Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Ads that sum up life before the crash

• 19-03-2012 6:35pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,633 ✭✭✭

There are a number of ads that sum up the madness prior to the crash perfectly.

This one takes the biscuit IMO

When a scumbag is asking about a tracker mortgage you kind of know your property market is fecked;)

Ironic that the ad was for our invisible financial regulator too!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,978 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

darkman2 wrote: »
    There are a number of ads that sum up the madness prior to crash perfectly.

When a scumbag is asking about a tracker mortgage you kind of know your property market is fecked;)

Needless and useless quango pisses away a fortune in a pointless ad campaign? Yup, sums up the boom alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭cml387

belmayne1mr41.png

/thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭marketty

I had this conversation the other day with someone and we reckoned the bank of Ireland ad with students lying to the bank manager about why they wanted loans "art supplies", "dental work (train tracks are ching-ching bit of cash know what I mean)" etc when they were really gonna spend it on holidays or whatever.
    This was an ad by a bank that basically said 'lie to us about your loans? A ha it's grand don't worry about it here's a few thousand'
    Can't find it on YouTube but BoI had several of these, there was also the one where the young couple arrive home in a taxi and he can't get the jump cos the parents are awake, the message was pretty much "BUY A HOUSE YOU VIRGIN!!!"

• Registered Users Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

There are a number of ads that sum up the madness prior to the crash perfectly.

financial regulator was supposed to be monitoring the banks to make sure they weren't pissing the economy down the toilet. but because the government they served (FF) wanted the banks to be unregulated, they focused their attention on consumer issues, small complaints, marketing and leafleting.

Now look at the data commissioner today, his job is supposed to be to stop companies and state organisations from playing hot and dirty with peoples personal information. But the government (FG/Lab) want to use the ESB billing database to implement the household charge. so the data commissioner focuses his efforts on investigating data breeches after they have occurred, while weakening the laws that should prevent them.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0318/household.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Niall Quinn trying to sell timeshare apartments in Bulgaria or Portugal I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,716 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Aquila wrote: »
    there ya go!

Jesus Christ, that's mental. Renting was such a 'dirty' word back then that the banks didn't even acknowledge the existence of it! Stupid ad, even stupider country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Jesus Christ, that's mental. Renting was such a 'dirty' word back then that the banks didn't even acknowledge the existence of it! Stupid ad, even stupider country.

Fool isn't even a strong enough word for anyone who fell for that rubbish.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

"rent is dead money!" ha, ha, hahaha, hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.

ha.

• Registered Users Posts: 565 ✭✭✭gobo99

not sure if this is genuine but if it is, its an embarrassment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,633 ✭✭✭darkman2

"world's first giraffe only zoo" and "Howth 2, a replica of Howth on the southside" - pretty safe to say it's not genuine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭newfrontier

great ad but I think it is a spoof but in the boom you would have got investors

• Registered Users Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Andrea B.

galwaynowoct07ha5.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 565 ✭✭✭gobo99

"world's first giraffe only zoo" and "Howth 2, a replica of Howth on the southside" - pretty safe to say it's not genuine.
    great ad but I think it is a spoof but in the boom you would have got investors
    you're right, :o
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054993276

still, it wasn't beyond belief 6 years ago, I bet they had inquires about it. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Here is AIB advertising mortgages for people who are "financially all over the shop" and "don't know where your next job is coming from".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,633 ✭✭✭darkman2

Here is AIB advertising mortgages for people who are "financially all over the shop" and "don't know where your next job is coming from".

It's hard to know whether to laugh or cry:pac:

But that right there is the reason we are in the mess we are in.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 2,283 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chorcai

"This ad features a real life AIB customer/actor who was finally given a chance....by AIB"

hmmm wonder if he still has his gaff :rolleyes: