Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AIB Club Championship Finals

• 07-03-2003 10:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Venue: Croke Park
    Date: St Patricks Day, 17th March
    Teams: Hurling Dunloy ( Antrim ) v Birr ( Offaly )
    Football Crossmolina ( Mayo ) v Nemo Rangers (Cork)

Anyone interested in GAA I would recommend this as a good way of spending St Patricks Day. It will keep you out of the Boozer till late afternoon, but you will work up a thirst. The club finals are traditionally on on St Patricks day, and attendance has been increasing fairly significantly in recent years, but there was a spanner thrown in the works last year when the game had to be postponed because of the foot and mouth crisis. Well worth a visit as it is not often you get to see matches in both codes on the same day in HQ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭revelate

i'm going...have managed to persuade some infidels from cork and wexford to accompany me. To continue by successful prediction of late, i'm going for (hoping to see) nemo and birr victories!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Interesting, now I am going straight to Paddypower.com and backing Crossmolina and Dunloy. Seriously I fancy Crossmolina to beat Nemo, they have the extra experience of making the final once before and I think that will stand to them. As for the Hurling I think it would be good for the sport if Dunloy won it but I think Offaly, I mean Birr will prove a bit too strong for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

hahah Yeah I reckon Fat Boy GFC..I mean Nemo will loose but I reckon offaly ( Birr if you must) will be too dammed strong

I think I will be heading along to the Games... I love club football Its usually of a much higher standard than Inter county this time of year.

I hate Nemo ....I hope those big clowns loose

Loose you fecking clownes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,264 ✭✭✭RicardoSmith

Anyone know where can you get tickets? Theres nothing on the web anywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭ironbrew

I am actually hoping to see Nemo win this year, partlly because i somewhat pity them but its also about time to win again as theyve been around a few years now wif no All Irelands

Ricardo...contact the club you want to support.

They will tell you how to get tickets or sell them to you.
    then you can sit with fellow supporters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

You should be able to get them on the day down around Croker somewhere. There is no way it will sell out so you should not have any worries.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭pro_gnostic_8

/edit... sorry, wrong forum by mistake. edit/

Apologies,
    Jack.

If hurling is to develop nationwide as a sport it would have been a delight to see Dunloy cause an upset. however it was not to be and experience won on the day. im not sure which of the hannifys it was, (i think its rory) but he ran riot on the day and between himself and simon whelehan dunloy had a handful. te football was a cracker between two of the countrys best.
    Mcdonald and Corkery are two magical footballers to watch and really set croker alight in a flame of phosphorus yesterday.

ps congrats to dublin hurlers on a fantastic win setting a remarkable landmark in hurling. hard luck to a gutsy laois side and well done offaly minus Birr stars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭revelate

yeah, i'm in agreement on the first bit. the football was a class match,mcdonald a deserving 'laoch an chluiche'. some point by corkery to put nemo ahead with 2mins left! hurling was a procession but fair play to birr.

and yes, the dubs had a minor victory on sunday against a depleted waterford side. they should enjoy their little triumph...there won't be many more for the rest of the year.

I really hoped Nemo would loose. But what a great day of GAA and what a day to watch it.

• Registered Users Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Joe Don Dante

Corofin v Dr.Crokes

• Registered Users Posts: 171 ✭✭laneykin

Ballyhale (Kilkenny) v St Thomas (Galway)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,933 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

A please folks stop it.

16 years

• Registered Users Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

Corofin v Dr.Crokes

Fecking hell, surely this is the oldest zombie thread resurrected :eek:
    16 years...

• Registered Users Posts: 14,933 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

mayo.mick wrote: »
    Fecking hell, surely this is the oldest zombie thread resurrected :eek:
    16 years...

Someone dug up a thread a few weeks short of 17 years old on Politics just last week.
    And there was a 15 year old one here just a few days ago about a Laois hurling manager.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,553 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Tickets gone

• Registered Users Posts: 4,208 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Anyone recommend the best way to get to Croker from Heuston tomorrow? Doesn’t look like it will be walking weather

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭Nugget89

ClanofLams wrote: »
    Anyone recommend the best way to get to Croker from Heuston tomorrow? Doesn’t look like it will be walking weather

Grab the Luas as far as Connolly, then hop on the train or a bus to Drumcondra from there.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,208 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Nugget89 wrote: »
    Grab the Luas as far as Connolly, then hop on the train or a bus to Drumcondra from there.

Cheers, think Luas is only going as far as Smithfield with the parades on. Roads closed aswell so not even sure how quick a taxi would be or how feasible taxi is

• Registered Users Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭zetecescort

decent game so far for a neutral, thought Ballyhale might run away after the start they had but Thomas' have stuck with them

• Registered Users Posts: 693 ✭✭✭grbear

That second Ballyhale goal is a sickener for Thomas's.

They're still well in this though despite that and the horror start.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,188 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

grbear wrote: »

Colin fennelly is causing havoc in that Thomas's full back line - Thomas's have had to move back their wing back, fintan Burke, to curb fennelly's influence. Hopefully from a Thomas's point of view, it's not too little too late.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,010 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Very small crowd in Croke Park,a huge change to GAA fixture calender so badly needed.It is crazy that this great championship is so badly catered for.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Ballyhale cruising now, disappointing to see the game peter out like this but all credit to Ballyhale

• Registered Users Posts: 6,010 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Great start to Henry Shefflins Managerial career.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,654 ✭✭✭kksaints

Crazy decision by St Thomas management and physios to keep an obviously injured player on the pitch.

Ballyhale way better and have been for most of the season. Forward line is incredibly strong for club level. Saw them against Naomh Eanna and they scored 6-21 even with TJ Reid not on form.

• Registered Users Posts: 693 ✭✭✭grbear

grbear wrote: »

*Ron Howard voice*

They weren't.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,026 ✭✭✭C__MC

Very small crowd in Croke Park,a huge change to GAA fixture calender so badly needed.It is crazy that this great championship is so badly catered for.

A knockout competition that starts in October and finishes the following March. Bizzare. Should be done in the calendar year - a bonanza of a final
    Weekend before x mas.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,873 ✭✭✭threeball

Thought after the semis that st Thomas's would do well to keep within 7 but this is a fairly bad beating. The drop in quality in individual clubs in Galway has coincided with an increase in quality of the county team. The larger spread of players from different clubs has led to more cohesive panels.