If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Swim, Bike, Run....if only it was that simple!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭El Director

Fri Morn 6th Jan - Little Christmas

Plan Club Swim Session
    Actual NAC 25m Session

Did not get up in time for club session (god can't wait to be back to work and routine!) So I just repeated the last club session I did 2 weeks ago now. Again NAC was 25m format so easy to compare this mornings session with two weeks ago.

20x 50m sw, off 1 min, coming in on between:
    48-51 sec(better than before Christmas).

16x 50m kick off 1:30:
    1-4 1:07/10; 5-8 1:05/07;
    9-12 1:02/04;
    13-16 0:55/1:01

Did not mean to descend but was feeling good, these were way better than before christmas.

7x 150m off 2:50:

2:27/2:31/2:34/2:32/2:31/2:32/2:27

These were about 3 sec faster than before Christmas :eek:!
    100 bc to finish off.

Odd that I performed better in post christmas but I'll take that!

Time 1:10
    Dist 2,950m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Nice swimming but I do hope that's your last entry and the new log gets unveiled tomorrow! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭BTH

pgibbo wrote: »
    Nice swimming but I do hope that's your last entry and the new log gets unveiled tomorrow! :D

I'm with PG on this. Get your finger out!!

Fri Afternoon 6th Dec

Plan 45 min easy run
    Actual 21 min painful run :(

Well went for my 45 min easy run but had to head back to the house, only got 21 mins done. While my right quad and achilles are 100% after Sunday, my right knee still has a dull pain on the outside of it. It was getting worse so I decided best not to aggravate it. Hopefully it's nothing but after some discussion with my coach who really seemed to pin it down. We have a fairly good idea that it may be an IT band issue. Things were going so well so fingers crossed it won't be too bad, not going to waste anytime - booking in with the physio on Monday. Depression already slightly setting in :(

Anyway refocus on what I did do. Despite a solid swim session this morning I felt unfit on the run. Thats fine I knew that'd be the case but always confident that a week of consistent training/running will sort me out. My weight hasn't actually gone up too much so thats good.

Regarding fitness I am firmly of the opinion that running is a great indicator. I feel I can get away with a drop in fitness in the pool and on the bike but on the run it's entirely different. Once I feel fit while running my confidence is high. Anyway thats just a side note for today.

Time 21min
    Dist 4.5km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Regarding fitness I am firmly of the opinion that running is a great indicator. I feel I can get away with a drop in fitness in the pool and on the bike but on the run it's entirely different. Once I feel fit while running my confidence is high. Anyway thats just a side note for today.

I don't know, and maybe I am biased, but I think that you can use your swimming performance as your measuring stick of fitness especially, perhaps, if your less-than-stellar running performance is due to injury (I am assuming that injuries are part of this equation, please correct me if I'm wrong). I also feel that of the three disciplines, swimming will be the least forgiving in this respect, thus shaming you without hesitation if you are slipping. Bottom line, get that confidence up, you're probably in better shape than you think, take care of your niggles, and perhaps spend a little more time in the pool while your running parts are on the mend. :)

@P Gibbo & BTH Patience,patience lads! Just finalising this years races, goals and objectives with the coach, once this is done I will have it up. Very hopeful for today some time.

@Dory Dory Well dude, the under par running is due to the excesses of Christmas but I knew that after a few runs under the belt I'd scrape back that top layer of "unfitness". Well now we'll have to see how I manage the injury, chatting to the coach later today. I was on the bike on Thurs and the knee gave no bother and the pool twice with no issues so cross training will surely be part of keeping me fit while I sort this out.

Re which sport is best for gauging fitness, well I "feel" more unfit while running after lets say two weeks of excess (ie Christmas) even though I kept up the running during that period. I also kept up the swimming to a lesser degree yet I still feel stronger in the pool. Now had I been foregoing the swimming in that period I know I'd struggle in the pool as losing the feel for the water can make your sluggish when you return. That's why I try not to let any gap in swimming training, I know how important it is to be in the pool at least 3 times per week. Even last summer I upped it to 5 times per week, 2 recover/drills sessions. I feel this was what made me so confident in the swim last season. Hope that makes sense :)

Sat 7th Dec

Plan 2-3 hour Bike
    Actual 2 hour turbo

Although a lovely day out for a spin and I had hoped to be out as it's been a month since I've been outside on the bike. Alas I decided to turbo just in case my knee acted up. I started off very timidly and I built into it, I had no issues and for the last 40 mins really picked it up even forgetting about the knee. Pleasing and relieving to know that if the running must be curtailed then at least I can keep the biking and swimming up.

CAD 89; WATT 180

Time 2hrs
    Dist 54.1km

New log tomorrow? God I hope so, mad to kill this one now for a new one :)

Well this is best done graphically, numbers and charts do not lie :)

First of all hours of training across the two periods:

picture.php?albumid=1633&pictureid=11656

Swim in km's:

picture.php?albumid=1633&pictureid=11655

Bike in km's:

picture.php?albumid=1633&pictureid=11653

Run in km's:

picture.php?albumid=1633&pictureid=11654

Well over the two periods it was running that was the main focus. After Base 1 I hit a new 5k PB by quite a bit. That was off mainly easy, consistent running. Delighted with that. Base 2 was always going to be tough given the time of the year so I was going to be happy with maintaining my fitness and that is more or less what I did. I missed only 3 sessions out of about 90 so really happy with that. It is a pity about the injury but I really hope to get it sorted pronto.

I now have about 5 months to my first A race and if I could put 5 months of consistent training behind me then it could be a great season, we'll see. I will be chatting to my coach tomorrow and we will see how to proceed with the injury and what lies ahead in the next few months. I must say, despite the injury, I am excited and once again "keen to see what the future may hold" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Redmond101

So you know what the exact problem with the knee is? Hopefully it will be sorted soon, you've had a very good base period and doing very well

Redmond101 wrote: »
    So you know what the exact problem with the knee is? Hopefully it will be sorted soon, you've had a very good base period and doing very well

Not sure Redmond of the exact problem yet, seeing my physio ASAP, but we suspect it's an IT band problem. Going for a light run shortly just to test the waters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭griffin100

I'm sure it's an IT problem, this would explain why there's no new log :)

griffin100 wrote: »
    I'm sure it's an IT problem, this would explain why there's no new log :)

LOL funny stuff grif!

Sun 8th Jan

Plan 30 min easy run
    Actual 25 min very easy, 3 min walk

Well this was just to see how I am and I started off very very easy. It was baby steps though, I started off thinking "o this isn't too bad" but I just knew I couldn't up it or I'd be in pain. I didn't open up and by 25 min I had to walk. It actually pleased me that I was able to do any running at all and 25 min isn't bad-now it was shuffling but still :)

Time 27:52
    Dist 4.8km

So this is the last bit of training to be posted here, my next post will be a link to my new log.

After 19 PB's this log has served me well...adiós :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Redmond101

Congrats, this log has held my attention for the last few months, looking forward to the next one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Fazz

Just a quick note on the injury.

Looking at your logs it seems surely the most likely cause was the significant increase in running last week?

I mean you jumped from an average of around 35km up to doing 60km in 1 week! 50%+ increase :eek:

I presume this has entered your mind as a probable cause and lesson learned?

We've all learned that running is the god damn most sensitive area for injuries compared to swim and bike. and whilst it's easy to go for a big week the old text books and experience just says no more than 10% increase at a time etc.

I know personally I've tried the jumping in volume, legs saying no and learning the hard way myself anyway so hopefully that's all it is and you can get back on the train after a week or two of moderate running?

Ironically I've actually gone the other way, and been complaining to my coach that the runs are too easy and am I really gaining anything as felt not enough intensity or volume etc. (similar to you I'm in base 2). I'm averaging 35-40km's a week without any real LSR work yet. Couldn't imagine a jump to 60km in 1 week without issues.
    Anyway I've come around to my coach's plan and have seen the benefits of easy Base1-2 work and legs feel stronger as a result - and a recent 5k pb also proved it worked for me but I know we're all different.

Training looks solid well done. Some solid hours and consistency there. I hope the leg is grand and you continue into 2012's log without issue. Nice log.

Fazz wrote: »
    Just a quick note on the injury.

Looking at your logs it seems surely the most likely cause was the significant increase in running last week?

I mean you jumped from an average of around 35km up to doing 60km in 1 week! 50%+ increase :eek:

I presume this has entered your mind as a probable cause and lesson learned?

We've all learned that running is the god damn most sensitive area for injuries compared to swim and bike. and whilst it's easy to go for a big week the old text books and experience just says no more than 10% increase at a time etc.

I know personally I've tried the jumping in volume, legs saying no and learning the hard way myself anyway so hopefully that's all it is and you can get back on the train after a week or two of moderate running?

Ironically I've actually gone the other way, and been complaining to my coach that the runs are too easy and am I really gaining anything as felt not enough intensity or volume etc. (similar to you I'm in base 2). I'm averaging 35-40km's a week without any real LSR work yet. Couldn't imagine a jump to 60km in 1 week without issues.
    Anyway I've come around to my coach's plan and have seen the benefits of easy Base1-2 work and legs feel stronger as a result - and a recent 5k pb also proved it worked for me but I know we're all different.

Training looks solid well done. Some solid hours and consistency there. I hope the leg is grand and you continue into 2012's log without issue. Nice log.

Hey Fazz, certainly the increase in running km's is a factor, it could also be one of these or a combination:

A) increase in km's
    B) a change of runners
    C) a muscle imbalance
    D) the fact I was driving a different car for the last few weeks???

So who knows. Important thing to do now is get it seen to (Weds morn) and follow Whatever instruction I get. For this week however there will be no running and only easy cycling if any at all. Plenty of swimming then :) and rolling and stretching. Certainly lessons learned.

Great news for re the 5k PB. I did a similar thing off mainly easy running but it was very consistent and happened over only 8 weeks, so I see good potential. What are your plans for 2012 Fazz? The very best of luck anyway.

New log is ready to go, first post already wrote, just want to put the finishing touches to the race schedule and goals/objectives. :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

If running is an issue I'd limit cycling until you have it seen too, sometimes cycling will just make it worse especially if it's ITB related.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

I got injured driving about 18 months ago. Calf strain and out for a few weeks. I blame that injury on my lack of enthusiasm to earn to drive ever since. Too risky ;)

I've had people mention driving to me when they're injured. "Do you think it's the clutch? I usually drive an automatic"

"I doubt it somehow, it's your right calf thats injured..."

Athletes in denial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

The suspense is killing us... c'mon hurry up and launch the new log! :)

Hey Fazz, certainly the increase in running km's is a factor, it could also be one of these or a combination:

A) increase in km's
    B) a change of runners
    C) a muscle imbalance
    D) the fact I was driving a different car for the last few weeks???

So who knows. Important thing to do now is get it seen to (Weds morn) and follow Whatever instruction I get. For this week however there will be no running and only easy cycling if any at all. Plenty of swimming then :) and rolling and stretching. Certainly lessons learned.

Great news for re the 5k PB. I did a similar thing off mainly easy running but it was very consistent and happened over only 8 weeks, so I see good potential. What are your plans for 2012 Fazz? The very best of luck anyway.

New log is ready to go, first post already wrote, just want to put the finishing touches to the race schedule and goals/objectives. :)

Have to say I'd vote A from your list all day long, but that's just going on my legs anyway.
    I went through changing runners, but that was more tweaks to feet such as arches etc which could lead to injuries alright.

Anyway, my plans for 2012 are prob the same as yours really I'd say.
    Try to break into top 10 at NS races and catch Bambaata (he has a target on his back for you too right? ;):D )
    And give Galway 70.3 a big shot if all goes well.
    Lot of work and speed to catch up on though so it's a challenge, but that's what goals are for!

We should try sort some similar races to have a few showdowns.
    Bambaata is in for the Sportsman Duathlons I believe, as am I.
    Anyone doing the Naas duathlon on 22nd Jan?

Now come on sir it's time for 2012 log already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Now come on sir it's time for 2012 log already.

Where's yours? ;)

+1 on the sudden increase in distance. I concur from experience

Bambaata has a shedload of targets on his back at this stage, why do you think he is as good as he is. I can get to T2 with him and then off he shoots :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Bambaata has a shedload of targets on his back at this stage, why do you think he is as good as he is. I can get to T2 with him and then off he shoots :(

haha i seem to be the carrot here on the stick! That was a long time ago Mike! Im sure things are different now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭Bambaata

I seem to be quite lucky as i never seem to have issues with sporadic run distance. even in the past i could go 10k one week after missing sessions to 50-60 and be ok and when rolling the ITB its never bad, actually feels nice! Fingers crossed for you ElD that this gets put right sooner rather than later. Twud be a serious shame to lose a chunk of time as things seem to be going extremely well.
    Try to break into top 10 at NS races and catch Bambaata (he has a target on his back for you too right? ;):D )

We should try sort some similar races to have a few showdowns.
    Bambaata is in for the Sportsman Duathlons I believe, as am I.
    Bring it on lads ;-)

My calender is probably something like this:
    • Raheny 5mile 29/01/2012
    • Sportsmans Duathlon 19/02/2012
    • Sportsmans Duathlon 18/03/2012
    • North Tipp Sprint 14/04/2012 or Joey Hannan Sprint 29/04/2012. Tried finding a sprint 3 weeks before Mallorca but can only find some 2 weeks before. Standard is also on the same day but Im thinking sprint would be better as less recovery needed
    • Mallorca 70.3 12/05/2012 - Registered
    • TriAthy Sprint 03/06/2012
    • Pulse Bull Wall Aquathlon Series Race 1 13/06/2012
    • Rosslare Pikeman Oly Distance 07/07/2012
    • Pulse Bull Wall Aquathlon Series Race 2 11/07/2012
    • Lough Neagh Oly Distance or TriGrandPrix Kilkenny (Sprint or Oly) 28/07/2012
    • Wicklow Tri Amphibian King Aquathlon Series Race 3 15/08/2012
    • Trying to find a sprint again about 2 to 3 weeks before Kenmare but nothing really there other than DCT standard or Try-A-Tri (400/18/4.5)
    • Kenmare Middle Distance 08/09/2012
    • Possibly Lanza 70.3 in November but I'm not going to decide for a while as it would really stretch out the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Bambaata wrote: »
    haha i seem to be the carrot here on the stick! That was a long time ago Mike! Im sure things are different now!

Yeah you are right, I'd only make to T1 with you now :cool:

Edit: Brian Boru sprint is on 5 August I think. That would be a month before Kenmare and its nice and hilly too with a little climb on both the bike and run (750/20/7.5)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭griffin100

Tri795 is also on 5th August. It's a short pool swim but the bike and run are tough enough. The 4th place finisher described it as a 'mini beast of the east' last year in his race report. I'll even be there to marshal and cheer you on :)

Bambaata wrote: »

Bring it on lads ;-)

My calender is probably something like this:
    • TriAthy Sprint 03/06/2012

I'll see you at the above 3 at least so.
    Aquathlons a maybe.

My fixed races so far are:
    • Hell and Back 10k 29/01/2012
    • TBC UCD 5k/Adare 10k 25/02/2012
    • Sportsmans Duathlon 15/04/2012
    • Joey Hannon Oly 29/04/2012
    • Valentia Sprint 12/05/2012
    • TriAthy Oly 02/06/2012
    • TriAthy Sprint 03/06/2012 - only if I feel able!
    • Kilkee Oly 23/06/2012
    • Athlone Oly 30/06/2012
    • Galway 70.3 02/09/2012

Couple of other options such as Beast, Dunmore, B Boru, Caroline Kearney but will depend how season is going and NS points etc.
    Swapping Athy sprint for Dunmore is prob sensible or canning Athy Oly but I'll see what happens closer to date.

Sportsman Duathlon first so I think you had 2 mins on me last time.

Wow a lot of last minute activity here! Well although the second half of the season has not been nailed down yet and my objectives are subject to change I'm just going to post a link now to the new log...the pressure has got to me :)

Looks like TriAthy Sprint is were it will all go down ;)

Me? A target on Bambaata's back? Never! Wouldn't dream of it :cool:

Off to physio now

So here it is....bye to this log....may you sink to the bottom of the "old log ocean floor" :(

Where's yours? ;)

+1 on the sudden increase in distance. I concur from experience

Ignoring this bit Fazz??

Where's yours?

Sure who'd want to follow my pathetic training!! :D