Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

What are your funniest Irish sayings?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I have a bar in me pants that would bate a donkey out of a quarry.

and I STILL can't think of any funny Irishisms. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭benway

Mickey H wrote: »
    F*** me pink.

**** me blue and call me a smurf, no?

Ah, bite the back a me ballix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 666 ✭✭✭A0

"Mods feel free to move this" :D

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭O-Deazy

She has a gowl on her like a donkey's yawn..

• Registered Users Posts: 856 ✭✭✭firefly08

Once said of unscrupulous money lenders: "He'd lend his arse and **** through his ribs" :)

Really hungry: "I'd ate an apple through a letterbox"

I reject the premise of the question: "Ask me bollix!"

My own personal favourite: "Go n-ithe an cat thu/ is go n-ithe an diabhal an cat" (May the cat ate you, and may the divil ate the cat!)

And yes it's ate not eat :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

Orange69 wrote: »
    Bertie Ahearn is a competent and inspiring leader.

so's your oul one

• Registered Users Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

That fella has no idea what he's at, he might as well be looking into a field of thistles.

Some head on ya for batin in back doors.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

firefly08 wrote: »
    Really hungry: "I'd ate an apple through a letterbox"
    I'd ate the back door buttered.

• Registered Users Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Halo Kitty

I'll be with you now in a minute...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Ara sure what wouldya go on out of that for the love of jesus mary joseph and all the angels and saints above between us and all harm, god rest his soul may the road rise up to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

Couple of my favs
    When i'm hungry - "I could ate the balls off a low flying crow"

When I'm asked to assist someone with something I've no knowledge of - "I may as well be looking up a cows ar$e"

...and one(s) I've heard ;)

When greeted with "Whats the craic? - either "The end with the lips that dont move as much" or the more crass "The best part of a woman" *runs for cover*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

Hola

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

sarah. wrote: »
    haha such a great thread, just read through most of it and it's just brilliant! :) I know some myself but can't for the world think of them! feck it anyway!

Such an inspired post to bring back a thread from 2007...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

2 euro for a hostel?

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭Marcus_Crassus

Another hungry one:

"I'd eat the arse off a low flying duck"

You'd say this about a miser or a tight bloke:

"Here's short arms, long pockets"

• Registered Users Posts: 863 ✭✭✭MonkeyGuy

Using hoof as a verb.

As in, "HOOF DE BALL UP TA BIG JOHN MCGUINESS IN DE FULL FARWARD LINE"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Go and ask me shoite! :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 13,798 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

"I'm so hungry, I could suck cold puke through a tinkers sock!"

• Registered Users Posts: 12,138 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

You've a face like a pig licking piss off a nettle.

May you be half an hour is heaven before the devil knows you're dead!

Also, Hows she cuttin?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,798 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Oh, and one my father uses that i haven't heard anyone else use when referring to someone: "Fuckdog".

• Registered Users Posts: 238 ✭✭carolinej

She's as flahual (flathulach) with her money.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

'i'm goin pissin', 'she got a good kick up the arse' and 'are you doing lines with anyone?'

• Registered Users Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Giruilla

**** libh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭deise go deo

Go ndéana an diabhal toirneach do d'anam in ifreann
    May the divil make thunder of your soul in hell

Irish is a great language to curse people in, so much more inventive than just telling someone to fo fúck themselves, though you can say that too, 'Feistigh ort'.

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭marozz

" I'm in the height of it "

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭Ambient Occlusion

"The curse a' fcukin' Jaysus!"
    "The curse of the holy farmer on yeh!"
    "He's as rough as a bear's arse"
    "I've got two balls but neither of them are a crystal"

• Registered Users Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

"There's a wind out there that'd blow a knacker off his sister....."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭winston82

Thread should be renamed to "unfunny spud gobbler quotes that you'd never hear in Dublin"

• Registered Users Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

winston82 wrote: »
    Thread should be renamed to "unfunny spud gobbler quotes that you'd never hear in Dublin"
    with remarks like that you'd swear dublin doesnt even want to be the 33rd county :)

• Registered Users Posts: 13 Chuckle2

You're some tashty budgie !