Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Eircom apprenticeship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭auto spark

Turns out I was delusional thinking I done really well at assessment stage ha .... Had mine 24 in afternoon . Taught I had a good chance . I still hold into a bit of hope seems as I haven't heard anyone getting the call after 24th yet ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Endace

still plenty of time left yet to get the call. Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭evosteo

evosteo wrote: »
    i was the 22nd too but in the afternoon, heard nothing yet meself:o

delighted:D, got a phone call early this morning, have the interview on wed 14th @1.30 pm , my birthday as it so happens, hopefully a good omen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭focusowner

i was the 22nd too but in the afternoon, heard nothing yet meself:o

delighted:D, got a phone call early this morning, have the interview on wed 14th @1.30 pm , my birthday as it so happens, hopefully a good omen.

Got the call today to say im happy is an understatement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

Have my interview over and done with now, hopefully did good in it so all i have to do now is wait and see, didnt find out how many they are interviewing but they are doing them for two and half weeks and interviewing three at a time so i reckon there will be a lot of candidates interviewed

Best of luck to everyone else with interviews coming up,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭evosteo

ormondprop wrote: »
    Have my interview over and done with now, hopefully did good in it so all i have to do now is wait and see, didnt find out how many they are interviewing but they are doing them for two and half weeks and interviewing three at a time so i reckon there will be a lot of candidates interviewed

Best of luck to everyone else with interviews coming up,

how did it go for you ormondprop?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Mark Murphy

I have my interview next thursday.. I wonder how many people actually got thru to this stage? Will feel like an awful waste of time not getting it after all this.. I have faith tho :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Geralt

Hello Ladies and Gents!

Had my interview today :D

key points that you all may be interested in:

- no paper work required. You can leave your CV's references ect at home (they didnt even ask about it)
    - conversation is taking place with 2 representatives
    - may take anything from 30 minutes to 2 hours
    - remember what you said on telephone interview? May come in handy once again
    - this interview is basically a recap of phone interview and assement day bar all the assements :-)

From what ive found out the interviews will be tommorow and whole week next week , so for an anwser I will be waiting around 3 weeks.

Someone here previously mentioned that they may offer some form of accomodation... welll... they wont

Also i have been informed that only around 3% of original applicants got through to this stage

besides that it was simply a nice conversation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 brick100

Geralt.. Thanks a million for the info, you've calmed my nerves.. slightly! :) 3%?.. that means they've halved the number since the assessments?.. so chances are good for getting a place! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

how did it go for you ormondprop?

Hopefully went ok, wasn't caught out on amy questions so i'm happy with how i did and how i protrayed myself, i just have to hope there isn't 50 people that are better suited to the job, so all i can really say is if you're prepared enough you should do fine, and do not try to bullsh!t them as they can start questioning you on your answers and could possibly catch you out,

now the final waiting game begins,

Forgot to mention. On the interview i have been told also that all the people who got through to the final stage are equal candidates for the positions and its up the the eircom to decide who they want to take. So at this stage it seems that it doesnt matter what u know but more of will they pick u up from the crowd or not.

Geralt wrote: »
    Forgot to mention. On the interview i have been told also that all the people who got through to the final stage are equal candidates for the positions and its up the the eircom to decide who they want to take. So at this stage it seems that it doesnt matter what u know but more of will they pick u up from the crowd or not.

So the interview isnt really that important ??

I suppose that the interview is there to allow the to make the decision as they are asking questions that have been already asked. They go to a little bit more detail than on phone interview but generally those are the same questions.

So to anwser your question: IMO it is important as it is your last chance to "sell" yourself.

Geralt wrote: »
    I suppose that the interview is there to allow the to make the decision as they are asking questions that have been already asked. They go to a little bit more detail than on phone interview but generally those are the same questions.

So to anwser your question: IMO it is important as it is your last chance to "sell" yourself.

Il sell myself so im good at selling lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 arthurpenguin

Some people could be the best and most hard workers out there who never miss a day, are always on time, and do excellent in every job they do. However they might not be used to doing interviews so this could be a very daunting stage for them and just because they are so nervous and don't do a good interview does this really mean they are not good enough for this job? I hope not and i hope they look back through all the different stages rather than it all boiling down to these interviews. Make it more even rather than the people with good sales skills getting the job just because they have the gift of the gab :pac:. I swear i'm not scared of the interview :eek:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭axiom

interview in a week and a bit :rolleyes:

don't be worrying about the interview, relax, be yourself and you'll be grand, doing that got you this far !

Goodluck to everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭knotknowbody

Has everyone who done the assessment day heard back at this stage, I done mine on the 19th and still have not got a call, guess that means I'm out at this stage as I know people who done it after me and have been called for interview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 newman777

Hi i did mine on the 22 and heard noting yet, i wish they would tell me the bad news if it is, b4 the weekend waiting til Monday.......

I think I'll give them a ring ... I done mine 24th . They may be able to give me some sort of update

Some people could be the best and most hard workers out there who never miss a day, are always on time, and do excellent in every job they do. However they might not be used to doing interviews so this could be a very daunting stage for them and just because they are so nervous and don't do a good interview does this really mean they are not good enough for this job? I hope not and i hope they look back through all the different stages rather than it all boiling down to these interviews. Make it more even rather than the people with good sales skills getting the job just because they have the gift of the gab :pac:. I swear i'm not scared of the interview :eek:.

I'm not saying that quiet people are worse for the job. My point was that this is anyones last chance to covince recruiters at eircom that he or she is right for the job. Now people with good - as you described it - selling skills maybe will have easier task to do but on the other hand this job will be focused on dealing with customers and there can be some stressful customers out there. Now i can apprecieate that dealing with a customer will be a lot less stressful than attending an interview , but if you prove to them that you can handle as stressful situation as interview and you are able to stand your ground in such situation , they will be more keen to hire you than the person who shuts himself up and bearly utters a word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 woganm

Auto Spark. Did you ring them?

I didnt mean it like the way ur taking me up

Im as shy as fcuk most of the time but when i settle in to places im grand its hard to portray your true self in 35 mins with total strangers

What i meant was im pretty good at selling stuff :p

Might put myself up on donedeal or adverts and email them the link ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 arthurpenguin

Ha ha i'm not aiming that at anyone folks i just think because they have done so many different stages so far that one nervous interview shouldn't be the reason for someone not getting the job. They should know by now roughly who the top candidates are. Wonder if Bill and Jackie will be at them :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭axiom

hopefully you do get a call lads, but I did mine after 24th ...:( give them a shout to see where you stand !

anyone who's been to the interview, have you asked about the payscale ? I know it's 19,000 starting but does it go up say in 2nd year or anything ?

that has been said on my assesment day, that 19 grand is for starters but it'll increase after 1st year and then it'll increase once again once apprentencship is completed and you are offered a contract

woganm wrote: »
    Auto Spark. Did you ring them?

no man , i didnt get a chance to give them a bell today , will do monday morning if i dont hear anything by then .:rolleyes: . i dont know what to be making of it , who knows there could be a whole string of interviewees to be called .

anybody been called that did assesment after 24th , i have seen some1 who had assesment on 24th in morning , i had mine in afternoon of the 24th and havent heard any1 getting a call after that .

auto spark wrote: »
    anybody been called that did assesment after 24th , i have seen some1 who had assesment on 24th in morning , i had mine in afternoon of the 24th and havent heard any1 getting a call after that .

Calm down pal

Ian said yesterday that he would be going through assessments until at least next tuesday arranging interviews so there is time yet

Give them a ring today if it puts ur mind at ease i was the 11th and only heard on thurs , i dont think there is any particular order to the calls

I think there is focus ... By the looks of it , there working up through the dates of the assessments . I still have hope though . Until he rings me and breaks the news I'll think I have it . You could be right about the orders of calls . Who knows . I sent away an email there this morning . That'll keep me going till Monday or Tuesday . I'll give them a bell then . :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭andy2die4

I did my CityWest on 17th ond only got the call yesterday at 12 45. so i think you still have time, but the waiting is the hardest part.