Arsenal Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2011/2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

amiable wrote: »
    We're talking about Walcott.

Arsenal surely had to meet all the add ons as he has played for England and played a lot of games now for Arsenal.

You mention Carroll. The dogs on the street know Liverpool over paid for him.

But in the post you slag off Liverpool for overpaying on over hyped English talent Arsenal did it too.

Take a bow son:p

:D Ill gladly take a bow, just checked there according to wickipedia (not the most reliable) it was revised to 9.1 million in the end a lil bit better its no 35 million.

But see we learnt our lesson from Walcott heres hoping yous havent learnt yours from the last year. Walcott yeh 30 million or feck off ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

:D Ill gladly take a bow, just checked there according to wickipedia (not the most reliable) it was revised to 9.1 million in the end a lil bit better its no 35 million.

But see we learnt our lesson from Walcott heres hoping yous havent learnt yours from the last year. Walcott yeh 30 million or feck off ;).

Sure I could go and change Wiki to 100 mill now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,789 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Sagna back in full training today. Thank fook.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

Best Arsenal related news I've heard in ages.

Hopefully we can really make a push for 4th when some of the lads come back from injury!

Come on Arsenal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

jonny666 wrote: »
    Best Arsenal related news I've heard in ages.

Hopefully we can really make a push for 4th when some of the lads come back from injury!

Come on Arsenal

The reason I still believe fourth is well within our grasp is that I think Arsenal are capable of going on a very good run and I just don't see that from Chelsea at the moment. They might prove me wrong of course.

Worringly, a good run would be dependant on injuries not getting the better of our thin squad. I don't think we actually need Wilshire for it but Arteta is vital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

Yay! Get in there!

Where's galva with his score update after the united game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,966 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Do you think they are playing "wonderful" football now ?
    I think our style has changed a lot and the build up is far too slow. No slick, crisp and accurate defence-splitting football now in my opinion. We are easy to defend against for the last 5/6 years. All defences have to do is crowd the perimeter of the box and and crowd us out because we are too slow and give them ample time to get back and do that. I wouldn't class the football we are playing now as "wonderful" by any stretch of the imagination.

Do you think they are playing "wonderful" football now ?
    I think our style has changed a lot and the build up is far too slow. No slick, crisp and accurate defence-splitting football now in my opinion. We are easy to defend against for the last 5/6 years. All defences have to do is crowd the perimeter of the box and and crowd us out because we are too slow and give them ample time to get back and do that. I wouldn't class the football we are playing now as "wonderful" by any stretch of the imagination.

I agree 100% on this, so many journalists and people seem to be stuck in a time warp going back a few years. Yes we used to play very entertaining football but these days were very slow and laboured and very predictable Wenger has abandoned his own ethos in football to always play attractive football which was used many a time as our fall back we mightnt be winning but at least unlike Chelsea who won the league were good to watch etc. I wouldnt mind if our football was boring at this stage if we actually won something but our styles gone along with the trophys sadly :(.

Heres hoping hoping the good football and trophys retrun soon :cool:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Wonderful football does not happen any more at the Emirates.

Hope the wilshere rumours are not true, waiting for a denial or confirmation from himself or arsenal

What Wilshere rumours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

What Wilshere rumours?

Injury set-back, hopefully just a twitter rumour.

greendom wrote: »
    Injury set-back, hopefully just a twitter rumour.

:eek::mad: please god its just a rumour, therell be a few rants on here if its not :o.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,966 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

There will hopefully not be a "recurrence of injury" announcement just after the Transfer Window has shut. Hopefully not a timed to suit story like "the timing of this new injury is unfortunate, if we had known we might have brought in some cover". Remember Verm's injury when he was almost ready twice but we didn't see him for the season ? Hope not another delay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

I remember at the time of Wilshere's injury saying we'd be lucky to get any game time out of him this season. I still think that will be the case. Sagna back in training is great news, hopefully he'll be ready to go soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

I reckon Wilshere will be pushing himself to get at least a month or two gametime due to the Euro's. Doubt he wants to miss out on that. Not saying he wants to miss out on League games or anything, but if it was a nothing summer, he'd probably take as long as needed instead of trying to get back before the end of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,614 ✭✭✭✭cson

http://swissramble.blogspot.com/2011/10/arsenals-finances-21-questions.html

Came across that while having a google on how much the Emirates cost to build.

We are being raped commercially; we're getting half what Spurs are getting for their shirt sponsorship deal and 1/3 of what Liverpool will get for their latest kit deal. Ugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

cson wrote: »
    http://swissramble.blogspot.com/2011/10/arsenals-finances-21-questions.html

Came across that while having a google on how much the Emirates cost to build.

We are being raped commercially; we're getting half what Spurs are getting for their shirt sponsorship deal and 1/3 of what Liverpool will get for their latest kit deal. Ugh.
    I havent read it yet, but I believe we had to sacrifice the big deals in order to get the money we needed for the stadium up front. It's no secret that we got screwed in the long run but I think they are up soon so hopefully we get something better then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,614 ✭✭✭✭cson

Yes, that is the general gist of it. Good idea at the time, needed to secure funds for the stadium but has worked out poorly in the long run. Club was left with no choice but to go for the long termers unfortunately.

Up in 2014.

keano_afc wrote: »
    I remember at the time of Wilshere's injury saying we'd be lucky to get any game time out of him this season. I still think that will be the case. Sagna back in training is great news, hopefully he'll be ready to go soon.

Yeah, I remember you saying that actually and with Verm's absence last year in mind, I've always been assuming that Wilshire's out for the season.

We can survive without him though. Any news on arteta?

gosplan wrote: »
    keano_afc wrote: »

Yeah, I remember you saying that actually and with Verm's absence last year in mind, I've always been assuming that Wilshire's out for the season.

We can survive without him though. Any news on arteta?

Reports say fit for Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

great news if true.

Brilliant. He's the glue that's holding our midfield together IMO. Hopefully he's had a decent rest because we need him to play every game.

Nice simple play, keeps posession and gives both Walcott and Ramsey a dig out while also letting both stick to what they're good at. Basically he's the one balancing our midfield at the moment and ensuring that we dominate posession.

If he and RVP were to stay fit, I can see us putting together a run to overtake Chelsea.

Looks like wilsheres season is over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2092615/Jack-Wilshere-injury-setback-Arsenal-England.html
    Arsenal and England have been hit by the news Jack Wilshere has suffered an injury setback in training.
    The midfielder is yet to feature this season after aggravating an ankle problem on international duty in June, and subsequently undergoing surgery later in the year.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2092615/Jack-Wilshere-injury-setback-Arsenal-England.html#ixzz1kehLcjEs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

FFS-Cover.jpg

Nothing been confirmed yet as of this momment its all hear say, its looks fairly certain that he has suffered a setback but to what extent is the real question. I'll be waiting for wengers press conference now with my breath held.

If it does turn out that he's going to miss the season then surely even wengers will realise he has to spend in the transfer window now more than ever.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Wilshere, Vermaelen, Ramsey, Rosicky, Eduardo, Diaby...

Who'll miss all of next season? My money is on Kos.