If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Official bitch about daily life in UL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

I hate my new timetable :(
    4 hours of the one module on Monday and 3 9o'clock starts on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday! Tuesday I have one lecture but it's from 3 to 4 so can't do anything else that day and I have a full day Thursday and up until I leave 2 on Friday (leaving to go home at half 2)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,837 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

I had to do a project using abaqus software last semester... This semester I'm going to be shown how to use it -_-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭floutingmaxims

Like the rest of the females in English, I want Dr Coughlan as a tutor.

Was lucky enough to have him as my tutor last semester. Such a lovely guy :D I found Caroline really good too, very approachable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭Hybrid_Theory

Only have one hour off from 9-4 on Tuesdays. Ugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

I keep looking at my timetable with a sinking feeling that the overenthusiastic TA's are going to add extra hours for pointless tutorials and the like...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,577 ✭✭✭garv123

Realised last night at 3 that the results might be out, checked here and clicked into the first thread where people were saying they got their results. I was clicking on the links and they werent working so i eventually gave up. Went on this morning and looked at the dates. Only noticed someone dug up last years thread and I didnt notice when i was looking at it

Now again today theres an official results thread, started looking at that before i realised someone dug up the 2010 thread :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Fecking so many exam threads with likkle first years asking the same questions that are answered in the posts above them :rolleyes::p

\rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

garv123 wrote: »
    Realised last night at 3 that the results might be out, checked here and clicked into the first thread where people were saying they got their results. I was clicking on the links and they werent working so i eventually gave up. Went on this morning and looked at the dates. Only noticed someone dug up last years thread and I didnt notice when i was looking at it

Now again today theres an official results thread, started looking at that before i realised someone dug up the 2010 thread :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Fecking so many exam threads with likkle first years asking the same questions that are answered in the posts above them :rolleyes::p

\rant

I reckon someone should put together an FAQ guide and Sticky it... these questions are asked every year, and so far today I've read the words "Ammm so if I have twenty six D1's but my QCA is 4.0 do I have to repeat?" about 20 times.

\rant

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    I reckon someone should put together an FAQ guide and Sticky it... these questions are asked every year, and so far today I've read the words "Ammm so if I have twenty six D1's but my QCA is 4.0 do I have to repeat?" about 20 times.

\rant

Wel do you have to or not? I couldn't find the answer between all the answers

garv123 wrote: »
    Wel do you have to or not? I couldn't find the answer between all the answers

Please God in heaven tell me you're trolling? :(

TrollFaceDancing.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭Hybrid_Theory

What building is "P" in the timetables? 0.o

Is it PE by any chance? Dont know any marked just P

It's the PE building.

Timetable explanations from the same place you get the timetable...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Skyrim

I'm off on co-op for a few months. How is the co-op visit organised? Does the lecturer just contact you by email to set a date to visit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Nolimits12

Skyrim wrote: »
    I'm off on co-op for a few months. How is the co-op visit organised? Does the lecturer just contact you by email to set a date to visit?

Mine was a phone call from a lecturer like a few other class members, our HOD went to visit some colleagues in USA but only because he was there anyway. Basically its going to be a main lecturer from your course , course leader, HOD, etc.. But I may be wrong as my course is small.. Oh and its completely unexpected! You will have no idea when it happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭1huge1

All I got was a email when I was on coop in Germany that sounded very generic and included a small form that I had to fill in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭RovinPirate

Came back today, freezer off, something had leaked all over the floor and gone moldy (nothing in the freezer or fridge)
    And reception is closed! Ughh every time I go to reception it's closed, what a joke. All I want to know is when the Tv's come back and I wanted to get a recycle and food-waste bag. Half the time our recycle stuff ends up in the rubbish bin.
    Also, was a cleaning inspection done in plassey? we had no note or email to say it was, i thought there was meant to be one while we were gone?
    And why wasn't there a note to say they'd taken the tv? I thought we'd been robbed D:

Came back today, freezer off, something had leaked all over the floor and gone moldy (nothing in the freezer or fridge)
    And reception is closed! Ughh every time I go to reception it's closed, what a joke. All I want to know is when the Tv's come back and I wanted to get a recycle and food-waste bag. Half the time our recycle stuff ends up in the rubbish bin.
    Also, was a cleaning inspection done in plassey? we had no note or email to say it was, i thought there was meant to be one while we were gone?
    And why wasn't there a note to say they'd taken the tv? I thought we'd been robbed D:

They take ye're TV's in Plassey? Jaysus lads I know tis a rough place out there, but seriously? You sure it wasn't broken or that one of your housemates didn't take it into their room over the holidays to connect a games console to the internet?

And nothing worse than coming back to a freezer off... Last year, they shut off the power in Dromroe over the Christmas because pipes had burst, came back and had to throw about 100quid's worth of food out of the freezer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭1huge1

They took your TV? thats very strange, I mean you are paying rent over christmas and are perfectly in your right to stay there all over the holidays, are you sure wnolan1992 isn't right and one of your housemates put it into his or her room?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Kiyomumizu

The put them into a bedroom for obvious reasons that some people would go away for 5 weeks and leave everything in view with open curtains. It was actually a pretty conscientious thing to put away the TV's for safekeeping!!

If you came back on a Saturday, the people that work there are entitled to a day off!! Just be more prepared if you are coming on a day they might be closed and maybe just get a few bags before you go away for Christmas.

We all got e-mail about house inspections before Christmas.

Instead of bad mouthing them you should maybe talk to them first!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭RovinPirate

Lol, no one took them into their rooms, I asked all my house mates and we spent a week thinking we'd been robbed but reception was closed so i couldn't ask about it (I came into the house over the new year to get a few bits and noticed it was gone. It was the 2nd, the reception wasn't open again till the 9th, fair enough they need christmas holidays too.)

I'm not so much annoyed that it's gone, more that there was no note to say it was them, had to find out off a second year mate of mine that one of the maintenance guys took the tv.

They send us emails for random trivial stuff, don't see why we didn't get one for this is all ^^

Lol, no one took them into their rooms, I asked all my house mates and we spent a week thinking we'd been robbed but reception was closed so i couldn't ask about it (I came into the house over the new year to get a few bits and noticed it was gone. It was the 2nd, the reception wasn't open again till the 9th, fair enough they need christmas holidays too.)

I'm not so much annoyed that it's gone, more that there was no note to say it was them, had to find out off a second year mate of mine that one of the maintenance guys took the tv.

They send us emails for random trivial stuff, don't see why we didn't get one for this is all ^^

That's really odd.... they didn't take our TV's.... although, in fairness, what self respecting thief would steal one of the TV's from Dromroe! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Mikel91

That's really odd.... they didn't take our TV's.... although, in fairness, what self respecting thief would steal one of the TV's from Dromroe! :pac:

Our TV in plassey was robbed last year during the middle of a semester :(

We had a ****e TV for weeks!The volume only went up,never down.We got a better one in the end but still,the damage was done!

But yeah over the holidays they take them(Unless you stay there me thinks, which is why they ask you when your leaving)

They just put the in locked bedrooms!! That's not really taking them?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭KatyBob

There's nothing open til half 8 roughly!! Can't say no to a free lift but it's cold! /rant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 10rooney10

A quick question lads and lassies ... Do labs and tutorials run in week 1 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,652 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

10rooney10 wrote: »

Depends on the module and the course. If you check your timetable and look under the module code it will say what weeks it runs "3-11, 13-14"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭OhMSGlive

10rooney10 wrote: »

In general, no. But it all depends on the module. Check with your lecturer just to be sure. If you've a lab before a lecture, you're safe to skip it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

Hey does anyone know where LCB00x is?

come to think of it, I've no idea where ERB is either?