If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Calmed right down here this evening. It's a bit of a false sense of security, carried two cheviot lambs down to the shed for the night. Maybe a walk of about 300 yards, they were shivering by the time we got there. Going to have more accommodation for next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

sold bull this evening..one less thing to worry about

Watching one of my Blackface ewes, she's the size of a small house, hoping she won't have trips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

F***ing power cut here since before 5 just on now
    And just seen a cow that likes tail paint she licked it off her back and the licked herself everywhere else wont lose her anyway as its flourescent orange

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

Watching one of my Blackface ewes, she's the size of a small house, hoping she won't have trips.

Would you not try the scanning ????
    Used to be like that here , looking at the big ewes wondering what she is carrying..
    Started scanning about 4 years ago and its a gift .

We keep the twins and trips together in a field at yard and they get haylage and nuts , and the singles go off to rough grazing , with only a couple of mineral buckets until about 2-3 weeks before lambing .
    Then bring the singles home and they all get nuts to help them spring down properly .

Started lambing Saturday .
    We have 9 ewes scanned carrying triplets .
    Two triplet ewes have lambed so far .
    There a fcuking headache imo , give me twins anyday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

td5man wrote: »
    F***ing power cut here since before 5 just on now
    And just seen a cow that likes tail paint she licked it off her back and the licked herself everywhere else wont lose her anyway as its flourescent orange
    ah its grand here , snow showers, not sticking... do you have a generator?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

Cows and calves back out today , ground in good shape after a fews dry days.

Richk2012 wrote: »
    Would you not try the scanning ????
    Used to be like that here , looking at the big ewes wondering what she is carrying..
    Started scanning about 4 years ago and its a gift .

We keep the twins and trips together in a field at yard and they get haylage and nuts , and the singles go off to rough grazing , with only a couple of mineral buckets until about 2-3 weeks before lambing .
    Then bring the singles home and they all get nuts to help them spring down properly .

Started lambing Saturday .
    We have 9 ewes scanned carrying triplets .
    Two triplet ewes have lambed so far .
    There a fcuking headache imo , give me twins anyday

Yeah, I'll scan the next crop. I was going to do this years, but the guy I had been thinking of, I was told he wasn't great. Got a lead on a different guy who's meant to be excellent. Just hope he can do my small flock.

I'll see if I can try for a compact lambing too. But, with other sheep on three sides of me, it may not work depending on what the neighbours have planned. Last year was the first time I raddled a ram, and that was just for repeats due to a purebred group I'm in.

So yeah, new things planned for this year :)

whelan1 wrote: »
    ah its grand here , snow showers, not sticking... do you have a generator?
    No generator,light flurries of snow
    Had an incalf heifer fall/pushed into a big jfc drinker today she had a struggle to get out an older cow wouldnt have..

No generator,light flurries of snow
    Had an incalf heifer fall/pushed into a big jfc drinker today she had a struggle to get out an older cow wouldnt have..
    was it one of them big stupid round jfc ones we got rid of them all total nightmare

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Three tankers in at slurry today, ground in great order. Cow down in field knacker coming in am he will also get 3 calves that I am sick of treating, improving, only to see them relapse.
    Sold 21 bull calves this am.
    Lovely red sky tonight can't be a bad sign??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

eldest lad is gone to the game i'd say its fecking freezing up there

ffs defenders like muppets 2 all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

delaval wrote: »
    Sold 21 bull calves this am.
    The article in last week's Indo and Journal was the best thing that happend you;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

FCC II only 16days old and already >600 posts! At this rate of going we'll have FCC III in the Autumn. You've a lot to answer for whelan1;):D

was it one of them big stupid round jfc ones we got rid of them all total nightmare
    Yep only have one and its enough

just do it wrote: »
    FCC II only 16days old and already >600 posts! At this rate of going we'll have FCC III in the Autumn. You've a lot to answer for whelan1;):D
    Typical women you cant shut her up :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

So looking forward to the time changing at the weekend. I know the weather is cold but brightness till after eight will be welcome round here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

bloody busier here than a blue arsed fly at the moment, seems like its being all go since xmas. Presume there are many more in the same boat, suppose the weather is making some serious amount of extra work

Typical women you cant shut her up :D
    fyi, alot of the posts in fcc are not mine;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Dupont

bbam wrote: »
    So looking forward to the time changing at the weekend. I know the weather is cold but brightness till after eight will be welcome round here.
    What day does it change?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Fcuking snow here this morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Marooned75 wrote: »

Big yellow ball out here again today, cold crisp and dry, gettin some sub soiling done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

feckin have to go to a farm walk today for dairy yoke, a few loads of slurry to put out, then meeting a bird tonight if i have time:rolleyes:

Dupont wrote: »
    What day does it change?
    saturday night sunday morning

Marooned75 wrote: »
    yup, stopped now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,459 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

we had 2 inches this morning. Ok I'm ready for spring now!

snowing here again theres 2" and 4" deep drifts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

kevthegaff wrote: »
    feckin have to go to a farm walk today for dairy yoke, a few loads of slurry to put out, then meeting a bird tonight if i have time:rolleyes:

have ya two seats on tractor, ya could have the date and the slurry at the same time:D

hugo29 wrote: »
    have ya two seats on tractor, ya could have the date and the slurry at the same time:D
    Been there done that,some of them never came back again :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Been there done that,some of them never came back again :confused:

But the one that stays is a keeper. At least she'll know what to expect for the rest of her life!! :)