Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Would reserve gardai be a benefit to specialised units?

• 26-10-2012 12:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭

So im currently wondering would specialized units want reserve gardai? Would they have use for them? Could a reserve garda be trained up in riot training and become part of the public order unit?

In this instance though im wondering should reserves be allowed into traffic cor units? Would they be any benefit?

Tyron Jara wrote: »
    So im currently wondering would specialized units want reserve gardai? Would they have use for them? Could a reserve garda be trained up in riot training and become part of the public order unit?

In this instance though im wondering should reserves be allowed into traffic cor units? Would they be any benefit?

Full time members can't even get in them. Letting reserves in would create a huge ill feeling against them imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭Tyron Jara

foreign wrote: »
    Full time members can't even get in them. Letting reserves in would create a huge ill feeling against them imo.

Ya I agree with you. TBH though I was just thinking traffic cor as someone recently told me they travel alone?

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

Ya I agree with you. TBH though I was just thinking traffic cor as someone recently told me they travel alone?

Well most traffic units before where single crewed but due to lack of car you do see more driver and observer in the cars

Sometimes they will. But I would happily fill that second spot.

• Registered Users Posts: 319 ✭✭Locust

So im currently wondering would specialized units want reserve gardai? ... Would they be any benefit?

I wouldn't have thought so - coming in once a week at most isn't enough to make any use of them or any justification in training them - compared to full time members who are always present and are doing the stuff day in day out.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,528 ✭✭✭kub

I think that for the reservists own safety that they should really be able to, as the saying goes, 'walk before they can run'.

It would be a shame if for example some lad who is a reservist with the intention of becoming a full time member got himself in trouble by just doing the wrong thing in situations which the specilist units usually find themselves in.

I think that it should simply go as it is currently operating, reservist to full time Garda to specilist unit. There is probably a very good reason for this procedure and I suppose that is experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

I really cant get a person who is part time and only working 8 hours a week thinking they should get into a specialised unit or work with one above a full time member who has trained and qualified for a full time role, its idea's like this that make full time members turn against reserves. Full time members in specialised units generally are there because they have shown themselves to be good in particular areas of the job and have passed a competitive interview. I'd have a massive problem with seeing a reserve in such a role and working outside their role that they are trained for and that dosent make me anti reserve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

I really cant get a person who is part time and only working 8 hours a week thinking they should get into a specialised unit or work with one above a full time member who has trained and qualified for a full time role, its idea's like this that make full time members turn against reserves. Full time members in specialised units generally are there because they have shown themselves to be good in particular areas of the job and have passed a competitive interview. I'd have a massive problem with seeing a reserve in such a role and working outside their role that they are trained for and that dosent make me anti reserve.

Well two areas that if I was a reserve would like to help out in would be computer forensics and the dog unit, both things I have a great interest in. Would there be a problem with full timers if a reserve was helping out in them sections? Like what specialist units are we talking about here?

I mean if the units are having trouble filling the gaps and like you say the reserve has shown an interest and themselves to be competent in it and was not gaining much interest from full timers, I couldn't see a problem.

So if it was put too the full timers first then to the reserves ?

IMO, the ERU, Air-support would be a no go for reserves there's not much helping out you can do. With the dogs , you could help feed, walk, train and learn yourself how to train them. Computers, Fix computers, printers, phones give a bit of training out, with both you could still do some out and about around the station.

As someone said, walk before you can run !

• Registered Users Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭gerire

EVERY and I mean EVERY specialised units when positions come up have huge interest in them from the full time members

• Registered Users Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭gerire

EVERY and I mean EVERY specialised units when positions come up have huge interest in them from the full time members

• Registered Users Posts: 319 ✭✭Locust

msg11 wrote: »
    I mean if the units are having trouble filling the gaps...

All gaps are filled, backed up with queues of full time members waiting to get into any of those roles... I can't see how someone who comes in once a week at most would be of any extra help to a specialised unit

Im not saying we should or think we should. I just asked a question. To top it off I fully agree with your statement. I was just wondering if reserves would be a benefit to any other units out there..my thoughts were specific to traffic core but it has been pointed out to me many full timers would love to get in there so I would be totally against a reserve getting onto a unit like that.

gerire wrote: »

That's fair game then as I said if there's no interest from the full timers give a reserve a go if they have the skill-set for the job.
    Locust wrote: »
    All gaps are filled, backed up with queues of full time members waiting to get into any of those roles... I can't see how someone who comes in once a week at most would be of any extra help to a specialised unit

Those that want to come in more if asked I am sure would come in more and if they have the skills to help out then I can't see the harm. I am not talking about taking a full time job up here more support to the full time.

But sure we might as well get real here, none of this will ever happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 walkthisway

in all fairness lads were not even allowed to walk down the street on our own...specialist units??

• Registered Users Posts: 25 bellson

msg11 wrote: »
    Well two areas that if I was a reserve would like to help out in would be computer forensics and the dog unit, both things I have a great interest in. Would there be a problem with full timers if a reserve was helping out in them sections? Like what specialist units are we talking about here?

I mean if the units are having trouble filling the gaps and like you say the reserve has shown an interest and themselves to be competent in it and was not gaining much interest from full timers, I couldn't see a problem.

So if it was put too the full timers first then to the reserves ?

IMO, the ERU, Air-support would be a no go for reserves there's not much helping out you can do. With the dogs , you could help feed, walk, train and learn yourself how to train them. Computers, Fix computers, printers, phones give a bit of training out, with both you could still do some out and about around the station.

As someone said, walk before you can run !

The reserves where brought in to serve a particular purpose "Visibility" and giving the impression theres more Gardai on the streets,

What purpose would you be helping out to feed dogs or walking them or fixing computers,

Sounds like the reserves arent getting what they expected from being a reserve

bellson wrote: »
    The reserves where brought in to serve a particular purpose "Visibility" and giving the impression theres more Gardai on the streets,

What purpose would you be helping out to feed dogs or walking them or fixing computers,

I dont agree with you! Im getting more than I expected as a reserve, and trust me when I say theres times I feel its more than enough!!

In the metropolitan police PCSOs are assigned to particaler units. http://www.met.police.uk/pcso/ You can see here. Thats what sparked my interest.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 jacknala147

reserves have very little powers as is, I think they are best served just being another body in a hi vis jacket. They where brought in to have more Garda presence on the street, thats where they should stay imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Boyeen30

In time I think there will be "Specialised" Garda Reserves ...

I know this because less than 10 years ago the Special Constabulary ( which the Garda Reserve is just a carbon copy of ) had no "units" ...

Now there is

Traffic
    Level 2 (Public Order )
    Response
    Neighbourhood
    CID

And so on ..... It will come in time and when supervisors seen the benefits ....

bellson wrote: »

You answered you own question there, BTW if I offered to help walk or fed the dogs that's my own time I don't see what your issue would be? Walking or feeding dogs is hardly something I would call specialist it just showing you have more of an interest in other aspects of your life than policing.

I'm joining the reserves because I want to give something back to the community I know I have limited powers it is not stopping me going thru the process. I have no intention of trying to be a replacement for a full time Garda or trying to be a carbon copy of a full time Garda I am there to help in what ever way, be it out on the street in the station or pumping up tires.

I'm not deluded in anyway, I'll be there for 4 hours maybe more once or twice a week, what ever way they see fit to use me is up to them. I ain't in charge of the running of the show and if I do get in and am not happy I know where the door is.