FC Barcelona Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭CongoPowers

^ Haha, that was unreal. Spain just didn't function without him. No Thiago, no party.

So, Espanyol are annoyed at Barça for predictably choosing to play the B team in this Catalan Supercup and the game is now cancelled. Brilliant news if you ask me, it's bad enough having to play Madrid twice, there's no use in another meaningless derbi. And it's not really disrespectful when Barça B finished third highest of all the professional Catalan teams.

This is another good video about Deulofeu, from the same girl who made the Iniesta 'remuntada' one. Apparently he's going to be named player of the u-19 euros despite Marca saying Jesé was given it already?

Nearly forgot again: Mark, not sure if you read, but the tickets for the league games are on sale now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭miralize

8-0.. that is all

Messi gave his shirt to a kid in a wheelchair when he got subbed off, not before scoring a hattrick! Nice little warmup :)

Afellay did brilliantly imo. I'd like to see him do really well this season, hes not that young and spending so much time in the dutch league sort of undercuts how he'll be remembered in the future, so for him to be recognised as a crucial player in this team would be great to see!

Sergi Gomez (I think) has a powerful shot! And apparently, Raja Casablanca last week beat Athletic Bilbao 3-0 in a preseason friendly ... so there's that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

Where did Affelay play today?

Left wing mostly..

Interesting to see if its the cause of the B players or Tito's tactics but Barcelona seem to be more direct in some ways. Can't wait for the upcoming season!

I just watched the game. Agree with miralize, Ibi was great again! Messi sharper than I expected.

Alexis is something else. Not only does he run more than everyone, but with the goal at his mercy for his first Barça hattrick, he gifts it to Leo. He then wins a peno and hands it to Dani. A genuinely selfless player.

I thought Bartra and Sergi Roberto (completed 96% of his passes apparently) were also very good, though no one had a bad game. And another Deulofeu goal :)

Next game against PSG should be good. First game in the new away kit? The horror.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Davaeo09

Brilliant stuff from Barca in that game. There seems to be a few differences in Tito's planning of attacks, the pressing at times is frantic, but not in a bad way.
    Then again, it's only preseason..

Lol idd congopowers (away kit)
    Be interesting to see if Messi and Ibra start lol.

Very true about Thiago being the main man for the u23 lads for Spain. They are so much less effective with the ball through the middle without him. I though Romeu was good in the first game when he came on too. Better for them to get the wake up call now I guess. They still have allot of developing to do before they eclipse the current crop of superstars in the Spanish full team ;)

Regarding Ibi he really did play well last night, much of that new found directness comes from him picking the ball up and running at the opposition. Lets hope he can continue improving and show us what he can do this coming season.

I am really considering a trip to the Nou Camp again myself some time in Sept/October.. To the fixture list!

To be honest, I wouldn't read too much into these first two friendlies considering we've been without our five best midfielders. Playing Sergi Roberto with one of Rafinha/Espinosa will always mean a more direct approach. People are talking about Tito using a 4222 or some sort, but I think he's just playing with what's available. The next month will be more interesting with everyone back. Strange for us to have any kind of first team pre-season these days, isn't it?

And absolutely, this Spanish side has become horribly dependent on Thiago. For me, their most disappointing player was Javi Martínez. Having Thiago and Busquets would have made a massive difference, but I'm not complaining with our lads coming home early.

Really? Nice. Any fixture would be good with the way Barça played at home last season.

What do you all make of our VP's comments about Neymar this week? For those who missed it, he said that when the time comes for him to play in Europe, Barça will of course be looking to sign him – and that they would love for him to arrive this summer after the Olympics. This is the same guy who recently said Barça don't want to go over a 40M-per-summer budget, so like,

tumblr_lisq9weRR21qdoorf.gif

So, this Agger bloke, anyone heard of him?

I honestly haven't watched much of him, would he suit Barcelona? Also, is our interest real?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,668 ✭✭✭✭JPA

miralize wrote: »
    So, this Agger bloke, anyone heard of him?

I honestly haven't watched much of him, would he suit Barcelona? Also, is our interest real?

JPA wrote: »

I'm joking.. keep your eyes in your head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,245 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

La Liga may be delayed as football TV war breaks out in Spain
    This seems to be an annual event at this stage .
    A new football TV conflict has broken out in Spain between Canal Plus and Mediapro, main shareholder in La Sexta, over broadcast rights.

Canal+, owned by Prisa, said that Mediapro’s decision to call an auction for La Liga TV rights was “illegal” as it included clubs who it says have signed exclusive deals with Canal+ for the next three seasons.

The broadcaster, which says it will take legal action to defend its interests, cites a Spanish court ruling that limited rights contracts to three years and which it said nullified some of Mediapro’s deals.

“In that sense, and due to the lack of a framework to exploit TV rights three weeks before the beginning of La Liga, Canal+ intends to maintain and renew each season its commitment to its clients to offer the best matches,” Canal+ said in a statement carried in Spanish media.

“Furthermore, it reiterates its desire to continue working to find the best framework for the 2012-13 season and underlines the need to bring the situation back to normal as soon as possible,” the statement added.

The conflict between both broadcasters may delay the start of La Liga on August 18th although the LFP, which represents the 42 professional clubs in Spain’s top two divisions, said the start of the La Liga season was not under threat.

Mediapro claims to be open to offers from broadcasters for rights for first and second division matches for this season and the following season.

“Mediapro is the owner of almost all the audiovisual rights for teams competing in the first and second division for the 2012-13 and 2013-14 seasons,” it said in a statement.

Yeah, same old. Unlikely to be delayed.

Impossible to know if Barça are serious about Agger or anyone else, I guess we'll just have to wait and see. I could understand the interest seeing as he's confident on the ball as well as being a good defender, but I'd rather give Bartra a chance to be honest.

I see Espanyol are being Espanyol again. Barça agree to play the Catalan Supercup with a strong team at the end of September, and now they decline? Maybe it will be accepted that no one actually cares now.

Not sure if posted already, but this is brilliant. A young Brazilian lad with no feet invited to take part in Barça's youth set-up over there. It's hard not to sound condescending, but he's a lot better than I expected. Fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭dagdha

Hey guys, anybody know if the PSG friendly is being shown on any channels this evening? It should be a pretty interesting friendly. Or if anybody knows of any streams could ye PM me?

Thanks.

Me likewise! :)

Actually, hold off on the stream, ill probably be able to see the Away kit from here..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

1-0!!!!!! Rafinha with the goal on 7'!

Lovely pass by Alexis for him. I've a good feeling that Sanchez will go ham this season and record 15/15 or something similar. Rafinha has been impressive too. Very composed, who knows, he may become better than Thiago!

Bit unfortunate for PSG, but 2-0!

Pretty sure I heard the commentator say earlier "Paris Saint Ger-Milan" :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭BKC

Ibra penalty pulls one back for PSG. 2-1.

Montoya is playing really well at LB

Pinto saves 2 in a row in the penalties. Valdes better watch out! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭dagdha

miralize wrote: »
    Pinto saves 2 in a row in the penalties. Valdes better watch out! :P

Pinto is liable to do anything in goals but he is some man to save penalties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

Good game to watch, I'd love for Tito to buy Sakho, only young aswell. Sharp link-up play between the forwards which was nice to see, I thought that was something we didn't do enough under Guardiola. Onwards and upwards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

What was the starting XI today?

G.K. wrote: »
    What was the starting XI today?

Valdés, Alves, Puyol, Mascherano, Planas; Sergio Busquets, Sergio Roberto, Afellay; Alexis, Messi, Rafinha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Quality penalties from Barcelona!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,801 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

dagdha wrote: »
    Pinto is liable to do anything in goals but he is some man to save penalties.

Thing is he is likely to have given away the penalty after haring around the box:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭double GG

Just seen Sanchez's dive. Disgraceful.

CHAMPIONS OF PARIS 2012.

Seriously though, more positives to take from yesterday. Other than a few rusty pieces of judgement, Puyol was a lot better than I expected. Rafinha was very good. And having the Spanish internationals back to prepare for the new season is a luxury we're not used to. I'm wondering if Tito sees Sergi Roberto as his “Busquets”. He's started each of the three games this pre-season, maybe Vilanova plans to put trust in him this year. Very talented player.

Delighted Abi traveled with the team and it was a nice gesture to let him kick off. I'm really surprised at his comments after the match, saying he plans to play again before the year is out. Wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

double GG wrote: »

Just seen Sanchez's dive. Disgraceful.

Unbelievable, completely intolerable. It's not the first time either, he needs to cut that sh*t out.