Off Topic **This Thread Now Closed For Business**

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 26,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/body-found-in-polish-river-where-missing-fan-last-seen-3144796.html

I hope it isnt the missing Irish fan but if it is at least his family will have some comfort in having his body back :(

Not looking good at all, very sad news indeed! :(

The lifeboat has set sail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭ayatollah

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/body-found-in-polish-river-where-missing-fan-last-seen-3144796.html

I hope it isnt the missing Irish fan but if it is at least his family will have some comfort in having his body back :(

the chatter online from polish tv is that it is him.

very sad news indeed, his poor family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Very sad news alright. My condolences to his family. RIP James :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

ayatollah wrote: »
    the chatter online from polish tv is that it is him.

very sad news indeed, his poor family

Yes confirmed as him RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,167 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

Dreadful news... RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

It hasn't been formally confirmed yet, has it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭spuddy90

very sad news! rest in peace!!! prayers are with family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Yes CM the body was identified and also had ID in the wallet. Very sad but at least they can bury him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

When you look at all the tributes from around Europe this past week for how the Irish fans behaved at Euro 2012, and then on the otherhand you look at some of the absolute scum that came from Russia and Croatia to cause trouble purposely.. And to see a fan from Ireland who all went over with nothing but goodwill makes this situation even more heartbreaking. I'm curious to hear what kind of foul play(or any) was involved..

Just read up on it, Foul play has been definitely ruled out. Not a mark on his body was found.

I really feel for his 2 mates he was there with. He just got lost away from them and then this. I cant even imagine the horror they have, and understandably more than likely still are, going through. :(

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 16,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Very sad news indeed . The fact they have ruled out foul play is a good thing in a way . All you would need is some "Scum" to find out that some "polish" were resposable and then to start a big racist attack on random foreign nationalists living in Ireland

I feel so sorry for the family and the lads that were there with him,
    At least a body was found so they can mourn his passing and slowly get back to life, instead of the constant worrying that are in missing persons cases,
    Once again my condolences to friends and family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

R.I.P :( Awful, awful news. It's some comfort that the body was found and that foul play has been ruled out but still, someone who went over to support his country playing football won't be coming home alive is just tragic :(:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Very sorry to hear that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

very sad news rest in peace james, condolescenes to his friends and family

makes the actual tournament seem frivolous

life is short live each day to the fullest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

RIP James.

In a more positive note, Vintage is on SS3 now, Kid vs Hakushi and Ultimo Dragons WWE debut coming up. Can't believe how badly they screwed up with him.

Not sure where else to say that.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 16,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Actually just found out James uncle is doing some plumbing in my parents shop . Poor lad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

Portugal through the Czech's were useless, feels like they never even had a shot. Badly missed Rosicky.

Its easy to see what happened him when you see where he fell into the river, at 1am he probably didnt even see it. :(
    Poor lad. Heart goes out to everyone involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭ciano316

I was over there for the Euro's there was a lot of rivers like this and since we were all on the drink everyday it could of happened to anyone.

It's tragic that it had to happen at all. RIP James lad.

Was doing some searches there of old threads and it's amazing how different this place is compared to 2007.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

Was doing some searches there of old threads and it's amazing how different this place is compared to 2007.

Is it better or worse in 2012?

Hint: I am here now ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

link some of them there for the craic DB.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 23,194 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

damn that could make some interesting reading, PW didnt always have a very good rep as a forum. 2007 eh? guess id have been on boards 5/6 years then...Jaysus! makes me feel old, im only feckin 26 (though 27 soon enough).

Just in time ive got my new computer thankfully. Last one died on my last weekend and no way was I waiting around, so much of our damn lives these days seems to be tied into computers. Luckily I was actually able to get a proper copy of Windows in English too which isnt the norm here in China, normally if you want it youd have to pay extra for a dodgy copy that changes your windows to English mode or something. Its White which makes it feel extra new too, oddly they didnt have any black ones... racists!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭Charlie Haughy

D.Q wrote: »
    link some of them there for the craic DB.
    heres an ancient thread, have a look at the date

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=44336

Edit: Oh wait, your posting threads from feedback, soz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

When did you become a mod Diabhal that was recent.
    Wow a lot of posters in them threads aren't here anymore probably left during the guest host era or that.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 23,194 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

yeah congrats on the modship DB didnt spot that one

heres an ancient thread, have a look at the date

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=44336

Edit: Oh wait, your posting threads from feedback, soz

Any threads related to PW forum are perfectly fine.

GTR63 wrote: »
    When did you become a mod Diabhal that was recent.
    Wow a lot of posters in them threads aren't here anymore probably left during the guest host era or that.
    Just this week. Maybe the deadest forum ever. Loads of posters leave Boards over time. Found out last week a few of my friends were Boardsies from ages ago. All gone now though.