Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all,
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.
Thanks all.

Is Music the easiest subject or is it too good to be true?

Options
  • 06-11-2012 12:04am
    Registered Users Posts: 32

I'm currently a music student in 6th year right now. Love it, feel I can do well in it and play 4 instruments.

But my teacher recently told me that upon researching into other ways to partake in the practical exam, she found some amazing results!

I'm not sure if people have heard of these, but I figured I'd share them and ask what you think. Is it too good to be true?

1. Music Technology. I've heard about this, to fill you in - you take a piece from home, input it into an application on a computer like 'Finale Notepad', do 3 edits and press save. It's equal to HALF OF YOUR PRACTICAL!
    It gets better though.. I've been told that the department is issuing 'rules' for Mac users. I myself am a Mac user, have been on the OS since I was very young and am even a registered developer (though don't hate Win or Linux).
    So I'd feel much more comfortable on that rather than the cheap Dell in my school.

I've been told that instead of inputing the notes in with a mouse and keyboard like Windows users, I can take a MIDI keyboard and simply play the song and have it record via Garageband. Then do my edits, press save, play it back etc.