Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

New Wexford 2 Day August 17th -18th

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭maloner

daragh_ wrote: »
    It comes a week after my hols
    Tapering eh, you sly dog

• Registered Users Posts: 3,121 ✭✭✭daragh_

maloner wrote: »
    Tapering eh, you sly dog

You think I actually have a plan?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,413 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

You think I actually have a plan?

Before: Friday before the race, Daragh_ welding his bike in a garage in Wexford town

After: Sunday evening, Daragh_ rolling through finish line, just ahead of the chasing group, lighting a cigar with a blowtorch,
    "I love it when a plan comes together"

There is no plan B

• Registered Users Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭harringtonp

michael196 wrote: »
    Here is the blurb :

The Wexford Wheelers 2 day returns in 2013 after an absence of 21 years from the Cycling Ireland calander.

Entries are expected to open online on Monday 1 July.

Link will be posted Via Wexford Wheelers.com

On Line Bookings will be managed by the event company Precision Timing.

3 stage Races are in preparation catering for Categories A2, A3 and A4

Stage 1 is a 60 K ( A4) or 80 K (A2/A3) using the Frank o Rourke Circuit.

Stage 2 is a 4 km hill TT to the top of Concorde from Larkins Cross.

Stage 3 is an 80K ( A4 ) and a 110K A2/A3.

In addition, an Under 16 Race will occur on the Frank O Rourke Circuit on the Saturday. On Line entry will be used.

Electronic timing chips will be in use, in addition to camera monitors at the finish, in order to determine finishes.

The event will occur on Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th of August, with Race HQ at the Maldron Hotel and the race starts based at Camross Hall.

If somebody has Strava/Garmin links for the Stages could they post them ?

And just to confirm Stage 2 is to be held on the Sat still ?

Thanks Paul.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭michael196

Yes Stage 2 the Evening hill time trial is saturday evening

stage 1 and stage 2 on day 1 saturday

stage 3 on sunday

ride with gps coming

Dont worry, routes are tied down.

10% full already !!!

Is there any team competition? If there's a bunch of us going from one club is possible to have us all on the same team or multiple teams?

Who is already signed ?

St. Tiernans CC,
    Barrow Wheelers
    West Cork CC
    Orwell Wheelers
    Epic MTB/Expert
    Dublin Wheelers
    Limerick CC
    Irish Road Club
    Lucan CRC
    Blanch Wheelies
    Wexford Wheelers

No minimum team requirement.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Would love to do this, not many 3-stage events open to A4s. Fair play for organising it. Pity is I'm flying to Toronto for work on the Sunday, so could only do the 2 Saturday stages.

Are there A4 ranking points for the Saturday road stage on its own, or are there only points for overall placings (which would rule me out naturally)?

• Registered Users Posts: 581 ✭✭✭greenmat

for those of you local enough, we also have a Team Time trial in July coupled with the local tri club, a separate TT league and Wexford county TT champs.

Hi Micheal, any info on Team TT, love to get a team together and give it a bash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭RockWerchter

Would love to do this, not many 3-stage events open to A4s. Fair play for organising it. Pity is I'm flying to Toronto for work on the Sunday, so could only do the 2 Saturday stages.

Are there A4 ranking points for the Saturday road stage on its own, or are there only points for overall placings (which would rule me out naturally)?

There are points for individual stages and the the overall

greenmat wrote: »
    Hi Micheal, any info on Team TT, love to get a team together and give it a bash.

Me too, is there a date for it?

• Registered Users Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Pawlie

Who is already signed ?

St. Tiernans CC,
    Barrow Wheelers
    West Cork CC
    Orwell Wheelers
    Epic MTB/Expert
    Dublin Wheelers
    Limerick CC
    Irish Road Club
    Lucan CRC
    Blanch Wheelies
    Wexford Wheelers

No minimum team requirement.
    Done and dusted,add WRC to that list Micheal :-)

CramCycle wrote: »
    Me too, is there a date for it?

Potentially 20th July

think it was 30 K last year

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭fondriest

Potentially 20th July

think it was 30 K last year

Think it was 40 :-(

u might be rite

Same route this year Michael ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭RockWerchter

Yep

yes same route, 9 sign off at 10 ish

What time is sign on on the Saturday of the two day?

yes same route, 9 sign off at 10 ish

Sorry for all the questions, where he s the TT sign on this month?

maloner wrote: »
    What time is sign on on the Saturday of the two day?

we have to balance getting the races of with running 3oo TT's lkate that day,

so earlier is better to start but popel are traveling

sign on wil stay open as late as possible on saturday , but mail me if u expect to be cutting it fine.

detalils on this to follow ,

we have to start the main races 11-30 - 12.

dont take anything on this site as official, all finalised official details on wexfordwheelers.com

we cannot go back and edit on here.

check wexford wheelers for finalised details.

CramCycle wrote: »
    Sorry for all the questions, where he s the TT sign on this month?

tyeam time trial sign on will be barntown

again check wexfordwheelers.com for route and start location map

Stage 1: http://ridewithgps.com/routes/1140140

22 K circuit, three times for A4, 4 times for A2/A3

Stage 2: http://ridewithgps.com/routes/2805880
    Once for everyone

Stage 3: http://ridewithgps.com/routes/2705401

Figure of 8 circuit. 37 K long. twice for A4 three times for A2/A3

Under 16 :

Figure of 8 circuit. 37 K long. Once for U16

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Will be in prime position to take plenty of photos on Stage 2, my home turf.

Make sure you get my good side ! If you can find one :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Slo_Rida

Stage 1: http://ridewithgps.com/routes/1140140

22 K circuit, three times for A4, 4 times for A2/A3

Stage 2: http://ridewithgps.com/routes/2805880
    Once for everyone

Figure of 8 circuit. 37 K long. twice for A4 three times for A2/A3

Under 16 :

Figure of 8 circuit. 37 K long. Once for U16

Ah HEEEOORR!! The feckin profile looks like rumble strips! Good job I paid my entry before I saw it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,121 ✭✭✭daragh_

That looks like cruel and unusual punishment! :eek:

The first 300 meters after the flat section is tough , don't be overgeared at the hairpin .

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭Jack Joll

Really interested in making a trip down for this weekend, all the way from the corner of the North Weessst.
    Thing is currently on 8 points in A4, if I register for A4 2 day, and get upgraded within the next couple of races, can I get into A3 or is that my entry gone on A4 and then if theres space in A3 pay again?
    You could say don't race until Wexford, but here I'm not going to be like that. And I also aint holding back if I see the white line.
    Does this pre-registering not turn lads off when your close to upgrade?

Would be very unfair to ask you to pay again if you upgrade.

Pay once and if your grade changes in the mean time, let me know.

If u register as A4 but become A3, you can race as A3 with no additional charges.

This race is for racing and bringing back a race that has been absent for more than 20 years.

PM me your real name so I can flag.

A4's filling faster than A3's as expected, so I would expect A3 slots to be available.