Celtic FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014/15 Mod Warning post #6011

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

PauloMN wrote: »
    BhoscaCapall, it's not obvious to me why the club would target the GB, but it seems obvious to you. Care to tell me?
    Well they are the fans who constantly bring shame to the club (Lennon and Liewell's words) with disgraceful banners such as shooting a zombie or anti war messages

They are the fans who through their songs and displays promote the culture and politics of a country not welcome in Scotland.

They are the fans who set out to oppose modern football and are the diametric opposite to what any PLC would want i.e. nice quiet polite customers who sit with their thumb up their hole sipping their £4 Coca Cola.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Ladjacket

At a CSC meeting tonight, Lawwell said that any suggestions they want rid of GB is "total nonsense". From Twitter.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Well they are the fans who constantly bring shame to the club (Lennon and Liewell's words) with disgraceful banners such as shooting a zombie or anti war messages

They are the fans who through their songs and displays promote the culture and politics of a country not welcome in Scotland.

They are the fans who set out to oppose modern football and are the diametric opposite to what any PLC would want i.e. nice quiet polite customers who sit with their thumb up their hole sipping their £4 Coca Cola.

So any proof they've been unfairly targeted? Lawwell and Lennon and both heaped praise on the GB for the atmosphere they bring to CP. The club have accommodated them with their own area. I don't think it's unfair to ask them to follow the standard stadium rules, just as every fan is expected to. Asking them to follow these rules is not targeting them.

This whole downtrodden bit from the GB is getting tiresome tbh. And if singing IRA add-ons is what you call "promoting the culture" of a country, I'm glad they don't work for Bord Fáilte. :pac:

So any proof they've been unfairly targeted?
    I thought for the sake of this discussion we were accepting they had. If not then there's nothing to talk about.
    I don't think it's unfair to ask them to follow the standard stadium rules, just as every fan is expected to.
    I do, because I think those rules are bollocks. The rules just don't happen to affect others as much because they aren't the ones engaging in flag waving or lateral movement :rolleyes:
    Asking them to follow these rules is not targeting them.
    No, video taping them and harassing them and their families while at home is though.
    This whole downtrodden bit from the GB is getting tiresome tbh.
    I actually agree, but it doesn't mean there are not problems that need addressing. We'd never get anywhere if we just told everyone to shut up and do as they're told.
    And if singing IRA add-ons is what you call "promoting the culture" of a country, I'm glad they don't work for Bord Fáilte. :pac:
    I haven't heard the Green Brigade ever sing "IRA add-ons". In fact I think one of the thing they're quite smug about is keeping their song book in check. Of course they sing songs that your Chris Grahams and Jim Traynors would try and tell you were evil sectarian IRA recruitment battle cries but does anyone take anything these people say seriously? The needless add-ons to stuff like Willie Maley and Fields of Athenry are rarely/never heard in Parkhead anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,961 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Link to statement:
    http://celticfc.net/newsstory?item=3704

Couldn't ask for more tbh. The Complaints Panel is the right and proper solution to this. I hope the GB engage with this panel, and I hope they are open to dialogue, rather than their usual "we'll only meet with the club if x, y and z are all done" line.

BhoscaCapall, it's not obvious to me why the club would target the GB, but it seems obvious to you. Care to tell me?

A load of bollocks from the board. Check any celtic forums today and there is plenty of posts about lads making complaints yet Celtic say they only have had two?? Now the GB arent exactly the best at co ordinating action so i tend to believe the posts ive seen. They really need to get ther act together though and co-ordinate some sort or approach with the board. Corporate interests V football fans, only going to be one winner here i'm afraid.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,961 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

I'll agree with your last statement but the rest is bollocks. I have absolutely no problem with rebel songs etc but to say the GB are promoting Ireland and its politics is absolutely ludicrous.

And neither Lennon or Lawell labelled all the GB members as shameful. Calm down.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

I must say I really don't get the whole "them vs. us" bit wrt football fans vs. the club. Where's the fight? I've never heard the club saying they want the stadium to be dead or quiet with no atmosphere. How would that be of benefit to the club? How are the rules "bollocks"? If you have up to 60k people in one stadium, then you have to have rules for the benefit of everyone. I also don't see where moaning about £4 Cokes fits in to the discussion tbh.

If the GB have a problem with any of the rules, there are two options: don't attend games, or work in an adult manner with the club to see what compromise can be made. The only other option - flouting the rules - will lead to grief, and they can make no complaints about being targeted if they choose not to follow the rules of the club.

As regards video surveillance, if a group sitting in a certain section persistently violates rules, I see no problem whatsoever with it. If the police harass people for no reason, of course that needs to be addressed. Call me an old cynic, but I very much doubt that the people on the receiving end of this "harassment" are squeaky clean. Like I say, you don't get arrested by four cops at an airport for holding a flag.

If you act as part of a pack, then expect to be treated as a pack. For example, if police move to arrest/eject a fan in any part of the stadium apart from 111, they'll do so without any bother. If they do the same in 111, then they are rounded on, then accused of harassment when they react.

Tommy McCrindle has been taken off duty :pac:

You ninja-edited that almost as quickly as Jelle edits his posts lol :D.

Any links to that news?

You ninja-edited that almost as quickly as Jelle edits his posts lol :D.

Any links to that news?
    Can't be too careful, this place is a bit of a joke.

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/4802145/Celtic-cop-pest-control-taunts-on-Facebook.html

Just your typical police officer really. He'll get a nice paid week's leave and a few handshakes and jokes from his colleagues.

That's good news if that clown is never to be seen at CP ever again. I hope the police force punish him.
    Just your typical police officer really.

That's an out of order comment imo.

That would be in line with the rest of your views, although vice versa too I suppose!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

There's obviously a problem if characters like McCrindle are being sent by the police to monitor the Green Brigade.

It's hard to see how the GB issues can be resolved with the club, the GB are the GB because they are anti-establishment and don't want to be seen to compromise. Celtic have always had an element of antiestablishmentarianism (there's a nice word for ya) within it's identity as a club. Still, hopefully they should be able to reach a solution where the club supports and protects them in return for certain compromises.

Lennonist wrote: »
    There's obviously a problem if characters like McCrindle are being sent by the police to monitor the Green Brigade.
    Half his friends on Facebook were the sectarian BJK brigade.

It's another thing to consider for these people who are of the belief that "if they're not doing any wrong then why are they in trouble".
    Celtic have always had an element of antiestablishmentarianism (there's a nice word for ya) within it's identity as a club.
    People will have you know that's the longest word in the dictionary but it's not :P /Q.I.

You make a good point though. As much as people will try and patronise or mock it, that is a large part of the Ultra culture that the GB are trying to push, something that is very continental and unlike anything in the UK. It seems most people want to cherry pick here though, as they're happy to applaud songs and confetti but don't want anything else that comes with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

People will have you know that's the longest word in the dictionary but it's not :P /Q.I.

What's word is that? Actually now that I think of it the word I remeber from History in school was "antidisestablishmentarianism"
    You make a good point though. As much as people will try and patronise or mock it, that is a large part of the Ultra culture that the GB are trying to push, something that is very continental and unlike anything in the UK. It seems most people want to cherry pick here though, as they're happy to applaud songs and confetti but don't want anything else that comes with it.

Everyone has to play to some kind of rules though, don't you think. The Green Brigade themselves agreed to moderate their displays about the annual Poppyfest for example ( I'm right about that yes?). The club in a spirit of compromise - not with the GB but with the establishment at large - no longer play with the poppy emblazoned on their shirt, but donated to Poppy related charities instead. The Green Brigade seems to be made up of a bunch of young lads, if they want to be taken seriously they need to get help representing themselves better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Celtic team for tonight

CELTIC (4-4-2) Forster; Matthews, Ambrose, Wilson, Izaguirre; Commons, Wanyama, Ledley, Mulgrew; Hooper, Lassad

Subs: Zaluska, Stokes, Rogne, Rogic, Kayal, McCourt, Forrest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,747 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Another Ambrose header.... if only he done it this time last week

He's gonnae score a hattrick in Turin anyway so it's grand

Makes a change to have a commentator licking our holes for once. I think I prefer shouting at the likes of Provan, Burley, McCann etc

Two goals for St Johnstone wrongly chalked off IMO

Wonder will as little a deal be made out of them as the bulls**t penalties we get given against us every other week :rolleyes:

That second one was defo a goal, whatever about the first. I'd be raging if I was Lomas. **** linesman.

What a goal that is.

Great goal, poorly defended though. Deserved equaliser. SJ should be well on top in this game, they've been far better than us.

Not on the balance of things. We dominated the first half beyond belief, most of it was played inside their penalty area.

They should be 3-1 up though.

Celtic have woken up. Only took 85mins lol.

Not on the balance of things. We dominated the first half beyond belief, most of it was played inside their penalty area.

They should be 3-1 up though.

Didn't see a lot of the first half, bad stream. I hope it was better than the 2nd half.

Amazing how we can get f*cked over on a weekly basis and then as soon as we get a decision our way we're "cheats".

Interesting 3 mins injury time lol
    Didn't see a lot of the first half, bad stream. I hope it was better than the 2nd half.
    We could have been 5 or 6 nil up tbh. Another game where Stokes should have started.

Happy with the point there based on the 2nd half. Should really have been 2-1 to them.

Motherwell a goal down to Dundee Utd, so we still widened the gap it looks like if that score remains.

Amazing how we can get f*cked over on a weekly basis and then as soon as we get a decision our way we're "cheats".

Interesting 3 mins injury time lol

We could have been 5 or 6 nil up tbh. Another game where Stokes should have started.

I was surprised he didn't start tbh, what's the craic there?

There was talk of a friend of his dying recently (hopefully not in the Ra:pac:) but sounds like balls to me cuz he just wouldn't have been in the squad at all.

Lassad did need a game in fairness, and also Lenny seems to have quite a grudge against Stokes at the best of times.