If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Official bitch about daily life in UL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Aragneer

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    Hey does anyone know where LCB00x is?

come to think of it, I've no idea where ERB is either?

LCB is the language building I think and ERB is the Engineering building. Both are near the living bridge - LCB is opposite it and ERB is to the right of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Aragneer

Just got the email about Plassey's security for rag week...Sounds like a lot of fun :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

10rooney10 wrote: »
    A quick question lads and lassies ... Do labs and tutorials run in week 1 ?

Week 3 unless the lecturer says otherwise. You'll be told in your first lecture.
    Aragneer wrote: »
    Just got the email about Plassey's security for rag week...Sounds like a lot of fun :/

Oh it's great craic! If you enjoy having to show your ID everytime you want to go into your own house or not being allowed to have a friend over even though you pay 3000e+ in rent, or like being threatened with disciplinary action for having music up at a lower level than it's ever been during the whole year.... /rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Chris Martin

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Oh it's great craic! If you enjoy having to show your ID everytime you want to go into your own house or not being allowed to have a friend over even though you pay 3000e+ in rent, or like being threatened with disciplinary action for having music up at a lower level than it's ever been during the whole year.... /rant

Digs FT(fúcking)W :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Skyrim

Does it take much effort for people to say thanks when you hold the door open for them? Almost like a frasier crane rant :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Skyrim wrote: »
    Does it take much effort for people to say thanks when you hold the door open for them? Almost like a frasier crane rant :P
    Could'n agree with you more held a door open for a whole class and not one of them said thank you I know that collage is hard but surely there is no class that has a workload that makes you forget your manners. Do they think that UL employs door opener.Next time I yell realy loud your welcome at them

Jester252 wrote: »
    Could'n agree with you more held a door open for a whole class and not one of them said thank you I know that collage is hard but surely there is no class that has a workload that makes you forget your manners. Do they think that UL employs door opener.Next time I yell realy loud your welcome at them

I'd say they thought the doors open magically themselves :P. It is bad form though, no excuse for not acknowledging you. I wouldn't mind but i was holding it a while until they got to the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

I'd say they thought the doors open magically themselves :P. It is bad form though, no excuse for not acknowledging you. I wouldn't mind but i was holding it a while until they got to the door.

Mostly women, by any chance? Good luck ever getting a thank you for holding the door in that case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Cossax wrote: »
    Mostly women, by any chance? Good luck ever getting a thank you for holding the door in that case.
    I didn't think of that before but your right

Cossax wrote: »

That's right, she was too busy talking to her friend to notice ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Cherry Blossom Girl

That's right, she was too busy talking to her friend to notice ha.

As a woman of UL I'd like to point out that I always say thank you whenever someone holds or opens a door for me.. We're not all bad :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭OhMSGlive

We're not all bad :p

How many times have we heard that phrase being tossed around? (Mostly by me. :pac:)

I have only two things to complain about today:

1) Weather.
    2) Fecking internet. Again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭[Rasta]

I rarely get a thank you from guys.. only ever from girls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

For the record, I don't demand or expect thank yous for holding open doors, I'm humble like that :D (pushover lol)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

people don't thank you? I make a point of it to hold doors for people (manners bet into me when i young i guess) and I always get a "thanks" or a "sound lad!"

It's only something small, happened to me in the su shop a while back when someone was in a rush i let them ahead of me, didn't even acknowledge me.

Anybody find, with the new id card, that their id number has faded or gone completely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭johnny-fatality

I'd like to try out a society, but any of the ones I'm interested in are either on during my lectures (I have evening lectures, twice a week) or just won't get back to me, despite several emails.

This is my last semester (I'm only here for a year) but I'd really like to have
    some sort of a project or at least to broaden my horizons a bit. I had a lot going on for the last few years in a club, and its left a big gap in my recreational side!

As a newcomer to UL, it seems to be quite difficult to join the kind of socs I'd like to try out- debating, journalism and development.

Maybe they don't want short term people like me, which is understandable enough, but I suppose added to the fact that I'm writing this on campus, slow as phúck, crashy, internet explorer, means at least a Boards rant is in order ;)

Maybe someone can recommend a society to come along to that isn't on a Monday or Thursday evening? There was talk of a non denominational Politics society on Boards a while back, but I don't see it anymore.

Sorry for long post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

Music soc maybe? we're ever so fuuuuuunn.:pac:
    meetings( if you can call them that) wednesday nights as well as open mics monday and random gigs. if you play an instrument or sing its a great stpping stone in setting up a band.

fun little society that asks nothing of you except a love of music and a bit of craic.
    never clashes with lectures either afaik, at least with undergrad i dunno how late in the evening post grad classes are.

Maybe someone can recommend a society to come along to that isn't on a Monday or Thursday evening? There was talk of a non denominational Politics society on Boards a while back, but I don't see it anymore.

Sorry for long post![/QUOTE]
    As far as i know, you can join the politics society at the recruitment drive next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Sorry for long post!
    As far as i know, you can join the politics society at the recruitment drive next week.
    If you're into singing or choral performance the Choral Soc usually rehearse on a Wednesday evening in the Jean Monnet theatre. I really enjoyed my time there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭MiamiMortimer

As a newcomer to UL, it seems to be quite difficult to join the kind of socs I'd like to try out- debating, journalism and development.

Maybe they don't want short term people like me, which is understandable enough, but I suppose added to the fact that I'm writing this on campus, slow as phúck, crashy, internet explorer, means at least a Boards rant is in order ;)

Sorry for long post!

Hey johnny-fatality, I know I speak for DebU when I say that we'd be happy to have you in the society! Short term or not, we're always happy to get new people on board :) We generally have a lot of funny debates alongside the invariable politics ones, so there should be something there to cater for everyone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

that useless shower we call academic administration are now taking 3 weeks to process grant cheques. Do they not realise that people actually require the money for rent and food :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,577 ✭✭✭garv123

NTMK wrote: »
    that useless shower we call academic administration are now taking 3 weeks to process grant cheques. Do they not realise that people actually require the money for rent and food :mad:

Mines in my account already :p

garv123 wrote: »

Mine too. :) Just got in the account on time to send it off to the lovely folks at PCC. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭TheSpecialOne

garv123 wrote: »
    wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Mine too. :) Just got in the account on time to send it off to the lovely folks at PCC. :pac:

Either of ye Limerick City VEC i badly need mine to come in.

I'm Cork County, so I was probably more shocked than anyone that I got my second installment already, last year I didn't get my first payment until the end of April! :\

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Limerick VEC are not in yet so you're looking at the middle to the end of feb if it arrives to ul next week :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭Hybrid_Theory

NTMK wrote: »
    Limerick VEC are not in yet so you're looking at the middle to the end of feb if it arrives to ul next week :(

ARE YOU F**KING SERIOUS????? I NEED that money like now! I've living on pennies!! :(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭johnny-fatality

f0ggy92 wrote: »
    fun little society that asks nothing of you except a love of music and a bit of craic.

Thanks, but I'm more in the market for discussion type thing - I've played music for a number of years and have those needs taken care of. Cheers though.

Sounds good. I'll check it out.
    Cydoniac wrote: »
    If you're into singing or choral performance/QUOTE]

Thanks, but not really my thing (Not that it couldn't be if I had joined when I was starting college, just not at this stage)
    Hey johnny-fatality, I know I speak for DebU when I say that we'd be happy to have you in the society! Short term or not, we're always happy to get new people on board :) We generally have a lot of funny debates alongside the invariable politics ones, so there should be something there to cater for everyone!

Hi Miami, I'd like to come along alright, but the C&S site says that you only meet once a week, on Monday evenings - which is when I've lectures. Do ye meet other times also?
    ARE YOU F**KING SERIOUS????? I NEED that money like now! I've living on pennies!! :(:(

Best of luck Hybrid.