Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Today's bargain watch that I'm not buying

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

worst case scenario ...you can still buy something off the shelf :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 21,238 CMod ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Took the plunge on the one with the blue body, so we'll see how this works out!

$(KGrHqV,!qEE63Z2hSYYBPEK4GKH4w~~60_35.JPG

PS - spotted this thread just in time in the bargain alerts forum - £5 voucher for limited time off any eBay.co.uk purchase! Says it's just for UK residents, but it worked fine for me.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Eoin wrote: »
    Actually, that's a bloody good idea. I am ridiculously unhandy but I'll see what I can do up.
    Damn right. You would be surprised how handy you are. Put it another way you've come from a verrrrry long line of very handy people, from stone tools(which are damn hard to do) through Tara broaches and all points through time. Just give it a bash. You could go the metal route, or the plastic route or even the wood route. Trust yourself and feck it! :)
    peasant wrote: »
    worst case scenario ...you can still buy something off the shelf :D
    This coming from a German chappie, a people who know a bargain and are practical to boot. So you just know it makes sense. :)
    Took the plunge on the one with the blue body, so we'll see how this works out!

$(KGrHqV,!qEE63Z2hSYYBPEK4GKH4w~~60_35.JPG

PS - spotted this thread just in time in the bargain alerts forum - £5 voucher for limited time off any eBay.co.uk purchase! Says it's just for UK residents, but it worked fine for me.
    Fair play. :) Voucher eh... and it worked for you? Hmmmm I'm in my "every two years I splurge my saved up pocket money to trawl ebay for vintage stuff" mode. This may come in handy... :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 21,238 CMod ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Wibbs wrote: »
    Damn right. You would be surprised how handy you are. Put it another way you've come from a verrrrry long line of very handy people, from stone tools(which are damn hard to do) through Tara broaches and all points through time. Just give it a bash. You could go the metal route, or the plastic route or even the wood route. Trust yourself and feck it! :)

This coming from a German chappie, a people who know a bargain and are practical to boot. So you just know it makes sense. :)

Fair play. :) Voucher eh... and it worked for you? Hmmmm I'm in my "every two years I splurge my saved up pocket money to trawl ebay for vintage stuff" mode. This may come in handy... :D

Cool - looking forward to this now, could be a bit of fun. I think I'll try something simple with some steel and see how that goes. The only stands on eBay are acrylic ones which will no doubt be brittle, overpriced and unsatisfying.

Yeah, the voucher worked fine so far for everyone that's tried, but it is limited to x amount of people, and you don't know if it's valid until after you've committed to buying something. I think I was going to buy it anyway, so I am convinced that I have saved money. Haven't I?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Wibbs there is a vintage Longines on WUS from 40's I think. Buyer looking for 2k I think.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I was with you all the way up to 2k... :D I've gotten Longines from the early 1900's for 100 quid. You don't think our Peasant is the only one with an eye for a bargain? :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

Zenith Military from 1946 €300
    http://forums.watchuseek.com/f29/vintage-zenith-military-1946-a-638092.html

This is lovely and the price has dropped to €250 or nearest offer. I'd say it could be had for €200.

LOL we are looking at the same watches.

Bullseye1 wrote: »
    LOL we are looking at the same watches.

No I'm just a dullard who can't copy quotes properly on my iPad :o

Lovely watch, thanks for posting.

Bullseye1 wrote: »
    Wibbs three for you to consider.

Saw that Timor elsewhere. Nice watch for someone who wanted to add to or start a military collection. Proper issued one too and in good original condition. They come up on the bay quite often and you can get lucky on price, but that one's a nice one.
    Zenith are always worth a bet. Still climbing in value. That one isn't strictly military though, certainly not an issued one. That said if you could get it for 200 quid and I agree with sparrowcar that you probably could, that's a fair price for an all original quality watch and maker(with the still for the time rare centre second). It's gonna be small in size though, so only scrawny gits need apply. :D
    Very nice. About the only UK "WWW" watch I like and from a fave maker of mine too. Decent size unlike most and that one is in gorgeous condition. A sure fire investment too. In a decades time I reckon you'd be hard pressed to find one under 6-8 grand IMHO. Too rich for me though :)

I tend to be an ebaycrawler, looking for that elusive bargain that's not been spotted, or one that's quality and rare but not on the radar of most collectors. Yet. Rare but they do come up. Actually there's a couple of unconnected lots for under 2-300 that if you got them both, added some time and effort to mixed the two you'd come away with a likely 2 grand plus watch. I'm playing with pocket money/I swear I'm not Peasants twin brother funds so sadly a bit risky for me.

I have to say Adverts.ie comes up with some bargains too, though most too young for me :D I saw an auto speedmaster for 900 quid a few weeks ago. OK not the "original" moon watch and all that, but that's a lotta watch for that money. Saw an early auto Gruen for 150 quid IIRC. OK small watch, but again a lot of watch history for the money. I'd be shocked if the seller couldn't double the price on a specialist site.

We really don't have a big wristwatch culture here. Maybe in the newer end, but the vintage market here can be serious bargain time, though the search can be long. In the late 80's/early 90's I regularly saw "old" stainless steel Rolex stuff go for 50 quid at general auctions. I once passed on a box of SS rolex and Omega for 100 quid. The gold ones went for far higher, but I suspect earmarked for meltdown. Now this is Rolex, a name every Thomas, Richard and Harold knows. God knows what seriously important Rolexes ended up melted down or thrown in someone's bedroom drawer. That said we didn't have as much of the kinda wealth of say the UK until quite recently so you did notice at general and house auctions the over abundance of "meh" stuff. Or at the other retail end "it's old therefore it's priceless you know" can hold sway. Particularly when the celtic pussycat was roaring. In particular I saw low quality American pocket watches made in their millions with big pricetags on em. One example I saw was a 7 jewel Elgin PW for 500 quid(more like 50 in real terms) and in the same window a gorgeous and large stainless steel Universal Geneve from the 50's with 150 quid on the tag.

I would reckon there are still some really rare/high value watches out there. Especially military ones. Why? Well when you consider over a hundred thousand Irish men and women joined up in WW2, never mind the amount that went in WW2 and Korea later on. And all those emigres who left for the four corners of the earth. You can be sure some cool stuff came back with them. "Ah that old thing, probably junk"... :eek::)

This has got to be a typo/fake/bargain of the century. :eek: http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Longines-LONGINES-Admiral-Series-Mechanical-Mens-Watch-/320867145612?pt=Wristwatches&hash=item4ab52c178c zero feedback mind you so... I call fake.

Hmm, brand new seller on eBay - would you be brave enough to take a punt?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

Lovely watch, was going to chance a punt until i seen the fifteen to twenty day delivery.

I wouldn't but Belgium is not one of the usual suspects countrywise so I'm sure some will. The joke is I've never had any problems with eastern European sellers that many avoid. I just avoid the obvious fakes.

Back to the topic. I really should post in this more :o:) TBH I dunno about linking to current auctions on the bay. It may alert others out there who end up here through Google and I'd rather "locals" get the chance, but on buy it now stuff...

Speaking of undervalued brands as I was on anotherthread hereabouts, here's a 70's Longines with an electronic movement, not quartz for 89 squids(plus shipping). http://www.ebay.ie/itm/130660168580?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2648
    Big funky early 70's job from a high end brand and an unusual and short lived technology in the watch industry. I have a LIP one and it ticks like a mechanical but in a slightly different way. Pretty accurate too and theres a chap in the UK that services such things and reasonable too. Have his link somewhere hereabouts.

Another 70's Longines, bit more expensive at 240 Euro but a lot of watch for the money http://www.ebay.ie/itm/LONGINES-Automatic-Oversize-Anni-70-/170800450325?pt=Orologi_da_Polso&hash=item27c4800b15

And from our own Adverts.ie. http://www.adverts.ie/mens-watches/girard-perregaux-gyromatic/1201008 This is a Girard-Perregaux for feck sake. For 150 quid. I was tempted myself(very), but a little too young for me. Did I mention it's a Girard Perregaux for 150 quid? IMHO that's a bloody steal and there won't be many such steals down the line. Plus it's funky as hell looking.

I was in Dublin city earlier today and was idly looking in a couple of well known named jewelers windows at a few named "low end or average" brands and the prices! :o 100 or 150 quid won't get you much beyond something looking pretty cheap on the wrist(unless it's a G-shock and the like), that you'd be lucky to get 20 quid for a year later. When you can get a Girard Perregaux or LOngines for that money. In designs that are currently dead fash? OH yea baby.

If any of them had Omega or IWC on the dial you could add an extra figure before or after the price. No brainer time.

OK since I was on my own "let's look for ancient early wrist watches" hunt, I spotted this tonight http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Nice-vintage-WW1-trench-watch-Running-condition-/120878349009?pt=NL_Horloges&hash=item1c24e93ad1 That is stupidly cheap for an early style wristlet so if ya like watches having one of the earliest examples of the breed is something to have. Wrong hands, however if one of ye lot goes for it I reckon I got the right hands and I'll stick em in the post(though you may need a watchmaker cog jockey to size/fit them). Can't see it lasting long before it's snapped up mind you. Normally you'd be looking around 200 quid anyway.

Wibbs wrote: »
    This has got to be a typo/fake/bargain of the century. :eek: http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Longines-LONGINES-Admiral-Series-Mechanical-Mens-Watch-/320867145612?pt=Wristwatches&hash=item4ab52c178c zero feedback mind you so... I call fake.
    The previous listing was removed, but oh look here's the identical watch/scam only this time the sellers in Poland. http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Longines-LONGINES-Admiral-Series-Mechanical-Mens-Watch-/251019363917?pt=Wristwatches&hash=item3a71eb864d Hmmmmm. Pan Euro scammage ahoy. I reported it anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Wasn't there someone recently looking for a large handwind with central second?

Well ...42mm diameter, handwind, no date ...an ideal occasional dresswatch.
    (unfortunately not quite my style or I'd be all over it)

S259_2.jpgS259_1.jpg

yours for 75 Euro including shipping

http://www.ebay.de/itm/SLAVA-MECHANICAL-WATCH-RARE-LIMITED-EDITION-NEW-259-/220979326090?pt=Wristwatches&hash=item337364ec8a

EDIT:

Alternatively, if you want it 2 mm smaller, with date and 30 Euro cheaper, the same seller also has this:

S173_1.jpgS171_1.jpg

They're damn cool for the price. For me what lets them down are the hands, especially the first one. Set of cathedral hands on that would make it far more attractive.

Ive picked up a few nice bargins lately, im looking out for an omega soon. There is a lovely limited edition on ebay at the moment. Slightly off topic, is there anyway we can make this thread private? Ive noticed alot more interest in items that are mentioned here.

http://www.adverts.ie/mens-watches/gents-rolex-watch/1452004

That is a crazy price. I wish I wasnt going on holidays this month.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,259 ✭✭✭Homer

ANXIOUS wrote: »
    is there anyway we can make this thread private? Ive noticed alot more interest in items that are mentioned here.

Interesting point! In general it's a great thread but at times alerting the lurkers of the forum to potential one off bargains could be counter productive to genuine contributors who may not have funds available at the time.
    ANXIOUS wrote: »
    That is a crazy price. I wish I wasnt going on holidays this month.

Case in point.. I know of one that's likely to go for a good bit less than that, boxed with papers in mint condition. Shall I say where :p I rest my case!

I'm 99% sure that the entire forum would have to be private; it can't be done per thread.

I'm keeping a close eye on this thread again anyway - my GETAT order fell through which I was a bit annoyed about, but I've seen much nicer watches for a little bit more that I'd be happier with anyway.

Homer wrote: »
    Case in point.. I know of one that's likely to go for a good bit less than that, boxed with papers in mint condition. Shall I say where :p I rest my case!

Pm's graciously received :D

Couldn't you have a sub section like they do in the pets and animals where you have a group and you need to get invited like a social group.

In addition to Bullseye1's suggestion maybe something like the TZ sales forum where by to join the group you need 10+ posts in the W&T forum.

sparrowcar wrote: »
    In addition to Bullseye1's suggestion maybe something like the TZ sales forum where by to join the group you need 10+ posts in the W&T forum.

Yeah that could work, im a member of a few private forums and the way it works is that you pm someone to get access.

I wouldn't want to see the whole forum go private just this thread to stop randomers from Google boosting the price for people here that have a genuine interest in watches and add something to the discussion.

• Registered Users Posts: 678 ✭✭✭m4r10

I'm keeping a close eye on this thread again anyway - my GETAT order fell through which I was a bit annoyed about, but I've seen much nicer watches for a little bit more that I'd be happier with anyway.

Mails were sent by Tat (from Getat) saying that he couldn't accept orders for the last month or so. I wouldn't worry if I were you, I went through the same process and I'm happy with the final result. He is a little slow in putting the watch together and shipping it, but you get what you order, compared to the competition where wrong dials, hands etc are sent. Keep us updated with the order.

m4r10 wrote: »
    Mails were sent by Tat (from Getat) saying that he couldn't accept orders for the last month or so. I wouldn't worry if I were you, I went through the same process and I'm happy with the final result. He is a little slow in putting the watch together and shipping it, but you get what you order, compared to the competition where wrong dials, hands etc are sent. Keep us updated with the order.

Likewise, my original order took 10 weeks and Tat didn't take payment from my card for 7 weeks from the date of my order. Basically if you want a Getat watch then order now for this Christmas ;)