Rangers FC lodge papers to go into administration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    'Those who could afford it' ?
    We played them a while ago in a pre-season, thousands of Bears made the trip ;)

I believe plans are in place to make it a two-game thing, one in Portsmouth, one in Glasgow.

And I don't think we have lessons to learn in dignity from 'Integrity FC' ;)

Its that sort of thinking that has made you insolvent :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

PauloMN wrote: »
    The begging bowl friendly lol..... ohh the dignity:
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17260613

Don't see the problem here. Unless I am missing something? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,226 ✭✭✭✭Jelle1880

Too right you do, in the Finance Dept. among other places. :D

Remind me, how big is your squad ? ;)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Needs to be big when we're still in three competitions. ;)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Don't see the problem here. Unless I am missing something? :confused:

There's no problem Keith. Needs must and all that. It was a bit of banter - see my earlier reply to EB.

Or do you not do banter now either, along with not walking away? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,229 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Would be a great move for RFC if they could get a one month deal with the players.

Duff and Phelps are on the record as saying that any takeovers must happen by March 16th, keeping the players on the books makes Rangers a much better proposition and will mean less investment by whomever takes them over... if they're taken over.

However, if this date passes and nobody has taken them over then liquidation beckons and nothing's really been lost in offering the extra month.

However, I wonder what HMRC are making of all this. I'd say they ain't one bit happy.

As big as a Champions squad needs to be!

The last 3 seasons would beg to differ. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,529 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

The last 3 seasons would beg to differ. :p

Those titles could be taken off ye yet!

Dempsey wrote: »

You wish.

Dempsey wrote: »

Let them have the titles they cheated for. They're welcome to them.

So long as they are severely punished for the future, I'm happy. We'll win back the titles we were cheated out of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

Poor work from what perspective? The administrators have to ensure that Rangers is a saleable club. They also have to save money. If they can do both without letting players go, that's bloody good work imo. Fair play to the players for accepting the cuts if true.

If the shoe were on the other foot, I'd be wanting Celtic administrators and the players to do exactly the same thing.

They aren't actually reducing the cost base of running the club, with the proposed arrangement Rangers will not lose a million this month but they will next month and the month after etc.

This is not balancing the books which is effectively what they are required to achieve, I'm becoming very skeptical because the usual process would be to cut costs so that the outgoings match the incomings and then look for a buyer.

It would be crazy to buy a business that would cost you 1million each month to keep open, remember Rangers are still contractually obliged to pay the players full wages even if the players accept a deduction. i.e. if Lee Mc Culloch got dropped in 6 months and was pissed off he can demand the 6months wages he forego.

If new owners come in will the players still be happy to work for free?
    If they aren't then it will cost the new owners £1million/month plus they have the big tax case still to come.

Not feasible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Let them have the titles they cheated for. They're welcome to them.

So long as they are severely punished for the future, I'm happy. We'll win back the titles we were cheated out of.
    Sure. Probably won't involve Rangers in the league. So won't matter really. That is the thing. The SPL title means **** all if it doesn't involve winning it instead of Celtic or Rangers. That is the only reason either club wants to win it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,961 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Sure. Probably won't involve Rangers in the league. So won't matter really. That is the thing. The SPL title means **** all if it doesn't involve winning it instead of Celtic or Rangers. That is the only reason either club wants to win it.

Oh ffs, thats the most deluded thing you've come out with yet.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭TheBuilder

Hayley McQueen ‏ @HayleyMcQueen Close
    The Rangers players have agreed 2 take paycuts 2 avoid redundancies at the club Highest earners 75% cut, mid 50% & lowest 25% details on SSN

Well done those players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Eirebear wrote: »
    #
    Listening to people talk yesterday, there was a school of thought that Rangers are a more attractive proposition to buyers if they don't shed players - given that it will be more expensive to replace a number of players, rather than trim to fit when a new buyer comes in.

I don't see how keeping the players really makes the club more attractive to a potential buyer. I would have thought a clean slate with the potential to build a squad which at least breaks even every month would be much more attractive than keeping the current squad with the large wage bill contributing to an enormous loss every month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

TheBuilder wrote: »
    Well done those players.

The BBC report that the players rejected that deal. At any rate whatever deal the players presented to the Administrators will not "avoid redundancies", it will just mean redundancies will be delayed for a month and the administrators will stick around making considerable profit from doing f*ck all.

Well done those players.

So will they be signing new contracts?

How long will these contracts be for?

Will all players be free agents in the summer?

I can't see how this reaches the requirements set down by the administrators.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

How much would a "top earner" be on at Rangers ?

Also what's the average ?

The BBC report that the players rejected that deal. At any rate whatever deal the players presented to the Administrators will not "avoid redundancies", it will just mean redundancies will be delayed for a month and the administrators will stick around making considerable profit from doing f*ck all.

All of this means nothing unless they're taken over by March 16th.

If I was a Rangers creditor I would be furious at the work of the administrators as it's costing more now to run the club than it was three weeks ago before they came in.

Yet again I wonder what HMRC are making of all this.

mixednuts wrote: »
    How much would a "top earner" be on at Rangers ?

Also what's the average ?

About 5k this time tomorrow.

So will they be signing new contracts?

How long will these contracts be for?

Will all players be free agents in the summer?

I can't see how this reaches the requirements set down by the administrators.

You're the one with all the answers in this thread, you tell me.

Anyway, Hayley McQueen's a daft bint.

"We'll keep you up to date on Rangers after players proposed paycuts backed by Scottish PFA, it's still however 2 b agreed by administrators"

You're the one with all the answers in this thread, you tell me.

It's a very relevant question and one you should be asking.

If it's a temporary deal until the summer then what's the point as all the players can leave then.

If it's not a temporary deal then what's the point of it as you'll be back to square one in the summer and any new owner will have huge difficulties as a result.

Join in the debate even if it is with Timmy eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

Well done those players.

A fine gesture by the players but is in fact counter productive to keeping Rangers operating as a going concern, the only way the administrators should be entertaining this idea is if someone has expressed an interest in the club and is willing to pump £12million a year to keep it going or else sell a load of players in the summer.

(everybody would know Rangers need to sell and would have to accept derisory amounts)

The question needs to be asked, who benefits from this because its not Rangers.

It's a very relevant question and one you should be asking.

If it's a temporary deal until the summer then what's the point as all the players can leave then.

If it's not a temporary deal then what's the point of it as you'll be back to square one in the summer and any new owner will have huge difficulties as a result.

I was only posting a bit of information, that at the time seemed true from SSN. You'll notice I've stayed out of this thread because nobody actually knows anything at all, and it doesn't help people's stress levels when there is more important things to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Where do you get off with this pish? You've developed a chip on your shoulder lately, which is perverse given that you should be enjoying things.

As has already been discussed, it could be that not laying off players makes the club better in the eys of any interested parties.
    Also it means that the squad is left intact for the upcoming games against Motherwell and Celtic, which will go a long way to deciding wether we can finish second or not.

Eirebear wrote: »
    Where do you get off with this pish? You've developed a chip on your shoulder lately, which is perverse given that you should be enjoying things.

As has already been discussed, it could be that not laying off players makes the club better in the eys of any interested parties.
    Also it means that the squad is left intact for the upcoming games against Motherwell and Celtic, which will go a long way to deciding wether we can finish second or not.

I know he's your brother mate but look back at my earlier post, I was meeting his attitude with attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

I know he's your brother mate but look back at my earlier post, I was meeting his attitude with attitude.

Fair enough mate - he's big & ugly enough to deal with that himself, but let's knock the "Timmy told you" nonsense on the head.
    You know as well as i do it's not like that.

Anyone know what's going to happen today?

I presume player will train as per normal and meet admins after so some announcement later today maybe???

Anyone hear what's happening?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Asking players to take a 75% pay cut is a disgrace, absolute disgrace.