Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Feb 9th Protest - will you be joining?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭starlings

What a cheek ???
    The children are the very ones who will be burdened with this debt as will their children.
    You have a bit of reading-up to do lady.

Tayto lover, all Maryanne84 had to read to form her opinion on children being brought to the march, was the quote from the Ictu assistant general secretary in the article she linked.

You seem to think that people who disagree with you are not well read in history or current affairs. Some are, some aren't, and it is possible to draw differing conclusions from the same material, but the only ignorance you are exposing is your own.

• Administrators Posts: 55,209 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I'll have absolutely nothing to do with anything organised by or involving trade unions. I'll leave that sort of nonsense to mouthy lefties who have no alternatives to offer but organise this sh!te as ego massaging nonsense just because they enjoy making an absolute nuisance of themselves on a regular basis.

You must be a youngster so I will just ask you to read you're History.
    Without the Unions you would have no working conditions. Just read about the history of the Unions in Ireland. Not about the current Union bosses, just the Unions.
    Ah here we go.

If it weren't for the unions we'd all be working down the mines for 50 cent a week, working 50 hour weeks with no health and safety whatsoever. If you're off sick you're sacked and pregnant women can work and all.

Is that what those unions tell you when they're begging for your money every month?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

There is a large protest in Dublin, Cork, Sligo, Waterford and Limerick against the bank debt on Saturday February 9th

DUBLIN: Cook Street (near Civic Offices, Wood Quay);
    CORK: SIPTU offices, Connolly, Hall Lapps Quay;
    GALWAY: Cathedral Car Park;
    LIMERICK: Mechanics Institute, Harstonge Street;
    WATERFORD: The Glen (in front of the Forum);
    SLIGO: Sligo County Council Offices, Riverside

Here is some information about it and why the protest is being called

http://vimeo.com/58711943#

http://www.ictu.ie/jobsnotdebt/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=igdHayzjUVI&feature=youtu.be

Will you join?
    Ohh the eloquence. That'd be the Bank debt that's pretty much already paid off? As opposed to the Sovereign debt that was saddled on us so that the sneaky fcukers could not renege on it without a sovereign default?

As in, no ECB/troika money went to the banks, they were bailed out with Irish Govt funds which were then replaced with ECB money, effectivly(very as it happens)guaranteeing that Enda and his stellar cast of spivs, teachers and gombeens have more chance of getting out of paying it back than Shergar has of winning the 3.30 at Aintree. Not that they want to anyway.

Ye might as well stand in O'Connell St and have a wet t-shirt competition. At least that way the bunch of tits out in the street would be worth paying attention to.

Our glorious leaders(who are now selling off all our trees btw, at a real world loss of 1.3bn to the Irish Taxpayer, to a Fund headed up by the bould Bertie(yes, that one) -could give two shytes where ye protest. They're too busy thinking up new ways to ride ye, to be listening to ye. They have the stereo up full blast, belting out Barry White, great riding music. Drowns out the plebs a treat..Enda has his Silk robe slung over his shoulder -"Leets get it ooon.."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

awec wrote: »
    I'll have absolutely nothing to do with anything organised by or involving trade unions. I'll leave that sort of nonsense to mouthy lefties who have no alternatives to offer but organise this sh!te as ego massaging nonsense just because they enjoy making an absolute nuisance of themselves on a regular basis.

So Unionism is grand but trade unionism is a no no. There's a suprise. I preferred Keith AFC tbh

Bambi wrote: »
    So Unionism is grand but trade unionism is a no no. There's a suprise. I preferred Keith AFC tbh
    Did you just compare unionism and trade unions? :pac:

For the group, can you explain all the similarities that exist in your head that enabled you make that comparison? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 54,770 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

awec wrote: »
    Ah here we go.

If it weren't for the unions we'd all be working down the mines for 50 cent a week, working 50 hour weeks with no health and safety whatsoever. If you're off sick you're sacked and pregnant women can work and all.

Is that what those unions tell you when they're begging for your money every month?

Unfortunately I don't have that benefit as there is none where I work.
    Seriously wish there was though as crap seems to always flow downhill.
    You and your ilk would probably prefer to have us back in the Strumpet City days though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 54,770 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

starlings wrote: »
    Tayto lover, all Maryanne84 had to read to form her opinion on children being brought to the march, was the quote from the Ictu assistant general secretary in the article she linked.

You seem to think that people who disagree with you are not well read in history or current affairs. Some are, some aren't, and it is possible to draw differing conclusions from the same material, but the only ignorance you are exposing is your own.

You are quite entitled to you're opinion as am I.
    Tell me how we would be better off without the Unions all over the years.

You are quite entitled to you're opinion as am I.
    Tell me how we would be better off without the Unions all over the years.

I haven't written a word about the Unions so far, and I don't accept your challenge. I just wanted to point out that your attack on Maryanne84 was unwarranted and redundant.

You're opinion again. I think I was right. Children are also victims of this Government's policies.

you have opinions about your own opinions now? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

Children should have opinions of their own not opinions forced on them by their parents. I wouldn't bring my child to any protest I supported unless they were old enough to have their own opinion on it.

you have opinions about your own opinions now? :pac:

Ah the usual smart comment
    and also of yours :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Lightbulb Sun

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    What will wasting a day protesting achieve? Nothing, absolutely nothing.

Pessimism in action, ladies and gentlemen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

At what stage would you protest something?

Probably no stage.. The issues would slip off from the vaseline anyway.

Children should have opinions of their own not opinions forced on them by their parents. I wouldn't bring my child to any protest I supported unless they were old enough to have their own opinion on it.

But you'd ok their paying debts that were not theirs. Surprise surprise.
    Mine will be there. They were very angry when I explained the situation to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Without the Unions you would have no working conditions. Just read about the history of the Unions in Ireland. Not about the current Union bosses, just the Unions.
    Do you think the Connollys & Larkins if they were still alive would be members of these unions? With bosses on 100k+ and sitting on various state boards?

Seriously?

Unions may have once been about improving working conditions for workers, these days they are all about closed shops to protect the well off, and screw the taxpayer and young workers - union bosses have been falling over themselves to accept reduced wages for new workers, and everyone who contributes to a union knows full well that despite their rhetoric that's what they are signing up for. So spare us the lectures when you march under your union banner, we know you're in it for yourself.

But you'd ok their paying debts that were not theirs. Surprise surprise.
    Mine will be there. They were very angry when I explained the situation to them.

Please don't patronise me or put words in my mouth. You treat me with respect, I'll treat you with respect.

As someone who will be graduating from college soon I will be paying debts that weren't mine too, if I find a job in Ireland that is and not be forced abroad.

Yet I don't agree with this protest as I see it achieving absolutely nothing.

I'd imagine your children were quite angry when you explained the situation to them, as you are just one side of the coin. I believe people should hear two sides to everything before they make decisions, especially children.

Also, may I ask how old your children are? That's another factor. I'm not so much against children going to protests if they are old enough to have an opinion on it but adults bringing 5 year olds along to something they don't know anything about just to gain publicity is ridiculous in my opinion.

hmmm wrote: »
    Do you think the Connollys & Larkins if they were still alive would be members of these unions? With bosses on 100k+ and sitting on various state boards?

Seriously?

Unions may have once been about improving working conditions for workers, these days they are all about closed shops to protect the well off, and screw the taxpayer and young workers - union bosses have been falling over themselves to accept reduced wages for new workers, and everyone who contributes to a union knows full well that despite their rhetoric that's what they are signing up for. So spare us the lectures when you march under your union banner, we know you're in it for yourself.

I have repeatedly said that I am not in a Union but wish i was.
    The bosses are not the Union. Many issues are sorted out locally without the input from on high i'd rightly say.
    There is a factory quite close to me where workers were treated very badly but due to them now being affiliated to a union things have improved dramatically for those workers. Were they wrong to join ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

As predicted earlier, the usual garbage argument echo chamber of "Well what are the alternatives?" persists, despite ample discussion of actual alternatives in the thread.

That's ignorant both through being oblivious to actual alternatives available and proposed, and especially ignorant, by assuming that just because you don't know of alternatives, that there are none.

Please don't patronise me or put words in my mouth. You treat me with respect, I'll treat you with respect.

As someone who will be graduating from college soon I will be paying debts that weren't mine too, if I find a job in Ireland that is and not be forced abroad.

I'd imagine your children were quite angry when you explained the situation to them, as you are just one side of the coin. I believe people should hear two sides to everything before they make decisions, especially children.

Also, may I ask how old your children are? That's another factor. I'm not so much against children going to protests if they are old enough to have an opinion on it but adults bringing 5 year olds along to something they don't know anything about just to gain publicity is ridiculous in my opinion.

MY children are are teenagers.
    Their college fees will rise, their transport costs will rise, their way of life will change for the worse because of the shady dealings of this and the former |Government. My children will have to pay debts that they did not cause either. They will probably have to emigrate for work. Of course they are effected and entitled to protest.
    It is better to protest than to take all the rubbish thrown at you by a shower of lying politicians who are only in the game to feather their own nests and look after their cronies.
    I will be there with my children on Saturday.

MY children are are teenagers.
    Their college fees will rise, their transport costs will rise, their way of life will change for the worse because of the shady dealings of this and the former |Government. My children will have to pay debts that they did not cause either. They will probably have to emigrate for work. Of course they are effected and entitled to protest.
    It is better to protest than to take all the rubbish thrown at you by a shower of lying politicians who are only in the game to feather their own nests and look after their cronies.
    I will be there with my children on Saturday.

Fair enough but my whole point is not on the mess out government and bankers have put us in, it's that children shouldn't be dragged to any protest just because of YOUR opinion. They are teenagers so should be capable of forming their own opinion by reading up on it and forming their own opinion regarding the pros and cons of protest and what it will actually achieve.

If they've done that, fair enough. You and your children are of the opinion that this protest will achieve anything. I'm not of that opinion myself but people are free to do what they wish.

My initial post and discussion to date in this thread has simply been that children should have opinions for themselves, not what you think is best i.e. "they are children therefore they WILL have this opinion because of x y and z"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭darkhorse

dvpower wrote: »
    1. This is just whining about problems, but not offering solutions.

2. You should go on this march.

1. They have people there on big bucks (paid by you and me, incidently) to offer solutions.

2. I find it amusing that you quote two of my posts, but not the one immediately before them in which I said that I will be there on the protest/march, but there's no suprise there, dv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Nobody is asking anyone to 'put up and shut up', but the organisers of this protest need to 'put up or shut up' i.e. put some alternative policies forward that aren't just slogans like 'lift the debt'.
    Does anyone actually know what they mean by this or are they just going for the most bland statement possible that everyone can shape into their own personal view?

Depends on who the 'we' is really.

Tell the ECB to go f*ck themselves and publish the letter from Jean Claude Trichett proving that we didn't get into this of our own free will?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

And what about the state paying for their fcukup of the blanket guarantee?

If we have to pay that, then we should also investigate whether corruption was involved and if there was, prosecute every single politician and banker who hammered out that deal.
    Secondly, publish the letter from the ECB which bullied Ireland into the IMF programme.

"they are children therefore they WILL have this opinion because of x y and z"

Just on the off-chance that there are any younger children reading this thread, here a simple explanation.

A littleboy wanted €100 badly and prayed for two weeks but nothing happened.

Then he decided to write God a letter requesting the €100. When the An Postauthorities received the letter addressed to God, they decided to send it tothe Taoiseach in Dublin.

The Taoiseach was so impressed, touched and amused that he instructed hissecretary to send the little boy a €5 note.
    The Taoiseach thought this would appear to be a lot of money to a little boy.

The little boy was delighted with the €5 and sat down to write a thank-you noteto God, which read:

Dear God,
    Thank you very much for sending the money, however, I noticed that for somereason you had to send it through the Dail in Dublin and, as usual, thosecrooks deducted €95.00.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,051 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

Madam_X wrote: »
    Never said there was anything wrong with dole-heads attending; you're putting words in my mouth and I think you know it.
    If it were on a weekday, people might not be able to attend it, and those who would, would no doubt be sneered at as dole-heads by the likes of Fulton et al here. A weekend day would have far less issues of being restricted due to work commitments, thus ensuring a higher turnout.
    It looks like you're just arguing with me on this point for the sake of it. It's s fairly non argument.

No its not, you have clearly missed the point . The numbers that show mean nothing if the majority are only there because they had nothing better to do and its a nice day.
    If they really cared then they would show up if the protest was midweek hail rain or shine
    At this rate you might as well have a day out in the park waving a few banners at the papal cross and scaring a few deers for all the effort that you are showing.

Ya probably did'nt agree with this one either:

15,000 elderly and 10,000 young join in day of protest - News, The ...

Or this one:

Protest held over disability payments - The Irish Times - Wed, Nov ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭WakeUp

hmmm wrote: »

Do you think the Connollys and Larkins if they were still alive today would be talking it up the backside from the IMF/Europeans/Germans in the way we are being forced too? Would they accept the fact that our Republic no longer exists?? Would they stand with the people or against the people prepared to take a stand?? I know everyone is entitled to an opinion and rightly so but I cant believe some of the comments and attitudes here from Irish people toward Irish people we are one and the same regardless of your politics we need to unite into one cohesive unit and resist. You brought Connollys name up so Im sure you are familiar with the following few lines to which Connolly was a signatorie...

"We declare the right of the people of Ireland to the ownership of Ireland, and to the unfettered control of Irish destinies, to be sovereign and indefeasible."

Just to pre-empt any accusations of me being a "shinner" or a Ra head or any of those things I am none of them.
    Our Republic has been sold out by criminals and traitors. Our generation and future generations have been sold into economic slavery. Once this starts it needs to be sustained it cant be a one off. It needs to be organised and it needs to be constant.

In matters of national interest of such magnitude, weve been bullied and sold into economic slavery, you never stand against your own people, never. Some of you should be ashamed to call yourselves Irish.

We need peaceful non-violent resistance and we need to sustain it. Then and only then can we affect change for our country and our people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

the new national anthem (same tune, different lyrics) : mahhh maaaah mahh mah mahhhh..............

yes, sheep speak for sheep peeps

when will you people start to understand that the unions are in it for themselves? when I say unions, I mean the so called leaders who do nothing for the ordinary everyday worker, are in bed with the excuse of a government, and are only supporting a writedown of debt as they want a better deal for themselves, not their members, in crook park 2. wait until bailout 2 comes about, and it will come.

dont be a sheep, come out to your local protest on the 9th and vocally express your disgust at union inactivity