Ring of Kerry 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭MajesticDonkey

fullerand wrote: »
    Was there food after the race in previous years? Was it any good?

Yes, loads. You won't be able for dinner for a few hours after it.
    mossym wrote: »
    what race?
    Many people call any organised cycles "races". :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

Many people call any organised cycles "races". :)

i know, was just making a point...:D

Anyway, it's always a race... :P

Yes, loads. You won't be able for dinner for a few hours after

Really? What food has there been? Must have missed that somehow in previous years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 105 ✭✭Endurance_man

Quick question about raising money.

I signed up for the 60euro plus a sponsorship card.

I am raising money in work and the website initial said you can offset this against the 60 euro paid at registration.

However on the card it says bring all money with you.

I am a bit confused now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭HivemindXX

Dónal wrote: »
    Really? What food has there been? Must have missed that somehow in previous years.

There was an insane amount of buttered raisin bread and sweets available at the finish last year. I assume you are implying there was no hot food. At Scotts there was a BBQ arrangement where you could buy food and eat it outside. Not great if you want a proper sit down dinner though.

The restaurant I ate in at around 6pm was empty. I think you will probably be able to find somewhere if you are willing to eat a bit early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭nordicb

Quick question about raising money.

I signed up for the 60euro plus a sponsorship card.

I am raising money in work and the website initial said you can offset this against the 60 euro paid at registration.

However on the card it says bring all money with you.

I am a bit confused now.

Same question here, they sent an email this morning saying to bring monies (point 4 for those who got it), etc on sign on... Thought I've already paid.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 105 ✭✭Endurance_man

nordicb wrote: »
    Same question here, they sent an email this morning saying to bring monies (point 4 for those who got it), etc on sign on... Thought I've already paid.

Well that was the agreement, so I will only bring the excess money I raised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,168 ✭✭✭Soarer

Just read something on the official site...

"Cyclists can have their photographs taken at the finish line which they can then access online from our website. Certificates will also be given to all participants when they sign back in at the desk located at New Street car park. "

I'm preregistered through Pieta House, so I won't be "signing in" before the cycle. Do I still "sign back in" afterwards? Or do I need to sign in even though I'm registered?

Soarer wrote: »
    I'm preregistered through Pieta House, so I won't be "signing in" before the cycle. Do I still "sign back in" afterwards? Or do I need to sign in even though I'm registered?
    Sign in when you get back from the cycle, I assume.

Yeah, I assume the same. I've made wrong assumptions before though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭JEmily

ugsparky wrote: »
    Guys - just seen a post on FB from the Cycle Against Suicide group - late registrations may be possible

https://www.facebook.com/CycleAgainstSuicide?hc_location=stream

I'll be wearing my CAS kit - a very good cause and Jim's a good man - hope we have a good craic in Kerry

How? I need another entry if possible for one of our club members - or if anyone cannot make it please pm me please, genuine cyclist;).

New info given on the official site.

There will be designated parking for cyclist traffic on all the approach routes to Killarney town on Saturday morning July 6th.

Tralee, Limerick & North Kerry Traffic will be directed to a large field off Killarney By Pass Via a slip road before the Aghadoe Cross. You will be able to park 3\400 metres from the Official Start.

East Kerry & Cork Traffic will be directed to (a) Lyne's Field at Park Road Roundabout and (b) Ballycasheen School.

Kenmare & Muckross Traffic will be directed to a large field on the Muckross Road.

Mid Kerry/South Kerry & Killorglin Traffic will be directed to the Rugby Club Field off the Killarney By-Pass.

Parking for Spectators & Supporters will be available in the Cathedral field on Port Road.

Please cooperate with stewards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Listrydude

for the sign in, are they expecting everyone to show up with their own details or is it possible for 1 person to sign up for 3 people with the printed email/barcode?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

Just read something on the official site...

"Cyclists can have their photographs taken at the finish line which they can then access online from our website. Certificates will also be given to all participants when they sign back in at the desk located at New Street car park. "

I believe you only need to worry about this if you want the certificate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭thesimpsons

I'll want my one - I'll be so looking forward to seeing the finish line. first ROK

BailMeOut wrote: »
    I believe you only need to worry about this if you want the certificate.

Kinda want it for all the people that sponsored me more than anyone else. Nothing to stop me lying out the back getting a colour otherwise! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

Kinda want it for all the people that sponsored me more than anyone else. Nothing to stop me lying out the back getting a colour otherwise! ;)

They will know you did it when they see you walking funny for a week or two afterwards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Jovetic

Feels wrong not cycling this week :confused:

Went for a short ride this evening but I can't sit still, I'm raring to go :D

My biggest fear at this stage is being involved in an accident or the bike giving up on me. Physically I feel great and am desperate to cross the line :)

Good luck to all at the weekend, if you see someone struggling on Molls Gap and stubbornly refusing to get off the bike, say hello :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Kingdom Man

Listrydude wrote: »
    for the sign in, are they expecting everyone to show up with their own details or is it possible for 1 person to sign up for 3 people with the printed email/barcode?

I can not make it to sign in friday night rang the ring of kerry office and they said my buddy can sign me on no prob once he has my e-mail with bar code on it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭blahblah06

To all fellow boardsies heading to the ring.
    Ill be working at the high 5 stand on the Friday so if your looking for high 5 just ask for blahblah from boards and ill look after ya.
    Good luck to all.
    Ps there will also be a BBB parts tent if anyone needs last minute parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Listrydude

I can not make it to sign in friday night rang the ring of kerry office and they said my buddy can sign me on no prob once he has my e-mail with bar code on it :)

Great stuff Kingdom Man! Thanks for that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭boydkev

Really looking forward to saturday, My first time doing the ROK.

blahblah06 wrote: »
    Ill be working at the high 5 stand on the Friday so if your looking for high 5 just ask for blahblah from boards and ill look after ya.
    Good luck to all.

Great offer thanks.

Disaster that I picked up all my stuff yesterday from my LBS and fairly paid through the nose for it too! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Gattacca

'Look after ya'

Does that mean epo available under the table?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Tomfla

Good luck to all.

Will there be high5 available around the route similar to last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭Masala

Good luck to all.

..you gave me a shout last year on top of Commiska but I has earphones in and didnt hear you. So - will drop by on Friday night to say hello and maybe get a 'sample' or 2 !!.

Hope you have some nice flavours - am sick of 'Berry',, Bllaaaagh.!

Tomfla wrote: »
    Will there be high5 available around the route similar to last year

Ye we will be around at sign on all day Friday and saturday and be up the top of Commiska on the saturday giving out free citrus flavour samples and water if needed.

Masala wrote: »
    ..you gave me a shout last year on top of Commiska but I has earphones in and didnt hear you. So - will drop by on Friday night to say hello and maybe get a 'sample' or 2 !!.

Hope you have some nice flavours - am sick of 'Berry',, Bllaaaagh.!

Citrus is the free flavour this Year.
    Ye drop by Friday as dont know if it will be me up the mountain this year.

Tell you what. Anyone that mentions there a boardsie will get a few free samples of high 5 zero and a discount off other products if needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Craig06

Citrus is the free flavour this Year.
    Ye drop by Friday as dont know if it will be me up the mountain this year.

Tell you what. Anyone that mentions there a boardsie will get a few free samples of high 5 zero and a discount off other products if needed.

Must pop over and have a look then