Celtic FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014/15 Mod Warning post #6011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,961 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/364162?
    NEIL LENNON last night admitted Anthony Stokes had “been dealt with” after recent poor off-the-field publicity about the player reflected badly on Celtic.
    The Bhoys boss has reacted following pictures and stories about his striker back in Ireland.

And he has laid it on the line to Stokes, left, that such behaviour won’t be tolerated at Parkhead.

“We have spoke to him and it has been dealt with internally,” rapped Lennon as he prepared for tonight’s Scottish Cup replay against Arbroath at Gayfield.
    We have spoke to him and it has been dealt with internally
    Celtic boss Neil Lennon
    “I am not going to moralise to him but you cannot damage the reputation of the club which he did.

“He is aware of that now.”

Stokes found himself on the front pages rather than the back pages recently when he was back in Dublin and attended a memorial party for a murdered Real IRA boss and Celtic have taken a dim view of it.

The striker is likely to have been fined two weeks’ wages but Lennon is convinced he has learned his lesson.

When asked if Stokes had taken it on board he added: “Absolutely, yes.”

These are difficult times for Stokes who has been out injured for months and is not expected to be back until the new year.

When Lennon was questioned on whether it was make-or-break time for his player at the club he declared: “No. But maybe it is in terms of football.

He has been out for the best part of four to six months, so he wants to get back playing and we want him to get back playing because over the last two seasons he has been a very important player for us in terms of goals.”

With Celts facing a glut of fixtures this month there was better news regarding winger James Forrest who has resumed training after his injury-enforced absence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭eire4

Find any Celtic forum and go back through the threads, maybe even this thread here, and you'll find Forster and Wilson getting pelters. Wilson not as much but only because he didn't play as regularly.

Until Forster's penalty save v Hearts barely anyone wanted him to sign because he was a bit of a clown. That is a fact.

Not with me. I have been a fan of Forster for a lot longer then his penalty save last December. Sure his kicking game was poor the first season he came on loan but overall I always felt given his age he had a great future and I was calling for us to buy him out right a long time ago.
    Now in fairness I didn't know he was going to turn into the kind of world class keeper he is becoming but I long felt he would be a good number one for Celtic. Hopefully he will be between the sticks for quite a few years yet at Celtic Park.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

In other words, Lenny loves the Ra. F***k it and move on. No Celtic fan cares. If I was on a few grand a week I'd sack a fortnight's wages to go to my friend's commemoration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

In other words, Lenny loves the Ra. F***k it and move on. No Celtic fan cares. If I was on a few grand a week I'd sack a fortnight's wages to go to my friend's commemoration.

Where does it say 'Lenny loves the RA", what are you talking about and what "RA" are you talking about, or what do you mean by "the RA"? Most Republicans I know have no truck with the RIRA, which is the crowd Anthony Stokes was fraternising with at the gathering for Alan Ryan.

Neil Lennon has stated clearly that:
    "you cannot damage the reputation of the club which he did. “He is aware of that now.”
    To me that reads that Stokes is on a final warning not to implicate himself with the RIRA, by turning up at commemorations for their members and posing for photos with RIRA members or supporters.

Anthony Stokes is a young player with some promise, he needs to concentrate on his football career and not be using his status as a Celtic footballer to present himself as some kind of a hero with people he may have grown up with or known from his youth. He's a good footballer, I hope he makes the most of his football career and forgets about all that RIRA stuff. He has been given the opportunity by Celtic to do just that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Lennonist wrote: »

Where does it say 'Lenny loves the RA", what are you talking about and what "RA" are you talking about, or what do you mean by "the RA"? Most Republicans I know have no truck with the RIRA, which is the crowd Anthony Stokes was fraternising with at the gathering for Alan Ryan.

Neil Lennon has stated clearly that: To me that reads that Stokes is on a final warning not to implicate himself with the RIRA, by turning up at commemorations for their members and posing for photos with RIRA members or supporters.

Anthony Stokes is a young player with some promise, he needs to concentrate on his football career and not be using his status as a Celtic footballer to present himself as some kind of a hero with people he may have grown up with or known from his youth. He's a good footballer, I hope he makes the most of his football career and forgets about all that RIRA stuff. He has been given the opportunity by Celtic to do just that.

Can't disagree with any of that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Arbroath game is on sky sports 1 @ 7.45

I expect us to win easy enough but you can't be complacent in these games

what? I merely posted up the latest on the stokes story which is of interest to us here.

... it was quite clearly a comment on the story being discussed, not your post.

You really should read posts properly before replying to them, that's twice now.

... it was quite clearly a comment on the story being discussed, not your post.

You really should read posts properly before replying to them, that's twice now.

"Lenny loves the RA", "no celtic fan cares" makes no sense whatsoever. Quite clearly celtic fans do care

Hint: It wasn't posted with a great deal of seriousness.

Still doesn't explain what your last post is on about though..

Beauty of a goal from Matthews!!!

What a goal from matthews, his first for celtic

Beauty of a goal from Matthews!!!

some strike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,746 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Wonder how big the ground is at Arbroath, looks well packed.

Lennonist wrote: »
    Wonder how big the ground is at Arbroath, looks well packed.
    World record attendance timmy :pac:

Capacity is 5940 according to wiki. They have the world record for the biggest ever win in a senior match, 36 - 0 v Aberdeen Bon Accord in 1885.

Remember reading that in those wee football trivia books as a kid alrite! First thing I think of whenever I see their name.

Heard it was actually beaten somewhat recently though?

On the same day of that 36-0 game, some other team had on like 27-0. Sickener for them :pac:

Good to hear all the old classics brought out in the stands. Been a while since I heard the de Boers get abuse :D

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Really poor from Celtic here. Forster having a bad game. Thought we were v lucky with their disallowed goal. Great save just there from Forster though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

PauloMN wrote: »
    Really poor from Celtic here. Forster having a bad game. Thought we were v lucky with their disallowed goal. Great save just there from Forster though.

No replays from ADIG on that one? :p

Arbroath deserve a goal here at least.

Never a foul on Forster but you literally see those given every single week without any complaint. Suddenly it happens in Celtic's favour and the commentators won't shut up about it.

Vital save from forster

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Got out of jail in that one. Lots of poor performances tonight, Matthews was best player even aside from his goal. Lots of them lookef like they could not be arsed. CL is great but this stuff is our bread and butter. Lenny looked well pissed off at the end and rightly so.

Made hard work of that but it was always going to be a bit of an effort, Arbroath played out of their skins as expected.

If they hadn't kicked it in the net after the 'foul' on Forster it wouldn't have even been a talking point, but no doubt the media will milk it as if it's the first time a keeper wins a soft freekick.

Tell you what though, fair play to Arbroath. Played out their skins and their captain and manager both seem very gracious in defeat. Wish them all the best for their season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

heard we played ****e... hope the standard improves for next game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,229 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Who we playing this weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

st mirren in paradise

Who we playing this weekend?

home to st mirren on saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭eire4

Looking forward to the game tomorrow. It will be interesting to see what kind of crowd there is also with Celtic having given some free extra tickets to season ticket holders as kind of a christmas thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭lubo_moravcik

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2248554/Celtic-sign-Arkadiusz-Milik.html
    a £3m signing. Never heard of the lad to be honest, but given it's the same scouting team who have helped build a strong young team then I have high hopes :)

Neil Lennon has pulled off another notable triumph for Celtic by beating a host of top Barclays Premier League clubs to one of Europe's hottest prospects.

Manchester City, Tottenham, Chelsea, Arsenal, Everton and Liverpool have all been on the trail of teenage hot shot Arkadiusz Milik, who is already being hailed as the new Robert Lewandowski in his native Poland.

But Sportsmail can reveal that Celtic have stolen a lead on their English rivals by inviting him to Parkhead to complete a £3million transfer.

On the move: Poland's Milik Arkadiusz is set to join Celtic

Milik, a six-foot left-sided striker who has been likened to fellow-countryman Lewandowski for his finishing and mobility as well as aerial threat, was in Glasgow for a medical today ahead of signing for the Scottish Premier League champions.

It is another significant breakthrough for Lennon, whose stock was already rising after the way he plotted a route through to the Champions' League knock-out stage with a famous win over Barcelona.

First: Celtic manager Neil Lennon has stolen a march with the signing

Though only 18, Gornik Zabrze frontrunner Milik has already broken into the senior Poland side and made his mark with a goal in a 4-1 win over Macedonia.

City and Chelsea were among a pack of Premier League clubs chasing him and hoping to tie up a deal in the January transfer window. But they have been left frustrated after Lennon reacted first to Gornik's vulnerability, with Milik's contract running down, and lodged a bid that was reluctant.