If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Amy Winehouse Dead (RIP thread)[Mod Note Post 1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭mancduff

Naikon wrote: »
    The Banhammer. I can smell it.

Is that some german sausage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Jesus who cares really. This woman was a drug abuser. Some poor drug mule more than likely brought in her heroin stuffed up their back passage because said mules family would be killed otherwise. The money she paid for her drugs goes to criminals who are a plague on all society so i could'nt care less if shes gone.

Look man, all this "ah I dont like them, because she/he/they were supporting criminals by doing drugs" is all crap.
    You dont care about her death because you dont know her, so it doesnt matter. Hey, nothing wrong with that. Tis the way the world is. But dont toss some BS spiel as to how she did drugs as to why "you dont care" ... call a spade a spade.

Johro wrote: »
    B]..in response to Crazy horse....[/BTypical cold and ignorant response from someone unable to put himself in the other person's shoes, totally devoid of empathy.
    Also typically ignorant of the fact that all manner of things, gold for example, simple foodstuffs like chocolate, are produced by the poorest of people, often children, for criminals, then wrapped nicely for your pleasure.
    But then, who cares really..

Lets be honest... any person who cares about her death was someone who knew her, or some die hard fan with emotional issues. All this "devoid of empathy" is BS. We only feel for someone who we knew and cared for. Its human nature. Its bad, i know. But thats people. Theres nothing wrong with saying "thats a shame" , "tragic" , "a waste of talent" etc etc etc. Just comments. Anything more is just plain ol' BS.

And as for the sweatshops bit? hey nike has been doing it for years. business is still a boom'in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

I'll save my empathy for people who are'nt junkies thanks

Selective empathy. Is that an oxymoron?

"I'll identify with those who think the same way as me, and to hell with the rest of them."

I'm guessing you don't subscribe to any religion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭thebullkf

vibe666 wrote: »
    thanks for asking. ;)

but i didn't ask you......:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

rip amy, sad to see her go.

that old aplhaville song "Forever Young" comes to mind right now.
    Not sure if its apropriate to add it but the lyrics are apt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

thebullkf wrote: »
    before i answer that, why not answer both scenario's;)

Unsure why you are winking at me, i'm merely trying to answer a question you asked on the internet. I realise i am very attractive, even via the medium of text...but i can honestly say i am not interested.

Here's a link to an article on the aforementioned drug. Researchers site the chances of dying from extasy at about 1 in 1,000,000 , so better than winning the lotto, but you are more likely to get struck by lighting.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/education/2002/jan/20/medicalscience.drugsandalcohol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

cesc77 wrote: »
    She and that other clown Doherty portray a certain image of drugs.HARD drugs.

As adults we can see the true damage done to these people.They are a collective mess.
    So what ya saying?
    They glorify hard drug use? :confused:
    If anything they serve as a warning. People don't choose to become junkies. It's a long and nasty road of hurt and unhappiness.

CK2010 wrote: »
    tbh by asking this question you're basically proving that the risk of death from taking an e depends on the content of the tablet which nobody ever really knows unless they have it tested. MDMA in itself is pretty harmless, its what e tablets are cut with thats harmlful.
    and im speaking as someone who would be condsidered fairly liberal when it comes to drugs

I'm not her to prove or disprove anything or change anyone's mind...someone asked for information and i was just trying to supply it.

tbh by asking this question you're basically proving that the risk of death from taking an e depends on the content of the tablet which nobody ever really knows unless they have it tested. MDMA in itself is pretty harmless, its what e tablets are cut with thats harmlful.
    and im speaking as someone who would be condsidered fairly liberal when it comes to drugs

i 'm not proving anything...in fact you're proving Dudess wrong...that 1 e can in fact kill you.

Pure heroin doesn't actually damage any of your internal organs,its the mix that does it....incidentally pure water can kill you... too much nutmeg can kill you... my point is, such generalisations are meaningless.
    yet on occasion some posters are adamant that one of 'x' (pardon the pun, can't kill you...

Sure everything in moderation.

Unsure why you are winking at me, i'm merely trying to answer a question you asked on the internet. I realise i am very attractive, even via the medium of text...but i can honestly say i am not interested.

Here's a link to an article on the aforementioned drug. Researchers site the chances of dying from extasy at about 1 in 1,000,000 , so better than winning the lotto, but you are more likely to get struck by lighting.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/education/2002/jan/20/medicalscience.drugsandalcohol

i'm unsure as to why you think it was a come on....it wasn't.

through whatever medium you wish;)

but 1 can kill you...right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Sure everything in moderation.

I little arsenic never hurt anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

LighterGuy wrote: »

Lets be honest... any person who cares about her death was someone who knew her, or some die hard fan with emotional issues. All this "devoid of empathy" is BS. We only feel for someone who we knew and cared for. Its human nature. Its bad, i know. But thats people. Theres nothing wrong with saying "thats a shame" , "tragic" , "a waste of talent" etc etc etc. Just comments. Anything more is just plain ol' BS.

And as for the sweatshops bit? hey nike has been doing it for years. business is still a boom'in.

Not for most humans it's not.

Only for some I guess.

but 1 can kill you...right?

Statistically speaking, yes, of course.

Also, i think you have something in your eye.

check the nails!!:eek::D

Right.. You're really not getting it.

Statistically speaking, yes, of course.

Also, i think you have something in your eye.

methinks its your attitude.

there, its gone.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭The Left Hand Of God

True. T'was used in the mid 18th century as a medicine.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arsenic#Medical_use

[edit- for the record I learnt that last week watching E2 of Torchwood miracle day :) Was used for better "skin" ]

mancduff wrote: »
    Then don't reply to the C U N T he's only a C U N T and replying to the C U N T only makes you more of a C U N T.
    No comment so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭CK2010

Logical Fallacy responded to this...

so one e couldn't kill you....you can prove this how:confused:

...with the question re the content of MDMA in a tablet.

I was telling LF that by asking that question she was in fact proving the 'one e could kill you' argument correct. So yes, i was, in a way, saying that dudess was wrong. and the whole 'proof' thing came from the quote i just gave!

Am i making sense here?! ive been drinking some wine! :o:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Johro wrote: »
    Right.. You're really not getting it.

getting what?
    do you know amy winehouse? no.
    Do I know amy winehouse? no.

But yet, how come we feel upset or at loss when a family member or close friend dies. But yet another person doesnt. eg, your best friend dies. You care, but i dont. or vice versa. we give the usual "ah sorry to hear" (which is respecful) but would it upset your day? ... would you really be feeling "oh god! :( thats so sad :( "

no. you wouldnt.
    Emphaty is BS with people we dont know or care about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

mancduff wrote: »
    Then don't reply to the C U N T he's only a C U N T and replying to the C U N T only makes you more of a C U N T.

Banned

Logical Fallacy responded to this...

...with the question re the content of MDMA in a tablet.

I was telling LF that by asking that question she was in fact proving the 'one e could kill you' argument correct. So yes, i was, in a way, saying that dudess was wrong. and the whole 'proof' thing came from the quote i just gave!

Am i making sense here?! ive been drinking some wine! :o:rolleyes:

i glass can kill ya...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

RIP

I wonder who play her in a biopic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

I haven't read this whole thread, but I just would have thought, being an addict myself, and been in poisition that Amy was in, with lots of advisers, amy would have kicked the habbit, you just cant understand how strong some habbits can be.

regardless of anything, Amy didn't get the help she seeked, Rip a wonderful tallent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭CK2010

i glass can kill ya...:pac:

nah its just use not abuse! as long as i can distinguish between the two im grand! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

getting what?
    do you know amy winehouse? no.
    Do I know amy winehouse? no.

But yet, how come we feel upset or at loss when a family member dies. But yet another person doesnt. eg, your best friend dies. You care, but i dont. or vice versa. we give the usual "ah sorry to hear" (which is respecful) but would it upset your day? ... would you really be feeling "oh god! :( thats so sad :("

no. you wouldnt.
    Emphaty is BS with people we dont know or care about.

Um, yes?? Empathy means putting yourself in somebody else's position and understanding what they are going through. So, if you hear of somebody dying, a person with empathy would feel very sorry for the person who dies and, more particularly (for me anyway), their parents and partners, then, to a lesser extent, their friends and the rest of their family.

Now, you probably wouldn't cry, and you certainly wouldn't spend your day in mourning, but you would feel sad and wish for the best for the people who are suffering from their loss.

I really don't get these 'there are so many other things going on in the world' posts. This woman was a talented and famous singer, of course it's on the bloody news. Did you expect them not to mention it? There is always something more important than the lead story somewhere in the world, that's just how it is. I wasn't a huge fan of Amy Winehouse but I always found it sad that she seemed to have so many demons and never found a way to overcome them. She seemed like an incredibly unhappy woman with a lot of enablers around her. I've been in Camden all day today, am just a few streets away from her flat and when the news first broke, it seemed like the press were almost excited about it. Really weird atmosphere. RIP Amy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

RIP Amy.........Loved your songs and your voice.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

I think the fact that most people feel sorry when a talented young person dies isn't that surprising really.

I know 'bad **** happens every day'.

It doesn't mean you have to become uncaring about everything.

What makes you say i am uncaring?If Amy Whitehouse cared enough about her many young fans who follow her she would not have set such dangerous examples in her behaviour.I don't give a f*** about such people but i care VERY much about her naive followers who may see her behaviour as the new 'norm'They take others with them.Very depressed young girls find solace in a dangerous empathy with such people.Talent is'nt everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

cruiser178 wrote: »
    regardless of anything, Amy didn't get the help she seeked, Rip a wonderful tallent

She did. Lots of people tried to help her but she didn't want to help herself. It's a sad end to a young life but largely self-inflicted. She could have cleaned herself up but she chose not to, and her story was never likely to end well. Sad as it is, she chose to live by the sword and she ended up dieing by the sword. She could have had such a good life if only she chose life.