Celtic FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014/15 Mod Warning post #6011

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

barcelona starting XI anybody, if they lose I'll be very annoyed with them

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

shanered wrote: »
    Messi is on the bench , hopefully he gets on a stays true to his word!

Yep, kinda puts the "I'll do it for the Celtic fans" media horse**** to bed then!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

donfers wrote: »
    barcelona starting XI anybody, if they lose I'll be very annoyed with them

J. Pinto - -
    Defenders 1369461044.jpg M. Montoya - -
    3109191105.jpg C. Puyol - -
    718628549.jpg A. Correia - -
    anony.gif C. Planas - -
    Midfielders 3061022741.jpg A. Song - -
    71830280.jpg Thiago - -
    1471298236.jpg S. Roberto - -
    Strikers 3224559491.jpg Tello - -
    834327966.jpg D. Villa 10 -
    anony.gif Rafinha

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Wemberly, Wemberly!!
    We're the famous Glasgow Celtic and were off to Wemberly!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

PauloMN wrote: »

Besides, I'm hoping that in just over 24 hours, I can plaster that ITV Sport tweet all over my Facebook with a huge big GIRFUY message lol.

Away you go :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Congratulations I reckon overall you deserved to qualify from the group so well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,221 ✭✭✭✭Jelle1880

Please draw Bayern :p

Away you go :D

Lol, done mate! So satisfying too! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭bit of a bogey

Cmon the hoops -what another great night! The sky's the limit!

So we can get PSG, Schalke, Malaga, Borussia Dortmund, Juve, Bayern or Man U.

Fixtures are:
    1st leg : 12-20 February 2013
    2nd leg : 5-13 March 2013

Will we be playing at home in the first leg or does it work like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Absolutely delighted tonight, to qualify from the group as 4th seeds takes some doing but to do it while beating barca and finally getting an away win is amazing.

Wasn't our best performance but Spartak are no mugs and came to get result, again great credit to Lennon for putting together a young squad on a shoestring budget that doesn't look out of place at this level.

Roll on the draw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭n32

Fair play to Celtic tonight and throughout the group phase. Not many teams make it through from qualifying to the quarter finals. Man City and their legion of mercenaries could learn a lesson from the attitude of the Celtic lads. On another point Barcelona were a fúcking disgrace tonight. FOr all their shíte about playing the game properly, being more than a club and all that bull, they showed a shocking disregard for the competiton and a complete lack of respect for Celtic with that team selection. After all Celtics efforts during the group even a win tonight would have been in vain if Benfica had beaten an understrength team. Bad form. At least selected Rooney, Smalling, Jones, De Gea, Welbeck, CLeverley, Hernandez to make a competitive game of it. Its not as if Barca are playing Madrid at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Ladjacket

n32 wrote: »
    Fair play to Celtic tonight and throughout the group phase. Not many teams make it through from qualifying to the quarter finals. Man City and their legion of mercenaries could learn a lesson from the attitude of the Celtic lads. On another point Barcelona were a fúcking disgrace tonight. FOr all their shíte about playing the game properly, being more than a club and all that bull, they showed a shocking disregard for the competiton and a complete lack of respect for Celtic with that team selection. After all Celtics efforts during the group even a win tonight would have been in vain if Benfica had beaten an understrength team. Bad form. At least selected Rooney, Smalling, Jones, De Gea, Welbeck, CLeverley, Hernandez to make a competitive game of it. Its not as if Barca are playing Madrid at the weekend.

agree to an extent but if Celtic went out tonight it would have been their own fault due to their failure to beat Benfica at home and hold onto a point in the Nou Camp. One point that should be noted is that if we had have held on in Barcelona, we would have won the group as we would have had 11 and Barca have 11 but we would have had a better head to head! Still though, delighted for all concerned and especially for Lennon. He could have snapped in his interviw at the critics of the team recently but I thought his praise and thanks to O'Neill and Strachan was a touch of class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,961 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Ladjacket wrote: »
    agree to an extent but if Celtic went out tonight it would have been their own fault due to their failure to beat Benfica at home and hold onto a point in the Nou Camp. One point that should be noted is that if we had have held on in Barcelona, we would have won the group as we would have had 11 and Barca have 11 but we would have had a better head to head! Still though, delighted for all concerned and especially for Lennon. He could have snapped in his interviw at the critics of the team recently but I thought his praise and thanks to O'Neill and Strachan was a touch of class.

absolutely agree, there's six games in the group to do the business, draw and fixture list may or may not favour certain teams , **** happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,796 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Congrats lads, what sport should be about imo.

Thought Lennon's interview after the game was class and dignity personified. Ye will give whoever it is a fair rattle that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Silver-Tiger

Sweet Jesus, i knew commons bad but this is rough. The ultimate dead leg.
    commons2-leg.jpg

Not bad, not bad at all
    Celtic have made nearly 30 million euros in guaranteed revenue from UEFA for their participation in the Champions League this season.

Neil Lennon's side have accumulated €28.7m (£23.3m) through a combination of UEFA base payments, performance related bonuses and TV money.

http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/celtic/204436-celtic-stand-to-make-30m-from-uefa-for-success-in-champions-league/?

€2.1m for the Playoff games? Really? Did we not make less than that getting to the final of the UEFA Cup?

I'm a little surprised making the last 16 doesn't pay more the €3.5 but still an additional €30 is a great boost for the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,790 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Is the first leg at home?

tvnutz wrote: »
    Is the first leg at home?

Yep, first leg in Celtic Park, second leg in Old Trafford :P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭lubo_moravcik

another great night spent on the edge my seat at CP, loved every minute of it though. Being the 4th seeded team in the group we were always going to have to do it the difficult way, up against technically gifted and creative teams we had to stand tall as individuals and as a unit. Cant wait for the draw for next round now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

Genuinely can't actually believe there are some people saying Samaras dived
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=EZuidr6NqYM#t=27s

Doesn't get any more stonewall than that.

First time I saw it I thought it was a penalty but on the soft side, the replay shows a penalty could have been given for either the defender's misuse of his shoulder / arm or for his feet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

It's still 50/50 for me. Oh ah could have stayed up if he wanted to, granted it was a pen, but it was a soft one. I'd have been pissed of to concede a pen in those circumstances

Usual crap from people.... "soft penalty". It is clearly a penalty, there was no option but to give it. I always try to look at this things from the other side, and if I was a Spartak supporter and that had not been given, I'd have been counting my lucky stars. Because it was a clear cut penalty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

As an aside, how are the group stage fixtures decided? Was it the draw that put benfica away to barca for the last game?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

LiamoSail wrote: »
    As an aside, how are the group stage fixtures decided? Was it the draw that put benfica away to barca for the last game?
    Yeah. Although Uefa rules say Russian teams have to play away on matchday 6 because it's so cold there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

Great result last night. At the end of the match the guy in charge of the tannoy played "London Calling":D. Some of The Bhoys are starting to believe. Great to get to the last 16 anyhoo, take it one game at a time from here as Lenny would say.

Bring on Man U I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,961 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Yeah. Although Uefa rules say Russian teams have to play away on matchday 6 because it's so cold there.

Yep, nothing at all to do with time difference, its the weather