If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Denver Broncos Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Tebow becomes the first athlete to grace the cover of Sports Illustrated twice in a row.

tumblr_lw7xouUS501qf54gyo1_500.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,173 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Eh you sure about that?!

November 28th 2011
    1128_large.jpg

December 5th 2011
    1205_large.jpg

December 12th 2011
    1212_large.jpg

December 19th 2011
    1219_large.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Just posted it from twitter. Don't shoot the messenger, obviously a mistake, or maybe they meant first NFL athlete twice in a row.

Twice in a month though, not bad going.

Ah your grand...just making sure someone wasn't filling you with ****!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Tebow is on the cover of every single issue of WINNING Illustrated.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

It's as if the terrible "winning" Charlie Sheen meme has been attached to Tebow, getting pretty tedious. Not having a dig at Neil3030 btw just timing.

mayordenis wrote: »
    It's as if the terrible "winning" Charlie Sheen meme has been attached to Tebow, getting pretty tedious. Not having a dig at Neil3030 btw just timing.

But Tebow actually wins.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

Syferus wrote: »
    There were rumours Belichick was interested in drafting Tebow as a project QB in the later rounds in 2010, imagine this forum if that had transpired!

what, like they way they have drafted Mallet? letting him develop, earn his place as no 2 during the off season and keep him developing to be ready to face NFL? If Pats ahd drafted him, there certainly wouldnt be any talk of Tebow, at all to be honest.

I still maintain the Jags should have taken him though. Just the media interest, and being still in Florida, it would have had a serious boost for them. Sure look how Tebow alone (;)) has turned around the whole franchise in Denver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Broncos were on Sound FX this week.
    Was on the NFL site but in 2 parts, here's a vid with both together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

bruschi wrote: »
    what, like they way they have drafted Mallet? letting him develop, earn his place as no 2 during the off season and keep him developing to be ready to face NFL? If Pats ahd drafted him, there certainly wouldnt be any talk of Tebow, at all to be honest.

I still maintain the Jags should have taken him though. Just the media interest, and being still in Florida, it would have had a serious boost for them. Sure look how Tebow alone (;)) has turned around the whole franchise in Denver.

I figure the law of sod would be Brady got injured half way through the 2010 season and Hoyer plays badly and the Patriots fans become as rabid for Tebow as Denver did this season. :pac:

The reality is, though, Tebow would still be huge box office, even with an unquestioned starter, he's simply the sort of player the media won't not fixate on. Going forward a few years as Brady would near his end and the calls for Tebow would increase I imagine the QB controversy would have ended up being as close to armageddon as one has ever got - in the end, there would be huge pressure attached to follow up on Brady, something that Denver's inconsistent form since the Elway years didn't saddle him with.

And none of that is to say it would have been hugely beatifical for Tebow to sit behind Brady and see one of he best pocket passers in history practice, prepare and execute for a few years, never mind having a small breather from the 24/7 Tebow cycle, just that it would have ended in tears for someone either way!

Fully agree about the Jaguars, the #1 pick on their board should have been Tebow, and the fact they didn't want to take the one guy would could establish the Jags in Jacksonville was very telling for the future of that franchise in Jacksonvile, never mind the track record of the new owner.

I figure the law of sod would be Brady got injured half way through the 2010 season and Hoyer plays badly and the Patriots fans become as rabid for Tebow as Denver did this season. :pac:

The reality is, though, Tebow would still be huge box office, even with an unquestioned starter, he's simply the sort of player the media won't not fixate on. Going forward a few years as Brady would near his end and the calls for Tebow would increase I imagine the QB controversy would have ended up being as close to armageddon as one has ever got - in the end, there would be huge pressure attached to follow up on Brady, something that Denver's inconsistent form since the Elway years didn't saddle him with.

And none of that is to say it would have been hugely beatifical for Tebow to sit behind Brady and see one of he best pocket passers in history practice, prepare and execute for a few years, never mind having a small breather from the 24/7 Tebow cycle, just that it would have ended in tears for someone either way!

Fully agree about the Jaguars, the #1 pick on their board should have been Tebow, and the fact they didn't want to take the one guy would could establish the Jags in Jacksonville was very telling for the future of that franchise in Jacksonvile, never mind the track record of the new owner.

yeah, who knows sure! Tebow getting his buddy Jesus to strike down on other players again!

In fairness, its hard not to like Tebow. Yeah he can be a bit cringing and OTT on the Jesus stuff, but he seems a decent guy and stuff like that video of him chatting to the opposition is great. not so sure I'd be too happy tho if I heard Brady asking Urlacher what he thought of Florida and fishing, but as a person, its hard to dislike him.

My main gripe, which I've said all along, is the whole media and fans hyping of him. He is improving a bit as he goes on, but I still dont rate him much as a player. Its hard to argue his value as Denver have the wins, but I can just see a huge bubble bursting. For his own sake, it probably would have been easier to settle long term if he wasnt on this great run of wins, but its hard to argue against a guy who is doing that, winning. I actually would like to see him succeed and prove a lot of doubters wrong, but I think his whole playing style would have to change somewhat for that to happen.

Oh, when the bubble indeed bursts he will plummet from grace like a dart.

HOWEVER, while it lasts, I say everyone sit back and enjoy the ride!

#ALL HE DOES IS WIN
    #ALL HE, ALL HE DOES IS WIN

I'm actually looking forward to seeing him on Sunday night. As much highlights and partial games I've seen him in, I still have not watched a full 60 minutes of Denver with him starting. its usually best to wait til the fourht quarter ;).

will be interesting to see how he goes against the leagues worst pass defence.

Neil3030 wrote: »
    Oh, when the bubble indeed bursts he will plummet from grace like a dart.

HOWEVER, while it lasts, I say everyone sit back and enjoy the ride!

#ALL HE DOES IS WIN
    #ALL HE, ALL HE DOES IS WIN

I don't think so. Sure, the streak of comebacks will end at some point, the Broncos may go through some rough patches next season, but if Elway and the Broncos follow through on their promises to do everything in their power to develop Tebow as a passer (who better to learn from than John Elway?) over the off-season - and he's already proven this year he's as clutch as any QB in history and that he can protect the football - and build their roster around their strengths then Tebowmania has a serious chance at being around for a decade or more.

Tebow is, whatever you think about him as a quarterback, a transcendent athlete that will inspire alot of love and alot of hatred for his entire career. More and more teams are opting for dual-threat QBs, or at the very least mobile QBs so there'll be alot of demand for Tebow if for some reason it doesn't work out at the Broncos, something that is becoming less and less likely with every passing week.

ENGLEWOOD, Colo. – On a winter day in 2010, Tim Tebow sat alone in a hotel meeting room with Ken Herock, a former NFL general manager who tutors players on how to approach important team meetings at the NFL scouting combine. The topic was a perception among NFL teams that Tebow was successful in college only because of the University of Florida’s offensive system, a notion upheld by the failure of Alex Smith to thrive in the NFL after having played for Tebow’s coach, Urban Meyer, when Meyer was at Utah.
    “A lot of people are comparing you to Alex Smith because you run the same offense … ” Herock started when Tebow suddenly cut him off.

“Now hold on there, Mr. Herock,” Tebow said. “That’s where the comparisons end. I won the Heisman Trophy. I won a national championship two times.”

He said it not with arrogance, although the words could have been parsed that way, but rather with an assuredness Tebow rarely reveals in his public interviews. It is the kind of thing the Denver Broncos see all the time, the reason many of the team’s assistant coaches have come to love his determination and players faithfully follow him into games they now believe they can win. It’s perhaps why the Broncos are 7-1 since Tebow became the starting quarterback.

“He has a passion about himself, he’s very confident,” Broncos general manager Brian Xanders said.

The temptation is to look at Tebow’s serene smiles in news conferences, watch him shrug shyly at questions about his abilities, listen to him talk about Jesus and think he is a man who plays football simply to spread the word of the Bible. The image is of a marginally skilled player who believes the Lord will slice holes in the defense or find a way to get a receiver open downfield.

And yet inside the Broncos’ complex, conversations about Tebow go on for half an hour without a mention of God or religion or their most famous player’s spirituality. The talk is instead about a man who is driven, who arrives early in the morning and leaves long after most of his teammates have departed. In college Tebow was famous for declarations of hard work but that seemed more about lifting weights and running sprints. Now that he is in the NFL, his diligence is in improving his throwing and studying opponents. The phrase most often attributed to him is not about God but rather, “Tell me how I can get better.”

Want a reason the Broncos are in first place in the AFC West with what amounts to a two-game lead over the Oakland Raiders? It is Tebow’s obsessive preparation.

The hour doesn’t matter. It could be 9 p.m., maybe 10, but at some point every night the phone of Broncos quarterbacks coach Adam Gase will ring and Tim Tebow will be on the line.

“I’ve been watching film,” Tebow will say. Then a string of questions: What happens if a defensive player moves a certain way? How should he go? And what about the receivers? Are there other options?

Quietly, Tebow has dazzled the Broncos coaches with his deep understanding of complex offenses. When he showed up to the team’s suite for his interview with the staff at last year’s combine, he immediately rattled off the principles of his offense at Florida. But then he launched into Norv Turner’s digit system as well as the Patriots’ offense, which the Broncos were also using. The coaches were stunned. How had he learned all this?

He watched lots of video at Florida, he told them. While other players went out at night, he loaded films of various offenses in his computer and studied and studied and studied until they were locked in his memory.

“That part of it was very unique to me,” said Gase, who has been with two other NFL teams as an assistant. “I never heard of a college guy who would know so much about offenses outside of college.”

Yes, Herock said, when told about this. He knew.

“I’ll tell you what probably happened,” Herock said. “His agent, Jimmy Sexton, probably told him which teams would want to talk to him at the combine. And he probably said, ‘What kind of questions are they going to ask me?’ Then he went and studied all of their offenses so he knew them really well.”

For instance, when Tebow first appeared at the Senior Bowl amid much criticism over his throwing motion, he shocked the Miami Dolphins coaching staff that had been assigned to coach his team that week by regurgitating their entire offense for them.

“I guarantee you that offense they are running there in Denver now, he put a lot of it in,” Herock said. “I bet he has a lot of input on what they are running up there.”

Because head coach John Fox retained most of the offensive coaches from Josh McDaniels’ staff last year, the Broncos kept the same offense. Inserted in that was the “Tebow Package,” which mostly consisted of option and Wildcat plays best suited to take advantage of Tebow’s running ability. When Fox made Tebow the starting quarterback in October, the offensive coaches took the Tebow Package and made it central to their attack, adding new wrinkles every week. The ease with which they made such an extreme transition from a passing to running team, they said, was because Tebow worked so hard to learn new plays, asking endless questions and suggesting what to add.

“He prepares extremely hard as far as his film study and the time he spends with [offensive coordinator] Mike McCoy,” Gase said. “He’s working every angle that he can. Asking everything. ‘What about my footwork? What about when I am under center? What do I do here?’ ”

Tim Tebow's lowest QB rating as a starter this season happened in Week 8 against the Lions, when he posted a 56.8. His highest QB rating happened against the Vikings in Week 13, when he had a 149.3.

Nothing is more important than footwork. This is where the Broncos coaches believe Tebow will thrive next. Last year they left a six-hour, pre-draft visit with the quarterback in Gainesville, Fla., amazed at how he had blown away all other quarterbacks’ scores on a list of qualities they deemed essential. These included: loving the game, competitiveness, leadership, arm strength, understanding offenses, an ability to avoid pass rushes, resilience and composure. They were convinced if they could work on his accuracy and footwork he would come to be seen as a great draft pick.

And so this year it is Gase, who coached receivers last season, spending hours with Tebow on the practice field working on how he steps back from center – something he rarely did at Florida – and throws the ball. For 30 minutes before every practice and 30 minutes afterward, they work on gliding back and stepping forward.

“Everything has to do with his feet,” Gase said. “Before, his body was going in one direction and his arm was going in another direction. As we get him more balanced, his throws become smoother and more accurate.”

What they couldn’t have understood before they drafted him was how much he would practice this. “He’s taken thousands of [extra] reps,” Gase said. When practice turns to defensive drills and the other offensive players rest, Tebow grabs a ball and begins working on his backpedaling, repeating each new technique until it starts to feel natural.

“He’s improved a lot the last few weeks,” Gase said, pointing to throws Tebow made in the Broncos’ last two wins he probably couldn’t have made only a few weeks earlier when the Broncos were merely running an option attack with few passes.

“He’s becoming a much better NFL quarterback,” Fox said. “I think that little variance was to get us to this point. You can’t be one-dimensional in this league. Everybody catches up with that. People are doing different things to stop our running game but they are opening up things in our passing.”

When you talk to Tebow alone, in a back hallway of the Broncos’ practice facility, away from the stampede of cameras that often surround him, you find him to be goofy. It’s not an awkward goofiness, but more of a silliness. He laughs a lot, even when discussing serious things. Third-string quarterback Adam Weber, the man who has a locker next to Tebow’s both at the practice facility and at the stadium, said Tebow is effusive before games, bouncing around the locker room, calling encouragement to teammates in a buildup of energy that seems almost ready to explode onto the field.

“Then he flips a switch,” Gase said.

And Tebow is suddenly calm. Around the Broncos they find this unique, even in a sport where players are required to channel different intensity on and off the field. This, they say, is how he manages to pull the offense together, making some of his best runs and throws late in games.

On Sunday, when the Broncos emerged from their deepest abyss yet in pulling out an overtime victory over the Chicago Bears, Case walked up to Tebow on the sideline and said with a coach’s anxiety, “Why do we have to do it this way every time?”

Tebow smiled tranquilly and said, “We have time.”

“That’s the beauty of him,” Gase said. “There’s a calmness and a composure when the game is tight. He’s smart with the football.”

“I definitely think you have to have an edge,” Tebow said this week as he stood outside the Broncos’ locker room. One of his favorite things to read is a book of quotations put together by a strength and conditioning coach he worked with that contains the words “The Edge” in the title. The coach loaned it to Tebow years ago and the quarterback refuses to return it despite pleas that he does.

“Technically, I stole it,” Tebow said.

It is in this pilfered manuscript where Tebow finds some of his inspiration.

“I think the way that you train should have an edge,” Tebow said. “And the way you work out should have an edge.”

He was asked about the perception that because he speaks so much about his faith and seems so serene on the field that he might not have to prepare diligently. He laughed.

“It’s unfortunate, but a lot of people do think Christians have to be soft,” he said. “But the man we are following is the toughest of all time in Jesus Christ. You have to go through obstacles and adversity. That’s what provides endurance for the future.” Then Tebow paused for a moment.

“God has everything in his hands but he also says, ‘Do unto the Lord with all your heart,’ ” he continued. “Just because you are a Christian, God doesn’t want you … not be the hardest worker. It’s just the opposite. He wants you to work harder.”

And so he does. And so he arrives early in the morning and goes home in the evening with tapes of not just the Broncos’ offense and their opponent’s defense but of players he would like to emulate (“I’ve seen thousands of cuts of Tom Brady,” he said this week). All of it in a diligent preparation to become the quarterback he believes he is. All of it to justify those words spoken on that winter day when asked what he thought of the player who ran the same college offense but had until then been considered a major risk …

“Now hold on there … that’s where the comparisons end … “

http://sports.yahoo.com/nfl/news?slug=lc-carpenter_tim_tebow_alex_smith_draft_broncos_121411

spiralism wrote: »

For anyone not bothered to read that whole piece, allow me summarise:

"He watches a lot of film."

I don't think so. Sure, the streak of comebacks will end at some point, the Broncos may go through some rough patches next season, but if Elway and the Broncos follow through on their promises to do everything in their power to develop Tebow as a passer (who better to learn from than John Elway?) over the off-season - and he's already proven this year he's as clutch as any QB in history and that he can protect the football - and build their roster around their strengths then Tebowmania has a serious chance at being around for a decade or more.

Tebow is, whatever you think about him as a quarterback, a transcendent athlete that will inspire alot of love and alot of hatred for his entire career. More and more teams are opting for dual-threat QBs, or at the very least mobile QBs so there'll be alot of demand for Tebow if for some reason it doesn't work out at the Broncos, something that is becoming less and less likely with every passing week.

This is the problem though. Given the disproportional mania that has stirred up in the wake of Tebow's current streak, he simply will not be afforded the chance to "go through a rough patch" and come out the other side. He is being heralded as a messiah, two consecutive covers of SI, people are already getting tattoos of his name, etc etc. Believe me, when the bough breaks on this, the cradle won't simply fall, it will nosedive. I obviously hope I'm wrong, but I just don't see it happening any other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,927 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Love the bit in the sound FX where Tebow tells Thomas that he will be catching the game winning TD after his drop. Thats one of those things that makes him a great leader imo. He isn't pissed about it and just puts good in his receivers mind.

eagle eye wrote: »
    Love the bit in the sound FX where Tebow tells Thomas that he will be catching the game winning TD after his drop. Thats one of those things that makes him a great leader imo. He isn't pissed about it and just puts good in his receivers mind.

Notably Thomas caught the first down pass that got Prater into FG range for the game winner too.
    Neil3030 wrote:
    For anyone not bothered to read that whole piece, allow me summarise:

"He watches a lot of film."

And there's a lot more to that piece above than just his film study. It's showing exactly how he's improving, as i already said, he's noticeably better than he was in the last 3 games last year already and some of his early starts this year, as evidenced by us opening the playbook a little. Against Kansas he completed two passes, against Chicago he completed 21, for example.

With that level of work he's putting in, i find it hard to believe that he won't make huge strides in a proper offseason as starter. Look how far it's got him already.

And regarding the bubble bursting, when could it happen? And don't be saying sunday, most realistic broncos fans are not expecting to win sunday and we can afford one more loss if we win the other two games. I don't think if it comes in a tough playoff matchup on the road to someone like Baltimore people will crucify him and i believe he'll have improved enough coming into next season that any fall may not be as severe as speculated

Neil3030 wrote: »
    This is the problem though. Given the disproportional mania that has stirred up in the wake of Tebow's current streak, he simply will not be afforded the chance to "go through a rough patch" and come out the other side. He is being heralded as a messiah, two consecutive covers of SI, people are already getting tattoos of his name, etc etc. Believe me, when the bough breaks on this, the cradle won't simply fall, it will nosedive. I obviously hope I'm wrong, but I just don't see it happening any other way.

He wasn't, but anyways! By winning you buy yourself rope, no matter what the circus is. That circus has been there pretty much in full swing in Denver since the moment he landed in Colorado, all it is is more publicized now. Tebow's now got the time to develop as a starter.

That's like saying Atlanta will give up on Matt Ryan after a few bad games, that Andy Dalton is finished after a bad patch. It just doesn't work that way when you've proven you can get it done. The circus doesn't change anything but the armchair fan's perception, it matters most how important he is to the Broncos and he's pretty damn essential to that team now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

He wasn't, but anyways! By winning you buy yourself rope, no matter what the circus is. That circus has been there pretty much in full swing in Denver since the moment he landed in Colorado, all it is is more publicized now. Tebow's now got the time to develop as a starter.

That's like saying Atlanta will give up on Matt Ryan after a few bad games, that Andy Dalton is finished after a bad patch. It just doesn't work that way when you've proven you can get it done. The circus doesn't change anything but the armchair fan's perception, it matters most how important he is to the Broncos and he's pretty damn essential to that team now.

Difference is Matt Ryan and Andy Dalton have both shown they can far greater ability in the pocket than Tebow. Tebow has still shown very little to suggest he can be an even average nfl quarterback. If Tebow comes up next season and the Broncos have a losing record he's done in Denver. Cassell has proved he can get the job done according to that criteria of just winning but chances are he'll be replaced with the chiefs if they have any desires to go to the play-offs. Rex Grossman brought the Bears to a superbowl and he's one of the last people you'd want as your teams quarterback. Vince Young is the God of 4th quarter comebacks and game winning drives and no one wants him as their starting QB.

If Tebow gets an off-season under his belt and ends up being average than he'll struggle to keep hold of his job.

Jesus...it's on the previous page!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭deisedude

kmart6 wrote: »
    Jesus...it's on the previous page!

Oops my bad. Should have known that since i've read the entire thread :o I'll delete it now

ENGLEWOOD, Colo. (AP) - A year ago, John Elway agreed to another comeback with his beloved Denver Broncos shortly after the ouster of Josh McDaniels, whom many felt had doomed the franchise to mediocrity for years to come.

The Hall of Famer has pulled all the right strings in rapidly reversing the team's fortunes.

And for all those fans worried that the Broncos' boss isn't completely sold on Tim Tebow and might put the unorthodox quarterback on the trading block this winter, relax. Elway said the city's new comeback king is here to stay.

In an interview with The Associated Press, Elway gave his strongest indication yet that he believes Tebow can morph from a scrambling quarterback into a pocket passer, which suggests he won't be spending a high draft pick on another QB in April.

``Tim Tebow's not going anywhere,'' Elway said. ``I mean, he's going to be a Bronco and we're going to do everything we can and hopefully he's that guy.''

Elway, who led Denver to five Super Bowls and two titles during his playing career, reiterated his intention to work with Tebow during the offseason, something he couldn't do last offseason because of the NFL lockout.

It's the latest example of Elway's efforts to resurrect a franchise that has mostly foundered since he retired in 1999, shortly after winning his second straight Super Bowl.

The AFC West-leading Broncos (8-6), who have already doubled their win total from last year, are relevant again under their new chief of football operations, who wasted no time in putting his mark back on the organization.

In short order, Elway empowered general manager Brian Xanders, hired coach John Fox, intercepted star cornerback Champ Bailey on his way out of town, lured tailback Willis McGahee to Denver, re-signed kicker Matt Prater, drafted pass-rusher Von Miller, traded receiver Brandon Lloyd and endorsed the quarterback switch that put Tebow on the field and Kyle Orton on the waiver wire.

After starting the season in the middle of the Andrew Luck sweepstakes talk, the Broncos are instead shooting for their first playoff berth since the 2005 season behind Tebow, who's won seven of his nine starts, four of them via the kind of fourth-quarter comebacks that marked Elway's storied career.

Elway brought back a winning attitude, and his management style, in which he seeks input from those around him, has changed the culture at Dove Valley from the autocratic regimes of McDaniels and, before him, Mike Shanahan.

``I think that if you look at where we were a year ago at this time, it was probably the lowest point in Pat's ownership,'' Elway said, referring to owner Pat Bowlen. ``One of the things that we thought was everybody needed kind of a little bit of football rehab. I mean, you're 6-22, there's a negative feeling about football. That's why John (Fox) was a perfect fit for us, because of his enthusiasm, his energy.''

Elway needed to learn the ropes of being an NFL executive, so he has constantly sought others' advice in steering the Broncos while giving his colleagues more say, especially on personnel matters.

``I've always felt the more input you have, the more discussions you have on certain things, the chances are you're going to make the right decisions,'' Elway said. ``And I think the culture now is it's not only teamwork downstairs but it's teamwork upstairs, too.''

One of the first things Elway did was reach out to Bailey, the perennial Pro Bowl cornerback who was headed for unrestricted free agency after McDaniels had pulled an extension offer off the table just as he was about to sign it last season.

Elway said he doesn't think Denver's defensive turnaround would have been possible without Bailey, who's provided stellar play, locker room leadership and stability to a team with its sixth defensive coordinator in six seasons.

To the surprise of many, Elway, the greatest offensive player in franchise history, believed the blueprint for winning again was to focus on defense. Trying to outpace everyone just wasn't going to work, he said.

``I think that you have to have a special guy to outscore everybody, and if you look at where we were with Kyle, we didn't have the Tom Bradys or the Peyton Mannings or the Drew Breeses, those are the guys that outscore everybody, and there's three or four of those guys in the league and they're very difficult to find,'' Elway said.

He said he didn't want to overburden Tebow, who was being groomed for his shot under center.

``The best way for Tim to develop was to be good on the defensive side and take our time with him on the offensive side,'' Elway said. ``And that wouldn't dump all the pressure on him and say, `Here you go, in your second year you need to go out and score 35 points a game.'

``And then I also thought, having gone to the games, that we had lost a lot of the home-field advantage, and I remember that when I played here, we had a great home-field advantage. But it was usually because we were so good on defense.''

As for Orton, Elway sympathized with him for being under the microscope with so many No. 15 jerseys in the crowd and a city clamoring for Tebow even when things were going well.

Elway tried to deal Orton as soon as the lockout ended, but he couldn't find a trade partner and Orton won the starting job in camp with his firm grasp of the offense, precise passing and good decision-making. Those traits suddenly abandoned him during the Broncos' 1-4 start, leading to his benching and eventual release.

Orton was claimed by Kansas City, saving the Broncos about $2.5 million, but Orton will get the chance to beat his old team when the Chiefs visit Denver for the regular season finale.

Elway said one of his biggest challenges has been adjusting to the 24/7 news cycle fed by social media and he again expressed remorse for a comment he made last month on his weekly radio show that was misconstrued as criticism of Tebow.

After Tebow had improved to 4-1 as the starter, host Gary Miller asked Elway on 102.3 FM in Denver if he was ``any closer to feeling if you have your quarterback on this team?'' Elway paused and answered, ``No.'' He then pointed out that Tebow had to do better on third downs and improve as a passer.

``I think that comment was probably a little bit too blunt,'' Elway said. ``Because I think the big picture with Tim is we've got to see the whole body of work. And so really what you want to see with him is the improvement that's going to happen over time.

``Because, he's done what we knew he could do and where we've seen his progress is what he does within the pocket. What we've said, and I said it when I first got here, was we know Tim's a great player and what we've got to do is make him a great quarterback, and what I've learned is you've got to be able to win from within the pocket.''

Tebow has indeed begun showing improvement in the pocket over the last few weeks as he gets more playing time and offensive coordinator Mike McCoy adds more plays to his menu.

Tebow's famous work ethic will help him hone his craft, said Elway, who seems to be rooting for him as much as the quarterback's legions of fans.

``We want it to happen because of the competitor he is and what type of person he is and how he represents not only himself but represents the Broncos and the city,'' Elway said. ``People have been watching him, so he's a draw. But that's where some time in the offseason (helps) and it comes down to timing and throwing.

``Do I think he'll get there? Yeah, I do.''

Elway: Tebow's not going anywhere

Looks like Elway has put the notion that we're not going to stick with Tebow to bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

May I be so bold and make a suggestion, and that is to change the Title of this thread to: The Denver Broncos thread ?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

May I be so bold and make a suggestion, and that is to change the Title of this thread to: The Denver Broncos thread ?!

What about a John Skeleton vs Tebow thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Very little talk here of Orton beating the best team in the league on his first outing.

Fair is fair...

Seconded. I also like the thought that the Broncos superthread would be the third longest active on the board!

At the very least though, Orton's gone and to a rival as well, it should at least be "The Tim Tebow Thread" or something.

If anything it should be changed to the Denver Thread...rename it the Tebow thread opens the possibility of a lot of individual players thread which is pointless...it's a team sport...yeah there's all the hype about him but the wins have been a team effort!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Joking aside, it's got that mad that my aul fella (who generally can't understand American football nor tolerate it) was asking about Tebow after reading about it in the paper.

I'm not saying Tebow is god's gift to the NFL right now but he's really raising the profile of the league and the sport in places it wouldn't normally reach and that's a good thing.