Off Topic **This Thread Now Closed For Business**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

GTR63 wrote: »
    Bingo!
    Ajax, Liverpool and Barca on his cv. Hope he isn't a free agent now Milan may sign him the cheapskates.

Cool. Didn't think he played into this decade. He was great to watch in his heyday. I used to enjoy keeping an eye on his performances in Holland when I was younger. Also Mario Jardel in Portugal who couldn't seem to stop scoring over there. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

They have so much more talent than us though. They embarrassed themselves at this tournament.
    They havent. They just havent performed. All of their losses have been by a small margin and they were in each game right until the end. We were down and out in the first five minutes against Spain. Croatia are an average side but looked world class against us. Only one team has embarrassed themselves and it wasnt Holland. They have been poor, we have been awful. If we played like Holland have everyone would have been delighted, instead we roll over and take a beating with no resistance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

Holland gave up once Portugal equalized tonite if it wasn't for their keeper and some bad finishing by portugal they'd of been hammered. What did Sneijder, Robben, Huntelaar and v.Persie do tonite f**k all. They'll blame the manager but it sure as hell isn't just him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Any craic lads? Been away to Germany for the last couple of days. Wasn't long enough, had a great time. Nice little detox from wrestling as well lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

jaykhunter wrote: »
    Any craic lads? Been away to Germany for the last couple of days. Wasn't long enough, had a great time. Nice little detox from wrestling as well lol.

Cool man how did you get on in Berlin? What sights did you visit and like/dislike?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭Charlie Haughy

Hollands set up was awful. They're centre backs were far too slow, and had virtually no midfield apart from De Jong, as the rest of the team just raced up the field every time they got the ball, leaving them wide open when they lost the ball. And to think I had picked them before the euros started, to win it outright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

Charisteas wrote: »
    Cool man how did you get on in Berlin? What sights did you visit and like/dislike?

Thanks mate. Loved it! It wasn't long enough, i think i needed at least another 2 weeks there lol. Great weather, everything's cheaper. Worst part was getting lost as i was using the U/S-bahn map and got on the tram, ended up in the backarse of nowhere but after that, got a good handle on it lol.

A lot of the stores were closed on Sunday so that sucked a bit. Now for the good stuff! You know those Xmas markets at the IFSC? They had one at Alexanderplatz, was cool. Bubble tea rocks, as does €3 for a pint. TV tower was alright (as u mentioned lol), wursts start at vendors with some odd contraption on their body for €1.35!

Was able to catch the footie which was great. Saw lots of sights, Fassbender's choc store was v fancy. Currywurst museum was great. Zoo/Aquarium was also cool. Got a tour of the Olympia Stadium, took a slash where champions league winners did lol. Film & TV museum was cool too. Overall i really enjoyed it but i just didn't have enough time for all the places i wanted to go. Would recommend to anyone thinking about it :)

Do hospitals typically have free wifi? I'm going in today and staying overnight so I need SOMETHING to keep me occupied!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    Do hospitals typically have free wifi? I'm going in today and staying overnight so I need SOMETHING to keep me occupied!

What one you going to?

CMpunked wrote: »
    What one you going to?

Beaumont (however the hell you spell it :pac:)

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    Beaumont (however the hell you spell it :pac:)

Up until this morning i was spelling it beamount! Realised the mistake when i was trying to find a bus route into town for later.
    There are 2 unsecured connections here, although one of them isnt connectable and the other you need a username and password before you can access it.
    Whether they will give you one, i have no idea. You might be better off getting one of them dongles for the night if you know anyone who can give you a loan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Damien Duff captain tonight against Italy he earns his 100th cap, have we any hope of even 1 point Italy need the win to move on to the QFs so can we expect another huge hammering like the Spain game :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Not a chance. A morally destroyed team with no big changes at all being sent in to war with only pride to play for. This won't be good but what's worse is that Long won't get his opportunity, McClean wasn't utilized at all and Coleman has no real reason to want to play under Trap again. For a match nothing to play for Trap is sure risking a lot by stubbornly playing under-performing regulars.

But you're still going to hear about how Hoolahan is the future by casual fans who listen to pundits who don't know he's 30 years old.

Hope Croatia get through and would prefer the Italians over Spain.

Italy have been awful for the first 25 minutes, wonder why they persist on playing 4-3-1-2 its such a blah formation when they have no real no.10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Shay Given needs to just walk off and let Westwood take over

I miss Brian Kerr on commentary, Ronnie Whelan is drier than coarse sandpaper.

I hope the Irish fan missing in Poland is found alive

Didn't know anyone was missing. Twas kinda inevitable when Italy went 1-0 up that they'd win it don't get why they sat back against us towards the end. Glad they went through at the expense of the Croats I prefer teams that play with the ball on the ground thank you very much.

Up until this morning i was spelling it beamount! Realised the mistake when i was trying to find a bus route into town for later.
    There are 2 unsecured connections here, although one of them isnt connectable and the other you need a username and password before you can access it.
    Whether they will give you one, i have no idea. You might be better off getting one of them dongles for the night if you know anyone who can give you a loan?

I managed the one night. They were showing the Ireland match so that took me to about 10pm, after that I played a super annoying football game on my iPad. Tried going asleep about half eleven, it was about three o clock when people eventually shut the fcuk up. Up again at half six, surgery done, left at four. The end was a struggle as the poxy horse racing was on the TV and I had nothing else to do.

Everything is so loud now :(

Thats what I hated about staying in hospitals overnite its not very peaceful and hard to settle, if you have a drip in your hand its worse again.
    I was in a few weeks ago to get wisdom teeth taken out and was slow to wake up after being put under but I sure as hell wasn't going to stay overnite even when asked.

Might sound a bit odd but the best craic is usually had in the hematology day ward and the HDU (The long stay cancer ward).
    The day ward all have lazboy recliners and everyone knows each other is there for a somewhat serious reason so everyone chats and has the craic. There is definitely an air of humility amongst everyone.
    And the HDU has some people who are there for a loooong time. Last time i was in there was a guy who we were chatting to that hadnt left in about 8 weeks so he was spending the time getting to know his neighbours in the ward as they are more like roomates than anything.

Staff are awesome too.

But y'all take my ward for it and hope none of you ever find out first hand. :)

The fellas in my ward seemed to be pretty long term. One of them had been in for a week and there is no sign of him going home soon. Loads of blood tests and everything. He's gotten so many needles, they had to swap arms to give him a break. Another one had cancer so he is in for a few days every couple of weeks. And here I was thinking my crap hearing was bad! I was in for 25 hours and couldn't wait to leave, can't imagine having to spend weeks at a time in hospital.

Also, anyone know a quick, home made fix for a sore throath? I don't want to go to the shop :pac:

Maybe try gargling salt and water gnfnrhead, makes your throat red raw but its better than nothing.
    Ah the goal-line technology debate.

I thought goal line tech was meant to be used as a trial in the euros?

Was it an ear related surgery you were in for, gnfnr?

Maybe try gargling salt and water gnfnrhead, makes your throat red raw but its better than nothing.
    Ah the goal-line technology debate.

Did that before and it did nothing :( Drinking a lot of water seems to be helping. It's not sore all the time, just when I swallow.
    I thought goal line tech was meant to be used as a trial in the euros?

Was it an ear related surgery you were in for, gnfnr?

t'was. A build up of fluid which meant my hearing went to crap. I had gotten used to it, now everything is REALLY loud :pac: Had to cover my ears when I flushed the toilet! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Ah a good old hearing op Gnfnr, I was in for a fairly more serious op thankfully. I was stuck in for 5 days, was horrible, it was when Liverpool were in the Fa Cup final so moved the chair centre of the ward and just sat there think I wrecked everyone's head but I wasn't moving :D. I got the op on a Thursday and wanted to go home then but had a drip in the leg which was quite nasty (Got a skin graft) so I had to stay, begged them to home every day, then Tuesday they let me :D. It wasn't bad though, food was grand :D. If I had wifi I would of got away with it.
    I agree though you miss your own bed, but beauty of being deaf is, at night I couldn't hear anything once I switched my hearing aid off :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

Even getting the ears syringed is incredible. Felt like I had developed Spidey Senses.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 16,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Went to see Prometheus there today and was very dissapointed with it , took way to long to get in and then everything happened at once and was over to quick , basically like what TNA used to do ha

That Ibrahimovic goal vs France was top class.
    France are in big trouble against Spain in the quarters based on their group stage performances, always knew they were overhyped coming into it.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/body-found-in-polish-river-where-missing-fan-last-seen-3144796.html

I hope it isnt the missing Irish fan but if it is at least his family will have some comfort in having his body back :(