack of milk!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Indeed, we have a similar scene - but it wasn't planned. In fact there's 3 of them sucking the cow that had our best calf last year and her own calf is like a runt from a lack of milk!

Ah, mine isn't planned either. Two calves at the rear of the cow in the picture, are the "cuckoos". The other one is the native calf so to speak. He's not bad, but a fair bit behind the other two hoors!
    The cow is actually, 25% CF52, who was never noted for milk in the genes.
    Also 25% shorthorn.
    She is an out and out milker. An absolute bag of milk. No heifer calf to date from her:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Neighbour has 5 calves on one freisian! I'd say they keep her dry anyways..

was in drogheda this morning, there was a small rigid load of timber, there where 2 guys offloading it, they where carrying 2 2x2 lenghts of timber between them in each go, now i wanted to kick them in the arse, they could at least have carried 5 or 6 between them in a go...easy knowing they dont work for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

was in drogheda this morning, there was a small rigid load of timber, there where 2 guys offloading it, they where carrying 2 2x2 lenghts of timber between them in each go, now i wanted to kick them in the arse, they could at least have carried 5 or 6 between them in a go...easy knowing they dont work for me
    easy know you dont get paid by the hour:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Nice calves they are too!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

did they have their shirts off and holding a can guinness in one hand:D

i think under the current construction health and safety guidelines thats all they are allowed carry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

pakalasa wrote: »
    Years ago, when the father was getting out of dairying....
    We had a similar issue. We had half of the cows gone, and the quota sold .....

Well would ye go back to it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Muckit wrote: »
    Well would ye go back to it?
    I was always told it was slavery, but then, the father also worked 7 days a week off farm. Madness, when I think back. I often remember him coming home at 11PM in the summer and then go and milk the cows.

hugo29 wrote: »
    did they have their shirts off and holding a can guinness in one hand:D

i think under the current construction health and safety guidelines thats all they are allowed carry
    there where 4 of them to offload the load, 2 guys carrying 2 lengths between them at a time, times have changed

bord gais crew arriving today to fix my drains:D:D