Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Feb 9th Protest - will you be joining?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Where did this debt come from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭mightdomighty

This is a serious thread. You are disrespecting the moderator with your comments in my opinion and its wrong. I am not protesting but do not think you should be laughing at the protests or the moderator.

Get off your soapbox fella, this is After hours

Sure, I can accept that you feel this is a serious thread, although I would argue it's a pointless exercise and deserves ridicule.

Fair game IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Logical_Bear

UCDVet wrote: »
    Where did this debt come from?
    not sure,think rich people made it and poor people pay it.

I'm not really clear on how it works,seems a bit nonsensical to me :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 54,770 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Yes, I'll be there. The present regime of austerity is austerity for me and others like me, in order to maintain our bankers in the style to which they became accustomed. The savage cut-backs in public services make it really difficult for both patients and staff of the HSE. It's really hard to provide what you know is a sub-standard service, a service which is WAY below best practice, when our Minister continues to insist that staff reductions have made no difference to patient treatment/services. YES IT HAS Minister.

Although I don't think the govt is listening, it's really important to send the message that the ordinary people of Ireland are not happy at being taxed to the hilt and beyond to pay off bank debts. That's BANK DEBTS, not our debts.

I'll be there too.
    Not our debt so why should the Irish people pay 42% of Europe's debt?
    Far too many people believing the spin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

bluewolf wrote: »
    Yeah, sitting around giving out is going to magic jobs out of thin air

No

But it's about the billions in bank debt that has been foisted upon us. Do you believe we should be paying it?

The campaign is being run by "jobs not debt", so it seems to be a general airing of miseries. No, I don't believe in socialism and that includes socialising private debts. If a bank was collapsing, then it should have been let collapse and let that be the end of it. They rise, they fall, they rise again.
    But now? Well, I don't see people volunteering for further cuts to handle the non-bank related deficits that already exist
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=82946905&postcount=83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 54,770 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

books4sale wrote: »
    The only two groups that can lead an effective protest in this country are the OAP's and the farmers. Angry, passion and willingness to give it welly. Everyone else, forget it!

Protesting should be all about breaking the rules and boundaries, not these mass controlled walks up the street.

You'd find more anger in Disneyland.

There's talk about protesting outside the homes of TD.'s.
    Now that would have an effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,419 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I won't be attending, but I don't get that 'it won't change the fact that we're in debt' argument. Is that what it's about... being in debt?

I would have thought it was in protest to the idea that we should be liable for the debts of private banks. Can seriously say you don't have a problem with the socialisation of debt at the expense of public services?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

We're all economists in here it seems. I'd love to see people here try to run the country. Protesting won't make a blind bit of difference apart from wasting Garda man hours and inconveniencing people going about their daily business i.e. it will achieve nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Oh well excuuuuse me! :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Protest marches ? ...nah ! Not me pilgrim.

Packed with leftie trouble makers

Duffle coated crusties

Skangers in track suits...those saggy grey ones (so suitable for the Irish complexion).

Arse holes with whistles and loud hailers....urging people to chant slogans.

Ming Flanigan / Claire Daly / Mick Wallace.

Nah compadre ...not for me ...gotta clean the brake dust from my alloys.....:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,051 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

Right ok - keep accepting that life is bad and nothing can ever change - meanwhile - I'll be doing something useful on February 9th

In what way will it be useful?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

There's talk about protesting outside the homes of TD.'s.
    Now that would have an effect.

Nothing like a bit of the bully-boy brigade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,143 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Obviously a waste of time as protesting has never achieved anything, ever. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,143 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

GalwayGuy2 wrote: »
    Nothing like a bit of the bully-boy brigade.

How is it?

TDs and their hanger-on brigade have no problem annoying people in their homes when they see fit.

What's good for the goose...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

No.
    Ill drive by and give them a beep.
    Protestors love that.

Protest marches ? ...nah ! Not me pilgrim.

Packed with leftie trouble makers

Duffle coated crusties

Skangers in track suits...those saggy grey ones (so suitable for the Irish complexion).

Arse holes with whistles and loud hailers....urging people to chant slogans.

Ming Flanigan / Claire Daly / Mick Wallace.

Nah compadre ...not for me ...gotta clean the brake dust from my alloys.....:cool:

I'll be going to show them that I care about what they are doing to their people i.e. making them pay the debts of European gamblers. Putting debt on our children and grandchildren.
    I don't give a damn about the likes of Daly, Flanagan or anyone else, about whistles, chants or anything else. There is no difference between the noise of a whistle on the street than that of a lying wind-bag in the Dail to me except that the whistler is not trying to ride me.

I'll be there too.
    Not our debt so why should the Irish people pay 42% of Europe's debt?
    Far too many people believing the spin.

Shouldnt that be " The Working population of this country" . Im not Irish yet im paying more and more each year to pay back a debt i had feck all to do with and supplement those on the dole long term and have paid nothing into the economy. It seems sometimes that those that shout the loudest are the ones that have contributed the least .

Hilly Bill wrote: »
    Shouldnt that be " The Working population of this country" . Im not Irish yet im paying more and more each year to pay back a debt i had feck all to do with and supplement those on the dole long term and have paid nothing into the economy. It seems sometimes that those that shout the loudest are the ones that have contributed the least .

Why is the protest at the council offices and not outside the Dail?

Don't know. It will be the working population who will be protesting. Why would the unemployed protest anyway, they have it easy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Why is the protest at the council offices and not outside the Dail?

You'd swear unemployed people paid no taxes when they were employed, you'd swear they paid no VAT...

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Don't know. It will be the working population who will be protesting. Why would the unemployed protest anyway, they have it easy?

Yeah - they're just scroungers who sit on their hole watching their 100" flatscreens etc etc etc etc :cool:

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

You'd swear unemployed people paid no taxes when they were employed, you'd swear they paid no VAT...

Thanks for pointing this out. People seem to think that taxpayers are only those who are employment.

Read my post again

Yeah - they're just scroungers who sit on their hole watching their 100" flatscreens etc etc etc etc :cool:

There are far too many like that Mango, happy to be on the dole . Its these that the government need tackle.

Read my post again

Amongst those who have paid nothing to society are babies and small kids. That's it really. During the celtic tiger we nearly had full employment so I dont believe the myth that a large number or irish people are long term unemployed and/or want to be.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

I'll be going to show them that I care about what they are doing to their people i.e. making them pay the debts of European gamblers. Putting debt on our children and grandchildren.
    I don't give a damn about the likes of Daly, Flanagan or anyone else, about whistles, chants or anything else. There is no difference between the noise of a whistle on the street than that of a lying wind-bag in the Dail to me except that the whistler is not trying to ride me.

How you want to waste your time is not an issue for me pilgrim !

Off you go and shout your inane slogans and allow yourself to be manipulated by people who have only their own interests in play and are using you and others like you as pawns.

Watch out for the SF dynamic duo Gerry the Patriot - protector of the public health service...and Fat Mary.

But ...never mind you may be doing them a favour and helping them along to nice fat pensions....

There are far too many like that Mango, happy to be on the dole . Its these that the government need tackle.

Could you post some studies that maintain that a large number of people are happy to be on the dole?

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Could you post some studies that maintain that a large number of people are happy to be on the dole?

Go and have a walk along the boardwalk in the city centre or ask a family with kids who get more off the social than what they would get if they went back into work.

So what's the contention by people against the idea of protest? Do you not think protesting or marching have solved anything throughout history? I wonder would such people have even taken part in the civil rights marchs of the 1960s ect because the thought protests achieve nothing. An important (maybe the most important) part of protests is letting someone know that there's something we as a people are not happy with.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Amongst those who have paid nothing to society are babies and small kids. That's it really. During the celtic tiger we nearly had full employment so I dont believe the myth that a large number or irish people are long term unemployed and/or want to be.

You dont believe that there are a large number of people long term unemployed?????????:eek: