Arsenal Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2011/2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

robby^5 wrote: »
    Gervinho is never allowed to take a penalty for us ever. Knocked one straight over the bar in the AFCON final :/

Arsene will have to rebuild his confidence now, opposite of what we wanted!

He did score a nice goal in the semis. Dare I say it almost Henryesque. I hope he comes back in reasonable shape. Be great if he can play against Sunderland next weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

robby^5 wrote: »
    Gervinho is never allowed to take a penalty for us ever. Knocked one straight over the bar in the AFCON final :/

Arsene will have to rebuild his confidence now, opposite of what we wanted!

I've only seen a ****ty youtube video but did he not hit the outside of the post?

Still not the best thing for him to have his confidence knocked like that especiallyu seeing as he made it all the way to the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

greendom wrote: »
    He did score a nice goal in the semis. Dare I say it almost Henryesque. I hope he comes back in reasonable shape. Be great if he can play against Sunderland next weekend.

It was pretty epic, although the defence was woeful. Still a great finish!
    I've only seen a ****ty youtube video but did he not hit the outside of the post?

Still not the best thing for him to have his confidence knocked like that especiallyu seeing as he made it all the way to the final.

Was watching on Eurosport and I'm pretty sure he knocked it straight over or it clipped the outside of the bar, so either way was never going in. Pity since his goal got them to the final in the first place.

Oh the legend himself Viera has just joined twitter for anyone interested: https://twitter.com/#!/OfficialVieira

Seems he's also in Limerick right now for a soccer school tour of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Missed the match yesterday but delighted with the win and as Galva said nice to win without Van Persie scoring the other players in the squad have been chipping in with goals the last two games long may it continue.

One game down now bring on Milan.

Also Arsenal are being linked with Carel Tiofack of Ipswich meant to be a great prospect and he play for Ireland be great to have an Irish player on the Arsenal first team again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Also Arsenal are being linked with Carel Tiofack of Ipswich meant to be a great prospect and he play for Ireland be great to have an Irish player on the Arsenal first team again.

Henderson is declared for Ireland isn't he? Had he not picked up that injury I reckon he'd have played a fair bit this season. I think Wenger has even said he sees him as a future first teamer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Henderson has some EPL experience under his belt already. They must have high hopes for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    Henderson is declared for Ireland isn't he? Had he not picked up that injury I reckon he'd have played a fair bit this season. I think Wenger has even said he sees him as a future first teamer.

:o my bad I forgot about Henderson, well maybe if the storys about this lad are true well have two then in the future :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Right lads enough about the Ramsey curse FFS. Look at Torres, first Princess Diana, who knows who's next!?

amacachi wrote: »
    Right lads enough about the Ramsey curse FFS.

It was an interesting coincidence when it was exclusively 'bad guys' on America's hit list, but now they're just throwing out any old name. Someone famous dies every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

Galvasean wrote: »
    amacachi wrote: »
    Right lads enough about the Ramsey curse FFS.

It was an interesting coincidence when it was exclusively 'bad guys' on America's hit list, but now they're just throwing out any old name. Someone famous dies every day.

He keeps the 1-0 wins for the baddies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

arseblog tweeted a pic of Mert's ankle, looks pretty nasty. In work so cant link. If you like that sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭ImpossibleDuck

keano_afc wrote: »
    arseblog tweeted a pic of Mert's ankle, looks pretty nasty. In work so cant link. If you like that sort of thing.

418280_331694680207697_109539209089913_939546_1193180942_n.jpg

:/

Sunderland "pitch" was disgraceful for a top flight game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

418280_331694680207697_109539209089913_939546_1193180942_n.jpg

:/

Nasty. That can take a while to heal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,579 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Milan is a game that would have suited Per's style of play too, big loss. Altohugh as long as we play Kos and Verm in the centre I'm confident we can be as solid as if Per was playing. Big worry is Gibbs only lasting 4 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    If 'Arry leaves for the England job they'll definitly be dropping points left, right and center imo. If he stays though, they'll only probably be dropping points as the realistation sets in that they are in the wrong place on the table. They have been punching above their weight for much of the season, only a matter of time before it takes its toll on them and they plummit down the table again.

Much as I hate to say it that is boll**cks.
    Spurs are more a complete side than Arsenal, Liverpool and Chelsea these days and server their position.
    They are damm exciting to watch and have some superb players.

They should finish 3rd this year but to continue next year they need to attract a quality manager and hang onto Modric, Baile, Van De Waart, etc.
    ASOT wrote: »
    Aaron Ramsey scores:
    vs Man Utd - Bin Laden dies.
    vs Tottenham - Steve Jobs dies.
    vs Marseille - Gaddafi dies.
    vs Sunderland - Whitney Houston dies.
    So the curse lives on..wonder who's next?

I wouldn't say that was a curse rather a blessing.
    All on that list were bloody assholes of one kind or another.

Anyway great win against Sunderland.
    And I have to give my least favourite player his dues for a nice cross for the Henry goal.

Even though not Mertesackers favourite fan, we can do without loosing another fairly capable defender to injury.

And I know not the thread for this, but how the hell isn't young Mcclean in the Irish squad. :eek:

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,503 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

My ankle looked exactly like that last year. Was 3 months before I could play again, granted I didn't have a 'world class' team of physios looking after me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

My ankle looked exactly like that last year. Was 3 months before I could play again, granted I didn't have a 'world class' team of physios looking after me.

A bad sprain for an amateur usually takes 3 months alright to heal.
    Sometimes it feels ok after about 6 weeks but the slightest tweak can set it off again.

You're right though that with the best medical attention available it shouldn't take as long as it's just a sprain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

I dread seeing the pitch come May. Sunderland have been an established premier league side for several years now, they have no excuse for not keeping the pitch in at least okay condition. The rugby lads would have had a hard time on it, it was that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

So we'll not see him till next season then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,964 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

amiable wrote: »
    Nasty. That can take a while to heal

Very nasty looking. The player looks very awkward though and is always slipping and falling. Giraffes always look awkward though. One thing about him i noticed is how good a passer of the ball he is and rarely gives it away but for a big man he is poor enough in the air and never seems to be able to jump.

I was looking at the depressing news about Hazard (still not confirmed but looks like he might be heading to Spurs), when I saw this and was cheered up

http://www.francefootball.fr/fonctions/preview.html

Sunderland "pitch" was disgraceful for a top flight game

Just wondering are there any regulations for pitch condition in the EPL?

Galvasean wrote: »
    Just wondering are there any regulations for pitch condition in the EPL?

I imagine the ref has his criteria and as long as those are met, the game goes ahead. No idea if the criteria has changed at all in the recent past or whether they are different for a non-league game or a full international.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

It'll be interesting to see how ye play against Milan. It annoys me the way some people think that the Italian league is of a sub standard to the BPL and BBVA, there are more representatives of Italy in the last 16 than any other nation! Eamon Dunphy making people believe that Italian football is in decline :mad:

But anyway, I'm really looking foward to this game on wednesday. I watched Milan both times vs Barcelona and they were very good. Thiago Silva is just a beast,easily the best defender in Serie A and top 3 in the world. Very useful from corners too. It'll be interesting to see how he and Van Persie get on

Arsenal's pace on the wings will be a cause for concern for Allegri. While Abate is very fast and can keep up, Oxlaide-Chamberlain's rawness and unpredictability will be a cause for concern.

I'm hoping KPB plays as he adds a touch of class. His stamina is fantastic and will be a problem for Arsenal (providing he plays, or course)

Per is a big miss, he's very useful at defending set pieces, and with the heighth of Mexes, Silva and Ibrahimovic, Milan could have some joy there. After all, Silva scores their equaliser at the Nou camp from a corner

Here's to a cracking game anyway

Prediction
    Milan 2-1 Arsenal

Sorry :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,614 ✭✭✭✭cson

Any score draw would be excellent cos it'll mean they have to play at The Emirates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭Dercola

It'll be interesting to see how ye play against Milan. It annoys me the way some people think that the Italian league is of a sub standard to the BPL and BBVA, there are more representatives of Italy in the last 16 than any other nation! Eamon Dunphy making people believe that Italian football is in decline :mad:

But anyway, I'm really looking foward to this game on wednesday. I watched Milan both times vs Barcelona and they were very good. Thiago Silva is just a beast,easily the best defender in Serie A and top 3 in the world. Very useful from corners too. It'll be interesting to see how he and Van Persie get on

Arsenal's pace on the wings will be a cause for concern for Allegri. While Abate is very fast and can keep up, Oxlaide-Chamberlain's rawness and unpredictability will be a cause for concern.

I'm hoping KPB plays as he adds a touch of class. His stamina is fantastic and will be a problem for Arsenal (providing he plays, or course)

Per is a big miss, he's very useful at defending set pieces, and with the heighth of Mexes, Silva and Ibrahimovic, Milan could have some joy there. After all, Silva scores their equaliser at the Nou camp from a corner

Here's to a cracking game anyway

Prediction
    Milan 2-1 Arsenal

Sorry :pac:

I'm sad too say. I agree with alot of this. Reading some comments on here, and I think some people are taking Milan too lightly. I've seen alot of them this year, and even tho they aren't at 100% the last few months. On their day, they are as good as anyone in Europe. A bit like us in the last few seasons.. And some may disagree, but in my opinion Ibrahimovic is a class act up front. Dude can create something from nothing. A bit like RvP. I still think we can take them over the 2 legs, but the minimum we need is a score draw tomorrow night.

Does anyone know how many goals ibra has scored against us? I know he got Barca's two a few years back. But I was pretty sure I could remember him scoring for Ajax against us also:confused:

Roll on tomorrow night. Can't wait for the game!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

Yeah think he did score against us with ajax. Could've been an arsenal legend but he acted the idiot and ended up at ajax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,789 ✭✭✭emergingstar

The way hazard is whoring himself around I kinda hope were not in for him, reckon he would do a nasri in a couple of seasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,579 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Can't see us picking up a victory tonight tbh. A score draw would be brilliant. Losing by one wouldn't be the worst situation and is what will happen imo.