If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Bought a quad trailer today. Neighbour has one of these for the last 12 months and its a well made trailer. Multi-purpose - I can put a calf or a ewe into it, but it will also be useful for bringing in firewood off the land or turf off the bog. Considering that the wheels, stubs and hitch cost £160. I don't think that £399 is a bad price for a galvanised 5 x 4 trailer. Have a mate who is collecting it for me today.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Galvanized-Quad-Tipping-Trailer-/170724118407?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item27bff34f87

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

reilig wrote: »
    Bought a quad trailer today. Neighbour has one of these for the last 12 months and its a well made trailer. Multi-purpose - I can put a calf or a ewe into it, but it will also be useful for bringing in firewood off the land or turf off the bog. Considering that the wheels, stubs and hitch cost £160. I don't think that £399 is a bad price for a galvanised 5 x 4 trailer. Have a mate who is collecting it for me today.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Galvanized-Quad-Tipping-Trailer-/170724118407?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item27bff34f87

looks a good job

Hopefully. I'll tell you what its like when he brings it home to me at the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Local man "repossessed" 12 of his own sheep that had been stolen. Fair play to ya! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

was in the mart today, there was a lim weanling bull, he was mad , was going for the lads trying to put him in the ring etc, held the whole show up, i was commenting to the guy beside me that he was a bit mental and he said , thats my bull:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

whelan1 wrote: »
    was in the mart today, there was a lim weanling bull, he was mad , was going for the lads trying to put him in the ring etc, held the whole show up, i was commenting to the guy beside me that he was a bit mental and he said , thats my bull:D

That reminds me of a story a friend of mine told me once
    His father had a calf that he was bucket rearing but the calf was a proper screw
    He couldn't put condition on him no matter what he tried so decided to sell him and be done with it.
    He took the calf to the mart and was chatting to an acquaintance at ringside while he was waiting for the lot to come up.
    Eventually it was time to sell the weanling and it came into the ring looking very sorry for itself and pretty miserable.
    His acquaintance said "Oh good jaysus will you look at the state of the yoke coming now!"
    My friends father slunk away in shame and brought him home again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Hopefully. I'll tell you what its like when he brings it home to me at the weekend.

What does it work out in €? €450? Best of luck with it. Galvanising will stand to it.

All that's left now is to fit crash bars on the side of the quad to keep the cow away from you! :D:D

Muckit wrote: »
    What does it work out in €? €450? Best of luck with it. Galvanising will stand to it.

All that's left now is to fit crash bars on the side of the quad to keep the cow away from you! :D:D

399 pounds sterling in cash on collection so no vat. What ever that is in Euro. Been searching on donedeal for something like it for months and was resolved to buying the wheels, stubs and wheels and making one as a winter project. Couldn't make one for 399 pounds!! It being galvanised is an added bonus!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Dupont

a man was telling me yesterday he was dosing a heifer and had her all clipped injected and went to open the head gate and she jumped the crush (its 5 ft) out in the yard jumped another gate up to the house jumped the wall out on to busy main road(lucky nothing coming) up the road into somones house and straight threw 5 row of barbed wire, and threw 4 fields untill it came to a field of cows:eek:

Dupont wrote: »
    a man was telling me yesterday he was dosing a heifer and had her all clipped injected and went to open the head gate and she jumped the crush (its 5 ft) out in the yard jumped another gate up to the house jumped the wall out on to busy main road(lucky nothing coming) up the road into somones house and straight threw 5 row of barbed wire, and threw 4 fields untill it came to a field of cows:eek:

.....and then jumped over the moon! The little dog laughed to see such fun and the dish ran away with the spoon! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Dupont

Muckit wrote: »
    .....and then jumped over the moon! The little dog laughed to see such fun and the dish ran away with the spoon! :D
    i wish. the neighbour had her walked in with her cows this evening but when she seen her she cleared againin. he was wondering is there any way to sedate her but cant get near her to inject

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

i wish. the neighbour had her walked in with her cows this evening but when she seen her she cleared againin. he was wondering is there any way to sedate her but cant get near her to inject

Sedalin gel will work in a few nuts if she eats them. Chat your Vet about getting a tube!

Keep her together in a bunch. A nervous animal on it's own is a disaster... and dangerous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

some of them never settle, i bought a lovely black lim heifer in 08 to keep and she turned out to be a pure header, every time i came into the field she jumped out of it and jumped back into the cows when i was gone!! sold her on again when i eventually got vet to blood test her

399 pounds sterling in cash on collection so no vat. What ever that is in Euro. Been searching on donedeal for something like it for months and was resolved to buying the wheels, stubs and wheels and making one as a winter project. Couldn't make one for 399 pounds!! It being galvanised is an added bonus!!

Well done Reilig, thatś a great deal... well wear!!! You´d have it spent making it and not to mention your time and organising the dipping etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I see Progressive Genetics have a new catalogue (at least new to me anyway!)
    http://www.progressivegenetics.ie/testsite/beefdata/beeffeature.php

Some very interesting bulls.
    But the best description of stock I've seen in a while is their description of the Limousine bull, Netherhall Epics breeding ability as:

" The first calves are just born and look very promising, oozing style with 'peachy bums' " :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Bizzum wrote: »
    oozing style with 'peachy bums' " :D

Just what we used to look for in a lass in a nightclub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

http://i.imgur.com/uWqM3.gif

bbam wrote: »

Just what we used to look for in a lass in a nightclub

what's next... Heifer calves "as described by many foreign observers" have the touch of Beyonce about them in the ass end !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Bodacious wrote: »
    what's next... Heifer calves "as described by many foreign observers" have the touch of Beyonce about them in the ass end !

come off it Bodacious..surely Serena Williams is a more suitable comparison :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

come off it Bodacious..surely Serena Williams is a more suitable comparison :D

Ah now lads, I thought it was Kylie Minogue that won it all!

with self assessment income tax and preliminary tax having to be paid next week, this year i did something different i pay €500 a month through direct debit so wont have to pay any preliminary tax next week:D its alot less painful than having to pay the full whack in 1 go. I know you are not obliged to pay any preliminary tax , but it does soften the blow. The biggest down side in itis that the money has to come out on the 9th ofthe month which wouldnt be a great date for me, this can not be changed:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

a little surprise down the field this morn a cow that i have out because of very bad feet ( she wont go into the foot crate without a inection to dope her) had a bull calf beside her after sucking and all,i thought she was due around christmas.:D

leg wax wrote: »
    a little surprise down the field this morn a cow that i have out because of very bad feet ( she wont go into the foot crate without a inection to dope her) had a bull calf beside her after sucking and all,i thought she was due around christmas.:D
    i like them surprises when they work out well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

with self assessment income tax and preliminary tax having to be paid next week, this year i did something different i pay €500 a month through direct debit so wont have to pay any preliminary tax next week:D its alot less painful than having to pay the full whack in 1 go. I know you are not obliged to pay any preliminary tax , but it does soften the blow. The biggest down side in itis that the money has to come out on the 9th ofthe month which wouldnt be a great date for me, this can not be changed:mad:

get a fee free bank account. (assuming they can still be gotten these days)

setup a standing order from your current account to the other account on the date that suits you, and change the direct debit to go from the new account.

our mortgage is paid on the 17th of every month but the money goes out of the current account into the feeder account on the first of every month. all our direct debits in fact go from that feeder account so on the second of the month whatever's left in my bank account is what I've got to spend on myself. the food/house laser is topped up and all the direct debits for phone, internet, tv, creche etc are covered. takes a while to get used to but it's actually the business as it eliminates a lot of unpleasant surprises. works best with a regular income though, not sure how appliccable it is to full time farming :(

scanned sucklers this morning and weaned some of them, scanned 21 , 21 in calf:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Whelan1, time to give the bull some new girls

time for the bull to go to slimming world, he wouldnt fit down the crush when i went to lepto him:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭6600

Sorry thing to say, but a lot of girls I see in nightclub seem to exhibit a double-muscling gene! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

6600 wrote: »
    Sorry thing to say, but a lot of girls I see in nightclub seem to exhibit a double-muscling gene! :pac:
    and marry her and it trebles:D for some strange reason:P.