Off Topic **This Thread Now Closed For Business**

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 16,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

They've renamed The Avengers for it's UK release...

avengers-assemble-the-avengers-gets-new-title-and-official-poster-81282-470-75.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Theres no way I'm saying anything other than "ticket for Avengers". Feck that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭cena

Any of ye watch Hawaii Five 0. I would to be a five o if thats how there everyday job is. keep you on your toes.

Always wanted to be a cop.

Love Hawaii 5-0. One of my favorite shows on TV at the moment. Castle is the one that makes me want to be a writer/detective though :P

On the topic of jobs, just got an offer to do 10-12 weeks of English resource teaching. I'm no longer unemployed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

I'm guessing the avengers has been renamed owing to the British series from the 60s?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

On the topic of jobs, just got an offer to do 10-12 weeks of English resource teaching. I'm no longer unemployed :D

Congrats, but if you have to teach at 9 am how are you going to be able to watch RAW and Wrestlemania live. Best to turn it down!

Starting on the interview trail now too. Trying to change jobs rather than looking for one so lucky that way but interviews are bullcrap.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I keep seeing this Soccer thread title and thinking of the Dudley Boys.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?threadid=2056559472

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

They've renamed The Avengers for it's UK release...

avengers-assemble-the-avengers-gets-new-title-and-official-poster-81282-470-75.jpg

I didn't realise Shaft was an Avenger.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nick_Fury

One big reason for me going to see this;
    S.c.a.r.l.e.t.t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,738 ✭✭✭✭Penn

That poster gives away too much of the plot of the movie. Now I know that Captain America becomes a f*cking giant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Love Hawaii 5-0. One of my favorite shows on TV at the moment. Castle is the one that makes me want to be a writer/detective though :P

Congrats on the job Teamshadowclan

Zack Ryder is great on Hawaii 5-0 :p (Scott Caan aka Danno looks very like Zach)

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

Zack Ryder is great on Hawaii 5-0 :p (Scott Caan aka Danno looks very like Zach)

Caan was in the WcW movie as well, wasn't he? Arquette's best friend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

Caan was in the WcW movie as well, wasn't he? Arquette's best friend?

Yeah he was in it, himself and Arquette were best friends, when I first read that I thought it said boyfriends, the film was bad enough without that plot twist. As for the Avengers film is Robert Downey Jr going to be a dickhead in it like he was in Ironman 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

guys can you spoiler tag your chatter about Avengers? i wanna see it and have avoided spoilers so far, only gotta wait another week.

jaykhunter wrote: »
    guys can you spoiler tag your chatter about Avengers? i wanna see it and have avoided spoilers so far, only gotta wait another week.

You want to see it and only have to wait another week? You have a time machine and you're asking us to tag spoilers?

i thought it was out next week :confused: maybe that's in the states or something. anyway LA LA LA LA LA LA NO SPOILERS PLEASE LA LA LA LA :pac:

jaykhunter wrote: »
    i thought it was out next week :confused: maybe that's in the states or something. anyway LA LA LA LA LA LA NO SPOILERS PLEASE LA LA LA LA :pac:

May 4th. I heard March 4th off someone else too. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

I haven't read all the details myself yet, but it looks like the Irish SOPA legislation has been signed into Law today.

Coincidentally, this has come on the same day that The Pirate Bay have removed all .torrents files from their website.

http://www.thejournal.ie/sherlock-confirms-that-%E2%80%98irish-sopa%E2%80%99-has-been-signed-into-law-369634-Feb2012/

Boards topic about new SOPA law - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056563688

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

Charisteas wrote: »
    I haven't read all the details myself yet, but it looks like the Irish SOPA legislation has been signed into Law today.

Coincidentally, this has come on the same day that The Pirate Bay have removed all .torrents files from their website.

http://www.thejournal.ie/sherlock-confirms-that-%E2%80%98irish-sopa%E2%80%99-has-been-signed-into-law-369634-Feb2012/

Boards topic about new SOPA law - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056563688

That happened a few days ago, all the provide now are magnet links.

If it has been signed into law, it's a f*ckin joke. Say goodbye to the free internet here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

Scott Caan is a professional lookalike for many people:

Wayne Rooney

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQl2Ij6bHYqkkkCh0QekARJOzFMcydAvKfN7mONcUMY40YqNmjrHQ

Justin Timberlake

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRemF2SlhIcNuWyCorHmiEPFtK20W7PuM9leeW04yiqA_wkKwU0NA

Gary Jules

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQmtSTzM-xVYtmQ0vZYDewvIyyQy-IkSlCp0wEn3q9m5peYYXJH

Dolph Ziggler

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRXys962JXZJLbeSc5RADGcUK8MCCysbgqIHSwARRhari9_yMWv8A

Jason Statham

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSQhYYMEZoYoCrosvbpBoraqtPe6qjOtsLko_N1ZRaLoVHyKilNOw

On the bright side, new avengers trailer

I am trying hard not to get hyped for Avengers but failing miserably.

Sitting here in work basically doing nothing. though i started yesterday i dont get a timetable for a few more days so am siting round playing Angry Birds.

Another Superhero movie *yawn* (Sorry :D)

I'm not really a movie buff, but one film i'm looking forward to this year is Django Unchained which is in cinemas on Christmas Day, would Irish cinemas be open December 25th?

Some awesome cast for this - http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1853728/

Dark Knight Rises hardly a yawn worthy film(although not understanding Bane could be a problem) and the Spiderman reboot has got Emma Stone. Really looking forward to Prometheus the Alien prequel. Not looking forward to going to the Cinema with the annoying audiences, think somebody mentioned that on here before.

I'm not really a movie buff, but one film i'm looking forward to this year is Django Unchained which is in cinemas on Christmas Day, would Irish cinemas be open December 25th?

Why would anyone release a film on Christmas Day? I mean, I can understand having it in cinemas around the Christmas period due to people being off work/school, but Christmas Day itself? It's not even a Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Jamie Foxx annoys me tbh, I would have preferred another actor as lead Idris Elba and Will Smith were rumoured at one stage anyways DiCaprio as the villain in a Tarantino flick should be awesome but it could be January 2013 before it is out over here

He'll always be The Fresh Prince to me though :D

Penn wrote: »
    Why would anyone release a film on Christmas Day? I mean, I can understand having it in cinemas around the Christmas period due to people being off work/school, but Christmas Day itself? It's not even a Friday.

Cinemas open on Christmas day in the us.
    Last year Sherlock Holmes 2 was released on Christmas day but Stephens day here. (as far as I can remember)

He'll always be The Fresh Prince to me though :D

Funny whenever I see him I think of the starting tune to Fresh Prince. What happened Carlton Banks career though, he was so funny in it (a scene stealer if ever I saw one) and then nothing, never understood that.