Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Feb 9th Protest - will you be joining?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭abbeyrock

Im In, its about time I got off the sofa and did something .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Methememb wrote: »
    It's a start.
    Yay the unions, who throughout the Celtic tiger refused pay increases for the good of the country, who refused to attend 'social partnership' where the tax take from the property bubble was divvied out, and whose leaders refused to be part of state boards of entities that drove this country into the ground.

What alternative universe did this happen in, because it didn't happen in this one?

dvpower wrote: »
    Its true that the unions haven't exactly covered themselves in glory, but the question is really about how workers would be worse off if the government managed to negotiate a deal on the debt.
    This would be a good thing, that would benefit everyone, no?
    Yup, which is why they are negotiating this.

So your march is to ask the government to negotiate a deal on the debt? Which the government are doing. So, what is this march about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 54,768 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Its true that the unions haven't exactly covered themselves in glory, but the question is really about how workers would be worse off if the government managed to negotiate a deal on the debt.

How would the workers be worse off if a deal was negotiated on the debt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

hmmm wrote: »
    Yup, which is why they are negotiating this.

So your march is to ask the government to negotiate a deal on the debt? Which the government are doing. So, what is this march about?
    Its not my march, but I think the idea is that getting big numbers out on the streets protesting would strengthen the Government's hand in the debt negotiations.

How would the workers be worse off if a deal was negotiated on the debt?
    You've just paraphrased my question. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 54,768 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The action they are prodding for is in support of the current Government approach.

Good bit of spin there dv ;)

Its not my march, but I think the idea is that getting big numbers out on the streets protesting would strengthen the Government's hand in the debt negotiations.
    The protest site says it's about some ridiculous notion of "jobs not debt" http://www.ictu.ie/jobsnotdebt/ , which is the type of meaningless slogan that the union leaders love. They get a few thousand on the streets, say a few speeches and go home in their big cars.

Good bit of spin there dv ;)
    Its not spin. ICTU are not calling for a default or anything like it. They are calling for a better deal on the debt - the government are currently in negotiations for a better deal.
    The protest site says it's about some ridiculous notion of "jobs not debt" http://www.ictu.ie/jobsnotdebt/ , which is the type of meaningless slogan that the union leaders love. They get a few thousand on the streets, say a few speeches and go home in their big cars.
    I think its a deliberately bland slogan. It can be all things to all men, designed to attract the widest crowd.

Would you be happier if they cycled home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭pitkan

Agree. BUT the workers are prodding them into action now it seems. About time.

Sorry tayto, but I thing the Government are behind Congress's protest to give the Government some creedence in their, so far, failed attempts to negotiate a debt write down.

I smell a rat.

pitkan wrote: »
    Sorry tayto, but I thing the Government are behind Congress's protest to give the Government some creedence in their, so far, failed attempts to negotiate a debt write down.

I don't really care what triggers it off.
    When people get angry and start moving it's hard to stop that movement.

pitkan wrote: »
    That's my reading too.

They can't say it out loud 'though - they need actual protesters to turn up.

Would you be happier if they cycled home?
    Sure. I'd have much more time for something like this if it wasn't going to consist of people on 100k+ a year, who sit on state boards, telling us that they want everyone to pay more tax to keep their members in the lifestyle they expect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭pitkan

Unfortunately it's a catch 22 situation of which I will play no part.

That's my reading too.

They can't say it out loud 'though - they need actual protesters to turn up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭darkhorse

And yet another poster who thinks putting words in my mouth will score points :rolleyes:

Can ya get points for putting words in a posters mouth? I did'nt know that.:D(joke)
    Is there something you want to discuss in particular?

We are discussing it already. I replied to your post in such a way whereby I was trying to ascertain if you also thought that the protests that I linked to were futile at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

why are the unions not calling for a writeoff? they are supporting the govts stance, they will be let know on saturday that its not our debt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Furious_George

nice_very wrote: »
    why are the unions not calling for a writeoff? they are supporting the govts stance, they will be let know on saturday that its not our debt

I have decided I will also be there letting them know that this is not our debt. Lets get out there and let Europe hear our roar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Were ye watching prime time?

There was a german man, an econmist or someone, up yapping with pat kenny and he said that the banking crisis just across the pigs countries alone is coming to 9.4 trillion euro and there isn't a taxpayer in europe that will be able to foot that bill and that the only way is to have the investors face their losses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Am Chile

ilovesleep wrote: »

There was a german man, an econmist or someone, up yapping with pat kenny and he said that the banking crisis just across the pigs countries alone is coming to 9.4 trillion euro and there isn't a taxpayer in europe that will be able to foot that bill and that the only way is to have the investors face their losses.

Watched it earlier-
    Hans-Werner Sinn, Professor of Economics at the University of Munich, is President of the Ifo Institute for Economic Research, provided this Government on Prime Time Rte 1, with the advice it should have been following these last years. Taxpayers - in what ever country should not be taking on the the debt of private banking institutions. Indeed, Hans illustrated the only people with the wealth to deal with these issues are the bondholders themselves. What fools we have in Kenny and Noonan (and the rest) in advocating we pay every penny back like some bunch of naughty school kids. How on earth can they now keep playing this charade in all honesty.

Saw the programme and it's an eye opener for sure.
    Time for the people to demand that these Bondholders are not paid.
    It's like a starving man being made give his food to a well fed lad.

Am Chile wrote: »
    Watched it earlier-
    Hans-Werner Sinn, Professor of Economics at the University of Munich, is President of the Ifo Institute for Economic Research, provided this Government on Prime Time Rte 1, with the advice it should have been following these last years. Taxpayers - in what ever country should not be taking on the the debt of private banking institutions. Indeed, Hans illustrated the only people with the wealth to deal with these issues are the bondholders themselves. What fools we have in Kenny and Noonan (and the rest) in advocating we pay every penny back like some bunch of naughty school kids. How on earth can they now keep playing this charade in all honesty.

God! Is there any way for kenny to see sense?

I wonder what would happen if we didn't pay the promissery notes due at the end of march and defaulted on that?

Saw the programme and it's an eye opener for sure.
    Time for the people to demand that these Bondholders are not paid.
    It's like a starving man being made give his food to a well fed lad.

Chilling stuff.
    I say we all stop paying taxes or pay as little as possible and collaspe the roof over our heads and the government will have no choice but not to pay.
    I wonder would that work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Chilling stuff.
    I say we all stop paying taxes or pay as little as possible and collaspe the roof over our heads and the government will have no choice but not to pay.
    I wonder would that work?

Of course it would, but it's not going to happen because of the number of gullible people like the vast multitude in this thread who have been brainwashed into believing that this is all our fault and we deserve our punishment.

It's a vast stockholm syndrome which seriously, seriously depresses me. Nobody forced Sean FitzPatrick to lie on his balance sheets, and nobody forced anyone to help him cover it up.
    Anglo's debt is not our problem.

Of course it would, but it's not going to happen because of the number of gullible people like the vast multitude in this thread who have been brainwashed into believing that this is all our fault and we deserve our punishment.

It's a vast stockholm syndrome which seriously, seriously depresses me. Nobody forced Sean FitzPatrick to lie on his balance sheets, and nobody forced anyone to help him cover it up.

You sound like a priest or a nun there for a moment:
    'this is your punishment for your sins of greed'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

There was a german man, an economist or someone, up yapping with pat kenny and he said that the banking crisis just across the pigs countries alone is coming to 9.4 trillion euro and there isn't a taxpayer in europe that will be able to foot that bill and that the only way is to have the investors face their losses.

There is going to be a day of reckoning where lots of debt will be written off. Why are we panicing so much :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

You sound like a priest or a nun there for a moment:
    'this is your punishment for your sins of greed'.

That's what all the "We made the mess" idiots sound like to me.
    The mess was made by a small clique of bankers and politicians all in eachother's pockets and... I won't use the appropriate expression here lest I get banned.

The situation with the wider economy and the situation with the banks are two separate and distinct issues. The former may indeed have been caused by "everyone" (although as a minor in 2001 and 2007 I had no vote, so technically I and the rest of my generation had no role in it), but the banking scandal is very simply a conspiracy of utter crooks, which should be paid for solely and exclusively by those crooks. If they can't afford to, bankrupt the f*ckers for every penny they've got and then tell the investors "tough, you chose to gamble and you lost. Feck off".

Honestly, how anyone can defend bailing these people out is utterly beyond me. They made their own bed and they can lie on it. Leave me and everyone else who never touched a cent from Anglo Irish Bank out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Would be great to get that totally wrote down, plus the other money that went into the banks. Might be about 30% of our debt in total. The rest is money we've borrowed to mainly pay Welfare and Public Sector pay and run the country.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Claregirl

People like me work hard, pay taxes & are too hard pressed to take a day off to run along side Shinners & Skangers.

I'm neither Shinner nor Skanger - I'm a PAYE worker I work hard pay plenty of takes and I'm sacrificing my day off to march on Saturday! I've nothing left in the kitty, no meals out, no drinks no money left at the end of each week hoping any Doctor's visits can wait till payday and more pain on the way LPT, Water Rates - enough is enough I can't take anymore.

So instead of whining here about how tough things are I'm going to get off my arse and march - It might not make any difference but its gotta be better than doing nothing and if it sends a shudder through the ranks of FG to see "Middle Ireland" on the streets and not just the "Shinners & Skangers" well thats a bonus.