Dublin GAA Discussion Thread - 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,868 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Dublin are just fantastic to watch this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Great win COYBIB!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 713 ✭✭✭WayneMolloy

One things for sure, these kids are no startled earwigs.

COYBIB!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

Good thing we didn't give in and kept going. Things are looking bright for the Dubs this summer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭themandan6611

tyrone showed how to lock down the dublin forwards, I wouldn't be over confident about an AI

jaysus, if we win another cup clucko will have a melt down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭baztard

Quite the charismatic speech by Stephen Cluxton at the end there!
    Jaysus did he look awkward! Good lad between the sticks though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭jam08

One serious positive I thought was the performances by Brennan and Connolly. Whereas in the past they've reacted in them tight games, they stood tall today and didn't retaliate (and by god there was some serious sledging and off the ball stuff on Connolly).

McCaffrey a serious talent too (but sure we all know this).

Downside may be the decision making/shooting up front, but they were under serious pressure to be fair, and 0-17 points not the worst return against that. 2nd half there when we were coming forward, there was 12 men behind the ball, which caused a bitta panic. Think ref was poor in general, but didn't alter result.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,419 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

baztard wrote: »
    Quite the charismatic speech by Stephen Cluxton at the end there!
    Jaysus did he look awkward! Good lad between the sticks though!

Ah he's a good man too though, he's just not into the whole media/public speaking thing. I could see he didn't want to do it but it's part of the job now.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,896 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Great win. Mainly for the fightback on a day when a lot wasn't going our way. Lack of fluidity and poor decision making and finishing were a problem, but everyone kept plugging away. Some of the forwards looked to struggle or even be surprised at the tight draggy slappy defence from Tyrone which they should have been expecting. We did well against the off the ball antics, but otherwise struggled a bit, playing through fouls then losing the ball. While at other end they had a gameplay to win the frees and knock them over to win the game. Great striking by their keeper and we seemed not to cop on to the game plan until it was too late.

We didn't make near enough of the wind in the first half, but the fight back was all the more impressive for being in to the wind.

Brogan had a bad enough day, no score from play and a shocking free miss, we have seen in before from him, he needs to really up his concentration when there is messing around him. Although how Duffy let Gormley away with his antics I've no idea. He motioned for him to come to hm for a yellow card 4 times and Gormely just ignored him, then moved forward just as free was taken and got within 4 or 5 yards without any action from ref. Anyway in spite of not being his best day he drew a lot of fouls and could have easily been given 3 or 4 more kickable frees.

Otherwise it was good that we coped well without him being at his best, Mannion did well to score against the tighter marking and his free miss was a more difficult one. Connolly chipped in with two nice points. Paddy Andrews having trouble getting his scoring touch back, he is still trying for wonder scores like earlier in the league but most not near the target. Mcmaneman did well when he came on winning ball and breaking tackles for others even though no scores himself and obviously Rock scored two beauty's.

So a team spread of scores which was good, a lot of the misses and goal chances not taken particularity in the first half were not so good. We won the midfield easliy enough and had a stong wind and plenty of chances yet still managed to go in level.

It was Tyrones lack of ambition and Stephen O'Neill that kept us in it late on. With teams level they were only sending 2 or 3 over half way line, everyone else standing back. Plenty of times when 25 players were inside their 40. Wouldn't have worked so well if the wind hadn't been so strong making longer attempts very difficult.

We coped well enough at the back, but again man for man just looks so open and risky these days. Plenty of times one hop of the ball or missed catch away from putting Tyrone through on goal.

All in all a good day and I'd imagine both sides delighted to have an extra serious game before the championship starts, especially Tyrone who should find it helpful in Ballbofey. Although I'd expect a much different game that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭but1er

Gavin stamped his mark no matter what your name is if your not playing your coming off and he won us the game with bringing rock on buzzing for the summer now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

I have to say that was a great win yesterday . It was good to see our lads keeping their cool as the challenges flew in yesterday . But to me the biggest positive is the fact we just kept plugging away and refused to be beaten . When you have that sort of hunger in a team it makes managing them a whole lot easier . The amount of options this year is staggering too . It should make for a very competitive squad for this years All Ireland Championship .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭corny

May sound foolish to say this after our first League win in 20 years but i'm not as optimistic as the majority.

Dublin have heaps of players of real quality and play a lovely brand of football but i think they're made for the likes of Donegal and Mayo in late summer. Considering their backround with Pat Gilroy the level of defending was atrocious on Sunday. Tyrone players simply walked through tackles, many times without a finger being laid on them.

Now i know they came through so that point seems moot but when teams get fitter and battle hardened later in the summer i can't see them scoring 18 points. Unfortunately i can see them conceding 17 points. In the league the 'you score 20, we'll score 21' approach worked well but it won't work at the business end of the championship imo.

McCaffrey is the perfect example. For all his brilliance going forward he is a poor defensive hb. His pace lets him recover most times but one on one he's easy to go around and he tends to get drawn to the ball in defensive situations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭TheNap

corny wrote: »
    May sound foolish to say this after our first League win in 20 years but i'm not as optimistic as the majority.

Dublin have heaps of players of real quality and play a lovely brand of football but i think they're made for the likes of Donegal and Mayo in late summer. Considering their backround with Pat Gilroy the level of defending was atrocious on Sunday. Tyrone players simply walked through tackles, many times without a finger being laid on them.

Now i know they came through so that point seems moot but when teams get fitter and battle hardened later in the summer i can't see them scoring 18 points. Unfortunately i can see them conceding 17 points. In the league the 'you score 20, we'll score 21' approach worked well but it won't work at the business end of the championship imo.

McCaffrey is the perfect example. For all his brilliance going forward he is a poor defensive hb. His pace lets him recover most times but one on one he's easy to go around and he tends to get drawn to the ball in defensive situations.

I agree . Tyrone had the beaten of the Dublin backs all game . In particular Donnelly and Cavanagh . And with O'Neill , a fit Kyle Coney and Peter Harte they would of won that game . Also Mayo will have Dillon and Moran back come late summer which will give them a much more potent forward line .. I wouldnt write off Kerry either . Their forward line of Cooper , Donaghy , Galvin and the two O'Sullivans would be very hard to handle if given that space . An All Ireland is far from a guaranteee .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

I honestly think we can go all the way this year but we will have to up our game . Right now as it stands we have used 36 different players in this years league campaign . Jim Gavin has also brought in a few of the U 21 lads so I would be optimistic . I don't know figures for other counties but I would say Dublin used the most players for the league . I also think we are missing Rory O ' Carroll more then is being commented on . Johnny Cooper is a fine player but he is more suited to playing as a half back rather then playing as Rories understudy . I think the fact Tyrone gave us a hell of game was better for us then for the Dubs to waltz through . It shows we need to make tweaks to the system . It also showed above all else the mentality and hunger of the team .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Hank Schrader

Not jumping the gun but looking really good at the mo :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 713 ✭✭✭WayneMolloy

Not jumping the gun but looking really good at the mo :cool:

Gavin has two big tasks ahead - sort out our defensive frailties and keep the hype from getting to the young lads. He does both and we have a great chance this summer.

Great time to be a Dub, mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

still very light in midfield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Hank Schrader

Stoner wrote: »

We won an All Ireland with that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

We won an All Ireland with that ;)

Lol I don't think so, there has Barry Cahill and Flynn playing as drop in midfielders and EF on the bench,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭sgarvan

Gavin has two big tasks ahead - sort out our defensive frailties and keep the hype from getting to the young lads. He does both and we have a great chance this summer.

Great time to be a Dub, mind.

Our defensive frailties cannot be laid solely upon the three guys playing in the full back line. Previously under Gilroy Dublin played tactically to protect the full back line. This is why we did not ship high scores.

This year we play a more open brand which has the 3 guys exposed, hence the high scores.

A really good forward line would destroy Dublin currently.

I think come 1st June the tactics will be slightly tighter but not a much as Gilroy had.
    Stoner wrote: »

We have been light at midfield for a while now. Gilroys tactics was to bypass midfield by using Flynn & Cullen to drop back and carry the ball forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭Justin10

sgarvan wrote: »
    This year we play a more open brand which has the 3 guys exposed, hence the high scores.

A really good forward line would destroy Dublin currently.

Donegal where the only team to concede less.

Also last year and year before that we conceded more.

Anyone hear the interview Jim McGuinness gave??

Absoloute disgrace, first he couldn't even get his facts straight, stating the Patrick has only turned 19 when the truth is he is turning 20, then donegal news reporting the Kev apologised and also that the Dublin doctor confirmed it was a bite. Which is clearly lies.

He also says its a fact that McBrearty was bitten. Wouldn't surprise me if a court case is brought against him to shut him up.

He even mentions soar grapes

Also this interview shows how poor Irish newspapers are.

The indo couldnt even quote McGuiness correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Kop On

Rochey18 wrote: »
    Anyone hear the interview Jim McGuinness gave??

Absoloute disgrace, first he couldn't even get his facts straight, stating the Patrick has only turned 19 when the truth is he is turning 20, then donegal news reporting the Kev apologised and also that the Dublin doctor confirmed it was a bite. Which is clearly lies.

He also says its a fact that McBrearty was bitten. Wouldn't surprise me if a court case is brought against him to shut him up.

He even mentions soar grapes

The most bizarre thing about the whole alleged incident I find is that, if it happened during the game, how come there was no scuffle or anything of note that would have been seen or brought to the attention of the umpires, linesmen or referee. Hard to imagine somebody being bitten or sustaining a "laceration" and not immediately reacting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Anyone getting out and about this weekend for the football championship ? Heading up to Ravens tonight (if its not lashing) to catch Maurs and Raheny in the Seniors. Tomorrow probably subject to me bringing the god forbids with me :D, I'll head over to Naul for an Inter double header of Finians/O'Dwyers and Brigids/Ballyboughal -

Maurs/Raheny I'd imagine will be a tight match couple of points either way, Finians new crop of Inters will be interesting to see after last years team to my mind were the best in Inter football, save Good Counsel upsetting the applecart. Never know what you'll get with O'Dwyers but they should have enough in reserve to see off Finians. Brigids have a habit off pulling out a performance in championship and should have the beating of Boughal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 305 ✭✭Jimminy Mc Fukhead

sgarvan wrote: »
    Previously under Gilroy Dublin played tactically to protect the full back line. This is why we did not ship high scores.

Wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Anyone getting out and about this weekend for the football championship ? Heading up to Ravens tonight (if its not lashing) to catch Maurs and Raheny in the Seniors. Tomorrow probably subject to me bringing the god forbids with me :D, I'll head over to Naul for an Inter double header of Finians/O'Dwyers and Brigids/Ballyboughal -

That's my plan for the weekend too.

I'll wear a red carnation and a rolled up copy of The Daily Mirror in me arse pocket ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭closeline

DoctaDee wrote: »

Maurs/Raheny I'd imagine will be a tight match couple of points either way, Finians new crop of Inters will be interesting to see after last years team to my mind were the best in Inter football, save Good Counsel upsetting the applecart. Never know what you'll get with O'Dwyers but they should have enough in reserve to see off Finians. Brigids have a habit off pulling out a performance in championship and should have the beating of Boughal.

Who do you think will win the games tonight? Big shock to see Oliver Plunketts out.

closeline wrote: »
    Who do you think will win the games tonight? Big shock to see Oliver Plunketts out.

Howya .. going on early form I'd imagine that Brigids will have way too much on Whitehall and should win handy, and much the same for Kilmacud & Kickhams against St. Marys & Round Towers. The only tight game I see is the one I'm off to tonight between Maurs/Raheny. Raheny have drawn 2 of their 4 league games already and I'd be surprised if this wasn't a close one too ... gun to the head I'd go with Maurs. Enjoy it if yer going to any of them.