Dublin GAA Discussion Thread - 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

villains77 wrote: »
    ......as a medic often working at croke park for matches would have to disagree with your point of view. if player is down on the pitch we only know when we get there whats wrong with them. so there is a lot of reason to go on to the pitch

Fair play youse do a great job, it's a great leap forward to have trained medical personnel at most senior matches these days, the days of the fella with the water bottle being the team medic are well and truly gone.

I'm just wondering other than fulfilling your medical role, whether when you approach the player that you quickly determine is not suffering serious injury that to save the dash for nothing, you may have some strategic instructions from the sideline that you pass on to the former stricken player ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭villains77

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Fair play youse do a great job, it's a great leap forward to have trained medical personnel at most senior matches these days, the days of the fella with the water bottle being the team medic are well and truly gone.

I'm just wondering other than fulfilling your medical role, whether when you approach the player that you quickly determine is not suffering serious injury that to save the dash for nothing, you may have some strategic instructions from the sideline that you pass on to the former stricken player ?

we have no contact with any of the team managers regarding strategic instructions. we just know when and when not to go on ie like a serious head injury or usually the physio will call us on to the pitch if he cant deal with it there . its an enjoyable experience as i play gaelic football myself well most of the time (irish weather):(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Folks - I know Dublin are playing a challenge game against Galway tomorrow (20 April) - is the location of the Round Towers pitch accurate on Google Maps?

http://goo.gl/maps/bVIgP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Hank Schrader

Redsoxfan wrote: »
    Folks - I know Dublin are playing a challenge game against Galway tomorrow (20 April) - is the location of the Round Towers pitch accurate on Google Maps?

http://goo.gl/maps/bVIgP[/QUOTE]

€10 at the gate (kids free)

Marquee with Onsite bar and entertainment

Throw in 7.00pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Would be great if we could beat Tipp on Sunday. Would be some achievement to win the league from division 1B and probably give a good statement that the league system should be reformed. It's not fair on Limerick and Cork to be whooping teams by 20 point margins next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Dublinfan

reports of tonights team from members who seen the programme, nolan and mcarthy back while brogan playing will hopefully find out more very cagey about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭Justin10

Dublinfan wrote: »
    reports of tonights team from members who seen the programme, nolan and mcarthy back while brogan playing will hopefully find out more very cagey about it

What??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

villains77 wrote: »
    we have no contact with any of the team managers regarding strategic instructions. we just know when and when not to go on ie like a serious head injury or usually the physio will call us on to the pitch if he cant deal with it there . its an enjoyable experience as i play gaelic football myself well most of the time (irish weather):(:(

Ah sorry crossed wires here ...you're one of the guys in the dayglo yellow jackets ?, nah when I see you coming on the pitch I've a fair idea that we're talking something serious ... I was speaking more about the physios and maor uisce (I think the Mayo lad last Sunday saw more game time than some of the players !) ... keep up the good work !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 713 ✭✭✭WayneMolloy

Brogan ran amok, by all accounts. When he is in the groove, he is a joy to watch. Shipping sixteen scores to Galway is a concern - no offence intended towards our cousins from the west.

Need to sort out the backline, left exposed too often. Tyrone could find a lot of joy out of them next weekend.

Brogan ran amok, by all accounts. When he is in the groove, he is a joy to watch. Shipping sixteen scores to Galway is a concern - no offence intended towards our cousins from the west.

Need to sort out the backline, left exposed too often. Tyrone could find a lot of joy out of them next weekend.

did ocarrol start? i dont expect half of these players there next week think gavin will start with the big players and a similar team to mayo match with a few changes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

Wasn't there last night but this was the starting line up.

Supple, McMahon, Fitzsimons, Byrne, Guckian, Nolan, Devereux, O'Mahony, Carthy, Whelan, Cullen, Brady, McManamon, Rock, B.Brogan.
    Subs - Cluxton, O'Carroll, Connolly, George, Lowndes, Mannion, M D McCauley, McCarthy, Nelson.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,896 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

I think that was the team on paper, o'carroll and McCarthy started, in for Nicky Dev and Byrne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭highlandseoghan

TG4 showing Dublin Tipp match now would be a great day to see the boys get stuck in and beat Tipp. Hoping for a great game of hurling.

Dissapointing so far, 1B certainly looks to have taken its toll, slower to most balls, losing a lot of high balls. Tipp now can afford to go for goals from everywhere, I'd be worried about the final score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭highlandseoghan

Not what I was hoping for at all. Very poor first half. Tipp could destroy them in the second half if they are not careful.

Does look like the strong wind made a difference, but not that much of one. Missing great goal chance in first minute then giving one up in second was a bad start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Agus

Would be some achievement to win the league from division 1B and probably give a good statement that the league system should be reformed. It's not fair on Limerick and Cork to be whooping teams by 20 point margins next year.

Where do you get this from? Reading over the results Limerick's biggest win in IB this year was their 6-point victory over Dublin, so what exactly makes you think they'll be handing out 20-point beatings next year if the format doesn't change?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

I didn't expect anything from Dublin today and to be fair when KK and Tipp up their game nobody can match them.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

Tipp in that form are just unstoppable. Really impressive stuff.

Part of story from examiner.
    Dublin star Brogan may be out for the season
    Tuesday, April 23, 2013 - 05:05 PM
    Dublin defender Ger Brennan has hinted today that Dublin forward Alan Brogan may be out for the rest of the season.

Just last month fellow Dublin forward Paul Flynn revealed that the three-time All-Star was back training with the squad, after a disappointing 2012.

A groin injury meant that Brogan only lasted for 17 minutes after being introduced as a substitute during the All-Ireland semi-final loss to Mayo.

"It looks like Alan might be out for the rest of the season," Brennan said.

"He has so much experience and he is a great presence, whether he is on the pitch or hanging around the dressing room.

"He is working hard on his fitness and trying to get back up to match fitness. It has taken a lot longer than I think he envisaged and it will be a while yet before he comes back fully. As I mentioned he his a great influence on the panel."

Brennan was speaking at a media event ahead of the Allianz League Finals this weekend, with Dublin hoping for a first league success since 1993 when they face Tyrone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,868 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Hope that's inaccurate, really want to see him back playing this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭Justin10

Really doubt he will be back, hasn't played in about a year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 495 ✭✭bootybouncer

bollix......................thats all I have to say about that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,995 ✭✭✭dzer2

Thats tough on him finding it hard to get back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I couldn't see him breaking back into the panel for this year :(
    The starting team for the championship is pretty much sown up in a lot of positions and the half forward and full forward lines have a lot of back up anyway.Having not played for 9 months,his fitness would be way behind the likes of Flynn,Kilkenny,Connolly,Bernard and Mannion and I do not think he would get away with it given how Gavin is implementing a more open attacking style of play as opposed to Gilroys system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭corny

blackbelt wrote: »
    I couldn't see him breaking back into the panel for this year :(
    The starting team for the championship is pretty much sown up in a lot of positions and the half forward and full forward lines have a lot of back up anyway.Having not played for 9 months,his fitness would be way behind the likes of Flynn,Kilkenny,Connolly,Bernard and Mannion and I do not think he would get away with it given how Gavin is implementing a more open attacking style of play as opposed to Gilroys system.

He'd be a huge loss if Dublin were still playing like they did under Gilroy. He played a pivotal role in bringing other forwards into the game. But Dublin flood forward in numbers these days with good interplay so his absence won't be as keenly felt i think.

Must be a tough time for him personally though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I still think he is a huge loss, he is a proven championship scorer, I really hope all these new guys can produce the goods on the day but it has yet to be seen.
    To be honest I took more hope from the few points C Kilkenny scored against Mayo in the championship last year then I did from most of the performances from the new forwards I've seen in the league.
    That said he will need replacing sooner rather than later and it's good to see fresh bodies there, he'd still be one of the first names down to start for me if fit.

Jim Gavin Says Ger Brennans Claims are Untrue about Alan Brogan

http://www.fm104.ie/News-Sport/Article?itemid=14709

You buy your sister a pair of season tickets as a present, as to have an excuse to hang out with her and keep in touch - she asks would you mind if she brings her new fella to his first game at the league. :rolleyes:

Maybe I need to change me aftershave?

Ah, well. At least she is converting the non believers.

Anyone not able to go, but wanna make the 60 percent - il paypal you the cost of the ticket on the day and you email me the ticket.

Sound fair?

Times are hard and id rather give a fellow Dub the cash.

Jim Gavin Says Ger Brennans Claims are Untrue about Alan Brogan

http://www.fm104.ie/News-Sport/Article?itemid=14709

Silly thing for Ger to say. Let the rest of the teams think Al is back training and chomping on the bit for a game.

Or could the management team be playing mind games? Strange for a well educated lad like Brennan to be contradicting the manager.

Cad e an sceal?