If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Nexus 4 ordering process

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭rhonin

DECEiFER wrote: »
    Ha, chancers!

Just a note in relation to my RMA. TNT refuse to collect the device from here (I have no idea how others managed it) because the TNT account holder is Computer 2000 in the UK, the address is LG Electronics in Poland, and the collection country (Ireland) is a third variable that isn't allowed, apparently. It's because the account holder is in the UK and the destination is Poland, a third country in the mix makes it no good. I was told this by both the Irish TNT and the UK TNT customers services as I said I'd chance calling both.

So what I did then is contact Google Play support and spoke to a lady in the US who couldn't do much to help me since I can't provide an email for the purchase since Flubit handled all that. So I did what I should have done instead of calling Google and contacted Flubit (Fireworks) and spoke to their returns specialist, Dilek, who immediately offered to have me ship the device to her with the return TNT packaging enclosed and she'd handle the collection. Not only that but she offered to reimburse me for the cost of mailing it to London, which I wasn't even planning on asking for as it seemed a bit cheeky. I advised her that it will be about €10 or so to send it via registered post and that was okay by them. Grand job! Another plus for Flubit's service.

EDIT: Goddamn, those phone calls do cost a bit. Over €8 spent since topping up just a moment before starting the calls to TNT.

Yeah it's weird how TNT won't collect in Ireland now.
    They picked it up no bother for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭DECEiFER

rhonin wrote: »
    I don't know what they'd do at Google Play if I had bought it directly from them but I have to say, thank feck for Flubit and their eagerness to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 rom9

Go to http://www.flubit.com and on the homepage, stick in the URL for the Nexus 4 product page.

8GB:
    https://play.google.com/store/devices/details/Nexus_4_8_GB?id=nexus_4_8gb&hl=en

16GB:
    https://play.google.com/store/devices/details/Nexus_4_16_GB?id=nexus_4_16gb&hl=en

To be certain you get the capacity you want, on the next step, add a "Size" option and stick in whatever of the two GB capacities you desire. Then follow the rest of the steps to complete your demand, which are self-explanatory - you'll know when you see them. Then within 48 hours (it could be as soon as this evening or tomorrow) you'll receive an offer based on your demand. You'll probably pay £235-237 including shipping.

When you go to pay, make sure you add the PM NI address into your PayPal (with your PMID as instructed by PM) and have the order placed with that as your shipping address. Then you wait!

(Optional):
    It might also be a good idea to set your PayPal to bill in the currency the transaction is in and let your bank do the exchange rate because PayPal's exchange rate is a rip-off. However, you won't be able to set that in the Flubit payment window because of the unique way Flubit utilizes the PayPal API, so you should make a mock PayPal purchase elsewhere (I used this: http://dxtory.com/buy-en.html) and once you're logged in, you'll see an option for "Other conversion options." Make the change to bill in the original currency and then exit out of that tab without completing the purchase. The change will be persistent across all future purchases.

Thanks a mil !! "Then you wait!" Sounds like it takes a while to deliver ! Will try it out and post how it went !

rom9 wrote: »
    Thanks a mil !! "Then you wait!" Sounds like it takes a while to deliver ! Will try it out and post how it went !
    It depends. The thing is, everyone who orders from Google Play gets a varied experience. Some people get quick shipments and some wait weeks, it's really doesn't bode well on Google, and that's assuming they don't cancel your order. Flubit are essentially in the same boat and when they order on your behalf it can be quick or slow just the same as with other customers. The best advice is to wait until [working] day 4 or 5 after your order and if you don't hear anything, contact Fireworks (a Flubit company that deals with the ordering once placed) and ask them for an update. That way you'll ensure they're on top of it and from my experience, Flubit/Fireworks aim to please, so they will get back to you (maybe within a day or two at most) with an answer. You can always call Fireworks before 16:30 on weekdays if you want a quicker response. Their number is on the top right corner of their website.
    I wonder, if I had said nothing about it going to Poland, if they would have sent the courier out and then just lumped it when the driver/depot caught wind from the docket. Anyways, no matter, as long as it gets shipped back on time and everyone's happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,953 ✭✭✭Raoul

Doesn't look like mine got dispatched today. Tempted to call flubit again asking them about it. She said I would have a tracking number today.

Raoul wrote: »
    Doesn't look like mine got dispatched today. Tempted to call flubit again asking them about it. She said I would have a tracking number today.
    It's 16:30. Call if you're calling!

Had a major freak-out about 5 minutes ago. I was in Google Earth just perusing the planet, as you do, and I put the phone down for a second while the app was opened. The phone had halted. I couldn't bring it out. The display was still on but completely halted so I had to do the 30-second power-off. My heart was racing at this point but it slowed down rapidly when I turned the phone back on and all seemed okay. Jesus. Don't fu*k with me, Google, not today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 jakeg_

It's 16:30. Call if you're calling!

Had a major freak-out about 5 minutes ago. I was in Google Earth just perusing the planet, as you do, and I put the phone down for a second while the app was opened. The phone had halted. I couldn't bring it out. The display was still on but completely halted so I had to do the 30-second power-off. My heart was racing at this point but it slowed down rapidly when I turned the phone back on and all seemed okay. Jesus. Don't fu*k with me, Google, not today!

As i said to you 5 mins ago on Skype DECEiFER,

Its the beginning of the end :D

jakeg_ wrote: »
    As i said to you 5 mins ago on Skype DECEiFER,

Its the beginning of the end :D
    If that's true, I'll be putting an end to you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭rhonin

I wonder, if I had said nothing about it going to Poland, if they would have sent the courier out and then just lumped it when the driver/depot caught wind from the docket. Anyways, no matter, as long as it gets shipped back on time and everyone's happy.

Actually it could be. When I originally contacted TNT I forgot to tell them I had a consignment note. They sent me a new consignment note via email with an address to computer 2000 in the UK. They rang me back confirming my pickup address and I told them I already had a consignment note. They told me I could use that one. I never mentioned it was going to Poland.

Actually it could be. When I originally contacted TNT I forgot to tell them I had a new consignment note. They sent me a new consignment note via email with an address to computer 2000 in the UK. They rang me back confirming my pickup address and I told them I already had a consignment note. They told me I could use that one. I never mentioned it was going to Poland.
    Well there's sound advice for those who bought from Google who are unlucky and need an RMA. Hell, even for Flubit buyers, this could be good advice. If only I'd kept my mouth shut about Poland. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭gerryk

Ha, chancers!

Just a note in relation to my RMA. TNT refuse to collect the device from here (I have no idea how others managed it) because the TNT account holder is Computer 2000 in the UK, the address is LG Electronics in Poland, and the collection country (Ireland) is a third variable that isn't allowed, apparently. It's because the account holder is in the UK and the destination is Poland, a third country in the mix makes it no good. I was told this by both the Irish TNT and the UK TNT customers services as I said I'd chance calling both.

So what I did then is contact Google Play support and spoke to a lady in the US who couldn't do much to help me since I can't provide an email for the purchase since Flubit handled all that. So I did what I should have done instead of calling Google and contacted Flubit (Fireworks) and spoke to their returns specialist, Dilek, who immediately offered to have me ship the device to her with the return TNT packaging enclosed and she'd handle the collection. Not only that but she offered to reimburse me for the cost of mailing it to London, which I wasn't even planning on asking for as it seemed a bit cheeky. I advised her that it will be about €10 or so to send it via registered post and that was okay by them. Grand job! Another plus for Flubit's service.

EDIT: Goddamn, those phone calls do cost a bit. Over €8 spent since topping up just a moment before starting the calls to TNT.

Can I just say that Dilek rocks. She bent over backwards to make sure that my issue was resolved also. I had had a faulty item, which she immediately arranged the return of, and arranged refund for my Parcel Motel fees.

gerryk wrote: »
    Can I just say that Dilek rocks. She bent over backwards to make sure that my issue was resolved also. I had had a faulty item, which she immediately arranged the return of, and arranged refund for my Parcel Motel fees.
    Absolutely! She's fantastic and just doesn't need any persuasion to go above and beyond expectations. I didn't get my PM fee reimbursed but for just €3.50 I'm not going to complain about it. It's just great that in the RMA situation that you can have them sort it out for you and assume the liability of the advance RMA hold while having that extra peace-of-mind instead of wondering if Google will cancel the replacement order on you. No hoops. All-in-all, Flubit in general have impressed me to no end and I will certainly use them again for any UK shoppery that might come down the line and if/when they deal with Irish retailers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭iggy

Actually it could be. When I originally contacted TNT I forgot to tell them I had a consignment note. They sent me a new consignment note via email with an address to computer 2000 in the UK. They rang me back confirming my pickup address and I told them I already had a consignment note. They told me I could use that one. I never mentioned it was going to Poland.

Hopefully I will need to do this if my replacement is shipped from Google play.
    So if I do get my replacement what do I need to do to get it picked up from TNT in Dublin?
    Also when I was on the phone to google support last night I said if this order was cancelled I want a full refund.
    His response was I can't get a refund as its over the 15 days since I got my phone.
    This could get messy.
    Have to say Google are useless at returning emails.

Deceifer, who you calling that it is costing so much?

I use skype, 2 cent per min to call flubit. I didn't get a chance to ring them again. Will have to do it in the morning

iggy wrote: »
    Hopefully I will need to do this if my replacement is shipped from Google play.
    So if I do get my replacement what do I need to do to get it picked up from TNT in Dublin?
    Also when I was on the phone to google support last night I said if this order was cancelled I want a full refund.
    His response was I can't get a refund as its over the 15 days since I got my phone.
    This could get messy.
    Have to say Google are useless at returning emails.
    Then they need an ultimatum. Money or phone. It's that simple. If you're speaking to folks in the US, they might not be aware of the consumer rights over here, and in the UK it's not far off Ireland, I believe. They're playing you.

Just call TNT and mention nothing about the destination. They'll ask for the account number, which will be written on the top left of the return docket you get (it's the TNT account number for Computer 2000). Ask them to collect it ASAP and hopefully they won't ask you about the destination. Well, you could always lie and say it's going to the UK and let them worry about it later.

That failing you'll have to call Google and ask them to give you an address to send it to them so they can have it collected. Chances are Google won't be as kind as Flubit by offering reimbursement for the postage cost. It's advisable if this is the route you end up taking to use Registered Post, even though it costs more. You can't afford for it to get lost and having no way of tracking it by using Standard Post.
    Raoul wrote: »
    Deceifer, who you calling that it is costing so much?

I use skype, 2 cent per min to call flubit. I didn't get a chance to ring them again. Will have to do it in the morning
    I haven't bought Skype credit in years but maybe it's advisable in the future when calling the UK and other International numbers. I just used my phone (3 Prepay) to call TNT in Ireland, the UK, Google Play (UK), and Fireworks (UK). All the calls lasted quite a number of minutes so it all adds up.

EDIT: Ouch, 35c per minute. Could be worse, could be better! You'd think they'd price international landline calling more appropriately, though.

Let us know how it goes for you. How many devices did you order in total?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

My phone checked in at Belfast at 14:24 today :D

I didn't recieve a text or email for this, I had to go on PM and login. Is this normal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭jgbyr

Keno 92 wrote: »

I didn't recieve a text or email for this, I had to go on PM and login. Is this normal?

Exactly the same happened to me. I then got a text the following morning that the phone was at my pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

From Belfast to Waterford. Would ye say I'd have it tomorrow?

It is, they won't notify you by text or email until it hits your designated PM. Are you in Dublin? If so, expect those notifications to come in anytime before midnight. If not, it could swing either way, perhaps very early tomorrow morning (mine came in at 5:38am, but I was sleeping at the time :)).

EDIT: Just noticed you said Waterford. It'll be there by tomorrow afternoon at the latest. They get it to your PM within 24 hours. But it could be just like Limerick and they could have it in the locker by 6am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

I've done the flubit too so if all goes v well I'll have 2 of these sooner or later!, if that happens I'll be looking to offload one so watch this space!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭setanta1984

Leslie91 wrote: »
    I've done the flubit too so if all goes v well I'll have 2 of these sooner or later!, if that happens I'll be looking to offload one so watch this space!.

Did you order today from flubit?
    I'm anxious about how long it could take, be good to hear of others who ordered around the same time as me (monday) and how their orders are progressing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭jgbyr

From Belfast to Waterford. Would ye say I'd have it tomorrow?

Yep, mine went to Limerick. Got a text at 7 am to say it was there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭CSSE09

I'm anxious about how long it could take, be good to hear of others who ordered around the same time as me (monday) and how their orders are progressing

Time can vary, I ordered one for my mother on the 4th and I only got the shipping email last night, no tracker on it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Yes ordered on flubit today (and on play store before that!!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

www.flubit.ie is up and running.

I just noticed the new Flubit landing page for Ireland, how long has it been there, does anyone know? It's good that they're embracing the whole Parcel Motel route for their Irish customers. I wouldn't be surprised if this thread was the cause of it with all the Nexus orders they are probably getting!
    249908.PNG
    laugh wrote: »
    www.flubit.ie is up and running.
    That's been going for a few days at least, I think. Someone mentioned it a small number of pages back. But when I tried it before, I didn't get the landing page, above.

In other news, I'm sorry to say Raoul, I've rooted my phone. :P

All seems okay, though. It's been rooted since about 7pm, once I got the confidence to give it a whirl, and I've stressed it with AnTuTu and GLBenchmark (that benchmark really is some whopper!).

But there was a good reason. I didn't do it just for the sake of it. I installed a double circle battery mod and I've used Titanium Backup to restore some data from apps that I took from my Galaxy S, which can't be done without root access. I'll hold off on installing the touch sensitivity fix as it really isn't as bad as I thought and there is a trade-off when you use the fix. And even though I flashed TWRP, I still intend on keeping the stock firmware and kernel.

Anyways, back to our original programming. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭CSSE09

Oh btw do flubit automatically send you a tracking number, I requested it a while back and I was told I'd be updated but didn't hear anything. Also from the dispatch email roughly how long did it take for it to hit PM?

Those of you waiting by the way, it's worth it I love mine, so much so I'm upgrading my mother from a 3510i from flubit, yes you heard right a 3510i :pac:

CSSE09 wrote: »
    Oh btw do flubit automatically send you a tracking number, I requested it a while back and I was told I'd be updated but didn't hear anything. Also from the dispatch email roughly how long did it take for it to hit PM?

Those of you waiting by the way, it's worth it I love mine, so much so I'm upgrading my mother from a 3510i from flubit, yes you heard right a 3510i :pac:
    Jaysus, I used to have a 3510, the mono version. Hahaha. Oh God, that thing is 2002 ancient. :P

Sometimes the tracking number won't appear on the order page on Flubit. Your best bet is to stay on the route of requesting one be sent to you from Fireworks Merchant. If you've been waiting a few days, it'll do no harm to make the request again or if you have an open ticket with them, make a new reply, reiterating the request.

Sorry, CSS, just to address your other question. I always got a tracking number with any dispatch email but my emails have always come from support tickets replies (from David and Dilek at Fireworks). So let's assume that the item has shipped on the day you received the email. By day one it'll probably be in Birmingham (for me, last Friday). Then on day two sometime (for me, Monday last), it'll hit Dublin. By day three (for me, Tuesday) it should be on a truck and checked into Parcel Motel by lunch or soon after. Then it's either the same day or the next morning for it to be put into your designated Parcel Motel's locker (for me, it arrived this morning). Both my shipments followed that exact pattern, give or take an hour for the Parcel Motel check-in. Add another day onto it before panicking if yours doesn't seem to conform and remember that it's all working days, so only Monday to Friday counts. It's really hard to know since you haven't been given the tracking number whether there is a tracking number created just yet. If not, then you'll need to give it more time. Keep on to Flubit/Fireworks and see what happens. It shouldn't be too long at this stage.

Deceifer, what time does the flubit call center open? Tried calling there and can't get through.

EDIT - "Quick heads up Flubit lovelies, our phones are out at the moment so if you are trying to ring please bear with us as we get them back in tip top order :)"

Messaged them on FB.
    From me:"Hi,
    I tried calling but as you have posted there is a problem with your phones. Unfortunately I will be in work for the next few hours and can't call.
    I am messaging about Order #:****, I don't seem to get a reply through the support on the order page.
    The last possible date which this was meant to be delivered was Monday the 15th. I hadn't received it and I contacted you on Monday and was told it would be dispatched before Wednesday but if it was't that I would get next day delivery on Thursday and I would definitely have it by Friday.
    Wednesday morning it still wasn't dispatched. I contacted you again and was told by Elly via a message from David that I would have a dispatch email yesterday. Unfortunately I didn't get one. So I expect that it will be dispatched today using next day delivery and I will have it tomorrow as was promised.
    Would appreciate a reply as soon as possible,
    Thanks in advance,
    Raoul."
    Replies:
    "Hiya, ta for getting in touch and apologies about the phone line, having a bit of trouble with them today.
    Will get onto the team about this immediately and get someone to get back to you asap!
    Cheers
    Dave

10:45
    Flubit
    Hullo again, David from Fireworks will be sending you an update later on today "

My reply:
    "Well I have been told that already and not received anything. Can you specify when I will receive an update and I really expect it to be confirmation of shipping next day delivery as I was promised on Monday. It has been two weeks since I have placed the order and the money has been taken out of my account."

Flubit:
    "Just chatted to David there and he told me that Google cancelled all our orders over the weekend (they have a habit of doing that it seems) he has reordered yours this morn and it will be dispatched later today/first thing tomorrow.
    Really sorry about that unfortunately our hands get tied with Google but we have your order on high priority so we want to get you your order immediately"

Me:
    "Thank you. And I presume it will be next day delivery and I will have it tomorrow as promised on Monday?"

Flubit:
    "Hopefully! Can't say for absolute definite the way the Google orders have gone but it should do. Thanks a mil for your patience on this it ain't so nice playing the waiting game!"

And that's that. Really annoying at this stage. I don't like the way that they are just placing all the blame on google, they have to take some responsibility and the "playing the waiting game" line really irked me. No point replying any further.