If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Can Gardai ask you where you're going?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Biggins wrote: »
    There is a number of reasons why they ask you something.

1. They listen to your voice to see if your slurring your words!
    2. They might be seeking someone that resides in a particular area.
    3. They might actually be advising people to avoid an area once in a while and do so when they hear your direction!
    4. They might be delaying you while they check out your details and try spot the tax/insurance dodgers...
    ...and so on!

For gods sake, if all it takes to get your gall up is a simple question, you really need to grow up OP.
    Gardi don't particularly like standing out on cold nights, on dark roads, having to stop people - but once in a while they do actually catch folk that are out of their heads on drink and/or drugs that are driving. Folk that maybe might have otherwise got away and injured/killed someones son/daughter/mother/father!
    I hope its not your family effected some day OP.
    ...Just answer the question, drive on and get on with your life!

What do they like then ? Scratchin their holes and eatin doughnuts.

Fcukin obvious to this poster if the dislike standing out on cold nights they should have chosen another career ?

Once in a while ...yeah......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Dotsie~tmp wrote: »
    And a million more why he was right to tell him politely that its none of his business.
    Maybe so, a person can still choose they own words in reply.
    Just do so on the understanding that ye must accept the consequences of ones words too.
    ...Fcukin obvious to this poster if the dislike standing out on cold nights they should have chosen another career ?

Once in a while ...yeah......
    Yea, because like all jobs, they get to choose their job areas and tasks of course! :rolleyes:

Biggins wrote: »
    Maybe so, a person can still choose they own words in reply.
    Just do so on the understanding that ye must accept the consequences of ones words too.

Yea, because like all jobs, they get to choose their job areas and tasks of course! :rolleyes:

Less of the rolling eyes pal.

Only a really thick guy would join the guards and think that late nights and standing out in the cold was a matter of choice.

My point was if they dont like standing out in the cold late at night..they might have thought of a different career.

Anythin about that you don't understand ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,102 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

My point was if they dont like standing out in the cold late at night..they might have thought of a different career.

who DOES like standing out in the dark and cold?!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

hondasam wrote: »
    I hear they have a good sense of humour, asking for phone numbers is common practise. have you ever been stopped by a guard ?

Amazingly enough, i would imagine that the average garda would have the same chance of having a sense of humour as the average person.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Less of the rolling eyes pal.

Only a really thick guy would join the guards and think that late nights and standing out in the cold was a matter of choice.

Well judging by your words and general attitude, its clear you have a problem with the Gardi and by your brash (to say the least) postings, with others that the vast majority of the time, support them.
    So I bid you bye. I chose not to converse with anyone with a disgusting attitude such as blatantly yours.
    No words of anyone is going to change your obvious attitude. Continue to enjoy that chip on your shoulder.

P.S. I ain't your pal!

zuroph wrote: »

If you apply to be a garda, you would hardly be all that surprised if your duties involved manning a checkpoint. And it may well be in the winter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

Most garda work at the job because it's more than just a job ,most of them are big into sports and looking after themselves.
    I've done work in some of their houses and they're always mad busy outside of work.

robbie7730 wrote: »
    If you apply to be a garda, you would hardly be all that surprised if your duties involved manning a checkpoint. And it may well be in the winter.

so, doesnt mean they have to enjoy it, they still do it! just be polite and chatty, ud be surprised how this disarms people.

I wasnt realy disagreeing. Although i seen another poster saying they were going home to their warm bed while the gardai where left at the cold checkpoint. Thats like me complaining im wiring someones house while they are sitting watching the tv. One is in work while the other is not.

ah yeah, but its like, would these people take such offence when a shopkeeper says, "so any plans for tonight?"..

The cops is trying to have a conversation to hear how people talk, to form an opinion on drink or drugs most likely. To not want to chat back is bizarre in the least.

ah yeah, but its like, would these people take such offence when a shopkeeper says, "so any plans for tonight?"..

Well the shopkeeper is unlikely to be at the checkpoint.
    The cops is trying to have a conversation to hear how people talk, to form an opinion on drink or drugs most likely. To not want to chat back is bizarre in the least.

As i said earlier, i dont see much problem with them asking questions. I have had one or two annoying incidents with them though, that would make me understand why others say what they have in this thread.

I've had one or two as well, but like i said, clamming up isnt going to make it any better, the best way to disarm someone is with politeness.

Yep, dont disagree with you at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Morag

I get that it's a hard job.
    I get that some members of the public are arseholes.
    I get that dealing with scumbags isn't fun.
    I get that doing check points is not fun, esp when it's raining.

What I don't get is the rotten attitude from some of them.
    I know they have proceedures but to be automatically cold and hostile when dealing with the public does nothing but harm.

We got stopped at a check point not long after the random breath teating came in.
    It was a big enough opperation on the N3 they had both sides of the road closed off and a were stopping cars. It was 9:30pm on a wet winters night and we'd two very tired and crankly kids in the back who, knew we were 5 mins from home and were bewildered at us being stopped. The garda shining bright lights in on top of them didn't help. When the drivers window was rolled down he raced off into
    the prepared speak of under legistlation X and Act Y bla blah bla and I had the kids getting upset in the back.

I started to explain to the kids what was going on to get yelled at to shut up, despite the fact I was in the front passenger seat and wasn't interacting with the garda.
    That upset the kids even more and I got told to shut the kids up.

That didn't go down with me at all and I asked him for his name, number and what station he was based out of. I got told if I didn't shut up I would be arrested for disrupting a garda in doing his duty. I said fine that I was going to get into back into the back of the car with the kids to calm them down.

I got told if I got out of the car it would be considered a hostile act. WTF
    The youngest kid was crying at this stage, freaked out as garda are ment to be helpful people. I got out of the passenger door to get into the back of the car and he called over another garda to detain me. I had enough at this stage and demanded to see the officer in charge of the check point, and when they got lippy with me said I was going to ring the local station to make a complaint and then I was going to ring garda HQ in the park were the metro section are based out of as they were being rude and terrifying kids in the back of cars.

Suddenly their tune changed and I could get in the back of the car with the kids.
    A different garda came over to the car and did the breath test and the ignorant, arrogant prick who had stopped us stropped off.

We got home I put the kids to be, both freaked out at how nasty the garda had been,
    seriously if he had of done something as simple as said hello/good evening to the lot of us and told the kids he was just doing a check to see how good a driver thier father was it would have made a huge difference.

I did make complaints to the local super, the metro section and the garda ombudsman and was told that it was received and would be taken into consideration. Never did get that plonker's numbers, it's hard to see then on the leathers the metros wear in the day time never mind at night in the dark and the rain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭johnthemull

Came across a checkpoint tonight. All well and good the usual, then the Guard asked me where I was going. I told him it was none of his business then he got a bit cranky and leisurely walked around the car with my licence in his hand to waste my time. Do they think that this is the Soviet Union or something?. What right have they to ask people where they are going?.

TWAT
    mod:poster banned.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 36,176 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

a small bit of cop on goes a long way.

Sharrow wrote: »
    I get that it's a hard job.
    I get that some members of the public are arseholes.
    I get that dealing with scumbags isn't fun.
    I get that doing check points is not fun, esp when it's raining.

What I don't get is the rotten attitude from some of them.
    I know they have proceedures but to be automatically cold and hostile when dealing with the public does nothing but harm.

We got stopped at a check point not long after the random breath teating came in.
    It was a big enough opperation on the N3 they had both sides of the road closed off and a were stopping cars. It was 9:30pm on a wet winters night and we'd two very tired and crankly kids in the back who, knew we were 5 mins from home and were bewildered at us being stopped. The garda shining bright lights in on top of them didn't help. When the drivers window was rolled down he raced off into
    the prepared speak of under legistlation X and Act Y bla blah bla and I had the kids getting upset in the back.

I started to explain to the kids what was going on to get yelled at to shut up, despite the fact I was in the front passenger seat and wasn't interacting with the garda.
    That upset the kids even more and I got told to shut the kids up.

That didn't go down with me at all and I asked him for his name, number and what station he was based out of. I got told if I didn't shut up I would be arrested for disrupting a garda in doing his duty. I said fine that I was going to get into back into the back of the car with the kids to calm them down.

I got told if I got out of the car it would be considered a hostile act. WTF
    The youngest kid was crying at this stage, freaked out as garda are ment to be helpful people. I got out of the passenger door to get into the back of the car and he called over another garda to detain me. I had enough at this stage and demanded to see the officer in charge of the check point, and when they got lippy with me said I was going to ring the local station to make a complaint and then I was going to ring garda HQ in the park were the metro section are based out of as they were being rude and terrifying kids in the back of cars.

Suddenly their tune changed and I could get in the back of the car with the kids.
    A different garda came over to the car and did the breath test and the ignorant, arrogant prick who had stopped us stropped off.

We got home I put the kids to be, both freaked out at how nasty the garda had been,
    seriously if he had of done something as simple as said hello/good evening to the lot of us and told the kids he was just doing a check to see how good a driver thier father was it would have made a huge difference.

I did make complaints to the local super, the metro section and the garda ombudsman and was told that it was received and would be taken into consideration. Never did get that plonker's numbers, it's hard to see then on the leathers the metros wear in the day time never mind at night in the dark and the rain.

Some gardai are like that alright, and the percentage of gardai that are like that probably matches the percentage of the general population who go on like that. The problem is when its a garda that has that type of attitude/personality, they are in a position to abuse it more than the average person with that type of attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,469 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I find that taking out my pretend police notebook and making date / time (looking at watch is important here) / location / incident entries helps. Asking for a name/number is great at this point.

If by some chance I don't have my notebook to hand, I resort to GS tactics - answer the question with another question.

Garda: Where are you going?
    Me: And why would you want to know that?
    Garda: I'm just trying to engage you in conversation.
    Me: And why would that be?

You get the idea. It's great gas altogether.

YMMV.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭i124Q

I got done for drink driving because the gardai was a p****. I was sitting in my car(over the limit, no engine on, no keys in ignition), about to leave with 2 friends, leave the car there and get a taxi home. I get out and get done for drink driving.

A sound garda would say, alright lads go on now and get your taxi home.

Sound Vs P****.

Sh** Happens.

As to answering a guarda back when he asks you a question, Treat others how you would like to be treated yourself. Would you like someone burning you if you asked them a Question? Or replying with a smart answer? Thought so..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

Esel wrote: »
    I find that taking out my pretend police notebook and making date / time (looking at watch is important here) / location / incident entries helps. Asking for a name/number is great at this point.

If by some chance I don't have my notebook to hand, I resort to GS tactics - answer the question with another question.

Garda: Where are you going?
    Me: And why would you want to know that?
    Garda: I'm just trying to engage you in conversation.
    Me: And why would that be?

You get the idea. It's great gas altogether.

YMMV.

Oh my god! You must be evey garda's greatest fear when they go on duty!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

i hate it when people give out about the gardai, its being plain hypocritical because if your house is broken into or your assaulted they are going to be the first people you are going to ring. its a gardai's job to ask questions, solve crime, enforce safety on the roads, etc
    Ahh jeesus stop will ya, my sides are breaking here. :pac: I have had direct experience with how much use they are when houses/cars are broken into and chocolate fireguard springs readily. And don't get me started on where assault has happened(in one case while it was happening). A close friend of mine dropped a pretty clear rape case over the fcukwittery she was exposed to. Like another poster noted, you ring them to square the insurance for the most part.
    robbie7730 wrote: »
    Some gardai are like that alright, and the percentage of gardai that are like that probably matches the percentage of the general population who go on like that. The problem is when its a garda that has that type of attitude/personality, they are in a position to abuse it more than the average person with that type of attitude.
    This is true, but god there does seem to be an awful lot of muck savages in the force, to the degree that the Savage Eye looks as much a documentary as a sketch show. Christ when you see some of their spokesmen wheeled out you really fcuking hope no foreigners are listening in with their "dee" and "dis" and "dats" and "veHicle" etc. And that the headlights are on but no one's driving look to some of them.

And before some revved up shoulder chipped midlander gets his or her gansie in a twist, it's nothing to do with a rural or urban accent. It's to do with not wheeling out brain donors who look and sound like idiots. EG remember the tragic plane crash in Cork there(yea what happened with that...) and the senior Guard whose name sadly escapes was a good example of a chap who was a pro, knew his stuff and came across in control of the situation. Couldnt mistake him for anything but a Corkonian.

I have more hope for the future with more younger people coming into the force. They need more backup from the state in resources though. Too many get disillusioned and leave or switch off on duty. I've known a couple and that just leaves to many morons. And these kinda muppets have the power to arrest and detain you? Shíiiiiiiit :eek: Major reason I stay very polite with them regardless. Plus it's good to be polite anyway and makes no sense not to be. Even so I've had my fair share of neanderthal fcukwits. Far more than the "ah shure everyone has a bad day" defence would suggest. When you do get a sound one though they tend to be almost excessively sound :)

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

If a Gardai gives you an order ie. stop, pullover of course you have to obey.

If he ask you a question, ok you don't have to answer but unless you have something to hard or you simply looking for an excuse to get shirty with him/her then you really have no reason not to.

Some people will use any excuse to Garda-bash. In fact many will simply complain and be self righteous because they can.

But its true. If you want them to be respectful and not treat you like a criminal then don't act like one! Answer them when they ask you a question instead of being rude and/or smart.

Again you may not be obliged (though I'd have to look it uo to see) but it makes no sense not to cooperate unless you looking for trouble.

If only it were so easy. For some reason people in this country can't jump fast enough onto the 'the gardai ignorant scum' bandwagon.

SCENARIO:

You get stopped at a checkpoint. Provide licence, guard checks tax, insurance, nct. Everything is in order.

They have your name and address from your licence. Then they ask "where are you going?". If you answer "it's none of your business" you are well within your rights.

But.......as you said above (in bold) that saying this is looking for trouble. Who is now in the wrong? You, for exercising your right to privacy? or the Guard, for not liking your response and giving you trouble for it?

Not too many moderator...this poster would opine..but it would not be a great issue for anyone working in an office,bank,shop,hospital,cinema,supermarket, restaurant,insurance office,financial services,bookies office,I.T, etc etc etc.

Catch my drift pal....... ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Irish Fire

Should have answered the question and gone on your way and not stressing yourself about it. You are the type of person who would be posting here if AGS were not at your door within 1 -2 min of calling them when needed. Get a life.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Teangalad

Irish Fire wrote: »
    Should have answered the question and gone on your way and not stressing yourself about it. You are the type of person who would be posting here if AGS were not at your door within 1 -2 min of calling them when needed. Get a life.....

Have to agree with you,I will never understand the attitude shown by the OP...as someone said earlier treat people like you would want to be treated yourself...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Irish Fire wrote: »
    You are the type of person who would be posting here if AGS were not at your door within 1 -2 min of calling them when needed.
    Shít I'd be posting here if they showed up within the hour when needed. And yes I've had to wait over 2 hours after one incident, living in suburbia half a mile from the cop shop. The ambulance arrived very quickly and took away my neighbour, a pensioner in shock after a burglary. A good mate watched a bunch of scumbags take their time(over the course of 30 minutes or so) breaking into 4 cars one after the other in another suburban estate, again not too far from a police station while they an others rang for the Guards. They showed up the next morning, being about as much use as teats on a bicycle. I've a pretty long list of experiences with only a few positives. Not nearly enough IMHO. I'm no junkie who's "known to the Guards" or any of that, I've never been in trouble with them. Actually thats not quite true. I had one bogus speeding ticket I had quashed. Well it's hard to speed when you're not in the country at the time and neither is the car...

I have had some positive experiences, but like I say ranged against the negatives... well more like neutrals where they might as well have stayed in the station TBH. I've had dealings with both the Fire Service and the Ambulance service and both were above and beyond the call and very professional while managing not to be knobends.

I do agree with not being a knobend myself about it. Answer the question, be polite and go about your day.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Irish Fire

Wibbs wrote: »
    Shít I'd be posting here if they showed up within the hour when needed. And yes I've had to wait over 2 hours after one incident, living in suburbia half a mile from the cop shop. The ambulance arrived very quickly and took away my neighbour, a pensioner in shock after a burglary. A good mate watched a bunch of scumbags take their time(over the course of 30 minutes or so) breaking into 4 cars one after the other in another suburban estate, again not too far from a police station while they an others rang for the Guards. They showed up the next morning, being about as much use as teats on a bicycle. I've a pretty long list of experiences with only a few positives. Not nearly enough IMHO. I'm no junkie who's "known to the Guards" or any of that, I've never been in trouble with them. Actually thats not quite true. I had one bogus speeding ticket I had quashed. Well it's hard to speed when you're not in the country at the time and neither is the car...

I have had some positive experiences, but like I say ranged against the negatives... well more like neutrals where they might as well have stayed in the station TBH. I've had dealings with both the Fire Service and the Ambulance service and both were above and beyond the call and very professional while managing not to be knobends.

I do agree with not being a knobend myself about it. Answer the question, be polite and go about your day.

So are you saying all members of AGS are knobends?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭galwegians

i have great respect for the gaurds and the difficult job they have to do everyday, and have allways found them to be extremally professional and courteus,
    i find if you meet them with respect they will return in the same manner,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Wibbs wrote: »
    a pretty clear rape case

No such thing